We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extended family holiday”
Review of Club Med Da Balaia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Albufeira
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Club Med Da Balaia
Ranked #22 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Overall a great time was had by all. Age of the family ranged between 1yr and71yrs and there was something for everyone. Food excellent, staff great (especially Anton from archery and julien from tennis). Only downsides were some of the reception staff and the rooms in the hotel golf. Rooms very dated and the corridors and one room smelt, although the rooms appeared clean. We complained 4 times about the room smelling and it wasn't really resolved. The shows in the evening were a great standard and all the sporting activities were superb.

Room Tip: Ask for pyramid hotel when booking
Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank Ktml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Da Balaia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Da Balaia Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed the food quality and our staff commitment.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,810)
There are newer reviews for Club Med Da Balaia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 2,810 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2011

Irish couple early 30s, 6 month old baby at time

Club med isn't cheap but it is all in. and caters for babies so there is a lot to be said for this.
Hotel was a bit dated looking and not luxurious but it was clean and had everything (apart from kettle!) which we needed (Inc bottle warmer, cot).
We got adjoining rooms for space this worked out well. Lovely views over the sea however music fairly loud until midnight so might not suit families with very young kids.

Food and restaurant very good, nice outdoor area. Kid's section with fresh vegetables, pasta, rice, yogurts, fruit.

Spa was lovely, did the job for massage and R&R.

The baby club was good, was very nervous leaving 6 month old there. Girls were confident and competent and we could check on baby whenever we wanted. We put him in an hour or two in the morning then again in afternoon. Was very clean and organises. Very safe and a very high standard of safety from locks, flooring etc. The girls were approachable and understanding (there are prob new staff at this stage).

If you don't want reps sitting beside you when you are eating try and get a small table. Was fine sometimes but others we just wanted some alone time.

Got taxi into town during the day, nice to get out, although plenty to do on sight.
Lovely beach and pool area. Tennis, archery, pitch and put.

All in all was a bit Heidi Hi but was so child friendly and that was our main concern for this holiday.
We have since gone to the club med in Dominican Republic and blew this resort out of the water, HOWEVER I would NEVER do a long haul flight to Caribbean with a baby again, not worth it. Too far away!

If you live in Europe and want a child friendly holiday this place is perfect. Great food and facilities, just might look a little dated. Would go again

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LolaEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We just got back from Da Balaia as two families with 4 kids, ages 4-6. This was absolutely the worst Club med experience ever in all of our Club Med travels. This property is extremely old and worn out; a big chunk of concrete blocks dating from the 70's. The whole place smells of mould. This is a hotel that Club Med took over and simply stuck its brand logo on the door.

We stayed in room T541-542, connecting rooms. One room reeked of vomit. We called the reception, housekeeping to get it cleaned but it only got worse. this was serious smell that burned your throat. The other room smelled equally bad, although we could not identify the source for the entire week! the housekeepins sucked, they just made the bed and changed a few towels. no cleaning of the room, no sweeping, no cleaning of bathrooms.

The club is filthy overall. The ping pong tables, rackets are broken to pieces. The area is so dirty, nobody took care of it for a week. the fitness room is a little better than a prison, the equipment is poor, the place reeks of mould, sweat, humidity, body odor. No one cares. No soap in the bathrooms. The pool is a joke.

there is a dirt road leading to the public beach. the beach is nice with beautiful sand and sea. During the entire week, we saw the guard only 2 times at the entrance of the beach. Anyone could just walk into this club, there is no security whatsoever. for a family club, this poses a serious problem.

The one and only nice thing was food. The food quality was really good.

The amphitheater is also a joke. It is a meeting room with leather chairs lined up next to eachother. Not an open air theather like everywhere else. there is no ambience, no feeling that this is a summer village. it is really depressing. the shows were awful, no choreography. They just picked anyone from the boutique, front office etc and stuck them in a so-called show.

basically, this was a deception beyond any words. It was a waste of money and very precious vacation time. Never ever going back and wpuld never recommend to anyone. Please to go a real Club Med and get a full experience. This club should not carry the Club Med logo. ıt is a shame.

forgoto to mention the GO team. Only 2 guys worked a lot and tried to make a difference. the chef de village was useless like the rest of the team. I guess they were equally depressed about being stuck in this decrepit village.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank bade t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Have stayed here 4 times in the past. While improvements have been made far too many of the rooms & public areas are tired & grubby. We stayed in the Golf Hotel this year and little has changed since we last stayed in this part 5yrs ago. That's the down side out of the way. The up sides: fantastic food for all tastes & ages, decently stocked bar for an all-inclusive, snack times which great for the kids. Evening & poolside entertainment has improved noticeably since last year. Looks like Chef de Resort, Said, had done a great job developing his team. Special mentionsv& thanks to Pierre-Jon, Antonie in the restaurant & Alex at the bar. If you've never done Club Med this is one of the best. Looks expensive at first glance but works out fantastic value when all facilities and quality of food & drink taken into account.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrGinWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The room was big and confortable (we booked the best type of room and it was worth it).
We had no problems moving around with a 18 month old toddler. Facilities fr children are great.
The food was excellent as it's the standard in club med.
Friendly people, no problems to comunicate in spanish or english.
Easy access to the beach.
Everything was perfect, we'd loved to come back.

Room Tip: The big rooms are totally worth the price.
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Flor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Da Balaia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our [name of the resort] Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed the comfort of your room and the food quality.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Not my 1st time at Club Med but my 1st time in Da Balaia !
What a great experience !
Wonderful place, professional and so friendly staff (everywhere, hotel, restaurant, reception, spa, sport,...)
Comfortable rooms with superb view, delicious food !
What a golf team ! I'll be back !
So...Da Balaia, what else ! ? :-)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ccabuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Enjoyed our stay at Da Balaia. The location is superb, above a beautiful beach with direct access by steps. The swimming pool at the hotel is lovely and has a kiddies section. The food was absolutely delicious! There was a fantastic variety, and there is no way you would tire of the selection. Wine served with the meals was of good quality. Loved the fact that they include golf and tennis lessons etc. You really couldn't ask for more in terms of staff enthusiam. We went with two young children, a baby and a toddler. We booked them into the petit club etc. in advance as we thought we may use it a few afternoons. In the end we only used it one day. There was a vomiting bug going around (even though the staff denied there was-we found out from other parents later that another child had been sick) and our little girl was very sick. There was a nurse on site but I suppose we would have appreciated if they told us if other children were sick as we would never have put our little girl in there if we knew. Just make sure to ask if you are putting your children in, and maybe talk to other parents as they were our biggest source of information. Apart from this unfortunate incident the hotel and whole club med experience was fantastic. We will try club med again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mena28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Da Balaia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2011

Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Da Balaia Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed the food quality, the resort location and practising sports with our well trained G.O.s.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#35 of 154 in Albufeira
815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Da Balaia Apartments
Da Balaia Apartments
#85 of 154 in Albufeira
68 reviews
2.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,343 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
1.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Da Balaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Da Balaia

Address: Praia Maria Luisa 8200-854 | Albufeira - province de Faro, Albufeira 8200-925, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#11 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £220 - £608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med Da Balaia 3*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Da Balaia stands on an ochre cliff in southern Portugal, overlooking a magnificent white sand beach. The Resort allies sports and well-being in an outstanding setting. It's a world to unwind in, perfumed by the woody scents of parasol pines, olive trees and eucalyptus. Comfort and cosiness are to be found everywhere, even in the reception area where marble floors and deep red walls set the tone. This is a Club Med Resort where families, golfers and Spa enthusiasts live together in harmony. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Med Da Balaia Hotel Albufeira
Da Balaia Club Med
Club Med Albufeira
Albufeira Club Med
Club Med Da Balaia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing