We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, bit of a walk though!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel do Cerro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel do Cerro
Ranked #44 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, bit of a walk though!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

Me and my partner went away to the algarve for 11 days and we stayed at the do cerro hotel. First look at hotel, looked very posh and modern. Hotel room was pretty basic but looked homey. When we spoke to reception they said it was about a ten minute walk down to the beach and a 15 minute walk back up. From pictures, you can see it's abit of a steep walk and after a day of lounging around the beach, it isn't the best thing ever.

We never visited the indoor swimming pool as you had to buy a hair cap and we didn't want to, so just went to the beach instead. The staff were very friendly and helpful aswell, always there if you had any questions. They did offer a great choice of food for breakfast (which was the only meal we actually ate at the hotel). They also had abit of late night entertainment but the drinks were a little overpriced so we ended up staying down the main square where cocktails were alot cheaper!

The room was lovely, quite basic but everything you needed. The bed could have been abit comfier. Also, from pictures, you have seen pictures of the nice patterned, decoration pillows on the beds, well after the first two nights the cleaners do take them away which is annoying as the normal pillows are abit too flat and low for me. Also, after their first visit, they take away the bigger towels and leave you with medium sized towels, not the large ones you had when you first came and they take away the orange bed throw and leave you with plain white sheets.

The maid service always came too early for us aswell. We left the "do not disturb" sign on the door but still had knocking on the door asking if they could clean. We did feel like we had to get up really early and get out just so our room could be cleaned!

Another bad thing about the room was that, when we went in july, it was very hot and at about 2/ half 2 in the morning the air con gets switched off. It was something we read about before we went out but didnt really take any notice of. But at half 2, the air con switches itself off and doesnt come back on til about 7/8, which is when me and my partner got up.

All in all, we did enjoy our holiday in the algarve. The only thing i can really complain about was the fact the walk back up to the hotel was abit too steep, especially after a day of relaxing. We would defiantly go back but probably to a more central hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalieannxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    282
    149
    67
    29
See reviews for
110
470
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Not for the faint hearted, at the top of the old town, this hotel (now known as Do Cerro) has a stunning view of the whole of Albufeira's coastline. The decor is inspiring and the staff are so helpful and friendly. I had trouble sleeping on the extremely firm mattress but my husband found it perfect for him.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awebster48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

We had a very comfortable stay at this hotel. The room was lovely although the air conditioning was quite noisy and did not appear to have been serviced. We had clean sheets every couple of days and the room was very clean. The rest of the hotel was in a very good clean condition as was the pool and surrounding area. The staff were extremely helpful, especially as I had to go to hospital as I was ill whilst there. The night receptionist even offered his contact number should we need anybody to translate whilst we were at the hospital. He even called us a taxi to take us there. The only down side for us was the poor set up in the restaurant - buffet style but you have to queue for your starter in the same queue as people queuing for their main course so it all gets a bit messy. Also the food was never hot and we were rather surprised to be served tinned vegetabls each evening, and on our second evening we had almost cold fish fingers. Not quite what we expected in Portugal. We were so disappointed with the restaurant/food that we only had 3 evening meals there - we went into town to eat after that even though we were half board. We did have breakfast there but that again was very disappointing with tinned fruit salad or tinned peaches being the fruit available - where is all the beautiful fresh fruit? Also the fruit juice (as described by them) was actually fruit squash which towards the end of the week becamse almost colourless as they had diluted it so many times. Deserts were so small they could have been served on a cocktail stick - more like samples than portions.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelBridgend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

lovely hotel with wonderful views,bar staff where the only pleasant staff the rest where quiet rude.the breakfast was the same every morning no variety and most of the time cold or by time you got there had run out and then had to wait till they got another tray of food and if you can live of chips and salad for evening meal yoube fine cause the rest of it was disgusting okay yes i am a fussy eater but my husband is not and will eat anything but even he could not find anything it looked and tasted disgusting we ended up eating out for breakfast and dinner

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

The climb from the beach gets rid of the calories!! The hotel has made some small improvements this year, the air con is better, the furniture has been updated. The staff are friendly and very helpful, it is clean and we really enjoyed our stay. There is a direct route to the beach, but the climb from there and from the Old Town would be daunting for anyone unfit. We did some running from the hotel, it is very lumpy around the area! The value for money is outstanding in my opinion. For a late summer break, superb, just watch those personal transfers if you book yourself, the cheaper ones can be unreliable, better to pay a few Euros more and be sure they are going to turn up!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTel32767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

A really lovely couples holiday, the hotel and food were far better than anticipated and it was very good value for money.

We had breakfast and evening meal included in the price of our holiday and we ate at the hotel every morning and 5 nights of the 7 and enjoyed every meal, there was a good selection and the soups were really nice! The waiters/waitresses were helpful and efficient and always ensured the food was hot and plates were collected quickly!

The pool and pool area was very clean, pretty and quiet as there were mainly just couples staying at the hotel plus a few families, there was always plenty of space and the opportunity to move around the pool to follow the sun.

The location was fine for us but the route down to the beach/shops etc was quite steep and downhill and so the hotel probably wouldn't be in the best place for the elderly or un fit. There were lovely views from the balcony though and on the other side of the road to the hotel was a viewing gallery with really amazing views of the sea and coast line.

Our room was really impressive and was keep really clean and the beds made daily and towels changed regularly, the chambermaids were really good and even climbed out of a window and across a roof to rescue my boyfriend's shorts which had fallen off the balcony!

Overall this was a really brilliant holiday and we couldn't be happier that we chose this hotel - would definitely reccomend to almost anyone!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 88Sophie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

Myself and my girlfriend are just back from Estalagem do Cerro and we had a brilliant time. The hotel overall was fantastic, large rooms with very big beds and we had a big terrace out our double doors, the view from here wasnt brilliant, but we could climb onto the roof and take our seats and regular sat there with a glass of wine from where we could see the sea. The bathrooms had plenty room with a nice powerfull shower. Perhaps the only problem in the room was the pillows which were really quite lumpy, and only being given one pillow each led to a bit of a sore neck after the fortnight. Overall cleanliness was fairly good also, we were told to keep our room tidy enuf for the maids to clean, which we did, but theres always going to be toiletries lying around which i dont thin the maids wiped under......not complaining about this though because im sure there are many instances where maids are accused of touching and moving peoples possessions so they are only covering their own backs. We did find our room quite noisy at times....our room number was 006, just upstairs from reception so we heard everyyone coming in if they had a late night, nothing serious though, just a few bangs and clashes, although the early breakfast cafe was situated right next door to our room so when people were checking out early in the morning we did occasionally get woken up by chairs being moved etc. The early breakfast is however brilliant, anytime after 1am you can book breakfast and you recieve a breakfast pack then head to the cafe where you get toast and tea plus juice. We used this on our last morning as we left at 7.30 am, but it could also be used if you were leaving early on a trip etc.

The food in the hotel was the only thing I would describe as 'average' breakfast was fine, it didnt change, but there was plenty choice of cereals, breads, fruit, fried foods, and even cakes. evening meals were a different story however, some nights the ques were horrendous, i was in the habit of getting a plate of salad as a starter, then getting some hot foods, but due to the fact that all the hot food and salads and bread etc being in the same place it meant standing in terrible ques more than once, which I admit did overly frustrate me at times. Most of the guests did fully wait their turn tho and stay patient, but some mainly foreign guests did at times become very rude about the whole thing. The night time meals did change every nyt, but were always fairly similar and abit bland. Im not really one to complain about food, so at the end of the day, neither of us went hungry.

we ate out twice over our 2 week stay, if you search them out there are some brilliant restraunts in albufeira......we ate firstly at dom carlos, just at the top of the esculators, we were given a delicious 5 course meal for 39 euros per person, unbeatable on price and taste, i would definently recommend it!

Iv been to albufeira twice before, and although it is still a lovely place I feel a little worried that its slowly turning into justanother holiday resort, in the old town there are many pubs and restaurants, but i hate the whole 'guy standing outside trying to pull you in' thing, which seems to be catching on in the old town a little. that really is the only small downside to the old town tho, its beautiful, full of entertainment, and has great shopping with brilliant views.

Finally I need to mention that Iv noticed reviews about the location of the hotel being up a steep hill. Albufeira is a hilly area, and the reason why you get such magnificent views is because your up a hill. the hotel is maybe 300 metres uphill and is accesible to any moderately fit person, so the location i feel is perfect, as your close enuf to the town and also get the breath taking views from being up slightly higher.

All in all we had a magnificent time, and im pretty sure we will be back to albufeira in the future, and perhaps even the same hotel.

most definently reccomended!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kev_hibs1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Cerro da Marina Hotel
Cerro da Marina Hotel
#37 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#60 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#34 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#45 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Branca
Vila Branca
#76 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Cerro

Property: Hotel do Cerro
Address: Rua Samora Barros Cerro de Piedade, Albufeira 8200-178, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#32 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Cerro 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel do Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Do Cerro Albufeira
Estalagem Do Cerro Hotel Albufeira
Estalagem Cerro
Hotel Do Cerro Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing