We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Characterful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel do Cerro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel do Cerro
Ranked #46 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Characterful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

A unique hotel, very different to the usual high-rise blocks that prevail.

Our room (315) was in the building at the rear, accessed via an enclosed bridge over the road - it feels like a tunnel, albeit a high-quality-finished tunnel, as you walk through, festooned with old photos of the town and picture mirrors.
This building is even more elevated than the main reception/bar/dining building and we did pay extra for the sea view. We did get a sea view, but the sea is a fair distance away and you're looking between and above the buildings in front to see it. Our balcony was also quite small, but fine for two people.
The room itself was fairly spacious with lots of storage space and all very clean.

The staff are all very friendly, helpful and efficient, a credit to the hotel.
We stayed half-board. Food was fine, no problem getting a table in the dining room and no big queues. Breakfast 8am -10am; dinner 7pm - 9.30pm.

The walk into the old town and back is nothing to be concerned about. There are quite a few steps with gradual inclines linking between, and quite a steep ramp for the final section at the top, but all perfectly manageable. There are minimarts and a couple of bars just off this walkway if you need to stop off for a drink or an ice cream. It takes less than 5 minutes down to the cliff-top path running parallel with the beach, this takes you into the old town via meandering cobbled streets.

A good, quiet location, but still close enough to the lively old town and beach.

Room Tip: Room 315 had a distant sea view but small balcony above the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lussoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    285
    149
    67
    29
See reviews for
112
473
24
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our third visit to this hotel, and just as enjoyable as the first two. The sea-view from our room (112) was not as good as those we had last year, but hey, who spends their holiday on the balcony looking at the sea !
As usual, we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. There are too many excellent restaurants in Albufeira to be enjoyed.. Breakfast is good, lots of choices, both hot and cold. Yes, it's the same every morning but I really don't know what else could be added.
Pool and pool area is very pleasant, a real sun-trap. All the staff were still there, so they must like the place too ! The puss-cats, Tommy and Shana, are still in residence, Tommy now has a basket near the piano and Shana sleeps on the piano stool - looked very comfy.
We'll certainly return.
Lindsay and Mike

Room Tip: Higher rooms have excellent sea views, but the pool-view rooms look to have larger balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindsay868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Such a lovely relaxing place. Staff and Service excellent really helpful! Very Clean. Food very tasty every night easy access to beach and town! wonderful stay for the week. Thankyou Hotel Do Cerro for a lovely stay we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillyadele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

....and I mean that in a nice way! It's smart,clean and excellently run. We had room 7 which was a good size with a lovely big bathroom. The maid service was quick,discreet and top quality. We had the half board option and had some fab evening meals...no complaints about the food at all. The poolside cafe was quite expensive for snacks and drinks but you soon find little mini markets and sandwich shops nearby that proved great vfm..90cents for a ltre of water, €1.40 for a Massive roll filled with meats and salads. The decor palette in the public areas is all golds,silvers,bronze,burnt oranges and black with oversized furniture..really impressed with it. The corridors seem to meander all over but not one area is unclean or neglected. I would definitely stay here again. Only a couple of small points to remember ..breakfast doesn't start until 8 so if you are an early riser you may have to go for a wander and dinner doesn't start until 7pm..certainly not a problem for us but worth knowing. All the guests were well behaved, maturish couples or groups..obviously there is The occasional large (in every sense of the word) family who insist on dominating the pool and behaving atrociously..if ignored they don't have an audience and a Quiet word from the staff soon shut them up! Their obnoxious behaviour is in no way any reflection of the hotel..sadly a reflection of the louts that choose the same hotel as you !

Room Tip: We had a room with a sea view and a huge sunny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heatseekers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

If you're bored with main stream hotels. This is for you. The hotel is quirky with stairs that lead to hidden surprises. The tunnel that leads to the pool and spa makes it feel a little 'rabbit warren' like.
The food is mainly very good- the breakfast was the only real let down. Rather bland and boring, with little choice. But made up for with lovely lunches and main evening meals.
I treated myself to a half price massage with Paula in the spa. Wonderful, she really hit the spot.
The old town is a joy day time or evening, with friendly bars and restaurants. The beach is very pretty, as are the views of Albuferia from various viewing points on lazy walks. But be aware you'll need some energy left to get back up the slope to the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have just spent two weeks at this hotel and we really enjoyed it. Ok, the décor might be a bit of a let down, but it all adds to this hotels charm. It has no real décor theme its a bit of everything! As stated in other reviews you go through a corridor that feels like a tunnel to get to the lift to go to the coffee shop and pool. The pool area is nice, a real sun trap in the afternoons. Our room was at the front of the hotel and we had a sea view with a balcony, always nice to sit out in the evening before dinner. Breakfast was the same as anywhere, cooked if you wanted that or cereals, ham cheese etc and always lots of bread, usually still warm. We always enjoyed dinner, the soups were lovely, lots of salads and always fresh fruit with the meals. Water was expensive, 1.60 euros for a small bottle! The drinks you signed for in the evening and paid the bill at checkout or you could buy them in the bar and take them to the dining room with you. Again as stated in other reviews, this hotel is up a steep hill so don't think of using this hotel if you have mobility problems. In fact all of Albufeira is very up and down with the road covered with cobbles, so ladies watch your heels! There are plenty of places to book trips in town, but shop around! We used Ticket Office as we only paid 20 euros each to go to Lisbon, other places charged over 30 euros. Lisbon is worth a visit, but it is a long day. We were out for 12hours, but its a lovely city. The local buses stop just up from the hotel if you want to use them instead of walking, but by walking you certainly get exercise! There is entertainment most nights, but we didn't stay in to listen. Other reviews have said things about the staff, but we found them all very pleasant. They all spoke as you entered the dining room, cleaning ladies always said hello. Over all we liked this hotel, loved the cats, Tommy and Shanna who liked to sleep by the piano! There is a spa but we didn't use it. You could have facials, massage etc. if you booked an appointment. I think it was 5 euros to use the Jacuzzi. We had a comfortable two weeks but aching legs!

Room Tip: Have a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kajcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I would not state this Hotel was a four star. Breakfast was limited (Scrambled Egg, Beans, Fatty Bacon and Sausages with cereals etc.) Main meal on night was lovely but still not alot of choice. We had wanted All Inclusive but Jet2 do not do All Inclusive at this hotel and therefore food and drinks were expensive. Other Airlines did have All Inclusive.

It is not close to the Beach without walking down a very steep bank everytime you wanted to go to the Beach or the Old Town.

Albuferia Old Town was absolutely lovely and we would come back but not to this Hotel.

Room Tip: One person had paid for a Pool Room and when they arrived they were in the smallest room and no pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Cerro da Marina Hotel
Cerro da Marina Hotel
#39 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#59 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#34 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#41 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Branca
Vila Branca
#77 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Cerro

Property: Hotel do Cerro
Address: Rua Samora Barros, Albufeira 8200-178, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#33 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Cerro 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel do Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Do Cerro Albufeira
Estalagem Do Cerro Hotel Albufeira
Estalagem Cerro
Hotel Do Cerro Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing