We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Ranked #38 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Great hotel in an ideal location only a short walk to local bars and restaurants, had lovely sea view room. Rooms and clean towels provided daily, breakfast was basic but always something to eat. The restaurant can be a little busy at times with people waiting for a table but we never had any problems getting a table. We found most of the staff to be fine and will be staying in this hotel when we visit Portugal again.
Highly recommend Prazeres a Portuguese restaurant off the square, Piccadilly cocktail bar and the Rock Café Bar.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a sea view room and take a kettle if you like a cuppa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wend46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    402
    155
    53
    34
See reviews for
110
665
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Lovely hotel in a good place.sunny.lovely view ,food ok .the staff,,,hmmm rude.not helpful .i just had to stop eating breakfast there because of the staff. They never happy. I had to much food on table .i sat in table and the staff ask me to leave the table with food because don't know why..to busy .small canteen.not happy at all.but hotel...nice..homeless animals outside the hotel makes me cry every time . I would not go back .

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank renata z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Hotel Rocamar sits above a beautiful beach that goes on forever. We chose to stay at the hotel for this reason and in fact, if you walk along the promenade, you can easily meander to all shops, restaurants and cafes in the old town area. We came by car and always found a spot to park outside the hotel.
Sadly, our very first impression as we arrived was a shock. The head receptionist, Annabella was uninterested in making us feel welcome. Not a smile, not helpful. Any questions were responded to in a curt manner, she was abrupt and rude. To say she seriously needs to undergo training in customer service is an understatement. Be warned people. Downstairs in the restaurant area, there are a few older waiters, who brusquely ask for your room number and then cut you dead. Ridiculously, the very same waiter came back and asked my husband for our room number again within minutes of having done so as if we were another couple who had just arrived. Absolutely no acknowledgement. They hovered around keeping themselves occupied by shout talking to each other whilst customers tried to have quiet conversations over ridden by their loud banter, unfortunately comfortable enough to let out expletives. Nothing wrong with expressing ourselves amongst friends, however, these men are at work and supposedly working at a boutique hotel with customers trying to have a pleasant breakfast. I was really shocked at how little they cared and how obvious they made it that they clearly don't enjoy their job and wished everyone would hurry up so they can be done with their duties.
Putting this aside, our room was clean, reasonably quiet, you can hear the lifts from the room though we slept soundly. We asked for twin singles, also fine. Air con worked well. Cable TV had plenty of channels in loads of languages. No kettle, no tea or coffee. We rang down to ask if they would provide one and our answer was 'oh no'. They also didn't try to suggest an alternative. Bathroom had hairdryer, two glasses and very nice smelling 'Rituals' toiletries. Shower power was fine, excellent hot water though whichever way you point the shower head the water soaks straight through the cubicle and leaves you a great puddle on the floor. Hotel breakfast buffet was included from 8am to 10am and it was bog standard. Mortadella, ham, sliced cheese, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, mushrooms, tinned sausages. No cakes or pastries, no frills. Some not very exciting fresh bread rolls. Only fresh fruit was sliced oranges, otherwise one had to make do with tinned fruit. Coffee was good. If you have the chance to sit at the window, you get a wonderful view of the sea. There are doors directly from restaurant area to the promenade, which is great. Overall, the hotel was a let down. They must work on improving themselves first, be there because you want to be, if you work directly with people, make an effort to make the customers stay a pleasant one! I don't recommend staying here as the only exceptional point about the place is the beach and there are hundreds of other hotels with equally lovely beaches that are likely to provide a far better service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Charlievdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Just back (very reluctantly!) from a 5 day stint at this hotel,from 19-24 December with family. Got a lovely sea view room, room 206, which felt as though you were waking up on a cruise ship every morning from the balcony. The weather was surprisingly mild, SO much warmer than back home, and the sun appeared everyday which was great for December! Rooms had all that you could need; great powerful shower, a payable safe (around 1.50 Euro per day), satisfactory wardrobe space, hairdryer in the bathrooms and maid service everyday. The maids were brilliant, the room was spotless & they couldn't have done enough - towels changed daily.

Location of the hotel was fabulous - the old town and beach were a stones throw away with still plenty of restaurants to choose from despite many being closed. Would recommend Atrium, Flavours (10 minutes walk away, beside beach), Open Sea and La Ruina. Ate in the hotel a few times, the buffet was quite good value with residents getting 20% off each evening. Good choice of three meat/fish dishes and chips/vegetables/potatoes. Breakfast was included in the price and was just ok. The usual choices of fruit juice, coffee, cereals,cold meats cheeses, bread, rolls and even hot buffet style if you preferred. The bar was modern and drinks/cocktails were very reasonably priced and yummy (especially the white russians!). Other good bars at "the Square were Sir Harrys and The Rock Bar which had live entertainment most nights!

ps Please look out for "Mr No Ears" (a white, one-eyed cat with no ears). He appears to be a feral cat living nearby the hotel and, despite not being a big cat lover, I totally fell in love with him!!:)

Room Tip: A sea view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dee69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

"+":
-beautiful ocean view from balcony
-free wifi
-good location

"-":
-old
-bad breakfast
-high price 130 euros

Choose it if you need ocean view and ready to pay 130 euros for it. Choose it if you need ocean view and ready to pay 130 euros for it. Choose it if you need ocean view and ready to pay 130 euros for it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evgeny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Booked this hotel for its location which was excellent! We stated on the booking we wanted a high room but on arrival were given a basement room, what can I say it looked out onto a 10ft high fence and the air conditioning unit, no view whatsoever! We asked to change rooms willing to pay for upgrade but were told none available. I have to say the staff at the bar were lovely, reception staff a different story! The food in the restaurant was bland and I would not like to be there when busy as long queue for dinner and breakfast at end of August! We actually went on line and booked another hotel due to the location of the room forfeiting our payment, the room was also small, dark and not the smartest and terrible bathroom! Maybe if we had have had a high room this review would be different apart from the food, would not stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a high room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gez01_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wordsley,stourbridge.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

My wife and I have just returned from the Rocamar where we had five wonderful days. This was our second visit, previously having spent a week there in October. The hotel is in a perfect position for the town and beach, both being five minutes away.Its well worth booking a sea view for the view of the beach and surrounding area. We enjoyed the breakfast and evening meals and found all the staff very helpful. As we had a return morning flight we had no time for breakfast, so we requested a packed lunch, around 9 pm we had a knock at our door and we were presented with a basket of cereals, milk, orange juice, ham and cheese cob and fruit. I must thank Annabelle at reception and all the staff for all the help given to us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adav43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#34 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#43 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#60 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#10 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#32 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa

Property: Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Address: Largo Jacinto D'Ayet no. 7, Albufeira 8200-071, Portugal (Formerly Rocamar Hotels & Resorts)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocamar Hotel Albufeira
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing