We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #73 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 26 March 2010

I have just returned from a two night trip to this hotel. We went all inclusive and if I'm honest the only thing we used this for was breakfast and drinks. The worst part of this place is the stench from the lobby which at times made me heave. Although we did all find the humour in a 'smelly' lobby, you began to wonder just what the smell was and if it was likely to do us any harm. The food was dreadful, chips chips chips and fried food. All the guests looked utterly miserable and it's not a wonder when you are staying at a fly infested, poorly maintained and smelly hotel. Our rooms smelt of damp and the doors would not lock properly due to the lock being rusty. The bathrooms were o.k. but you wouldn't want to take a leisurely bath due to the amout of flys and black marks around the bath. I hated this place and only the fact that I was away with friends did I stay for the two nights. Do yourself a favour and book somewhere else...

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoShayLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,925)
There are newer reviews for Auramar Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,281 - 2,287 of 2,925 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2010

After spending 4 week at this complex over Christmas and the New Year, this is my comment.
This resort is not a wet weather resort. The slightest amount of rain comes on through the windows, doors & ceiling in the corridors. Any other amount of rain and the same happens in the rooms, the same in the restaurant. The remedy to this by the staff was to use the bedroom mats, towels and bed linen, hence we didn’t have the beds changed for 3 weeks (come to change the day before we left), towels were changed once a week. By the way this was our second room, the first was in block B and three doors away from the lift which made such a noise when it started & stopped that reverberated through the building keeping us awake till gone 3 am (the lifts in block D do the same). On the third day we were moved to block A. The TV didn’t work, it was all snowy, they replaced the TV, still the same, complained and was told they could do nothing but the problem was only in that room. The engineer must have no brains; to me the problem had to be in the coax cable, yes it was the inner & outer wires were touching each other, job done by me.
All in all the resort requires same serious repairs and up grading from the 70’s or better still demolished and rebuilt.
I’ve added just 3 photos taken.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaintermanYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We saw the Auramar advertised on TravelZoo by QWERTY travel at £114 for a week B&B.
We actually paid a little bit more because that price does not include Easyjet's luggage charges and we switched to more convenient flights but even with a small single supplement for our daughter it still worked out as a very cheap break..

Because we didn't pay much and weren't expecting 5* luxury we were happy with our holiday.

Although the remainder may sound quite negative it is because there are quite a lot of fairly minor problems - nothing that spoilt the enjoyment of our holiday.

Good-points:
- We were given an end room (B316) that had a separate living room area and a huge balcony
- The views are magnificent, (some lower floor rooms would be blocked by other buildings so it is best to ask for a high floor)
- Room was comfortably furnished with plenty of spare blankets
- Room had refrigerator, a hot plate and plates and cups, good for snacks but not enough for a meal.
- Indoor pool although small was warm and not crowded.
- Hotel has large car park (many have no guest parking)

Poor points:
- On checking in they didn't give us the correct card to operate the room lights and it took about an hour to sort out (we arrived late evening so needed the lights)
- Our adult daughter was assigned a poor ground floor room in a different block although adjacent room had been requested. She was moved to a good room a few doors away the next day.
- Window frames leaked in rain (it rained a lot!). Maid had positioned towels to catch the water
-Lifts are very small and could only accommodate standard wheelchair after footrests had been removed, companion had to take stairs and meet lift
-Getting to Restaurant involved two lifts and long detour, there are then ramps down to outdoor pool and pool bar but we only tried once.
- Limited choice of food at breakfast and little variation. Glad we weren't of All inclusive
- The lobby does smell but not that badly
- We hadn't asked for a wheelchair accessible room, (not sure if the have them) normally that isn't a problem to us since my wife doesn't use chair in room. but it was quite difficult to get chair into room because kitchen unit prevented door opening fully.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mymsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

This was a special holiday for my mum's 80th birthday and I booked it on line through Direct Line Holidays, at a cost of over £300 each, for myself, my partner and my mum, (not a huge amount I know, but not a cheap deal either!!). We booked bed and breakfast, as we like to be independent and thank god we did ! (more on that later). On arrival at the hotel on sunday 7th march at 12.00pm, after a long and tiring journey and in the pouring rain, I was informed by an unhelpful surly member of staff that our rooms were not ready and that we would have to wait until 2pm !!! Also, I had asked for our rooms to be next to each other, which they weren't, but 4 doors away, when I queried this the same surly woman said "well that's almost next door isn't it and anyway the hotel is full !!". Lovely attitude and certainly irritating since i had booked the rooms well over a month ago ! She then demanded 20 euros deposit for the 2 keys, which i certainly objected to after having paid nearly a £1000 for the holiday.... this is not mentioned anywhere, so beware !! Whilst waiting for our rooms we had no choice but to go down to the poolside cafeteria bar and buy our lunch.... dreadful place with plastic glasses and plastic overprised food and surly, indifferent staff. We never ate there again.
The smell in the reception and bar area is TERRIBLE and is definitely dirty mop water and cheap bleach, NOTHING to do with the ocean !!!
Location and the other hotel guests were lovely, too many steps overall though, to the pool and beach etc. It was too cold to swim and I never saw the pool being cleaned at all during the time we were there. Good free bus service into town and found some lovely bars and restaurants nearby, esp CALIPTO and the chinese restaurant... Golden Garden. on the strip, EXCELLENT !! Our rooms were good, spacious and roomy, but a very quick clean each day !! Have been to Albuferia and Villamoura before and there are certainly better and cheaper places to stay, WOULD NOT stay here again !!!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeedsKarenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

This hotel was reasonable for a 3 star. Rooms were spacious and clean although were a bit tired and could do with a refurbishment. Meals were ok, not a lot of choice but what was available was fine. Drinks in bar were ok (local drinks as all inclusive) but served in small glasses which meant a constant queue at the bar - also sometimes plastic glasses used in late afternoon. Unpleasant odour constantly in reception and bar which limited the time spent in these areas as you felt quite ill after about half an hour. Reception staff said it was coming from the ocean but no other part of the hotel was affected so don't think so! Smelt like 'wet dog'!! Good location, staff pleasant but not overly helpful at times. Did complain to rep about the smell and she offered to move us to another hotel for 257 euros which we declined!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

My husband and I visited in late February 2010, fearful of the reviews but are happy with the hotel and consider it value for money. We chose 1/2 board, and found the food to be basic, plentiful and aimed at the European traveller. Only disappointment was the smell of the lobby, which was at times overpowering. We stayed in Block C on the second level and the facilities were clean, comfortable and homely.

Albufeira out of season is beautiful, green and temperate. The people are great and we found an excellent portugese restaurant (next to a brazilian cafe) off the main street in the old town so shop around. The outdoor esculator is impressive.

Not flashy but we paid just over 200 pound for a 8 day stay (and we've just paid 64 pound for an overnight B&B in Sidmouth), so I am not going to complain.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwitripper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

After booking through Sun4U online, all seemed to be going like okay until we got to the hotel. I can not fault the BA flights or the private taxi transfers, but the hotel was a different story entirely! Firstly the smell in the reception area was unbearable, rooms noisy and food terrible. We made the mistake of booking all inclusive, so if you are thinking of staying here we suggest bed n breakfast only as we had to eat out of the hotel every lunch/evening. The lunch menu is the same as the evening menu - V disapointing. On a positive note the views are lovely and you are close to the main areas, but needless to say, we will not be returning. Shame!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvaelbug2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#122 of 154 in Albufeira
2,895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#23 of 154 in Albufeira
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#39 of 154 in Albufeira
1,294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#50 of 154 in Albufeira
785 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#40 of 154 in Albufeira
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £24 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing