We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel,stunning ocean view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Ranked #39 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Hotel,stunning ocean view!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We went to hotel Rocamar for a short weekend break for my husband's birthday and so glad we chose this hotel. We chose a room with a sea view and it was absolutely worth the extra bit that you pay for it and would highly recommend it to anyone considering this hotel. The rooms and bathroom were spotlessly clean, had lovely rituals toiletries and the location being right on the fisherman's beach was perfect. It is also in the old town which is much nicer area than the strip which felt kind of shady. Unfortunately it rained almost throughout the weekend we were there and while we tried to make most of the short sunny spells in between, this hotel contributed to it being a lovely break despite the persistent rain. The lounge downstairs was a great place to sit with a coffee/drink and watch the World go by. There is also a spa for the use of guests . We quite liked the restaurant. They customised the food to suit our vegetarian requirements which was great and we didn't have to go out in the pouring rain for food but could just walk down to the restaurant or better still order room service for a quick bite. All in all turned out to be a wonderful little break!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romantic_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    410
    165
    55
    35
See reviews for
111
687
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here last week in May , sorry for late review! Cant say anything bad about this hotel , spotless rooms , excellent sea views, location is perfect. Pool area is small but ample , and you do have an amazing beach at your disposal!
Staff very attentive and helpful , breakfast plentiful , had a couple of evening meals which were good too.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view , its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

just returned from my second stay at the rocamar and enjoyed it even more than last time..we were in room 214 which had a fantastic view..the room was bright and spotless in fact the entire hotel is kept immaculate by the hard working cleaning ladies..the bar staff and waiters in the dining room are friendly and efficient..anabel at reception greeted us with a smile..
we had breakfast most mornings in the dining room and always found something we liked,especially the freshly cooked pancakes..i have no hesitation recommending this hotel and already plan to return next summer..

Room Tip: rooms on floor 2 below pool are very good as no noise from guests moving about on floor above you..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyshamrock_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
153 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We used Jet2 Holidays for the first time and chose this hotel from their brochure. Having been to Portugal a couple of times before, we knew you aren't allowed to check into your room before 2pm and this was the case when we arrived at 12.30 so we just went to lunch and came back after 2. We had booked a seaview room with balcony and requested a high floor room, based on the reviews we read previously on Trip Advisor. We were therefore not too happy to be allocated a room on the second floor (210) BUT found that we were immediately under the swimming pool so with no guests clomping about in pitboots above us, were happy to stay, which wasn't the case with other guests we spoke to - one couple in particular who had moved 3 times in one week. The only problem with our room was that at around 6.30 am each morning, someone turned on the most awful noise in the swimming pool for a short period of time - presumably a pump or filter, but although we asked to be moved, were told that the hotel was full and it wasn't possible. It seems everyone wants rooms on floors 4 or 5. Floor 3 isn't very good as some of the rooms have the limited sunbeds by the pool right up against the windows so there is no privacy, nor a place to sit outside as there's no balcony or terrace as such, with the exception of 3 particular rooms which seem to have private sunbeds. The staff are very friendly and helpful and breakfast was fine, with very large mugs for those of us who like tea and the water was boiling hot - so happy tea drinker each breakfast! Also the air conditioning was good. The views are fabulous and the position to the Old Town is great if you can manage the hill and the rather slippy cobble stones. For a change, we walked in the opposite direction one day and by accident found the modern marina which is an up and coming area. With regards Jet2 Holidays, the Rep doesn't visit the hotel and your return pick-up info is emailed to the hotel after 5 pm on the day before your return - we'd use them again as everything worked well.

Room Tip: Definitely high floor, sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a 5 Night break on June 9th.
We opted to pay the extra for a seaview room and we really did make the right choice as the view from our room (418) was stunning. The hotel is ideally situated for a short walk to the old town square and right on the beach, perfect. The hotel is very well kept and the decor Is bright and modern with a lovely bar and dining area. Reception check in was friendly and efficient and our room was very good with a nice bathroom, comfy bed, balcony and more spacious than expected. Good Aircon etc

Breakfast was very good with a range of continental or full English breakfast choices great coffee and a pancake chef each day. Nice to sit outside on the terrace with a lovely view for breakfast.

Negatives... Only one. The pool area and bar is absolutely lovely but Sunbeds and chairs are reserved all the time, we never had the chance to sit by the pool and have a few cocktails all the time we were on holiday. The hotel does ask guests not to reserve but we even found towels over the chairs by the bar, so frustrating. Oh and one other issue is no fridge in the room and the drinks machine was out of order so when we awoke thirsty in the night we could not get a drink and reception couldn't help with a drink from the bar.

Positives... The room maids are first class, our room was spotless everyday it was a pleasure to come back each day to such a tidy and clean room. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the bar is lovely and the breakfast very good. But... The location of this hotel really does take some beating if you like everything on your doorstep but is also so quiet for a good nights sleep

this was our second visit to Portugal and we were more than happy with our stay as we like to get out and about rather than lay by the pool. Would stay here again. Very nice.

we hired a car from Faro and visited some lovely beaches past the marina São Raphael and rabbit beach.... Stunning. Enjoy

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

just had a ten night stay at the Rocamar, this was our first time in Portugal and we were very happy with our stay at the Rocamar. We arrived at lunchtime to find our room wasn't ready. we left our luggage and went for a walk round before checking in. The only negative about our room was a lack of storage really, though we got round the issue. everything was fine, we were on the fourth floor directly by the swimming pool though we weren't affected by it. The staff were great, the breakfast was plentiful and the meals were also lovely. The hotel is ideally situated for the old town where there is plenty to eat and drink. the place was buzzing especially in the Dutch area as the Dutch hammered the Spanish in the world cup.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and would have no hesitation going back anytime

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel. The position is wonderful: 2 minutes to the beach, 2 minutes to the center where you can find restaurant and shops.

I had a premium room with ocean view: the room was quite big, well furnished and very clean. The ocean view was infact mainly a view on the people sunbathing at the swimming pool :-(( Apparently this happens for rooms on the 3rd floor.

The swimming pool is very very small: so forget about getting a sunbed there (actually the beach down the stairs 2 minutes away is much better!)

What I did not like of this hotel is the attitude "we provide a basic service - rest is on supplement or at least on demand": calling a taxi is 50 cents, minimum products available in the room (1 shower gel only for a double room ...), using the safe in the room ....

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#35 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#41 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#64 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#67 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa

Property: Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Address: Largo Jacinto D'Ayet no. 7, Albufeira 8200-071, Portugal (Formerly Rocamar Hotels & Resorts)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocamar Hotel Albufeira
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing