We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean pleasant hotel”
Review of Hotel do Cerro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel do Cerro
Ranked #45 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Harrogate
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean pleasant hotel”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed B&B for 2 weeks as a package booked through jet2. The breakfast was good, same more or less every day, cereals, different breads, fresh fruit, cooked breakfast (scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage & beans), cheese, ham, yoghurts, fruit juice, hot chocolate tea & coffee. The cooffee was awful so we stuck with herbal tea. My husband said the beans weren't heinz!
The hotel itself was clean, our room was cleaned every day. We were in room 206 which was quiet except for noisy neighbours who seemed unable to close a door without slamming it! The room was spacious although the balcony was a bit small but we really only showered & slept there.
We spent a couple of days by the pool but sneak your own food in as the poolside bar is expensive. 2.60 euros for a litre bottle of water, it is only 65cents for a bottle of water at the local supermarket so we refilled the bottle we had bought on the first day in the bar. We bought a picnic most days to eat when out & about from this little supermarket as it was very reasonable, only 26cents for fresh bread buns!
The hotel puts on entertainment in the bar every night but we prefer to go out & about & find our own entertainment, The bar area is nice. Didn't use the gym as it cost 5 euros & you get a good workout every days walking back up from the beach!
On our last morning we had to leave before the restaurant opened & we were give a goody bag of tea & coffee sachets, a carton of juice, some butter, marmalade & cheese & were able to use a small dining area upstairs where there was bread, a toaster & a kettle.
Al in all i would have no qualms about returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: I we returned I think i would request a room on high floor overlooking the pool, they appeared to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KaHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    293
    157
    67
    30
See reviews for
113
488
26
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

You have to pay for everything , 5 euros for the gym a day , 2 euros for a cup of ice , 3 euros for water , 40 euros for a kettle 4 euros a day for the fridge , beds are rock solid or lumpy , 15 mins from the old town , steep hills . Staff very rude by the pool . Lots of barking dogs and the food was not of a gd standard very little to choose from cold and over cooked ! Not 4 star at all very awkward hotel , ppl that have given this hotel a gd review clearly not stayed at many hotels , on the whole was clean and the weather was amazing , beach is lovely but the old towns turned into tacky bars n shops villamoura is much nicer FYI for anyone looking to go to Portugal !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hhklffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnstone
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed first week in July 2014. Room was great with spectacular ocean views, breakfast was fine with plenty choice. Didn't have lunch or dinner but menu looked comparative to others in the town. Very well situated just 10 mins from beach and old town and 20 minutes walk from the marina. Bit longer coming back as it's uphill. There is a direct route from the hotel to the seafront which is quite steep but there are less steep roads up and down close by. At any rate both my partner and myself n our 50s managed it up and down twice a day no problem. Only advice I would give re the hotel is don't go all inclusive, simply because you are missing out on so much downtown in the square and surrounding lanes which are vibrant, friendly and bustling with lots of very good live music and restaurants. The hotel pool was very good with a reasonable tearoom / bar on site. Hotel is a complex spanning two roads and as such you have to use two different lifts to get to the top floors. The hotel has free wifi but it just didn't work in the room and we could only access it in public areas. Overall though I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Do Cerro is very good value for money. It is clean and generally quiet.
The rooms are not very big but are comfortable and the view, from the rooms at the front, is spectacular.
The pool area is very nice and, although it's small, there isn't usually a problem getting a lounger. (try the little indoor pool under the poolside bar, especially if the weather isn't good)
The breakfast is fairly normal for this sort of hotel and the food is good.
Lunch, in the poolside bar, is a pleasant experience. The selection is not massive but it is well presented and very tasty.
Evening meals provide a range of well cooked food that suits both my wife (who is a fussy eater) and me (who will always look for the unusual).
Entertainment is very strange, there are a couple of "odd" Portuguese brothers who each do a night with a guitar. (I really do mean Odd) There is a guy who plays guitar and saxophone and sings fairly middle of the road stuff (until he breaks into full blown opera, without warning). Certainly wakes you up. There are other acts and the entertainment is fine for the size of hotel and the clientele it appeals to but don't expect Las Vegas.
As everyone says, it's a steep climb up to the hotel from the old town but we are both in our late sixties and it wasn't too much bother. No good if you have walking problems though.
The staff are delightful and obviously happy at their work, nothing seems too much trouble.
If you want high energy, hyperactive holiday - go somewhere else.
If you want a very enjoyable quiet break, this hotel should suit you.

Room Tip: A room facing the old town, with a sea view, has the best view. There are sea view rooms at the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have just spent a week at the do cerro and I can't fault it in any way. We went half board, the breakfast choice was enough to fill us up some may say the choice was limited but we there was more than enough choice. The evening meals were varied and superbly cooked we were spoiled for choice. We had a 3 year old with us and the staff were so friendly to her. The hotel was clean, the room cleaners were so hard working and friendly. Take a look around all the hotel it has many surprising little nooks and crannies you can sit in and escape! Albufeira is a beautiful place but I wouldn't recommend to people with walking problems it is very hilly.

Room Tip: room 222 and 223 was so quiet only noise we heard was from the upstairs room on 2 nights from a inco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The snotty review from 'HeatSeekers5' pretty much sums up the attitudes of many guests in this hotel. There are graveyards that have more atmosphere than the pool area however, this does not reflect the hotel in general and merely reflects the type of snobbish people in the 'very mature' age group that this hotel attracts. Without our daily 'entertainment' it would have been a very dull 2 weeks poolside and the majority of guests we're glad that there was sign of life!!

The lack of atmosphere in the pool and bar area is literally the only negative of this hotel. The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated and spotlessly cleaned every day, with lovely views onto the sea, pool and surrounding areas. The hotel is self is very traditional and has beautiful sun terraces looking onto the beach and albuferia.

The food is great with a huge variety at dinner time, not so much at breakfast but perfectly fine and what you would expect (fruit, yogurts, fresh bread, full English, cereal, continental, tea, coffee, juice).

The staff within this hotel are brilliant very helpful and can't do enough for you, the restaurant staff in particular!! The entertainment in the hotel was okay, nothing outstanding but albuferia itself is great for all sorts of entertainment so you will never be bored.

The walk to the beach and old town is not as bad as most reviews make out. Unless you have mobility difficulties then the walk should be fine and although it's steep there is regular bars, cafe and shops on route to stop and have a breather! Taxis from the hotel to the town center are only around €5.

The hotel has free wifi, aircon and the safe is really good value.

Overall the hotel was brilliant and we would definitely stay there again! Who knows, we may be employed as poolside entertainment so our 'audience' can watch us daily!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CharlotteSmith1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at this lovely quirky hotel. The location was excellent as it was pretty quiet in the evening. The walk down to the beach and the old town was no problem for us taking about 5-10 minutes, just a little harder on the way back to the hotel as this was uphill! The room was very clean with plenty of storage area and the bathroom was also quite spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpfull at all times. We stayed on a half board basis and was very pleased with the breakfast and whilst the evening meals were ok we did feel there wasn't of lot of choice and variety. However, we would definately recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again. If you fancy a night out from the hotel, book an evening at Johnny Hoopers Saxaphone Bistro, It is approx 5 minute taxi ride to the edge of the strip costing about 7 euros. You can enjoy an excellent three course meal whilst Johnny plays the saxaphone, followed by a music quiz and dancing - a great night!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 which was a double bed and sea view. It was easy access to reception and dinin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graham b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Cerro da Marina Hotel
Cerro da Marina Hotel
#35 of 154 in Albufeira
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#62 of 154 in Albufeira
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#40 of 154 in Albufeira
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
1,239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#67 of 154 in Albufeira
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Cerro

Property: Hotel do Cerro
Address: Rua Samora Barros, Albufeira 8200-178, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#34 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Cerro 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel do Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Do Cerro Albufeira
Estalagem Do Cerro Hotel Albufeira
Estalagem Cerro
Hotel Do Cerro Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing