We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #73 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Me and partner stayed here for a week in July. Hotel was in good location, rooms dated but clean. Breakfast was terrible not even a decent coffee! So me and my partner used cafe up the road who were great. When got back home I had a bug which was from contaminated water I can not be sure whether from pool or other water source. Will visit albufeira again but will be avoiding auramar in future. I have visited a few 3 stars and this is the worst

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geordie5467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,117 of 2,949 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I booked here for a winter break at the begining of february.
I must start by saying we did not pay alot for this break so were not expecting too much.
We flew with Monarch airlines which I have to say for a budget airline are fantastic.
The hotel itself is dated and needs some modernising but was adequate, the reception staff were helpful and our room was ready on our arrival.
The room had a private balcony with a view of the sea in the distance, the air conditioning unit was on the balcony, but it was working and in the evenings when it was cooler it would blow warm air to keep the room a constant temperature.
Food at the Auramar was a bit repetative but ok. The main resturant was clean and the staff work very hard to make sure plates and dishes are tidied away, and they also serve you with decanted wine and water.
The location is lovely overlooking the beach, if you like you can walk along the beach to Albuferia it takes about 45 minutes, alternativley the hotel runs a free bus service twice a day which takes you into the town centre The animation team do a free guided walking tour of Albufeira which is well worth going on lots to see.
The swimming pools look very inviting but in february are freezing so there is only seagulls floating in them at that time of year,
I have to say that I was ill while staying at this hotel after using the indoor pool, My wife did not go swimming in this pool and was perfectly fine, the pool water is very warm so maybe not good for some. I went to the local pharmacy and got some anti sickness tablets and was not too bad from then but I stayed out of the indoor pool.
So all in all you get what you pay for and for a cheap winter break it was ok. If the owner of the hotel was to spend some money on it it could be really nice.

Room Tip: Some balconies get sunshine and some don't, so request a sunny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We (me, hubby & 7 yr old) have just returned and what a fab holiday, you get what you pay for but for £1,400 for all inclusive, flights, transfers, luggage and selected seats it's was bang on.
Ace reception staff, ace dinner staff, mostly ace bar staff (lol - tip them first day and they smile more), nice shop and staff. Rooms basic but clean and have good air con, they are a bit dated but so what you don't go to stop in your room do you?
We had a lovely room with 2 balconies, 3 beds, air con, fridge, sink, bathroom with shower etc - there is an electronic lock and you can hire a safe - all you need :-)
The pools (all 4 of them) are clean with lots of features and plenty of sun beds.

I'd read reviews and was worried but really really enjoyed ourselves.

The food is ok, yes there are chips with every meal but so what? Just don't have any, have salad, veg, rice, pasta or something else. There is a special on every night such as paella, baked cod with potato, hobby roast spare ribs. Look out for a blond lady called Alina she is amazing.

The bar serves basic beers and fizzy drinks but the selection of other spirits is vast, and as before leave a tip - surely €1 a day isn't too much to say the guys are working flat out hours on end.

All positive, it's not 5* but you don't book it as that, it's a good 3* with fab views and really near to Strip or Old Town, the place is clean and tidy (maybe a tiny bit dated) and has a lot to offer.
Needs to up the game re: nightly entertainment (from 7-9pm there isn't anything), but kids club in day and when shows are on are entertaining.

Oh an try the Dreamwave Dolphin trip, really good never seen my 7yr old awestruck and therefore silent!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank BeckyBooUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Not being ever in Portugal I feared what I will see on site.
I chose this place after a careful search on the internet. My criteria are simple price, location and cleanliness. Auramar Beach Resort is not a 5 star hotel but has complied fully my holiday needs.
Price - 3* hotel, lots of food (nothing special but I gained 3kg in 10days:-)), Helpful and very friendly staff hotel.
Location - wonderful views, almost on the beach, beautiful places for walking, close to local restaurants, night-life (clubs, pubs) and nearby citie (Albufeira 20min walk by beach)
Always you can find a lot of cons (wifi, drinks) but at the May weather, good mood and a lot of fun nothing longer matter :)
Salute and have a nice holiday with Auramar

Room Tip: Ask where possible for fourth or fifth floor, guaranteed a beautiful view on the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is very dated , the wi,fi is reception only , the food that is served is terrible , well if you like hot dog sausages , scrambled egg , runny jam , chips or cheese and ham , maybe lemon cake for breakfast then you will be ok , drinks in plastic cups where ever you are in the hotel , ( pool area I accept ) our room was dark and dingy with the air con unit and table on the balcony that was it balcony full, oh and no sun there either , I think you get my message , keep away from this hotel ......

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Glynny1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Lovely location, just next to a gorgeous beach - although it might not be suitable for older people / mobility issues due to the steps. Lots of activities to do in the hotel, lovely animation team, good food and very clean. The only downside (for us) was the unkind receptionists + manager. We payed extra for a sea view room, just to be offered a room facing a wall, behind the kitchen, with a continuous generator noise. I complained and they told me that they did not have any other room available. They stated that they charge the same price for rooms, irrespective of the "view" - so it is NOT their problem if I payed extra !!...Unbelievable. This is something that should probably be formally investigated.

After TWO nights, I was finally offered a better room with a better view. There is a longer list of unpleasant issues (to put it mildly) with reception staff but I will stop here - overall, we did have a great time. Tip: do not pay extra for better rooms or at least check twice with your agent before doing so - you might have the surprise to be told at the spot that all rooms are charged the same and you just have to accept whatever room is available.

Room Tip: Check twice before paying extra for sea view
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just got back from Auramar Beach 04/08/14. This hotel is very good as an all inclusive family stay, the rooms are adequate with lots of storage and a large bathroom and balcony, all you require as you don't spend all day in your room. The two pools are very good, the small one is best for the little kids as it it not as deep. The food was very good with plenty to choose from at every meal time and plenty of it, they even put on chips at breakfast!!! to my 13 year old sons delight. Access to the beach is ok and once there is quiet at the hotel end but gets very busy the further towards the old town you go. A free shuttle bus into the old town goes from the hotel four times a day. The entertainment is different and fun and the kids entertainers are very good, kids club from 10AM. Overall it is a good place to stay and enjoy with your children and relax. Transfer time from the airport is about half an hour. The hotel also offers some good deals on trips but better can be found if you go for a walk locally.

Room Tip: The further from the lift you are the quieter it is, sea views are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nobby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.2 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#123 of 154 in Albufeira
2,935 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#83 of 154 in Albufeira
3,378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#23 of 154 in Albufeira
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#42 of 48 in Quarteira
977 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#39 of 154 in Albufeira
1,306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#40 of 154 in Albufeira
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £20 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing