We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned for another fab holiday!”
Review of Club Med Da Balaia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Albufeira
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Club Med Da Balaia
Ranked #21 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We returned with our 2 year old and 9 month old. They loved the kids club so did we! My daughter still sings the songs that they dance to in the bar. Stayed in Le Tour this time and rooms much better than the golf hotel. You are spoilt for choice with regards to food, drink and facilities. More English GO's this year (Laura Alex and Samantha) which was a nice bonus. This really is an excellent place to holiday with young children. Only complaint - wish we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lottiesmunmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,818)
There are newer reviews for Club Med Da Balaia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 2,818 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

We spent a very quick 6 days in Da Balaia with our two young children. We had really high hopes for the kids club but our two really hated it so we didn't get much use out of it. I should say that we spoke to a lot of parents around about the kids club and some were really happy with it and others were not impressed with it at all.
It's hard to know what goes on when you're not there but I did feel that maybe the staff were not great at dealing with the shy kids who maybe need to be drawn out a little. I think it was definitely more suited to kids who were used to being in childcare.
So that's the negative out of the way... we thought the food was fantastic - huge choice and lots of healthy (and delicious) options too. The house white wine in the restaurant was really good and plenty of opportunities for ice cream made the kids happy!
The activities were all really well organised and plenty of things to interest everybody - 6 days is not really long enough to try everything!
The sunbathing areas were top notch too - never a shortage of sunbeds/towels etc and a lovely grassy area which was quiet and relaxing between the hotel and the beach.
The entertainment was a bit full on for me - lots of synchronized dancing and singing along to the same track list of dance/techno music every day and thoughout the day but was easy enough to tune out as it was mainly in French.
The spa was very nice if a little expensive and we had a few treatments. The staff there were great especially Michelle who was excellent.
The staff were great in general - perfectly friendly - lots of smiles.
I do agree with an earlier review - it is a little bit of France in Portugal - I hadn't been to Portugal before and I'm not sure that I quite got the flavor of it on this trip - I'm a big fan of the weather though - blue skies every day and not too humid and no mosquitos that I could see.

Room Tip: Sea view in La Tour hotel was quite noisy at night
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awcDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Da Balaia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Da Balaia Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family enjoyed the activities organised by our G.Os and the food quality.

We are really sorry to read that your children felt uncomfortable in our children's clubs. Kindly note that our G.Os in charge of childcare within our resorts have extensive experience within this area and are extremely motivated to work with kids. However, the adaptation of children to collective childcare environment abroad is sometimes difficult and it may take a few days for children to feel comfortable within this new environment. On behalf of Club Med, we would like to offer you our apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your family on this occasion.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Our second visit to the resort and once again it delivered.

Food - great, especially lunch and dinner. Lots of variety and quality of produce is high. The restaurant is great for kids and guests understand that this is a family resort were exceptionally welcoming to a curious toddler.
Drink - named brands included and the coffee from the bar is great. The wine is good, although the red could be a little better.
Entertainment - predominantly in French, not really my cup of tea - but the children enjoyed a good dance.
Facilities - The common areas of the hotel are excellent, lovely pool, restaurant, bar, gardens, etc.
Room - we stayed in the Golf which is a little tired, but the beds are comfy, we get an interconnecting room for a toddler, and nice views over the gardens and golf course. Very quiet at night.
Beach - lovely with sun beds available. Only draw back is no beach bar.
Staff - very friendly and attentive - not sure where they get their energy from!

We enjoy Club Med as we prefer not to go to a solely British Hotel. The guest mix is 75% French, with the rest a mix of German's, English and Dutch.

Room Tip: book early!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pigeon25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Da Balaia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Da Balaia Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed the food quality and the Resort facilities.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The food here was as good as we have found anywhere especially for lunch and dinner.
For an all inclusive resort the white wine was very good and red and rose were OK. Bar drinks were always available.
The GOs were friendly and very enthusiastic however most of them conversed in french or at best in schoolboy english. The management were much more fluent.
Outside the complex the reduced value of the pound compared to our last visit to Portugal ( 18 years ago ) was noticable.
Prices in the on site shop were extortionate.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but corner rooms are larger.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Da Balaia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Da Balaia Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed the food quality and our staff commitment.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We spent 10 days at Club Med Da Balaia earlier this month. It was our first Club Med and first time in an all inclusive resort. We weren't sure it would suit us but it has surpassed all our expectations. The resort location is fantastic, the service is fantastic, the food is fabulous. It started with a warm welcome, you feel very well looked after as soon as you arrive and it never stops. You can relax, do sports, go for walks and have fun when you want to. The bar and restaurant are top quality. Service is the main quality. All staff, particularly GOs are always on the look to assist you, have a chat and make sure you have what you need. They are well led by the Club "chef de village". The petit club our son attened during the day was great. There is no club for children above 4 years old but our daughter soon found friends rto play with. If children of all ages were looked after that would make it better than perfect. I must say that the GOs, particularly at archery, wer very good with our daughter. Accomodation is good, we had rooms in the Pyramide hotel with sea view. Very quiet. The rooms were refurbished a few years back and are generally in good shape. Not 4* but very adequate. We had one of best holidays there and we'll carry on using Club Med. We will surely return to Da Balaia at some point. The scenary is beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for hotel Pyramide for best views.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerbyBretons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Da Balaia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Da Balaia Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed the comfort of your room and the Resort location.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We have just returned from a wonderfully relaxing week at Da Balaia. Having stayed at a great many Club Med hotels over the years, we feel this is one of the most attractive locations with stunning views over the ocean, plenty of grassed area to relax quietly, plus a lovely pool/bar area. There was always plenty of staff available and they were, at all times and without exception, friendly and extremely helpful. This has not always been our experience at Club Med, so we were pleasantly surprised. In some locations the staff have been very 'full on' and intrusive, but not at Da Balaia - simply excellent from top to bottom. The rooms are spacious - if a little sparse, but any problems we had (one or two minor issues) were dealt with immediately - we waited less than 15 minutes for Maintenance. Great food. Hotel complex clean at all times and in all areas. The gym was rather more basic than some we have visited but adequate. Free wi-fi available in reception area. Everything about the week was superb and we highly recommend it. - thanks for a great week!

Room Tip: Golf hotel offers quiet rooms
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carolg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Da Balaia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Da Balaia Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed your room and our staff commitment.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We have just returned from Da Balaia where we stayed for a week. We loved the holiday and had a great time. We stayed with out 2 & 3 year olds. We did not use the childrens club although others gave good reports. We could not fault this hotel - we found it to be stylish and chic , the food fantastic , a very civilized all inclusive service. Meal times were easy with children with an amazing selection of food and drinks. clean , pleasant dining areas with lots of high chairs.
The pool was a little chilly but our children were still in it lots and enjoyed it . The beach is directly in front of the hotel and is gorgeous - club med has its own area with loungers and shade. No need to pack beach towels as all provided as is cot bedding, hairdryers and there was even a bottle warmer and baby bath in our room. Great entertainment in the evening - our little ones loved the childrens dancing in the bar - very sweet. Great afternoon tea , crepes and ice creams in the afternoon! All in all a great place. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chants1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Da Balaia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2011

Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Da Balaia Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed the food quality and the Resort facilities.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#34 of 154 in Albufeira
815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Da Balaia Apartments
Da Balaia Apartments
#85 of 154 in Albufeira
68 reviews
2.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,347 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
1.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Da Balaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Da Balaia

Address: Praia Maria Luisa 8200-854 | Albufeira - province de Faro, Albufeira 8200-925, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#11 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £221 - £607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med Da Balaia 3*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Da Balaia stands on an ochre cliff in southern Portugal, overlooking a magnificent white sand beach. The Resort allies sports and well-being in an outstanding setting. It's a world to unwind in, perfumed by the woody scents of parasol pines, olive trees and eucalyptus. Comfort and cosiness are to be found everywhere, even in the reception area where marble floors and deep red walls set the tone. This is a Club Med Resort where families, golfers and Spa enthusiasts live together in harmony. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Med Da Balaia Hotel Albufeira
Da Balaia Club Med
Club Med Albufeira
Albufeira Club Med
Club Med Da Balaia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing