We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good 3 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Ranked #40 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
stockton on tees uk
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good 3 star”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

just returned,april 26,spent a week at this hotel.very good 3 star ,rooms clean,plenty wardrobe space,satalite tv,with bonus of bbc 1,itv 1,good shower room,with power shower,hairdryer,towels changed every day,great view.no kettle,took my own.everything you need for breakfast,cereal,fruit,cooked breakfast,cold meats and cheese,boiled eggs,some people complained about frankfurter sausages,but if you want english sausages,stay in england.good pool area,always plenty of beds,good bar,only went first night,plenty bars nearby,200 yards,tunes bar,run by british couple,good information 3 restaraunts opposite,beach basket,very good steaks.short walk to square,with restaraunts and bars,all in all great place,would go again,and book same hotel.

Room Tip: pay extra for sea view room,dont accept 3rd floor,pool area with no privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mapsamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hugoabreurodrigues, Director of Sales at Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review.

It´s very important for us to know that you enjoyed the stay here.

Regards

Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    410
    165
    55
    35
See reviews for
111
687
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Having booked a non-sea view room with balcony we were horrified to find that they had allocated us what can only be described as a dungeon room on the 3rd. floor. This room only had a window which was on a level with the decking area round the pool and no view except of sun beds pushed up to the window. We complained and were told we had booked a 'Promo Room' which we were not aware existed as the write up says all 88 rooms have the usual amenities and balconies. The staff were not prepared to move us but thanks to our tenatious Rep. we were eventually moved a day later.
Hotel in wonderful position and clean but food left much to be desired and towels were down right tatty, frayed, thin and holes in ..... they were only fit for floor cloths!!!!
Think bed and breakfast would be the best option as there are many and varied restaurants within easy walking distance.
C Hurn

Room Tip: Just avoid even room numbers on 3rd. floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We had a last minute break to Portugal and chose to stay at the Hotel Rocamar for four nights 14th - 18th April.

When we arrived by taxi we were initially disappointed as the roadside side of the hotel belies the fabulously clean, modern and airy interior.

There was a misunderstanding at check in which sadly couldn't be resolved by the hotel receptionist - this was due to Travel Republic offering me a different room type booking to the one they confirmed with the hotel. We were allocated room 430 which has a sea view (partially). It's an end of corridor room and is VERY spacious! Again, room, towels, sheets and bedding all spotlessly clean.

The location of the hotel cannot be faulted! It overlooks the beach and has a fantastice view up the bay towards Fisherman's Beach. You can walk to the Old Town Square in under ten minutes...just what we wanted.

We booked Half Board and while I cannot fault the breakfast, the evening meal was a tad basic. However, the restaurant is well laid out and tastefully decorated. Its clean lines and modern decor is mirrored troughout the hotel.

My only criticism of the restaurant is that we were left floundering on our first night - we had no idea what the process was and were left to fend for ourselves. A brief explanation on how things 'happen' would've been appreciated.

The pool area is decked and has a great view across the beach. The sun beds are well comfy and if you're not lucky enough to nab one the large comfy armchairs are just as good. There is a shower and WC housed in a small area at one end of the pool area so no need to dash back to your room if in need of the loo. The bar area is great too... staff will serve you at your bed and bring drinks to you.

Some reviews mention that the staff are rude and not very friendly - yes, there are one or two, but that's not dissimilar to any hotel either in the UK or other destinations abroad.

My experience of the staff was a good one, George, the bar man was great! He was friendly and talkative and made us feel at home as soon as we arrived.

Hugo was great too - perfect English and great sense of humour and always smiling! I just wish I could speak a little Portugese as well as he could speak English.

My advice to those who state the staff are miserable is to talk with them. Get to know them and give them a small amount of your time to show how much you appreciate them. You'll be surprised how a little effort is needed on your part!

All in all I would like to thank the hotel for a fabulous break. It was my boyfriend's and my first holiday together so the pressure was on. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2013

this hotel is quite good but not very friendly in fact the staff were downright rude and very unhelpful in most areas of service.beds were rather strange twins dressed up to be a double.food adequate but very basic.

Room Tip: do not use CABFIND for transfers from the airport unless you are happy to be driven in a ramshackle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAYMOND503790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights off season and was completely happy with all aspects. Great location overlooking the beach and 2 minutes walk to the old town. Lovely bar and restaurant if you don't feel like venturing out. Very clean rooms and friendly staff. Everything that you would want. Top marks!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hugoabreurodrigues, Diretor de vendas at Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment and review.

It´s very important for us to know that you had a lovely stay here.

Regards

Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed here for a short break early April. Lovely hotel in a fab location. Views from the front of the hotel are magnificent and its worth it to upgrade to a sea view room. The hotel is modern light and airy through out. Bedrooms are a good size and beds are super comfortable. The pool is on the third floor with lovely views but there is not much lounger space, I would imagine it gets pretty crowded in high season, but then again with a beach like fishermans beach on your doorstep why would you want to stay by the pool ! The lift to the beach is right outside the hotel, however, if this isn't in service it is impossible for a mobility challenged person to get to the beach as it's quiet a steep trek down and up. Breakfast was self service and had adequate choice, something for everyone. The hotel is located only a few minutes stroll from the square with its wealth of shops, resturants and bars. We organised our transfer from Faro with Yellow Fish Transfers who provided a super service. There drivers are friendly and professional and there vehicles are all spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor. 508. Lovely private balcony with amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imeldamoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hyde, greater manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed at the rocamar hotel in albufeira old town for 4 nights in April while celebrating our first wedding anniversary, I am a travel agent in the uk so did my research before hand, this hotel exceeded my expectations.
We were given room 310 which even though it didn't have a balcony it overlooked the infinity pool and the sea, it was great listening to the waves at night when in bed.
The room had a hairdryer in the bathroom, a couple of round pin plugs for adapters, plenty of wardrobe space and draws, good tv with a mix of channels, also a hotel radio which was on a loop it had nice songs on though to listen to while getting ready to go out in the evening :) a full length mirror, bath with shower over the bath.
No minibar to keep drinks cool though.
Breakfast was served 8 until 10am and was plentiful and tasty.
We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening as there are hundreds of lovely restaurants to choose from, go to tunes bar near to the hotel and Michael and Katherine will help you out with good local info we did and found then extremely helpful.
The old town is so pretty lots of winding little streets, that said if you have walking difficulties it's probably not the best resort for you due to lots of steps and hills.
Beaches are lovely, people are lovely, all in all had a wonderful time and would definatley return to the rocamar and albufeira old town too :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank princessgemsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#36 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#41 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#63 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#10 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#68 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa

Property: Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Address: Largo Jacinto D'Ayet no. 7, Albufeira 8200-071, Portugal (Formerly Rocamar Hotels & Resorts)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocamar Hotel Albufeira
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing