We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great unusual hotel”
Review of Hotel do Cerro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel do Cerro
Ranked #49 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This hotel is very unusual - it is like a little rabbit warren with lots of nooks and crannies. The decor is great a mixture of old and new! The bedrooms are spacious and have very good facilities. The restaurant is small and intimate and the food is good with lots of variety. Staff very helpful and welcoming. Pool a little cold - sunbeds plentiful and very comfy with padded cushions. The whole hotel is well maintained and is very clean. It was a delight to stay there.

If you have problems walking - this is not the hotel for you as it is at the top of quite a steep hill, however it is only about 10 minutes downhill to the square where you will find bars, shops and entertainment.

The entertainment in the hotel is probably the only thing that iI would not rate highly - this was not very good.

We did not use the spa or indoor pool facilities therefore I feel I cannot comment on these.

Room Tip: as the hotel is on a hill outside the main centre of town there is no noise so I cannot offer any su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2012

Ive just returned from a wonderful weeks stay at the do cerro, albuferia, the hotel was excellent, friendly staff, 100% for room service, the atmosphere was tranquil , and all the quest there agree , thank you all for making it so enjoyable .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I have returned after my 4th visit to the Hotel do Cerro. I do wonder what people want? It is exceptional value for money, I agree there are some niggling extras like the fridge, but the rate is so good, and the people are so friendly. I am writing this after having booked next years stay.

The rooms are clean, have good air conditioning and are comfortable (Once you take the plastic mattrees covers off, my only complaint, I hate them, but once taken off they were replaced with non-plastic)). Breakfast is adequate if a bit the same every day!. The location is perfect, close enough to everything but really quiet. And another good point, the opposite end of town to 'The Strip'.

The guy who works in the cafe/bar by the pool is so friendly and remembers us every year, the reception staff are very helpful and the mangement always try and help.

A very enjoyable week, we really like the town, it is very commercial, but the food is good and a reasonable price if you look around. Looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out to sea or over the pool I like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BigTel32767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Came back from Albufeira on 27/9/12 having stayed at Do Cerro Hotel for 14 nights. In all fairness, the hotel was quite good, the good bits outweighed the bad bits. That said, I do not think it is a 4 star hotel, 3 stars is more like it. We stayed in room 205, which has a side sea view, a full view of the car park and a side view of the local school. In respect of the room, there are 2 good sized single beds, plenty of hanging space, a nice bathroom with a powerful shower and a good sized balcony. However, the tiny fridge was 4 euros a day, I expected to have a fridge as standard. The restaurant was downstairs on the ground floor. It is a bit small for the number of guests and the area around the buffet was tight to say the least, and some rude guests didn't help. The food was OK but that is about it. You would not go hungry but it was a bit bland and repetitive. Decent outdoor swimming pool and plenty of beds. The bar was fine, and the terrace area of the bar was great with good views over Albufeira fishermans' beach all the way to Vilamoura. 3 euros for a large beer and 11 euros for a bottle of (decent) house wine. All the staff were pretty good, all spoke English and could not be more helpful. True, there was a bit of a walk back up hill from either the Old Town or the Marina but there was always the option of a taxi. In conclusion, I quite enjoyed my stay there, but if I did go back, it would be on a B & B basis as there are numerous great restaurants, reasonably priced, nearby in the Old Town and the Marina.

Room Tip: Sea view room a must as they all have good sized balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Just returned from hotel 23/09/12 and I can honestly say I will not go back, where they get 4star from I dont know, I would class it as a 2star, you have to pay 4euro a day for fridge, 2euro for a fried egg, 5 euro to hire a towel, but an extra euro per day on top of that, 5euro to use indoor pool,gym,sauna, and 3.50 euro to hire a cap to swim in indoor pool(which you dont get back) entertainment was terrible, food was the same but just cooked differently, cat wondering all over the restaurant, you have to pay if you need extra pillow, 2 euro for ice, alot of germans which i didnt mind, but they were so ignorant, sneezing and coughing over the food, if your at the front you will hear dustbins being emptied at 4.15 in the morning, and the noise from the school next door, no one i spoke to will go back there, so dont be fooled by the pictures

Room Tip: rooms at front of hotel can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Goodhotel in nice area of Alburfeira. First time there although not first time to the Algarve. Hotel was excellent and just a bit out of the town which was nice. Up hill climb but that has to be good doesn't it? I would certainly recommend the hotel and the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wishfulnorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

As we arrived at the hotel our first impressions were that it was very dull and dismal, to reach our room we had been allocated, we had to go through an underground passage, which was well lit, but creepy.

We paid for a room with a sea view, but we couldnt really see it as it was between 2 buildings.

Everything in the hotel we had to pay extra for which i thought was scandalous, e.g ice cubes in your drink ( 2 euros ), for a fried egg on your breakfast you had to pay 1 euro. Extra pillows in the room also had a charge.

In a few words i would describe this hotel as fawlty towers, nothing like what we seen in the brochure and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.3 mi away
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ondamar Aparthotel
#41 of 154 in Albufeira
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Cerro da Marina Hotel
Cerro da Marina Hotel
#40 of 154 in Albufeira
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rainha D Leonor Apartamentos
Rainha D Leonor Apartamentos
#99 of 154 in Albufeira
121 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,841 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#39 of 154 in Albufeira
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Cerro

Address: Rua Samora Barros, Albufeira 8200-178, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#34 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £40 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Cerro 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel do Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Do Cerro Albufeira
Estalagem Do Cerro Hotel Albufeira
Estalagem Cerro
Hotel Do Cerro Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing