We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous holiday”
Review of Club Med Da Balaia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Albufeira
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Club Med Da Balaia
Ranked #29 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
GreenLeadersSilver level
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday”
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We spent 10 days at Club Med Da Balaia earlier this month. It was our first Club Med and first time in an all inclusive resort. We weren't sure it would suit us but it has surpassed all our expectations. The resort location is fantastic, the service is fantastic, the food is fabulous. It started with a warm welcome, you feel very well looked after as soon as you arrive and it never stops. You can relax, do sports, go for walks and have fun when you want to. The bar and restaurant are top quality. Service is the main quality. All staff, particularly GOs are always on the look to assist you, have a chat and make sure you have what you need. They are well led by the Club "chef de village". The petit club our son attened during the day was great. There is no club for children above 4 years old but our daughter soon found friends rto play with. If children of all ages were looked after that would make it better than perfect. I must say that the GOs, particularly at archery, wer very good with our daughter. Accomodation is good, we had rooms in the Pyramide hotel with sea view. Very quiet. The rooms were refurbished a few years back and are generally in good shape. Not 4* but very adequate. We had one of best holidays there and we'll carry on using Club Med. We will surely return to Da Balaia at some point. The scenary is beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for hotel Pyramide for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerbyBretons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Da Balaia, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Da Balaia Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed the comfort of your room and the Resort location.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    966
    858
    303
    130
    64
See reviews for
1,247
503
139
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, West Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We have just returned from a wonderfully relaxing week at Da Balaia. Having stayed at a great many Club Med hotels over the years, we feel this is one of the most attractive locations with stunning views over the ocean, plenty of grassed area to relax quietly, plus a lovely pool/bar area. There was always plenty of staff available and they were, at all times and without exception, friendly and extremely helpful. This has not always been our experience at Club Med, so we were pleasantly surprised. In some locations the staff have been very 'full on' and intrusive, but not at Da Balaia - simply excellent from top to bottom. The rooms are spacious - if a little sparse, but any problems we had (one or two minor issues) were dealt with immediately - we waited less than 15 minutes for Maintenance. Great food. Hotel complex clean at all times and in all areas. The gym was rather more basic than some we have visited but adequate. Free wi-fi available in reception area. Everything about the week was superb and we highly recommend it. - thanks for a great week!

Room Tip: Golf hotel offers quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Da Balaia, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Da Balaia Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed your room and our staff commitment.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We have just returned from Da Balaia where we stayed for a week. We loved the holiday and had a great time. We stayed with out 2 & 3 year olds. We did not use the childrens club although others gave good reports. We could not fault this hotel - we found it to be stylish and chic , the food fantastic , a very civilized all inclusive service. Meal times were easy with children with an amazing selection of food and drinks. clean , pleasant dining areas with lots of high chairs.
The pool was a little chilly but our children were still in it lots and enjoyed it . The beach is directly in front of the hotel and is gorgeous - club med has its own area with loungers and shade. No need to pack beach towels as all provided as is cot bedding, hairdryers and there was even a bottle warmer and baby bath in our room. Great entertainment in the evening - our little ones loved the childrens dancing in the bar - very sweet. Great afternoon tea , crepes and ice creams in the afternoon! All in all a great place. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chants1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Da Balaia, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Da Balaia Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed the food quality and the Resort facilities.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Having just returned from the resort, I had to write to say how fantastic it is. The place is just perfect, the staff - amazing and the holiday was perfect.

We travelled with my 17 month old daughter who had the best time! Although she did not attend the kids club - she loved the friendly staff, the amazing food and the freedom she had there.

One thing I would say, if you like your food - take some bigger clothes with you! The food is amazing - I dread to think how much weight I have gained (healthy options were available.... - but I couldn't resist the fantastic food)!

Every single member of staff is friendly, helpful, polite and does that little bit extra to help you and make you feel welcome. I can't recommend this place highly enough and will certainly be looking to go back next year!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank l4esm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Da Balaia, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Da Balaia Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed the food quality and our staff commitment.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2011

I read lots of reviews on Trip Advisor about this hotel before our family went there on holiday and, having seen a couple of negative reviews about the baby club, I was a little concerned at how my six month old daughter would get on there. However, I shouldn't have worried. The baby club was fantastic! We placed our daughter in the baby club from about 9-10am, collecting her at 2:30pm and she loved it! The staff were very friendly and caring - Ana, Chloe and Severine in particular. We also made use of the pyjama club on a couple of evenings.

Being confident that our little girl was in good hands, my husband and I could make use of the various activities on offer, of which there were lots. We had golf lessons and my husband played tennis. Although the lessons were in French, there were enough GOs who could speak English for us to understand.

The food was lovely - an amazing buffet with plenty of choices of quality food was laid on every day. The rooms were spacious (we were in the golf hotel) and we found that having adjoining rooms worked well - one room for us and one for the baby. The GOs were fantastic - full of energy and always willing to help.

Overall, a fantastic holiday and one that I highly recommend. I'm sure we'll be back here some time in the future!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonDaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Da Balaia, responded to this review, 13 May 2011
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Da Balaia Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed practising sports with our well trained G.Os and the way your daughter has been welcomed in the Baby Club Med.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Cannot fault my stay - naturally as a solo travelling female I was apprehensive but my concerns were completely unfounded - I was alone for about 2 hours the whole week! The staff are amazing and go out of there way to make you feel right at home. Pool is one of the best I've hung out in and is as good as the Five stars ones in luxury resorts in Dubai and Monte Carlo! There's plenty of sports to try and the Cinq Mondes Spa is fantastic to say the least. Night life centres around the shows and the nightclub so you are not entertained! As with all Club Meds the food is out of this workd, espeically the pizza and the cheese counters!

Room Tip: Go on the Club Med website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sara_bal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Da Balaia, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Da Balaia Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you had good time there and you enjoyed the food quality and our staff commitment.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We just came back yesterday from Da Balaïa yesterday where we spent a wonderful holiday with our 3 kids (8, 5 and 3,5 yrs), who had a great time too.

There was a fair amount to do, activity wise, but you could also relax by the pool or at the beach. The shows were very very entertaining, we had a lot of fun ! The connecting rooms we stayed in were good, although rather basic.

Special compliments have to go to the mini club, where the staff engaged the kids with their humour and enthusiasm. All the G.O's of the mini club were fantastic, but especially Inge our children are still speaking about :-). They certainly will miss her !

And what we enjoyed the very most on this holiday, were the daily Tai Chi Qong lessons given by Denis. He is an excellent and passionate teacher. We found the lessons of very high quality and the setting on the beautifull grass field near the sea was magic. For us it should be a reason to come back to Da Balaïa !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sophie19740822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#33 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
2.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
1.0 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balaia Mar Hotel
Balaia Mar Hotel
#26 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Da Balaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Da Balaia

Property: Club Med Da Balaia
Address: Praia Maria Luisa 8200-854 | Albufeira - province de Faro, Albufeira 8200-925, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#11 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med Da Balaia 3*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Da Balaia stands on an ochre cliff in southern Portugal, overlooking a magnificent white sand beach. The Resort allies sports and well-being in an outstanding setting. It's a world to unwind in, perfumed by the woody scents of parasol pines, olive trees and eucalyptus. Comfort and cosiness are to be found everywhere, even in the reception area where marble floors and deep red walls set the tone. This is a Club Med Resort where families, golfers and Spa enthusiasts live together in harmony. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Med Da Balaia Hotel Albufeira
Da Balaia Club Med
Club Med Albufeira
Albufeira Club Med
Club Med Da Balaia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing