We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Ranked #44 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Excellent location just minutes away from the centre of the old town and tucked nicely away from the busy area. Room clean and well cleaned, good air conditioning, comfortable bed. Could do with a mini fridge, but you can’t have every thing. Food OK we had only breakfast as the town was very close with all the amenities for evening time. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Good value for money. If we are in Albufeira again no hesitation in stopping at the Rocamar.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chalkie560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,090)
There are newer reviews for Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

751 - 757 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

just returned from a weeks holiday at the rocamar thats was very enjoyable only 2 bad things were the grumpy staff and the so called entertainment that was 1 of the staff and a guitar . pool bar from 12 to 3 you were lucky if if u could catch him there waited 15 mins at the bar with no sign of him went back to my lounger then noticed him return got my €s my flop flips went to get a drink and just managed to catch him as he was off again to hide
the staff do work long hours but it doesn't take much to put a smile on your face
paid extra for the sea view well worth it over looking the pool and the sea
rooms more than adequate cleaned daily
would definetly return but not at the price we paid thomsons but we said on our first holiday to albufeira 13years ago we would return one day and stay at the rocamar

Room Tip: got to be 3rd or 4th floor with seaview
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimlawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We arrived here before our room was ready so went down to the hotels snack bar, had decent food for the price. The snack bar goes out onto the walkway that overlooks the beach. Our room was ready at 2pm as expected. 5th floor, light, airy room, at the back of the hotel, overlooking an old building surrounded by pink blossoming trees, was really pretty. Had to go back down to reception for safe key, as other people have mentioned, the reception staff seem like you are an inconvenience. The rooms are fine for two people, big bed, not the best, but after the first night with a huge pillow and aching neck realised there was a smaller one in the wardrobe, so slept much better. Didn't use the aircon much as room seemed to keep cool, but if needed worked very well. Shower was good for abroad.
The hotel is in the perfect location, overooking the beach and 5min walk to shops, bars and restaurants. The pool area is small but we were expecting this and found that we easily got a sunbed at almost any point of the day.
The beach is ok, but we prefered sao rafael beach and santa eulalia beach which was lovely, both have great snack bars. Vilamoura Marina is well worth a visit, mayflower restaurant was lovely, lots of little boutique shops. Also visited albufeira marina, but wouldn't bother again, not much there, many shops, but not open, and few restaurants.
Hotel breakfast was ok, very basic, but something for everyone (cereal, coffee/tea, juice, cooked breakfast, breads, meats and cheese) . Bit disappointed in the lack of fresh fruit (just oranges) and no croissants. Plenty of space, and also can sit outside. The Hotel bar is small but always open, and till late. A few different cocktails on offer everyday, tequila sunrise was my fave. Most of the older waiters are qute miserable, the younger one is more polite and chatty, but they all do their job and was never waiting for anything. Cleaners are friendly. Some great restaurants, and all for great prices, especially loved O Penedo, can be seen from the hotel, on the edge of the rocks, great views, really fresh food and good prices.
Overall the hotel is very clean and comfortable, quite modern with lift to every floor. It is really what you expect for a 3* hotel, would return. Our thomson rep Lorraine was great.

Room Tip: Top floor room was perfect, evan facing inland was nice.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lornagracee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We were greeted at this hotel by a grumpy man telling us that the hotel had no parking and we needed to find our own. This was fine as we found a bay 5 mins away. Then we got to reception and another grumpy man barked at us that we needed a printed off voucher and he would not accept an i-phone receipt (something that in this digital age seems ridiculous). We then get to our dark, out-dated room which stinks of smoke. We head to the bar to get a much needed drink and yet another grumpy man tells us that he needs the paper bit of the room key (instead of just the key) to verify who we are as 'otherwise it comes out of his pocket'. What a terrible start to a holiday that we had been looking forward to. Really - there are only so many moody comments you can take before seriously getting quite depressed. These people have no idea about 'service with a smile' or 'making people feel welcome'. This is a shoddy ship and needs a lot of work. All of the ingrediants are there - a fantastic sea view, great location near to the old town which is crammed full of gems, a nice sun lounge terrace - but seriously they have no idea about customer service. One night we wanted to go out to eat and i asked the reception guy to write a name down of somewhere for me and he simply would not. He just kept on saying the restaurant name over and over again loudly in my face. SO Rude. We left early morning and there was actually one really nice young guy (I think he was Dutch) who checked us out without needing the voucher and wished us a safe journey. Someone should make him the manager!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whisper26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We returned from a week at the Rocamar today and we had been nervous having read the recent reviews - particularly regarding the restaurant. Either the people who wrote those reviews are VERY picky or the restaurant has pulled its socks up in the last few weeks. The breakfast was very well organised - we made sure we got down around 8-8.30 in case they ran out of anything, but it was always fully stocked. Continental - cheese, ham, meats, rolls or English - bacon, frankfurter sausages, fried, scrambled or boiled eggs, baked beans, mushrooms, tomatoes. Plenty of different breads and rolls to toast, Marmalade, jams. Admittedly what looked to be fruit juice was actually weak squash, but there were fresh oranges if you wanted them.

The room was very clean - we had 512 (had asked for high floor and paid for sea view - well worth the extra) - and the maids kept it clean every day and were friendly. We left an 'obligada' note of thanks and a tip. Sadly many of the other staff were distant and we had no welcome on arriving at the hotel after a very long journey. Not told about the safe either (as in previous review) but not surprised that they charge for it. This hotel should up its prices a bit and include for the safe, put a kettle in the room, put a fridge in the room, include internet access in the rooms (we went through a real fiasco of initially trying to use the pay as you go internet in reception which after 3 attempts that failed we gave up on - later the manager admitted it wasn't us, it just crashed because too many people use it! We then paid to use our own laptop in the bar, but you had to get the voucher at reception, then input the password on the voucher in the bar, but it didn't work, so we gave up on that too).

The hotel is very boutique-style in decor, kept clean and fresh, is in a fantastic position overlooking the beach and within a 5 min walk of the old town, and the rooms are fine. Air con worked well, bathroom facilities great (would have preferred outside ventilation though as they got very hot in there). But we sensed the staff are not happy people. What a shame. If we had received a smile and a welcome on arrival it would have made all the difference.

Overall we had a great week there. Wish hotels could put a stop to the 'towel on the sun lounger' practice which is irritating. People rush down at the crack of dawn, leave their towels on a chair and don't actually come and sit on them until several hours later. Ridiculous!

Room Tip: Request a high floor but pay for a sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaxx35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We have just returned from staying in the Rocamar for 2 weeks, we arrived around 12noon, however could not check in until after 2pm.
The hotel itself is very average, breakfast is very basic, not a lot of variety, only one type of fresh fruit etc!!! The fried breakfast very greasy so did not appeal, however if you do not have the fried breakfast not a lot else to choose from.
Rooms tidy & presentable, bathroom a little grotty. I personally don't think the sheets were changed once throughout our entire stay as my boyfriend got blood on the bottom sheet on the second day & this was still there when we checked out!!!!!!!!!! Beds uncomfortable.
We didn't have a room with a sea view however this did not bother us as the balconies are closed in anyway so if you were sat down having a drink etc you wouldn't be able to see out. You can only see the view if your stood up.
Majority of staff are very miserable and do not smile!!!
The location of this hotel is superb as you are within walking distance to beach, restaurants & bars. Hotel pool very small, however nice to look out over the beach.
BE SURE TO CHECK OUT THE SPA (IT'S GORGEOUS AND TAKE ADVANTAGE OF BEING ABLE TO USE THE JACUZZI, STEAM ROOM & SAUNA FREE!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Ignore any of the reviews that moan or complain about the rocamar. The breakfast is standard toast, cereal, scrabbled egg, boiled eggs, Danish bacon or sausage. Anybody that's been on trip moaning about breakfast are a bit over the top when moaning bout it. It's basic but sets u up for the day & gd for an overseas menu so don't take any notice of the bad breakie reviews.

The room is clean, tidy & the air con wrks. We had a see view room on the 4th floor & it was fantastic. Even day time in the high 30's the room was never to hot when we left it on. The bed sheets are only changed twice a week but the maids come in & tidy & make ur bed each day.

The staff that work in the hotel, the majority of them wrk round the clock doubling up carrying out various jobs. They are nice enough & prompt with any requests.

The only draw back is the size of the pool could be bigger but it's a sun trap rite through till late afternoon.

Location wise, u can't fault it. It's a stones throw from the old town easily walkable in 10mins.

Price we paid a bit more because of when we went in July but like any hotel u'd get a good deal if you book at the rite time.

Top tips, request a sea view frm the fourth floor up. Enjoy !!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scuba12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#38 of 154 in Albufeira
1,293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#45 of 154 in Albufeira
385 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#24 of 154 in Albufeira
325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#76 of 154 in Albufeira
246 reviews
1.0 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#20 of 154 in Albufeira
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa

Address: Largo Jacinto D'Ayet no. 7, Albufeira 8200-071, Portugal (Formerly Rocamar Hotels & Resorts)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £42 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocamar Hotel Albufeira
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing