We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel but with faults” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel do Cerro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel do Cerro
Ranked #45 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great hotel but with faults”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

my wife and I stayed for a week .we were in a room with a see view .the hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating .we had to report the shower leaked as water was all over the bathroom .the gent on reception said he would do something about it .we came back at evening time and had a shower but with the same result but not as bad this time .we decided that the best way to solve it was to shower with the screen turned inwards this did solve the problem .I do not know what had been done to fix it but nothing was done to right it .our room was very spacious with plenty of room.the evening meals were great but the breakfast was not so .the usual either over or under cooked bacon.my tip if staying here is simple if you are given a room on the first floor please make sure you lock your balcony door as there were two burglaries while we were there another fault I found that cats were allowed in the dining room which should not be allowed

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BPH1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    284
    149
    67
    29
See reviews for
111
470
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have just returned from our 4th stay at the Do Cerro. On our arrivla the weather was foul with torrents of rain runnig down the hill but the welcome was as warm was ever . We had our usual rooms which although not modern were clean and spacious with a decent shower and bath and comfortable beds made up ready forthe colder weather . Due to the rain we stayed in the hotel the first day and I had a wonderful full body massage in the spa , so good my otherhalf and mum also booiked up for one , definetly recommeneded whatever the weather !
The indoor pool was also great , we had brought pur own swimming hats as they are complusory .
The food is good , plenty of chocie . I would catergoise it as good home cooking rather than restaurant style but there were 4 of us and we always found something that suited . The creme caramel for desset was a particutlar favourite. Drinks in the bar and the restaurant are reasonable and measures generous !
The hotel is up a steep hill but you can get the bus back ( 1;40 euros ) or a taxi for between 4 and 6 euros which works out just as cheap as the bus for 4 of you. We were with my 80yr old parents who walked down to the Old Town and got the bus or taxie back .
As so many reveiwers have said the strength of this hotel is it's staff and the friendliness. Everyone working in reception,dining room and bar are as friendly as ever and we were sad to leave , already plannng our return trip!

Room Tip: Be friendly to the staff , you will reap the rewards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hilly29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Chose this hotel as part of a 2-centre holiday, believing it to be a 4-star hotel
Location – 10-20 mins ride from the bus station on the blue city bus line 2, single bus fare 1.40 euros. Get off at the Jardim bus stop to the right of the hotel, which is situated opposite a viewpoint. To get to town from the hotel, it’s a 4-min walk downhill via steps alongside the primary school opposite that leads on to a little street, which ends at the esplanade by Restaurant Rocamar. To the right is a terrace viewpoint, with steps or lift to the smaller beach, Praia dos Penedo, that leads on to the larger Praia dos Pescadores. The town main square is a 7-10 min stroll to the left via the esplanade.
Hotel – is no more than a 3-star hotel. There is a lovely baby grand piano up the stairs from the entrance, & interesting pictures on the corridor walls. The furnishing throughout is tired. The pool was on restricted winter opening times, so did not see or use it as out in the day. Wifi access is provided for use with your own device, but there is no available computer internet access for those without. The Reception staff were always cheerful & helpful, providing a map & local information, which was the only thing that alleviated the disappointment with the hotel.
Room – spacious with double wardrobe, chairs & table, coat-hooks, luggage rack, TV with english news, eurosports & movie channels. 4-piece suite & adequate towel space in the bathroom. Spacious balcony with its own sun loungers & ocean view, although this view must be better from the higher floors. Much has been said already about the withheld pay-for-use facilities (fridge, safe) in the rooms, substantiating the view that the lack of these make the hotel & rooms no more than a 2-star facility.
Breakfast – Poor quality. Greasy overcooked hot buffet. Limited choice cold buffet. Mainly tinned fruit, a small quantity of fresh fruit cut in half & left yellowing in a bowl, as were the pieces of cake, seeming to encourage or discourage anything but small portions, consolidating the overall impression of poor hospitality for guests expecting a 4-star experience. Also cats strolling around freely in a food area, however well-behaved, are not eveyone's cup of tea.
This hotel is not a 4-star one; the rating is completely misleading.

Room Tip: If you opt for a sea view room, ask for one on the higher floors for a better view. The color of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2Mar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We spent 6 nights here at the end of March 2014, and greatly enjoyed our stay.

The staff were so friendly and welcoming, very helpful and full of local knowledge.

Location-wise, it's a 5 minute walk down to the centre of the old town (where dozens of restaurants, bars and souvenir shops are) and around a ten-minute walk to the marina (more restaurants and boat trips etc here). It's an easy walk down the hill to both of the afore-mentioned locations, and not bad on the upward journey - however for those of limited mobility the hill back up might be a little daunting. Luckily a taxi up from either location will only cost around 5euro at most times of the day.

Rooms are not overly spacious and are somewhat basic, however are very comfortable and more than adequate. The bed was comfortable, and there was an abundance of blankets and pillows. There was a heater in our bathroom too, which was much appreciated when we were soaked in the rain and had to dry out our jackets and warm up! There was a decent air-conditioner and heater in our room too, which was remote-controlled and worked well to heat or cool the room as needed. The TV was decent too, and they offer five English-speaking channels and numerous channels in several other languages. Not a great selection, but as I hope/expect other visitors will have better weather than we did, most people won't want anything more than a couple of news channels, a kids channel, travel channel and old naff movie channel in English!
Safe and hairdryer also in room, however there is a very small charge to use the safe during your stay.
We had a balcony with a nice sea view, which was lovely and a real treat on warmer sunny mornings.

The hotel itself is quite quirky, with waterfalls in the downstairs corridor and lovely photos of old Albufeira in days gone by. The entrance hall has marble floors and staircase and a beautiful baby grand piano overlooks it all. Admittedly it's a little dated (super-modern it is not!) however do not let this put you off as the quirkiness is an endearing feature and adds character.

Food-wise, we had the buffet breakfast every day however did not have dinner there. The breakfast buffet contains a good selection of bread, rolls and pastries, as well as a selection of meats, cheeses, fruit and cooked options. In terms of the cooked options, there are sausages, eggs (both scrambled and hard-boiled every day), bacon, and baked beans. The sausages may not be to the taste of the Brits, however aren't too bad. Personally, I filled up on either scrambled egg or beans on toast every day and enjoyed these options. The coffee and fresh juice isn't brilliant, however you can get a good cup of tea if you have the patience to leave the tea bag in for a good few minutes! The breakfast isn't anything fancy, however does provide a good start to the day and is very good value for money considering the cost of a room with breakfast too!

Despite the staff, rooms, location and food all being good, the main selling point for me is that it's pet-friendly and they've adopted three local cats. I'm a real animal lover, and whilst I don't have a dog to take on holiday (work commitments prevent this, much to my disappointment!) it'd be great to be able to take my pet away with me to such a lovely part of the world.
The three cats they've adopted are lovely, friendly and clean animals - they're never in the way or in the food areas (I understand some people will have reservations about sharing a hotel with cats) - they're just a lovely addition to the overall atmosphere of the hotel. They're lovely and well-looked after, and it was a lovely change to be able to pet a cat or three whilst in the reception area!

There are a lot of stray cats in Albufeira, however a local organisation takes care of them and those with a clipped ear are spayed/neutered and have been given a clean bill of health by a local vet, meaning they are healthy, looked after and will not overrun the town because they can't breed! I'm sure you can imagine with so many eateries in a small place there is a chance of vermon - the cats serve their purpose because no rodent in their right mind will go anywhere near a town with colonies of cats dotted around! I therefore implore anyone visitng to be kind to these cats, and if you feel generous drop them a bit of food (not if you're eating in a restaurant - you'll only get the cat in trouble!) every now and then and not shoo them away. They're lovely - not a nuisance and not everywhere you go, but in certain parts you will see a couple hanging around.

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel so much that we've booked-it for our parents in June - they'll be spending ten nights here then and I know they'll enjoy every minute of it.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms are a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HughJars85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

My partner and I stayed here from the 20th for a week and definitely didn't want to leave! With it being a family run relatively small hotel the service was great. The staff were all fluent in English, polite and friendly. We were in room 322 and it was much better than we expected! Huge bed and balcony, lovely new bathroom and all the things you'd need in a room. The breakfast and evening meal was lovely too, plenty of selection even for my very fussy eater of a boyfriend!
The pool area was nice but unfortunately the pool itself was too cold to go in but we went in the indoor pool everyday which was so relaxing!
(The only thing I'll mention is the walk to the local town is extremely hilly so maybe not acceptable for people with mobility issues but there is a bus directly outside of the hotel)

All in all we throughly enjoyed our stay and plan on going back next year! Definitely recommend it to all.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaDeanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Having read previous feedback on the Hotel we were intrigued to see it. My mother and I stayed for 6 nights, dinner, bed and breakfast and really enjoyed the experience. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our bedrooms were great, both with lovely sea views and all we needed with good, easily accessible lighting, a dressing table for make up and hairdryer in bathroom and free wifi.There was always plenty of hot water and the rooms were quiet apart from the occasional barking dog. We like cats so enjoyed seeing them around the place. Breakfast was fine although it would have been nice to have fresh orange juice when there are so many oranges grown in Portugal but this seems to be beyond most hotels. Dinner was a little disappointing, the food tasted ok but presentation was a bit unappetising.
I suggest it is worth booking direct with the Hotel via their website because prices seem to be lower or equal to some of the late booking sites and were very reasonable and no exorbitant single supplement.
The position is great, yes it is hilly but you just take it slowly - enjoyable walk to Old Town and bus near Hotel if you need it. We used the spa and I swam in the indoor pool (having purchased a swiming hat in UK) which was enjoyable. Our weather was good - t shirt and shorts and paddling in the sea in early March is pretty good, we came back with a bit of a tan.
Guests obviously come back year after year and there was a lovely atmosphere in the Hotel with people chatting to each other and sharing ideas of places to visit.This was particularly brought home to us when we spent our last night in Faro as we had a very early flight, it was sterile and impersonal and it made us even more grateful we had chosen to spend most of our holiday at the Do Cerro. All in all a very good holiday and excellent value for money,

Room Tip: We asked for sea views on a high floor and rooms close together and were given 314 and 315 which had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nicola042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Situated at the edge of the old town was a great location for me. Most of the old town is hilly so this hotel is less suitable for anyone with mobility problems. I am a fussy eater but was very happy with the choice and quality of food. Staff were always friendly and helpful, in peak season I would imagine the buffet area for food would be crowded. Everything in the room worked (room 423) it was larger than average and was kept spotlessly clean, the free WIFI was great. Many of the guests had returned to this family run hotel year after year and I will be retuning next year if not before.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Cerro da Marina Hotel
Cerro da Marina Hotel
#37 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#61 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#33 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#44 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Branca
Vila Branca
#74 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Cerro

Property: Hotel do Cerro
Address: Rua Samora Barros Cerro de Piedade, Albufeira 8200-178, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#33 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Cerro 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hotel do Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Do Cerro Albufeira
Estalagem Do Cerro Hotel Albufeira
Estalagem Cerro
Hotel Do Cerro Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing