We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location but a little dated” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auramar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #70 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Location but a little dated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have just come back from a week at the Auramar and would definitely return. Yes the rooms need bringing up to date decor wise, but they are spotlessly clean as is the whole hotel. The main pool area is brilliant with loads of sun beds, covered areas to eat and a pool that looks over the sea, fantastic.
All inclusive meals were limited to my taste but perfectly adequate (I am a fussy eater)
All staff really helpful including the bar staff once you build up the rap pour.
Entertainment in the evening is ...............ok
It is a shame that the bar in reception area wasn't open as it would have been nice to get away from the noise of the entertainment for a quiet drink after returning to the hotel.
Once you get used to how the hotel works - Bar, pool side snack bar times etc, it was a lovely relaxing break.

As other reviews have stated you get what you pay for, and I couldn't fault it.

They even left a bottle of bubbly in the room on my birthday.

Would I go again? Definitely

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhodevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    1,035
    713
    335
    260
See reviews for
561
1,349
72
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Firstly the grounds and amenities of the hotel are perfect, large pool area, loads of us beds, green areas, mini golf, archery, tennis, darts, ping pong, pool, indoor pool, onsite shop.

The hotel- the good stuff
The view the view the view
We arrived at 11pm to sandwiches, drinks and fruit in our room, nice touch
Hotel is spacious, even though it was full we never felt crowded
Big restaurant

The hotel- The bad

The lifts are tiny we had to split up to get the bags upstairs(there are stairs - look like emergency exits beside the lifts but they are the main stairwell)
The staff can be very rude and disinterested in helping at all
€10 deposit for room key they don't tell you about until you check in.
€15 for safe lock
Lobby bar Never opened.
Entertainment staff are very very weak. Their evening show is absolutely horrendous. The entertainers that come In At 9.30 are only marginally better.

Room - the good stuff
We were in a family room- 2 balconies, loads of space with a sea view(block a 3rd floor) big bathroom. Fridge in room.

Room the bad stuff
Pillows are awful, beds are like planks. The water ran brown in the bathroom, so never felt clean showering and had to brush teeth with bottled water.
The barking dogs in the residential area across the road from our balcony gnat went mental at 2pm and 6pm every day, regularly kept us awake.

The food- we went all inclusive but chose to eat out on a number of occasions. If you arent fussy and have no allergies you will find something to eat, purely because you have to eat. but it is mainly flavourless, repetitive and just plain awful. Standard all inclusive options - breakfast -oily eggs(even the scrambled), hot dogs for sausages, greasy bacon, chips! Tinned fruit!, cereal, cold meats and cheese. Lunch burgers, hotdogs(no buns) salads - one day it was mixed lettuce , tomatoes onions, tinned peaches, raisins and cherries (I kid you not) dinner pasta, fish, meat, a veg a version of chips/ potato shapes. Desserts were awful- I have a sweet tooth and would eat cake all day if I could but skipped the deserts after my first taste seriously yuck. Not a lot of good about it I'm afraid but if you are on a budget a great option.

The drink-. Local branded minerals beer and spirits. (They charge €2 a plastic cup of cola I'd you aren't all inclusive Rip off)

Location all good: away from the lights and noise of the strip, right on the beach. 20minute walk along the beach to old town. 5 minutes to the strip.
Pool overlooks the beach as does the veranda at the bar

All in all if you are looking for a good location, with great views, plenty of space and somewhere to use as a base to lie by the pool nod sleep its ideal. Be warned though there are a lot of steps to get from rooms to restaurant, to the bar, the pool, the reception. If you struggle with a flight of stairs this is not the place for you.

Notes: some reviews about being over run with seagulls and cats. Albuferia itself seems to have loads of stray cats, only saw one kitten at the hotel and it only came back because guests were feeding it. the hotel is on the beach so there are of course seagulls. One large one that likes to drink from the pool and occasionally swim in it but it flys away when people are near.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st floor as it's too low to for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

just got back from this hotel (11/06/2014)we went to this hotel 4 years ago, so we were expecting good things about it,considering we had a great holiday last time,but it needs to be brought up to date, we where in room A101,walls were bubberling,tiles in bath room had big long cracks in them the balcony tiles were crumberling under your feet,shower did not work properly not in a good state at all,we had a few problems with cockroches after 8 days the duty manager moved us to room A410,what a difference, nice room with great views, to be honest the duty manager and his staff where very helpful,it is a pity that other things let this hotel down,the bar and entertainment stopped at 11pm so it was bedtime every night early a bit like bootcamp, in fact the best entertainment was the karaoke the rest was very very bad,food was good and plenty of choice,
but at week-ends stagg and hen partys are there running up and down the corridors at daft a clock in the morning shouting and screming.not good at all,
this hotels need to decide if it wants to be a family resort or a stagg and hen do resort, can not be both.
sorry to the duty manager who did his best but we will not be going back there again and will not recomend this hotel to anybody

Room Tip: block A 410
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonkwigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed here last year with my partner; it was our first all inclusive. Food was okay, good choice at breakfast lunch and dinner, although the choice of drinks lacked a little (I believe only vodka or rum were available as spirits, but we were happy with wine, beer and cocktails.

The local area that everyone talks about is at least ten minute walk, which is hard in the midday sun, so unless you are well covered, I'd avoid during the day!

Not applicable to us, but the children's entertainers were great and really enthusiastic! Evening entertainment was pretty good too (with the exception of the guy on the keyboard, but being so terrible, he became entertaining by the end of the week!)

Returning again this year, hoping it's still the same!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donkey391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Arrived late at night and had a speedy check-in and were given the keys to the room. Was in room 111 on block D and had to say I was quite happy in its location and tidiness. I agree with a lot of people who say its dated but its clean.. Choice of food was good and I do agree its abit school canteen style at lunch time but we always found something to eat and never went hungry. Drink selection was good and quite strong. We never had a problem getting a sunbed but you do need your own towels and they don't supply cushions but it is a 3 star so was expected. The location is a plus a nice approx. 20 minute stroll down the beach to the old town and a 10 minute walk to the strip. Overall I would certainly go back to this hotel as I found the staff and guests really good to get along with

Room Tip: ask for block D.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stokejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a weeks holiday here and after reading all the bad reviews I was pleasantly surprised.
The hotel itself was clean, the staff were friendly and the location was fantastic! The hotel had a lovely pool area and 2 minutes away from the pool and your on the beach, the hotel is situated in between the old town and the strip, which were both within in walking distance.
The only down sides to this hotel was that if your not good with steps then don't go here as there are a lot of steps, however if you want the amazing location (just of the beach) steps are to be expected! Also the entertainment is your usual dyer all inclusive entertainment, but the local area has plenty of entertainment for you. If you are a family I strongly recommend spending a few evenings in the old town.
Overall we had a fantastic holiday and the hotel was perfect for us!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank baileys2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidwelly, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

After reading all the horrendous reviews on this hotel, my partner and I were dubious to say the least.... But when we arrived here it all changed.
Easy, speedy check in, friendly staff, huge room, very clean, towels changed and bed changed every day. Given the shower pressure wasn't fantastic but who cares?! Pool was lovely, yes it's a big cold, but it's outdoors, what do you expect?! There are a few steps yes, but it's made clear when you book, with whoever you book with. Breakfast was lovely, the hotel itself very well maintained. Ok, it's hardly the Hilton, but for the price you pay, what do you expect?! If you want 5* then go pay for it elsewhere. Location is fab, 5 min walk from the strip. Beach and surrounding cliffs are gorgeous. Highly recommend it and would definitely come back here. Don't listen to all the fussy, rubbish reviews from the snobs!
P.s. There is no smell either!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Chloelouisa28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.3 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#130 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#64 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,728 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#44 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#10 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#42 of 49 in Quarteira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Property: Auramar Beach Resort
Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing