We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday ...”
Review of Club Med Da Balaia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Albufeira
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Club Med Da Balaia
Ranked #29 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday ...”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Club Med rarely fail, they just get it so right and cater for everyones needs and value how precious holidays are... I visited with my 2yr old daughter and although we didn't use the baby club I did see it and the facilities looked very good.
The hotel is clean and in a beautiful setting, the staff are all friendly and genuinely seem to enjoy their jobs. Evening entertainment is great fun
The food was varied and of high quality and plenty of healthy options for both adults and the little ones. Was very impressed with the holiday from start to finish and honestly don't have one negative comment.
I would definitely go back and also highly recommend it!!

Room Tip: Room away from the evening entertainment is better if you have younger children with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leighlocals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    966
    858
    303
    130
    64
See reviews for
1,247
503
139
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rabat
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

we have spend a week in clubmed da balaia in June 2013
first of all , the weather was just perfect during the whole stay
In general we were extremely happy with the stay , the hotel even a little bit old is located in a beautiful natural site : the beach is just perfect
Our first Club med experience is a success, and we have removed all the stereotype about this type of vacations , for various reasons :
- You have the choice to shape your own holiday , not obliged to follow up the programs in the club
- The G.O are extremely talented and professional , special mention to golf team ( alfio and Antonin ) , and the shows during the night ( the shows are almost equivalent to paid shows in theathers , even if the dancers are not professionals )

One important thing to mention in club med is that you eat a lot  , because of a good food …

If I have to mention a negative side : the room in Golf needs a renewal : but really it doesn’t change on the overall satisfaction from our stay

Many thanks to the G.O team , and we will for sure try another ClubMed , and why not go back to the same

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sla34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We have just got back from a week at Da Balaia - our first Club Med summer experience. We had a lovely holiday, the Club Med formula suits our needs very well and this resort was great at this time for what we wanted - I could understand others being disappointed though.
Firstly, therefore why Da Balaia in June? We chose this resort because of the very positive feedback we had heard about the Petit Club - & that did not disappoint at all. Ana Rita and her team were fantastic and our 2 year old had a week of fabulous experiences in a supportive, well thought through environment. Special thanks to Ana Rita, Marion, Léa, Mariangela and Inès for their kindness. We also really appreciated the team spending additional time with us in the evenings, it really helped to better understand the people taking care of our child but also for them to better understand our daughter in her family environment. By the end of the week our daughter did not want to leave them.
Secondly, the climate and facilities were great for active, fun, sports oriented holiday. It was hot but not too hot and our days were spent playing tennis, golf and football and trying a few new sports like archery. Again the GOs were great (thanks Caroline, Etienne, Marvin, Antonin, Sébastien and Adrien)- we learnt a lot but it was always fun and nobody was taking themselves too seriously. By 5 we had finished our sports, could collect our daughter from the Petit Club and the weather was still hot enough for some family pool time.
On the negative side, there are some areas where I felt the resort or Club Med were falling short of the standards they should be setting themselves.
First issue is the children's food; they have a great restaurant and good adult food as well as a good children's space but the kids food is just left in a series of pots in water - no care and attention whatsoever and very disappointing
My second complaint is wifi. Club Med just have to get this sorted out and fast. On a relatively expensive all inclusive holiday I expect wifi access everywhere, included in the cost and with a one time only logon. Anything else these days is unjustified and in today's world this is not a luxury any more.
I also found the level of service very mixed - very good in the restaurant where people really wanted to help, mixed at the bar where I think comments from other reviewers of arrogance and poor service are justified. I personally had both good and very bad experiences. The reception I thought was awful - check out was a mess that took far too long to achieve very little, no organisation and stroppy service from Elizabeth.
The resort is an ageing complex, but we found the rooms to be very clean and absolutely adequate. It was very quiet and we slept really well. The shows were very well done (thank you Aurore!) and people were trying very hard to involve everybody, with mixed results but the atmosphere got better throughout the week as people began to get into the swing of it; this was a very family with pre-school kids oriented resort at the time we were there. I would strongly recommend it if you fit into that category but would recommend other resorts if not.

Room Tip: We were in a Golf room. It was very quiet and ideal for families with young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We were a family of 4 including children of 11 and 7 and had a lovely holiday on our first visit to a Club Med resort. The facilities were very good with crazy golf, pitch and putt, driving range of sorts, tennis, table tennis, pool etc.. There was more than enough to keep us busy for the week. The pitch and putt was great for the kids (and dad!!) with a view over the sea! The standard food was very good given the number of guests they were catering for and with a lot of variety. My favourite was the seafood night with oysters, prawns and other fish dishes. The puddings were also very good all week. Although the only white wine we were served during the week was a little ropey, I'm surprised the French would put up with it!
I would agree some of the previous comments just recently as the attitude of the some of the bar staff was surly and did take the edge off the holiday. I really don't think it's acceptable. Not sure if it was just because we were English!!
My 7 year old son was put off going back to the archery because of another grumpy French G.O. He was one of the main entertainers in the resort but was covering the archery at the weekend. However the regular G.O. was very nice and we had a great hour on the range later in the week.
A major problem on our visit to the beach was a large slick of dubious brown deposits in the water, so we didn't go in the water again! Later in the week we did see another large expanse of brown sludge in the sea which was clearly visible from the cliff.
To end on a positive all of the transfers were well organised and the actual location and grounds were lovely.

Room Tip: Golf Hotel interconnecting rooms were large but could do with updating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Generally amazing hotel and the food was varied, extensive and lovely. The staff were very friendly and the kids club was just what we needed to relax. They took great care of our children and genuinely seemed to enjoy their jobs and the children they were looking after. Lots of sports and activities to chose from. The place was clearly popular as the pool, bar and restaurant was packed most days.

The rooms we had were fine for us. Not luxurious but after all you don't spend a lot of time in your rooms. The rooms were clean and well maintained so over all no complaint.

On the downside, we had one complaint regarding someone trying to get into our children's room late at night and it was not dealt with, or at least no one ever came back to us to explain what had happened. This was concerning and left us uneasy about leaving our children alone at any time.
Plus the male toilets at the restaurant were out of the order the entire time we were there which wasn't great.

Overall a great experience and we had a good holiday. We are huge club med fans and this did not disappoint. There's no comparison with other all-inclusive holidays. They just do it better than all the rest.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farringford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oporto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Premises look like they were never refurbished... Corridors look depressing! Room is of very low quality. Bartenders are very serious and very arrogant,,, They sometimes don't even talk in portuguese so if you don't speak french you're in trouble... G.O.s are ok but after some point they seem to be too artificial when they go around like puppets cheering everyone. Leisure times at the bar were of very low level with a singer that seemed more like the sound-check technician...
Anyway, if it wasn't for the swimming pool and for the beach I would probably give zero stars...

Room Tip: Only in the central area are good rooms. The rest is depressing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luis_1977O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The rooms needed a make over even though apparently it has recently been redecorated. The staff were incredibly friendly and enthusiastic but sadly lacked knowledge about the surrounding areas and general basic information. The choice of food was extensive, vast and well prepared for the scale. Overall I was disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ribzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#33 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
2.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
1.0 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balaia Mar Hotel
Balaia Mar Hotel
#26 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Da Balaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Da Balaia

Property: Club Med Da Balaia
Address: Praia Maria Luisa 8200-854 | Albufeira - province de Faro, Albufeira 8200-925, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#11 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med Da Balaia 3*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Da Balaia stands on an ochre cliff in southern Portugal, overlooking a magnificent white sand beach. The Resort allies sports and well-being in an outstanding setting. It's a world to unwind in, perfumed by the woody scents of parasol pines, olive trees and eucalyptus. Comfort and cosiness are to be found everywhere, even in the reception area where marble floors and deep red walls set the tone. This is a Club Med Resort where families, golfers and Spa enthusiasts live together in harmony. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Med Da Balaia Hotel Albufeira
Da Balaia Club Med
Club Med Albufeira
Albufeira Club Med
Club Med Da Balaia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing