We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Ranked #39 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have just returned from a week in Portugal where we stayed at the Rocamar. This is a Lovely Hotel in a great location just minutes from the old town.
We stayed in room 317 which is on the reception floor and yes we did look onto a fence which was in front of the road but there was not much noise and we had a large area to sit outside if we wished, we however did not as we were either at the pool or the beach. If you want a sea view you will have to pay extra, we did not. Our room was quite large as was the bathroom and very nicely decorated, The breakfast was a typical foreign breakfast and plenty to choose from. As for the staff they were all very helpful if you needed anything. The rooms were cleaned every day, and the towels were also changed every day
I think people like to moan about anything, maybe they should stay at home- you could not fault this Hotel, rooms or staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    416
    170
    56
    38
See reviews for
115
701
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wednesbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Me and my Wife recently stayed at the rocomar for our honeymoon and had no issues whatsoever, we were even provided complementary champagne on our arrival.

The rooms are immaculate and cleaned to within an inch of their lives by pleasant and chatty staff.

The Hotel staff themselves may at first come across as stand-off-ish but what we discovered is that as there are so many nationalities that frequent the hotel they are often hesitant to speak first as they unsure what language to use. Once approached, they are friendly and more than happy to help, more so, if you take the time and effort to be friendly with them they will of course reciprocate.

The food is exactly what you would expect from any Hotel buffet. I have to repeat a comment i read previously on here. If you want an english breakfast, stay in england!! You always have the option of going to a restaurant if you dont like whats on offer.

My wife used the spa and beauty facilities onsite and could not speak highly enough of the beautician. I used the gym and found this always clean and the equipment in working order.

We stayed on the 2nd floor with a sea view which was only spoiled by the rear security fence being partially visible from our balcony which in the grand scheme of our holiday was really not that important. I would agree with most the comments on here, avoid the 3rd floor, too close to the pool area and lack of privacy.

The hotel is visually very well presented especially the bar/restaurant area.

You can leave your room and be on the beach in less than 3 minutes which is a plus in anyones books is a very good point.

We would both be more than happy to return to this hotel!!

Room Tip: Avoid the 3rd floor, Sea view is essential!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Lovely hotel, beautiful views, small but perfect pool with gorgeous sunbeds, breakfast was fine with the waiters efficiently clearing up to cater for the next guests. We were in room 406 overlooking the sea but if others found it dark then maybe they should have opened the curtains, yes the bathroom was dated and small but was adequate and if refurbished then would be wonderful, fresh towels every day and I slept like a log. This is a lovely small 3* hotel in the old town and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wadsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were most impressed with the refurbishment of this Hotel. We stayed in their newest Superior Twin Rooms and the decor and bathroom was brand new. The view from the balcony was stunning looking straight out across the beach front in Albufeira Old Town. There was a new flat screen TV, a Nespresso Coffee Machine and new decor. We were on the first floor near the Spa but avoid floor 3 as these rooms overlook the swimming pool and are less than private.
The breakfast was somewhat chaotic as the 3 male staff were not really trained in customer service. They were more interested in banter between themselves and clearing tables whilst food was running out on the servery. It was a bit like Faulty Towers and more and more humorous as our week went on.
The Spa is worth trying as it is very clean, relaxing and professional.

Room Tip: Avoid the 3rd floor as rooms are too close to the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed here for a week in October booked through Jet2. Flight and transfer were fine. We arrived at the hotel at 12 noon and encountered the legendary grumpy young man. The only information he willingly gave was that we couldn't get into our room for 2 hours - nothing about the hotel or its facilities. He grudgingly stored our cases behind the counter - I later discovered there was a room for this purpose as you would expect.

The room when we eventually got into it was a bit disappointing - room 501. We hadn't paid for a sea view so didn't get one - fair enough. None of the odd numbered rooms have sea views and what you get instead is pretty grim - you are facing an ugly car park and close to several busy roads. Lorries and buses drag themselves up the hill with their noisy engines. The room was fairly small and the beds hard. The glass panels in the shower didn't fit the doors so water gushed across the floor and we had to use our bath towels to soak it up. What on earth? The wifi doesn't reach room 501 (although it does cover most of the hotel) and 501 is right next to the maids' work station - lots of bustling outside our door all day. The balcony had six-inch gaps in the corners - very dangerous for toddlers as it is five floors up! The flat screen TV did have several British channels inc. BBC 1 and ITV.

Very strange piped music in the hotel - shrieky modern jazz which can only appeal to a few people, I would think. Man in the bar playing the organ and singing did a great job of clearing the room.

Having said all of the above, the hotel was mostly fine for a three star. We enjoyed the breakfast and we had a snack lunch in the restaurant a couple of times - omelettes, etc. - quite good value. We even tried the buffet one night - OK quality but not a huge choice.

The hotel describes itself as "boutique" and "exclusive" and goes on about its spa facilities - price lists everywhere you look. Boutique means more than painting one wall in each room a different colour, though - they have a long way to go. It is really nothing more than a decent three star hotel in a very fortunate location.

One member of staff on reception is famous on this forum for his rudeness and he seems to set the tone for others who think they are doing OK if they are not quite as rude and unhelpful as him. I wonder if anyone from the hotel ever reads these reviews? Perhaps they don't care as long as they are full.

Room Tip: Don't take room 501 if you can help it. Even numbered rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kameko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just returned from 2 night break at this hotel. Hotel was chosen for location, less than 5 minute walk into the old town with numerous bars and restaurants and overlooking the lovely fisherman's beach with it's stunning views. For this reason we booked 2 sea view rooms. We were given rooms 406 and 408, 4th floor rooms just above the pool area. Could not fault the views, panoramic of the pool, beach and in the evening of the old town all lit up. However the rooms were very small, dark with tiny shabby bathroom. The furniture and decor all needed updating. The beds were very hard, low and the pillows lumpy.The shower door did not close properly and consequently the bathroom was flooded after a shower!
Worst of all was the extremely poor customer service from all the main hotel staff from the initial checking in to check out. No greeting, demands for printed invoice of booking even though I presented the email of the booking reference. Quite abrupt in manner, not 1 of the staff had a friendly word, nevermind a smile! The man on the door at breakfast was more interested in chasing after you for your room number than explaining how how the system worked and showing you to a table. On checking out did not get asked re: our stay, did not even say goodbye!
Breakfast was standard buffet fare; eggs, hotdog sausages, bacon, beans, cold meats, cereal and toast. Nothing outstanding and no continental pastries which was a shame. All quite bland really! Jam tasted of nothing!!
Infinity pool was small but looked inviting with it's stunning views. Didn't use it so can't comment further. I can imagine in high season there would be a distinct lack of sun loungers though, only about 15 for whole hotel.
All in all enjoyed our stay in the Algarve, if it hadn't of been for the views we would of felt very let down. Hotel Rocamar could be a lovely boutique hotel but staff need to undergo some intensive training in customer service first, after all they did choose to work in the 'hospitality' industry!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jogo2170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have just come back from a very pleasant stay at this hotel. The sea views are wonderful and its location means only a short walk for the beach, shops, restaurants etc. The staff were the worst part of the hotel and the reviews below are spot on. The cleaners/maids are very friendly and always say hello, All other members of staff we found to be abrupt and unhelpful although to be fair, we found this with the majority of the locals. Breakfast was good/ok and the comments on tight space are accurate. All in all we recommend this hotel as a very pleasant break

Room Tip: Any even numbered rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bunf1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#38 of 154 in Albufeira
1,259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#41 of 154 in Albufeira
365 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#31 of 154 in Albufeira
301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#72 of 154 in Albufeira
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#67 of 154 in Albufeira
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa

Property: Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Address: Largo Jacinto D'Ayet no. 7, Albufeira 8200-071, Portugal (Formerly Rocamar Hotels & Resorts)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocamar Hotel Albufeira
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing