We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money - not fussy or flash, and get out and enjoy Portugal.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #68 of 153 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 7 March 2010

My husband and I visited in late February 2010, fearful of the reviews but are happy with the hotel and consider it value for money. We chose 1/2 board, and found the food to be basic, plentiful and aimed at the European traveller. Only disappointment was the smell of the lobby, which was at times overpowering. We stayed in Block C on the second level and the facilities were clean, comfortable and homely.

Albufeira out of season is beautiful, green and temperate. The people are great and we found an excellent portugese restaurant (next to a brazilian cafe) off the main street in the old town so shop around. The outdoor esculator is impressive.

Not flashy but we paid just over 200 pound for a 8 day stay (and we've just paid 64 pound for an overnight B&B in Sidmouth), so I am not going to complain.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwitripper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,396 - 2,402 of 3,068 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2010

After booking through Sun4U online, all seemed to be going like okay until we got to the hotel. I can not fault the BA flights or the private taxi transfers, but the hotel was a different story entirely! Firstly the smell in the reception area was unbearable, rooms noisy and food terrible. We made the mistake of booking all inclusive, so if you are thinking of staying here we suggest bed n breakfast only as we had to eat out of the hotel every lunch/evening. The lunch menu is the same as the evening menu - V disapointing. On a positive note the views are lovely and you are close to the main areas, but needless to say, we will not be returning. Shame!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvaelbug2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Went here mid feb. Good Room plenty of facilities in the room. Clean and roomy with good views. Hotel in enviable cliff top position with panoramic views. Went with Thomas Cook, thier rep Chloe is a star. Watch for the mozzies, my husband quite badly bitten. Food basic but we did not starve DON'T go all inclusive this is not really a hotel geared up for this. We went half board and managed to eat some of the limited main meals. the soup and puddings are lovely. Morning coffee coupled with the views from the restaurant make a nice start to the day. We went for a rest and thats what we got. we had 2 balconies and lovely quiet room. the weather could of been better but hey we had FUN. The evening entertainment made us laugh (steve Irwin reptile show espeacially) Best place for luch CALIPTO opposite hotspot at top of road brill lovely toasties and cheap sagres beer. We never came across one rude or unhelpful member of staff at the hotel. All in all it was cheap and there is no way could we have got this holiday for price in UK hotel and we had flights and transfers included. Hope all this helps ..I will be contacting gordon ramsey to go sort the main meals out cos the soup/rolls and puddings are lovely. I ate salad and chips most evenings. They need a little help with the main courses (gravy would be nice) but dont be put off IF THE PRICE IS RIGHT and give the all inclusive a miss.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lewops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

This hotel is also listed in Trip Advisor as Aparthotel Auramar - it's the same place!
We stayed here on an all inclusive basis for a week in February 2010, during a week of dreadful weather. We booked through Flightline Holidays.
This large hotel is situated on a bit of a cliff headland with splendid views to old Albufeira to the right and across to Villamoura on the left, giving great sunrises, and, sunsets.
Being on a cliff it is a lot of steps down to any beach, and to get to the nearest, and best beach is across gravel scrubland before you get to the steps - it does require a good deal of agility.
It is possible to walk to old Albufeira along the beach at low tide. It's a long walk along the road - there are public Giro buses (1.1 Euro each way) or the three times a day hotel bus.
The hotel is fairly close to New Albufeira and 'the strip' if that's your sort of thing. This was one of the few holidays where we felt we could have profited from a hire car.
Our room was very spacious. There were two large single beds, two wicker chairs, a table, the usual assortment of drawers and wardrobe space, and a fridge. There was a spacious bathroom with bath, loo, bidet and handbasin. There was an air-con unit in the room - which we used for heating. We had a good sized balcony overlooking the 'german pool' (as other reviewers have called it - more later) and we could see the sea through the trees.
There are two big pools, and a couple of paddling pools - we didn't use them due to the rotten weather, but they looked very clean, and we saw them being cleaned on a couple of days, despite the lack of use. One of the pools is in a compound through a gate with a code lock - there's a notice saying it was only available to guests with yellow wristbands. We had yellow wristbands, but other all inclusive guests had blue - but I don't know what made us special! So the pool is not restricted to one nationality!
The hotel does not seem to be used by any of the major British (or Irish) tour companies, but is obvioulsy well used by German and Austrian companies, and one French operator.
All the staff speak good English, and were without fault freindly and helpful.
Breakfast and Evening Dinner are in the main buffet restaurant which has great views over the sea. The food was good but not great, and had become very 'samey' toward the end of the week. There was always meat, fish, salad, and pasta in the evenings. Breakfasts were rather dull, with bacon, egg (either fried, or scrambled, never both) and, yes, chips!
Lunch was available in the pool bar, and was similar to the evening meal in different surroundings. The pool bar it has to be said, is more like a cafe than a restaurant with its plastic tables and chairs. It might be better in the sun, but it was bloomin' freezing during our stay.
There is a good choice of drinks for all-inclusive guests.
There was entertainment almost every evening in the lobby bar from 9pm. This was on three evenings by outside entertainers who put on a one hour show - dancers on two evenings and a 'reptile show' on the third (which was a lot better than it sounds!). On other eveings there was a quiz or prize bingo. The 'warm up man' was a half-decent singer with a reportoire of european soft-pop, and his keyboard.
The lobby had a rather strange smell which was a bit of putting to start with, but it was only in the lobby.
There was also a small shop selling sweets, food, gifts, clothes etc. There is a small indoor pool (with no changing facilities). There are some arcade games, mini-golf, a couple of tennis courts, internet, and a good sized car park.
The hotel is overall, looking a bit dated, but is clean, and the staff do make an effort to make sure your stay is enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millimole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

We had a week on B&B in February & no complaints considering this is only a 3* hotel.The breakfast was adequate & we had a table with lovely views from the restaurant every morning.Our room was spacious with a welcome heater as the weather was cold at night,comfy beds(appart from the pillows),plenty of drawers & hanging space & a fridge that actually worked(!We have stayed in 4* with no fridge or had to pay for a key to operate the fridge.)Free bus 3 times a day into the old town which was a bonus.Hotel was in a peaceful setting with great views not sure that it would be peaceful in season though.We ate every night at a restaurant Cepa Vela just round the corner & could`nt have been made more welcome it was well used by local people, which is always a good sign,& the food was great.We couldn`t have stayed in England for a week anywhere for the price we paid & will be back later in the year,just don`t expect 4* for 3* prices!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank funkycas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Yes it is old fashioned not the ritz and the reception has an interesting smell but the rooms can be very cheap (we paid around £20 per night B and B in February). For what you get (roomy, heated and aircom, bath and shower, comfortable bed, fridge and quiet nights sleep) for staff (always friendly) position (right on the beach, near restaurants) breakfast (good spread) - great value!

The week we were there the weather was actually pretty cold so we were thankful for the heating.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrispstalbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

My wife & I have recently returned from possibly the worst hotel we have stayed at in recent years, and I stay in an awful lot of holiday hotels with my work. To be brief, the reception/bar area was very smelly (we saw the cleaners wiping the carpeted area of the bar with dirty mops). The rooms were adequate but although the towels were changed daily, the bedding was only changed once a week (we were there for 5).
The less said about the food the better. suffice it to say that it was repetative, poor quality and at best lukewarm. Dinner is from 6 till 9.30 and we are convinced that it is all cooked at one time and ready to serve at about 5.30. We ate out 9 times out of 35, plus some breakfasts. We were glad that we did not book all inclusive as it would have been a waste of money (we dont spend all our time in the bar).
While we were there we know of quite a lot of guests being taken ill with stomach problems, resulting in them having to spend 2 or 3 days in their rooms recovering.
Entertainment was a second rate keyboard player who played the same things every night. Bingo in 4 languages and a quiz once a week.
Free bus to the old town was very useful as it is a good 30 to 40 minutes walk along the road with 2 steep hills, although it is claimed that it can be done in 20 along the beach....but only if the tide is out.
All in all, a very poor value choice of hotel. It is probably just about ok for a couple of nights, but no more.
Hotel claims 3 stars but would struggle to justify 2.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davenkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#120 of 153 in Albufeira
3,056 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#80 of 153 in Albufeira
3,445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#31 of 153 in Albufeira
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#26 of 153 in Albufeira
345 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#34 of 153 in Albufeira
2,479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#13 of 153 in Albufeira
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £24 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing