We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #73 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 20 October 2010

this hotel was fantastic first time we have been here,it is very clean and in a loverly location
the staff are really nice ,the food was really good.It was only a few steps down to the beach which went on forever, there was lots of places to eat ,one place was really nice called s. joao grill and cheap as well . I carnt wait to go back there we loved it so much and had a really nice holiday .For october the weather was very very hot.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tazSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,925)
There are newer reviews for Auramar Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,235 - 2,241 of 2,925 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2010

Can't believe some of the whingers on here. Just returned from a short break at the Auramar and have no complaints whatsoever. After reading some of the reviews on here we were prepared for the worst. Smell in reception? Nope, got a faint whiff of bleach day 3 but so what, surprisingly we didn't spend too much time in reception!

Steps to the beach? Yep, but no big deal, the hotel is built on a cliff, what the hell do you expect, a lift?

Food? We were half board, not fantastic but edible and a huge choice, you could always find something that you'd like and the restaurant was massive with gorgeous sea views. Ok it may have been a bit 'motorway services' but perfectly acceptable, remember this is a 3 star not the Ritz!

The beaches were fantastic and tide permitting you could walk the 20 odd minutes to the old town along the sea front. 3 free buses a day back to the hotel meant that if you timed it right you could walk there, have a meal and a few drinks and get a lift back!

The pools, indoor and outdoor were clean and there was a (very) mini gym (a few bikes, a treadmill and a multigym) for exercise freaks like myself. Clean towels and room cleaned every day.
As for the saddo who posted photos of the leaking corridors when it rained, get real pal is that really all you had to moan about?!!

The 'strip' was about a 10 minute walk and was your typical resort run of bars and eateries. We found one that did a brilliant selection of cocktails, had a live rock band and felt very reminiscent of a Hard Rock Cafe.

Overall had a fantastic time, the weather was brilliant, even at this time of year, and we WILL be going back again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LeicsCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

After reading so many bad reviews i had considered changing hotels but for the price and my stay was only for four days i decided to go ahead. I can honestly say i had no problems at all with this hotel. The location is great with only a short walk to the strip and also the old town. The breakfast was your typical continental breakfast with plenty available. The rooms are a bit outdated but clean with maids around every day. The reception did have a bit of a smell but again the reception area was clean and also staff very helpful. The pool area is beautiful with lovely views of the beach and plenty of sun loungers.

I am in my 30s and travelled with my mum but i most definitley will go back to the Auromar hotel again. You do get what you pay for but for somewhere cheap and cheerful this is the hotel to stay.

Also if in the strip please try Wind Surf for food and drinks, i can honeslty say it was the nicest meal i had there with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belfast78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We stopped her in November 2009 as our 23rd Anniversay our first holiday without the kids so we WERE going to enjoy it..lol
The hotel is based so it is easy to get around Albuferia, a complimentary mini bus is provided 4 times a day for guests to get to Old Town, well worth the visit; we did daily (if you miss the bus, a taxi is 8 Euros one way for upto 4 people).
The Strip (restaurants, bars and shops) is a 10-15 walk away.
The Safari trip is funny, the gypsy market not worth the time unless you really, really like to haggle! The only good part of the trip to the market was the 20 minute stop on the way back we stopped off at Vilamoura Marina seeing how the rich people party... but fab shops here!
Yes there are a lot of steps to the pool and restaurant but it does tell you that in the info and yes 80% of guests are German and the day and night time entertainment it arranged just for them... we don't speak German so didn't know when the entertainment was even though the Cosmos Holiday book says it's available, there is also NO kids club here!
The room were clean comfortable and a good size with a mini kitchen in them.
The fitness roo, sanuna and jauzzi were not working for any of our holiday and we did check everyday.
The food was same each day as it is in most A.I. hotels but plenty of it and yes there is chips everyday..lol, i am wheat intolerent and i managed to eat everyday!.
The bar staff were a scream we laughed till oursides hurt, serving the daily cocktail which i tried several off everyday..lol
Then night entertainment was OK!
If your on a budget and don't want the hassle of cooking then this is perfect choice for a low cost hotel.
You hand your passport over when you arrive remember to collect it the following morning once they have finished with it and yes the only staff that were abrupt and impolite after the first day were the reception staff... not helpful at all !
After all that i have written i have to say we will be returning here in April 2011 as it was a fab place to relax and chill!.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johall7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

My girlfriend and I just wanted 5 days away together to relax and get some sun, and thats exactly what we got. We booked the Auramar mainly because of its location right on the beach and we really wanted a great sea view from our balcony. I wasn't expecting much for the price we payed(Bed & Brkfst) but when we arrived our room was clean, tidy, and the view from the balcony was AMAZING! Bathroom was clean too. Our room was C302. As for the rest of the hotel, it is quite a large complex with lots of steps so would definatly not recommend for families with young children or the older generation, there is quite a lot of walking involved. The hotel is very expensive for food and drink and there wasn't a lot of choice, buffet food. Just a 5 minute walk up towards 'The Strip' there are plenty of bars and cafe's that have brilliant cooked english breakfasts, bagettes, great lunches and cheap evening meals. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, not rude at all like i had read in some other reviews. This hotel is a good basic 3* hotel that you get what you pay for. We had an amazing 5 days and would definatly go back there again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim_the_yid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

I came to Auromar on 2nd Sept and like so many people was apprehensive after reading some of the reports on here, but all I can think is that some people are excessively fussy and love to moan. There was the slightest smell in reception (a mix of cleaning products with it being an oldish venue) but certainly not off putting or enough to ruin your holiday as some would suggest!! I was dreading our first few meals as I consider myself quite a fussy when it comes to food hygiene, but I have to say I found the food great, really varied and plenty of fresh fish. The meat dishes were better early on before they had chance to dry up a bit. Yes there were chips as an option every meal time, but it isn't compulsory to eat them! Yes there are some strange concoctions, ie. bannana on pizza, peaches at breakfast, but there are a lot of germans and portuguese staying at the hotel, and this might be what they eat! Doesn't mean you have to - plenty of other choice! My two criticisms of the meals were some of the staff could be a bit stroppy when trying to grab them for a drink, cutlery, but others could be really helpful, and you soon got to know who to ask. Also by the end of the holiday I got a bit sick of eating buffet style, so we had enough money left to eat out a few times. Calipto at the top of the road did a brilliant full English beakfast and cheap aswell.
The hotel was so clean, everywhere you went staff were cleaning, and our room was cleaned every day with fresh towels for 9 days. I have never known that before. The pool was spotlessly clean, and done every morning. At first we had no problem getting sun loungers but then it started to get busy, so we had to join the germans in putting our towels down first thing in the morning.
The hotel was very geared up towards German clientele, and most of the evening entertainment was biased to the germans, but we actually saw the funny side of this.
The location was amazing, and it was a lovely walk up and down the beach, and you could get round to the old town when the tide was out.
Room was average, but the bathroom was a bit grotty with a panel missing at the bottom of the bath, and there were a lot of ants that seemed to be coming from here. So if you spill something mop it up straight away. Didn't see one cockroach! The balcony was bog standard aswell, with a big rusty generator that gave off an unbearable level of heat if you had your air con on in the room, so if you sit out on the balcony you need to switch the air con off.
All in all I thought it was a lovely big hotel, that had character and they try to make it special. Great value for money all inclusive, but if you have the money I think it is better to go self catering as you can then get out and about and be more independent with your holiday. I would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kateykate49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

i have just come bk from the auramar on 11th september, on arrival we were thing oh here we go get ready for the bad smell in reseption! to our suprise there was no smell, rooms were clean and tidy, fresh towells everyday! and cleaned every day, food was ok not great but u wont starve thats for sure! the only problem that i really had was i have a young child that canot yet walk so she was in a pram and everyday we had to carry her in the pram down all the steps to the restaraunt for breakfst and all the way bk up again, and then the same thing all the way to the pool and bk up again! this was very tiering, so i would not recomend this hotel for young children or disabled people to be honest. bar staff in the evening were a little missrable could have been a little more friendly, but all in all good holiday and fab pool, but inneed of some new pillows as they are very lumpy!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenparfitt005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#122 of 154 in Albufeira
2,895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#23 of 154 in Albufeira
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#39 of 154 in Albufeira
1,294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#50 of 154 in Albufeira
785 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#40 of 154 in Albufeira
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £24 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing