We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel with Old town within walking distance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Ranked #39 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean Hotel with Old town within walking distance”
Reviewed 8 January 2009

I stayed at the Rocamar from 16th -20th October. I went with a couple of girlfriends. The weather was lovely - not warm enough to get in the sea though.

lovely views from the cliff top. get a sea view room for sure. The old town is within walking distance so the location of the hotel is perfect.

I found the staff to be quite rude and unhelpful - it may have been because we were younger than the other guests! I think October is generally more popular with middle aged travellers.

the hotel was clean and our beds were made everyday. I woldn't recooment more than 2 people to a room as it was quite small.

The bathroom is an ok standard for a 3 star.

All in all I think the hotel was good value for money.

P.S don't bother with the breakfast - it really is awful! However you have so many nice restaurants within the vicinity to choose from you won't care!

  • Liked — Clean Room
  • Disliked — Breakfast and rude staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ThetravellingChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    410
    165
    55
    35
See reviews for
111
687
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2008

After reading some of the reviews on this hotel me and my partner were a little concerned about what we would find when we arrived! However, the hotel was modern and clean and the views were stunning! Most definately book a room with a sea view! The staff were very helpful and most lovely cocktails!
The only downside to this hotel is the food. I would recommend only booking Bed and Breakfast as the evening meal was never very appetising! They always had some sort of pasta dish which was the best and safest thing to eat!
The hotel is situated in a great place, only about 5 minutes walk from the centre of the old town. The new part of Albufeira is about a 5 minute taxi journey away and cost us about 6 euros.
As a young couple, going in November was a little quiet. The upside being it didnt take as long to be served in restaurants or bars and it was always very peaceful!
Overall i would definately recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lincoln655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

I am somewhat surprised at some of the reviews for this hotel. We have just returned from a very pleasant stay. Our room was beautiful. It has obviously been completely updated and decorated quite recently in blues and beige. Beautiful bathroom and a view of the sea. Because our room was quiet low down and we did have to look through the grill fencing surrounding it. We didn't have a balcony, but we did have patio doors that opened to a safety barrier. This meant we could see the sea, without having to stand up, unlike the rooms with balconies.
The pool was very small, but was an infinity pool, so it seemed that it joined the sea.
The hotel is very well situated for the old town, which is only metres away. We certainly did not find it niosy, but it was October.
The down side of Albufeira at the moment, is that alot of the quaint cobbled streets are being dug up. Probably new sewer systems. (Not before time) This meant a lot of walking round workers. I felt a bit sorry for some of the shop and restuarant owners.
Good stay though, and would recommend.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank SnowyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2008

Myself and my husband booked this as a last minute break for a week to escape the dull weather in the UK

For the price we paid it wasnt too bad - the beakfast is ok - cooked breakfast, cereals and fresh fruit not sure what else you could really want. You must ask for a sea view as the views are breathtaking - you may need to pay a bit extra for this but it is well worth it. The pool is as it states a "plunge pool" not a very large area for sun bathing but the beach is directly below.

We found the staff to be helpful with anything we needed. This was the cleanest hotel we have stayed at - our room was cleaned daily and towels/bed linen also changed daily.

I would suggest this hotel for more of a short break rather than a full week or fortnight holiday.

Perfect location in the old town - very short walking distance to everything - if you like sea food then try O Tunnel - the food was fantastic - it is at the top of the stairs at the entrance to the tunnel for the beach.

All in all a great cheap last minute break

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaysun34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We booked this Hotel / Holiday in February and once we read other review began to feel worried.
However, we looked on the positive side.
We were wrong!
This Hotel is doing well to be rated 3 star.
The staff are very surly and unhelpful. ( leaving older people to struggle with baggage )
The food is dreadful, cold meat, blocks of scrambled eggs, cereals with warm UHT milk etc, ooh yum!!.
The rooms are OK, if you do not have a sea view you will miss the best thing on offer, the view..
Best thing about it is its location, near the beach, which is not bad.
If you are thinking of booking, think again unless you like surly staff, horrid food and lots of Germans for company.
If you have kids or not, do yourself a favour, go to Greece or Majorca.

  • Liked — LEAVING IT
  • Disliked — Reception Staff.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lupinDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

Room grubby. Light switches did not work the lights. Clean bed linen felt & smelt used. Towels, changed daily but very frayed and worn. Reception male staff un-helpful. Breakfast was lots of the same everyday, boring. Hotel drinks very expensive. Little or no entertainment. Must have seaview or don't bother going. Very noisey hotel, bin men etc. Room were still waiting to be cleaned at 3pm everyday. Old tv's/radio very few english channels (2).
Swimming pool, size of a postage stamp and only 95cm deep.

  • Liked — sea views if we had one.
  • Disliked — dark with no views only a high green fence
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sunrise1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

Stayed at the Rocamar for one week starting 11th Sept. Couldnt fault the hotel or staff at all. We stayed on a B&B basis and there was a choice of 6 cereals, 6 types of bread, hams, cheeses, bacon, sausage, tomatos, 3 types of eggs, I could go on but I think you get the gist! Food was of a good standard and couldnt complain! The hotel bar was also very nice, showing sports of the men and a pool table. Bar was quite cheap, I can highly recommend the Mojitos €3.50! The room was large and airy with air conditioning. There was one down point and that was that our window was level with the pool deck. But we comendered the sun loungers outside the window for the week. Using the window to jump in and out the room onto the pool deck. Not recommended for those that arent overly able bodied! The pool isnt overly large but is more than adequet for a quick dip to cool down. There was hardly any breeze even though we were directly on top of the cliff of the beach. There are two very nice restuarants near the hotel Casa De Fonte, as you head into the town and Restuarants 54 that over looks the sea, very picturesque at nice. Prices arent overly cheap in Portugal but that's the €'s fault not Portugals. The fish and seafood from the area are fantastic.

Wouldnt advise visitng the "Gypsy" market in Quaterier (?) not worth it, Slide and Splash however is well worth it!

  • Liked — The View!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljm2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#35 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#41 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#62 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#67 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa

Property: Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Address: Largo Jacinto D'Ayet no. 7, Albufeira 8200-071, Portugal (Formerly Rocamar Hotels & Resorts)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocamar Hotel Albufeira
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing