We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the ordinary”
Review of Hotel do Cerro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel do Cerro
Ranked #50 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 3 May 2014

If you want a hotel where every floor and room looks the same, then avoid this hotel. I loved the individual decorative touches in the public areas, especially the totally unexpected bust on a plinth behind a waterfall at the end of a corridor and the old polished prices of furniture dotted around. The rooms however were dated. Staff were excellent. Breakfast was buffet style, with sausage, scrambled egg, bacon and beans every day. Lovely fresh breads and some cold meats,cheeses and yoghurt and fruit. Coffee was excellent. Dinner was good, with at least three main choices and soup and yummy desserts. The location of the hotel was just right, a mere five minutes walk from the old town. Take ten minutes coming back as it is on a hill. And yes, there is a school next door, and real people living in real houses. On the other side of Albufiera is 'the strip' with big hotels and strips of bars and eating places built specially for tourists.

Room Tip: I was given room 204 as I had asked for a room with evening sun. It overlooked the car park and was...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
There are newer reviews for Hotel do Cerro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hi all this is my first ever review and my stay has compelled me to join trip advisor and write a review and from now on check all hotels etc- We returned home Saturday 26.4.2014 after a week in this hotel. This was our first time in Portugal and we are a couple in our mid 40s and young at heart ;-) - firstly the positives, our room was clean and we had a large room with a super king bed and this was made up every day, towels were changed most days. We were on the first floor in room 5 and this had a fantastic large balcony ( we paid for a sea view room when booking ) we also had an extra room with a sofa and a Sony flat screen TV, decent bath and a shower ! This room gave us great views of the sea and it was a sun trap on the balcony where we had the sun all day from 8am until about 18:30 when the sun dropped behind the hotel. Sorry but that's about all on the positives as this hotel was cat and dog friendly and there were 4 or so cats hanging around reception all the time and in the room next to us #4 guests had a dog in the room and there were a few more dogs while we were there ! The food was not very nice at all and not to our liking ! we paid for half board and after the second night we did not eat there again for an evening meal and only went down for breakfast to have some toast as the choice and quality in general was very poor ! We would not return to this hotel and in our opinion this hotel is far from a 4 star !
Albufeira - old town was great for food, drink and live music and we really enjoyed it !

Room Tip: Room number 5 was like a double family room with a very large sunny all day balcony but you have to...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pappag69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were disappointed in many aspects of this hotel after reading reviews before we went.
The hotel was very quiet yet we were allocated the smallest double room we have ever been in with a very small balcony. The bathroom was tiny but had a big corner bath which meant the toilet itself was fitted into the tiniest of spaces...pity anyone more than a size 12!
The information folder in the room advised that towels were changed three times per week, but I had to complain before getting fresh towels and they were then changed every day!
There were notices telling guests that they should ensure their clothes, underwear and footwear were tidily stored to enable maids to provide good service. Despite making sure all surfaces were clear, our maid never swept the floor or wiped down the dressing table or cleaned the ashtray on the balcony. On our first day, we came back to the hotel at around 4.30 pm to find the maid had not been and I had to go and find her. She then did the absolute minimum not even making the bed properly. We eventually asked if our room could be done in the morning which we were told it would be (we like to use our balcony in the afternoons but not if the maid is still to come). The earliest the maid came was just before 3 pm!

The choice of food was very limited, although what was there was of a good quality and well cooked. The same things appeared time and again with absolutely no variety at breakfast. Desserts in the evening were boring and repeated often.
Would we stay here again? Absolutely not!

Room Tip: Avoid room 301. It is absolutely tiny
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynniethepooh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Staff are very arrogant and miserable, it felt like they had just been taken over by all inclusive company and weren't too happy about it. Customers got treated worst than paying customers, I had pints served in what I can only describe as a test tube sized glass, and when asked to put it into a pint glass I was told no, coffee served out of a jug on the side rather than the machine (which pay as you go customer got). Evening food wasn't too bad in all honestly, the lunch was pretty terrible and quite repetitive but what can you expect. In the other bar we was greeted by another lovely gent who, when ordering a drink, replied "you again, what do you want" everything felt like a huge hassle and also felt we were a massive inconvenience because we ordered a drink! It is positioned on the steepest hill ever, so not for the unfit. The spa, you have to pay to use it something ridiculous like 5 euro for towel, 5 euro for cap, 5 euro for slippers probably end up paying 50euros for the jacuzzi. Entertainment was very poor think some dancers came in and had a little dance for 30mins then went. I would advise staying in the new town if you are under 25 (like ourselves) as old town is nice but a bit less lively. I will never go back to this place it is definitely worth paying a bit more for something that offer better service, staff, location and entertainment.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Spent a week here during the Easter Holidays. Albufeira has begun to recover having been hit badly by the recession in 2011/12. Its more expensive than a lot of resort towns, but the setting is lovely, the beach is clean, safe and sun kissed, and the old town still retains an unusual ability to mix both stag and hen do's and 70 somethings in the same few streets without anyone feeling out of place.

The location is good, its 8-10 minutes walk downhill from the old town square and beach. The walk up is a graft, my 6 months pregnant wife enjoyed it! If you don't feel like it a taxi from the old town is only 4 or 5 Euros. You are close enough in to make the most of the place, whilst being far enough out to get a quiet nights sleep and ensure that the "lads on tour" holiday crowd are not next door.

The Hotel is quirky, with interesting artwork, some nice little hideaways (a little quiet area with a fireplace and roof terrace up by room 10 is worth some reading time). There are wee cats wandering around but its Portugal, its not that unusual. The rooms are decent, but I would recommend if you want a sea view to go for a higher floor, we were in room 16 which had a partial sea view. The standard of cleaning is good, although the towels were not replaced no matter how obvious you made it that they needed changing. The outside pool area is really nice, its a real sun trap, especially with the wind in April. The pool is freezing but that's a bit of a relief after a wee bit of bronzing!

The hotels charm however does not survive contact with customer facing staff. From checking in to leaving we were treated with a mild neglect that we found quite amusing in a sort of Faulty Towers way. The reception staff universally were unhelpful, but in a way which you would have to laugh at... I had asked if there was a safety deposit box in the room upon arrival and was told yes, only to have to go back to reception after getting to our room to ask if we could then rent the key to use it, surely this would have followed on from being asked in the first place. Likewise we asked if we could rent the fridge in the room (4 Euro/Per night) but were told no, it was a mini bar, but it was empty. Which surely makes it just an empty fridge in a room. When we handed back our safety deposit box key, the receptionist ignored us, until I asked if we were going to get our deposit back or not, only for the girl to respond "well you should have asked for it".

Opening times of things are not adhered to, so the poolside cafe, gym and indoor pool are all meant to open at 10 but its really whenever the staff feel the urge. Likewise the cafe would be shut 30 minutes early. The Spa/Gym seems to be a wasted resource, its pricing policy is absurd (5 Euros per visit, per amenity, so if you want to use the gym, sauna and steam room, that's 15 Euros, no thanks). As its not as if the facilities are world beating, I would not bother. The indoor pool though is nice, and its free to use provided you have a swimming cap, pick one up in JD Sports etc for a couple of pounds rather than pay 5 Euros at the hotel.

Breakfast is not fantastic. The breads are nice but there is not a terrific selection of spreads or jams to go with it. The fruit selection is a horse trough with apples, oranges and bananas sliced in half. The hot selection is an impressive array of heart disease in a servery, and if you like toast good luck to you, for a 80 odd room hotel you would expect more than a two slice domestic toaster powered by happy thoughts.

Ultimately its a nice enough 3 Star (not sure what vortex you would have to have travelled through to think its a 4*) hotel in a good location, that could be much better if that staff showed a bit of interest.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We always arrive at a 'new' hotel with an open mind. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was clean and tidy, even if a little 'tired'. The room was clean and tidy with a small balcony overlooking the sea in two directions. The bathroom was adequate with very hot water and serviced daily. All of the staff were pleasant and helpful and all of our questions were answered efficiently and with a smile.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel. This was plentiful, with a good range of hot and cold food available, and plenty of it as well. The fresh fruit was particularly good.

We didn't use any of the other hotel facilities by choice, as we preferred to be out and about. There was a pool, bar and lounge available that seemed to be well used whenever we passed by.

The hotel location is very good and in a quiet area of Albufeira. We were warned that there was a steep hill down to the beach and old town and that it would be better to get a bus (I think some people are just plain lazy!). I have mobility issues and it never stopped me getting out and about, even coming back up. In fact, you will meet steps and hills wherever you go in Albufeira. It is less than a 10 minute stroll down to the beach and a couple of minutes further to the main square.

Overall, a good hotel in a good location and I would recommend it if you want a quieter holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Do Cerro hotel In Albuferia, have to say after reading the past reviews on trip advisor was very disappointed when we got there. We knew the hotel was on a hill, but that was an under statement, you need to be young or quite physically fit to attempt the walk back from the town, it certainly gets the heart beating, not for the infirm or anyone in a wheelchair.

The hotel was a complete disappointment, this hotel is nowhere near a 4 star, more like a 2 Star, as the hotel is on different levels we had to take two different lifts to our room, although we had a fourth floor room with a good sea view,the room itself was bleak, these rooms obviously need an upgrade and complete refurbishment. The bathroom is very small, so much so that the toilet was almost under the marble top of the sink unit, also the shower was poor, just a shower screen on the bath, which on the first night I flooded the bathroom, then realized that you had to hold the screen at an angle inside the bath, which meant less room to have a shower.
The choice of food at both dinner and breakfast was very limited, only one choice of vegetables, limited salad variety, same old sweet choices every night and the food trays when empty not replaced promptly and food not hot.
One of the reasons we choose this hotel was for the spa, which on the travel agents advert stated that only extra costs would be for treatments, which to my mind is for massages etc, but not the case, when we tried to use the spa we were told that it was 5 euros for a hat to swim in the indoor pool, another 5 euros to use the jacuzzi, another 5 euros to use the sauna, another 5 euros to use the steam room payable on every daily visit, we have been to several hotels with
spas and have never had to pay these charges.
Tne staff in tne restaurant were very slow and arrogant we never had any drinks with our meal for the first three nights as by the time they got round to asking us what we would like we were more than half way through our meal, also they were slow at taking away dirty plates from the
previous courses so consequently we had to sit through our next course with the dirty plates still on the table.
The reception staff were no better very arrogant and unfriendly, not helpful at all, and the cats in the reception and bar area drove us crazy, sat all over the seating areas leaving cat hairs everywhere, very unhealthy.
We could go on, but my advice to you is avoid this hotel at all costs, there are much nicer hotels nearer to the town centre, the old town itself is beautiful and well worth visiting.

Room Tip: No good rooms at this hotel...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazandcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Cerro da Marina Hotel
Cerro da Marina Hotel
#38 of 154 in Albufeira
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#39 of 154 in Albufeira
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#45 of 154 in Albufeira
386 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#24 of 154 in Albufeira
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#61 of 154 in Albufeira
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Cerro

Address: Rua Samora Barros, Albufeira 8200-178, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#35 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £54 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Cerro 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel do Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Do Cerro Albufeira
Estalagem Do Cerro Hotel Albufeira
Estalagem Cerro
Hotel Do Cerro Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing