We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, would definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Ranked #40 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous, would definitely return”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Amazing can't fault this hotel, ignore any previous comments about poor customer service, this was definitely not the case. The staff couldn't have been more friendly/ helpful, happy to give us directions, happy to answer any questions we had, happy to help! The room was great, definitely ask for a sea view and a room at the end of a corridor too, we had a decent sized bedroom and bathroom and a small corridor between them, the space was amazing! The cleaning staff were excellentThe pool was small, but had amazing views. The hotel is right on the beach, is best to pop down before breakfast and put your towels down on a sunbed if you want it otherwise you find they have all gone by the time you get there. The sunbeds and umbrellas are 14 euros (for 2 beds) and you can stay all day. The algrave shopping centre is nearby, we had a car so it was fairly easy for us, not sure about the buses, but good for a bit of shopping. The spa is lovely, and free if your staying in the hotel, as well as a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna they have plenty of treatments on offer too, book in plenty of time though, she gets filled up quick! Brilliant hotel and if we ever visit Portugal again we shall sure to stay here again!

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Praia_da_Jeffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    420
    174
    57
    40
See reviews for
116
709
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
coatbridge scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

just arrived back thursday 18th aug 2011, bit apprehensive re previous reviews. my partner and i were half board for 10 days and loved every thing about the rocomar, the food was good apart from fish every night u had either pastas or meat, potatoes of different kinds, plenty of desserts to choose from,if u are half board u have to pay for u r drinks at dinner. large bottle of cold water 2.50 euros which we found ok for a hotel. the staff work 24/7 and dont have air conditioning in resturant which can be difficult for them running about. our room was cleaned every second day with change of towels, air condition is excellent in rooms. pool small but comfy to swim in first thing in the morning. didnt have problem getn wicker sunbed. we got friendly with some of the staff and found them pleasant as most reviews found some of them grumpy. excellent location for the square as this is where it all happens, this was our 5th year back at portugal and will defo go back to rocamar, this was the next best hotel to the paraiso hotel. we visited the marina this year and found this very nice went on boat trip to locate the dolphins which we thought we wouldnt see, 2 and half hours we were out , and there they were, around 10 of them swimming and jumping out the water showing of for us, amazing well worth it. we booked this through our rep at the hotel. rocamar do not have fridges to hire which was advised to us we could before travelling only drawback, thanks rocamar for our pleasant stay and our friends who were there 3 weeks ago will go back also....

Room Tip: avoid 122 which on 1st floor it is a shared terrece and you are looking onto a fence, got moved to 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maza_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Hotel was spotless, rooms cleaned everyday. On my way to the airport,after checking out, I realised I had left a gold bracelet in the room. I emailed the hotel when I got home and they posted it on to me straight away.

Room Tip: request a room on a higher floor as very noisy people traffic at 4 and 5am when people returning fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jacqui40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Excellent location just minutes away from the centre of the old town and tucked nicely away from the busy area. Room clean and well cleaned, good air conditioning, comfortable bed. Could do with a mini fridge, but you can’t have every thing. Food OK we had only breakfast as the town was very close with all the amenities for evening time. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Good value for money. If we are in Albufeira again no hesitation in stopping at the Rocamar.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chalkie560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

just returned from a weeks holiday at the rocamar thats was very enjoyable only 2 bad things were the grumpy staff and the so called entertainment that was 1 of the staff and a guitar . pool bar from 12 to 3 you were lucky if if u could catch him there waited 15 mins at the bar with no sign of him went back to my lounger then noticed him return got my €s my flop flips went to get a drink and just managed to catch him as he was off again to hide
the staff do work long hours but it doesn't take much to put a smile on your face
paid extra for the sea view well worth it over looking the pool and the sea
rooms more than adequate cleaned daily
would definetly return but not at the price we paid thomsons but we said on our first holiday to albufeira 13years ago we would return one day and stay at the rocamar

Room Tip: got to be 3rd or 4th floor with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimlawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We arrived here before our room was ready so went down to the hotels snack bar, had decent food for the price. The snack bar goes out onto the walkway that overlooks the beach. Our room was ready at 2pm as expected. 5th floor, light, airy room, at the back of the hotel, overlooking an old building surrounded by pink blossoming trees, was really pretty. Had to go back down to reception for safe key, as other people have mentioned, the reception staff seem like you are an inconvenience. The rooms are fine for two people, big bed, not the best, but after the first night with a huge pillow and aching neck realised there was a smaller one in the wardrobe, so slept much better. Didn't use the aircon much as room seemed to keep cool, but if needed worked very well. Shower was good for abroad.
The hotel is in the perfect location, overooking the beach and 5min walk to shops, bars and restaurants. The pool area is small but we were expecting this and found that we easily got a sunbed at almost any point of the day.
The beach is ok, but we prefered sao rafael beach and santa eulalia beach which was lovely, both have great snack bars. Vilamoura Marina is well worth a visit, mayflower restaurant was lovely, lots of little boutique shops. Also visited albufeira marina, but wouldn't bother again, not much there, many shops, but not open, and few restaurants.
Hotel breakfast was ok, very basic, but something for everyone (cereal, coffee/tea, juice, cooked breakfast, breads, meats and cheese) . Bit disappointed in the lack of fresh fruit (just oranges) and no croissants. Plenty of space, and also can sit outside. The Hotel bar is small but always open, and till late. A few different cocktails on offer everyday, tequila sunrise was my fave. Most of the older waiters are qute miserable, the younger one is more polite and chatty, but they all do their job and was never waiting for anything. Cleaners are friendly. Some great restaurants, and all for great prices, especially loved O Penedo, can be seen from the hotel, on the edge of the rocks, great views, really fresh food and good prices.
Overall the hotel is very clean and comfortable, quite modern with lift to every floor. It is really what you expect for a 3* hotel, would return. Our thomson rep Lorraine was great.

Room Tip: Top floor room was perfect, evan facing inland was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lornagracee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We were greeted at this hotel by a grumpy man telling us that the hotel had no parking and we needed to find our own. This was fine as we found a bay 5 mins away. Then we got to reception and another grumpy man barked at us that we needed a printed off voucher and he would not accept an i-phone receipt (something that in this digital age seems ridiculous). We then get to our dark, out-dated room which stinks of smoke. We head to the bar to get a much needed drink and yet another grumpy man tells us that he needs the paper bit of the room key (instead of just the key) to verify who we are as 'otherwise it comes out of his pocket'. What a terrible start to a holiday that we had been looking forward to. Really - there are only so many moody comments you can take before seriously getting quite depressed. These people have no idea about 'service with a smile' or 'making people feel welcome'. This is a shoddy ship and needs a lot of work. All of the ingrediants are there - a fantastic sea view, great location near to the old town which is crammed full of gems, a nice sun lounge terrace - but seriously they have no idea about customer service. One night we wanted to go out to eat and i asked the reception guy to write a name down of somewhere for me and he simply would not. He just kept on saying the restaurant name over and over again loudly in my face. SO Rude. We left early morning and there was actually one really nice young guy (I think he was Dutch) who checked us out without needing the voucher and wished us a safe journey. Someone should make him the manager!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whisper26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
1,277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#46 of 154 in Albufeira
378 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#25 of 154 in Albufeira
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#75 of 154 in Albufeira
244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#15 of 154 in Albufeira
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa

Property: Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Address: Largo Jacinto D'Ayet no. 7, Albufeira 8200-071, Portugal (Formerly Rocamar Hotels & Resorts)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocamar Hotel Albufeira
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing