We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A review from the 'dominant obnoxious group' described by heatseeker5!”
Review of Hotel do Cerro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel do Cerro
Ranked #49 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The snotty review from 'HeatSeekers5' pretty much sums up the attitudes of many guests in this hotel. There are graveyards that have more atmosphere than the pool area however, this does not reflect the hotel in general and merely reflects the type of snobbish people in the 'very mature' age group that this hotel attracts. Without our daily 'entertainment' it would have been a very dull 2 weeks poolside and the majority of guests we're glad that there was sign of life!!

The lack of atmosphere in the pool and bar area is literally the only negative of this hotel. The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated and spotlessly cleaned every day, with lovely views onto the sea, pool and surrounding areas. The hotel is self is very traditional and has beautiful sun terraces looking onto the beach and albuferia.

The food is great with a huge variety at dinner time, not so much at breakfast but perfectly fine and what you would expect (fruit, yogurts, fresh bread, full English, cereal, continental, tea, coffee, juice).

The staff within this hotel are brilliant very helpful and can't do enough for you, the restaurant staff in particular!! The entertainment in the hotel was okay, nothing outstanding but albuferia itself is great for all sorts of entertainment so you will never be bored.

The walk to the beach and old town is not as bad as most reviews make out. Unless you have mobility difficulties then the walk should be fine and although it's steep there is regular bars, cafe and shops on route to stop and have a breather! Taxis from the hotel to the town center are only around €5.

The hotel has free wifi, aircon and the safe is really good value.

Overall the hotel was brilliant and we would definitely stay there again! Who knows, we may be employed as poolside entertainment so our 'audience' can watch us daily!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CharlotteSmith1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at this lovely quirky hotel. The location was excellent as it was pretty quiet in the evening. The walk down to the beach and the old town was no problem for us taking about 5-10 minutes, just a little harder on the way back to the hotel as this was uphill! The room was very clean with plenty of storage area and the bathroom was also quite spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpfull at all times. We stayed on a half board basis and was very pleased with the breakfast and whilst the evening meals were ok we did feel there wasn't of lot of choice and variety. However, we would definately recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again. If you fancy a night out from the hotel, book an evening at Johnny Hoopers Saxaphone Bistro, It is approx 5 minute taxi ride to the edge of the strip costing about 7 euros. You can enjoy an excellent three course meal whilst Johnny plays the saxaphone, followed by a music quiz and dancing - a great night!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 which was a double bed and sea view. It was easy access to reception and dinin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graham b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A unique hotel, very different to the usual high-rise blocks that prevail.

Our room (315) was in the building at the rear, accessed via an enclosed bridge over the road - it feels like a tunnel, albeit a high-quality-finished tunnel, as you walk through, festooned with old photos of the town and picture mirrors.
This building is even more elevated than the main reception/bar/dining building and we did pay extra for the sea view. We did get a sea view, but the sea is a fair distance away and you're looking between and above the buildings in front to see it. Our balcony was also quite small, but fine for two people.
The room itself was fairly spacious with lots of storage space and all very clean.

The staff are all very friendly, helpful and efficient, a credit to the hotel.
We stayed half-board. Food was fine, no problem getting a table in the dining room and no big queues. Breakfast 8am -10am; dinner 7pm - 9.30pm.

The walk into the old town and back is nothing to be concerned about. There are quite a few steps with gradual inclines linking between, and quite a steep ramp for the final section at the top, but all perfectly manageable. There are minimarts and a couple of bars just off this walkway if you need to stop off for a drink or an ice cream. It takes less than 5 minutes down to the cliff-top path running parallel with the beach, this takes you into the old town via meandering cobbled streets.

A good, quiet location, but still close enough to the lively old town and beach.

Room Tip: Room 315 had a distant sea view but small balcony above the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lussoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our third visit to this hotel, and just as enjoyable as the first two. The sea-view from our room (112) was not as good as those we had last year, but hey, who spends their holiday on the balcony looking at the sea !
As usual, we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. There are too many excellent restaurants in Albufeira to be enjoyed.. Breakfast is good, lots of choices, both hot and cold. Yes, it's the same every morning but I really don't know what else could be added.
Pool and pool area is very pleasant, a real sun-trap. All the staff were still there, so they must like the place too ! The puss-cats, Tommy and Shana, are still in residence, Tommy now has a basket near the piano and Shana sleeps on the piano stool - looked very comfy.
We'll certainly return.
Lindsay and Mike

Room Tip: Higher rooms have excellent sea views, but the pool-view rooms look to have larger balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lindsay868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Such a lovely relaxing place. Staff and Service excellent really helpful! Very Clean. Food very tasty every night easy access to beach and town! wonderful stay for the week. Thankyou Hotel Do Cerro for a lovely stay we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillyadele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

....and I mean that in a nice way! It's smart,clean and excellently run. We had room 7 which was a good size with a lovely big bathroom. The maid service was quick,discreet and top quality. We had the half board option and had some fab evening meals...no complaints about the food at all. The poolside cafe was quite expensive for snacks and drinks but you soon find little mini markets and sandwich shops nearby that proved great vfm..90cents for a ltre of water, €1.40 for a Massive roll filled with meats and salads. The decor palette in the public areas is all golds,silvers,bronze,burnt oranges and black with oversized furniture..really impressed with it. The corridors seem to meander all over but not one area is unclean or neglected. I would definitely stay here again. Only a couple of small points to remember ..breakfast doesn't start until 8 so if you are an early riser you may have to go for a wander and dinner doesn't start until 7pm..certainly not a problem for us but worth knowing. All the guests were well behaved, maturish couples or groups..obviously there is The occasional large (in every sense of the word) family who insist on dominating the pool and behaving atrociously..if ignored they don't have an audience and a Quiet word from the staff soon shut them up! Their obnoxious behaviour is in no way any reflection of the hotel..sadly a reflection of the louts that choose the same hotel as you !

Room Tip: We had a room with a sea view and a huge sunny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank heatseekers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

If you're bored with main stream hotels. This is for you. The hotel is quirky with stairs that lead to hidden surprises. The tunnel that leads to the pool and spa makes it feel a little 'rabbit warren' like.
The food is mainly very good- the breakfast was the only real let down. Rather bland and boring, with little choice. But made up for with lovely lunches and main evening meals.
I treated myself to a half price massage with Paula in the spa. Wonderful, she really hit the spot.
The old town is a joy day time or evening, with friendly bars and restaurants. The beach is very pretty, as are the views of Albuferia from various viewing points on lazy walks. But be aware you'll need some energy left to get back up the slope to the hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Cerro da Marina Hotel
Cerro da Marina Hotel
#39 of 154 in Albufeira
312 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ondamar Aparthotel
#42 of 154 in Albufeira
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#25 of 154 in Albufeira
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainha D Leonor Apartamentos
Rainha D Leonor Apartamentos
#98 of 154 in Albufeira
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vila Recife
Hotel Vila Recife
#113 of 154 in Albufeira
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Cerro

Address: Rua Samora Barros, Albufeira 8200-178, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#20 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#34 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £37 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Cerro 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel do Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Do Cerro Albufeira
Estalagem Do Cerro Hotel Albufeira
Estalagem Cerro
Hotel Do Cerro Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing