We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good option, only a few minuses...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Ranked #40 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good option, only a few minuses...”
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We have recently stayed at the Rocamar Beach Hotel and enjoyed it very much. The location is wonderful, the scenery amazing and you are only a 5 minute walk from the main bars and shopping area. The only downsides were that the hotel pool was very very small. Do not be fooled by the hotel website like I was.... Also reception staff were lukewarm. You are charged 50 cents for any phone call that they make on your behalf (taxi's / attractions etc) ..its not much but its the principle. you should not have to pay for this service. Overall we had an enjoyable stay and would recommend it to others....

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGBDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    410
    165
    55
    35
See reviews for
111
687
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

I stay in business and leisure hotels several times a month. We have just returned from 4 nights in the Rocamar, on a bed and breakfast basis. As in common with most of the reviewers, I believe the location of the hotel is its main advantage. It's 5 minutes from the golden sandy Fishermans beach and the same for the restaurants and bars of Albufeira's old town. Close enough so you don't have to pay for taxi's, but far enough away from the nightlife so you can get an undisturbed nights sleep. A word of advice, though - don't wear high heels as there are cobblestones throughout the old town!

The hotel is modern and attractive. A room with a sea view is well worth the additonal cost. The rooms are a good size but the bathroom is a tight squeeze for two as the sink is too big for the room. Instead of a railing, the balcony has a raised concrete slab obscuring the sea view from a sitting positon but, if you like to get an all over tan, it's great for privacy. The bed was too firm for my liking and the two pillows weren't comfortable either. One was too deep, at around 16cms in height, yet the 40cm square pillow was overall too small.

I found the female staff were helpful but the male staff would benefit from attending a customer service course. Everytime I asked for, or about, something I got a Fawlty Towers-type lecture. Towels were not available at the pool so pack your own. The maid who serviced our room did a good job – she even cleaned the balcony, as well!

The breakfast was perfectly adequate with the usual fresh bread and continental breakfast fare. However, they stop replenishing the food at around 9.30am so go early if you're hungry.

I would stay in the Rocamar again for its convenient location alone, but next time, I'd take my own pillow and beach towel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthernNomad101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

My husband and I had a lovely stay here over 4 days even though the weather wasn't the best with a bit of rain. The hotel was lovely and very clean. As everyone does mention the breakfast is a bit naff and the safest thing to eat are the bread rolls, ham and cheese. The coffee is good too. The rooms are very clean and the sea view is a must!! Had the door open every night listening to the waves. Also use the jacuzzi and steam room in the spa whihc is free to hotel guest, very romantic lit with candles and for couples exclusive use. just pop in and they will book you in a slot.

If you fancy the water park go to slide and spalsh you can buy a ticket for 22.50euros each and that picks you up really close to the hotel and drops you off, just pop to an excursion agent in the town.
A great restaurant that we went to near to the hotel about 4 minutes walk into the old town down the stairs is The Atrium, the little balconies look over the street as it was an old theatre. The food here was great and very portugese, good value!

So all in all I would say the hotel and surroundings are fine for couples, very comfortable and if I go back to Albufeira I would return here

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nini123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Stayed for a week at the Rocamar and it was perfect. The hotel and the staff are great, and we had booked a sea view room and it really is worth that bit extra as the views are fantastic day and night. The rooms are cleaned every day, the bathroom was a little tired, but not to any detriment, the beds must be good as we slept well every night. We had read the reviews about the bad food but we thought the breakfast selection was great and we dont really understand what other people are complaining about, although we did not have a meal in the evening. It was our 1st stay in Portugal and we would definitely return to Albufeira and the Rocamar.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lozzy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

This was our 11th jaunt away as friends as we go away every May for a bit of r n r and a laugh....... Unfortunately this has got to be the worst hotel we have ever stayed in compared to the 10 others we have stayed in....... and this is such a pity as it had the potential to be the best.
On arrival it looked just as the brochure described " chique and unique " in other words small and different. Francisco on the front desk was great and booked us in wihtout much trouble as it can be quite a chore booking 10 ladies in who have high demands from the get go. Unfortunately the location of our rooms was quite poor i.e the back on the gound floor. We had three rooms out of 5 which shared a terrace, There was a manky old "jacuzzi" on the terrace that was covered in black bin bags... so not a good look. The terrace got the sun all afternoon and into the sunset however due to the huge tree on the other side of the Colditz screen we hardly ever saw the sun. This terrace had so much potential if it had been partitioned to give every room a bit of privacy with fairy lights and scented creeping plants over the Colditz screen. However it just appeared dirty and lacked privacy for the poor people who had to share it with us. We had sun longers and chairs on the terrace which was a nice touch and good for us 8 to be together but not for the other 2 rooms.
Our rooms were adequate... We had 2 rooms for three one of which was huge and the other which was qute small...... you pays your money and takes your chance. The 2 rooms for 2 were more than adequate for 2 people. There was lots of hot water from a fab power shower but the bathrooms were quite small with very little shelf space ( a nightmare for 3 girls sharing together ). We were all supplied with free fridges which makes a refreshing change as charges for this service are normally quite high. A fridge is always a must on holiday to store pre dinner drinks and juice and water for back up.This service didn't seem to be advertised very well though as a few people we spoke to didn't realise you could order a fridge.
The pool area is fab but the size of a handkercheif with the hardest sunbeds i've ever had the displeasure to lie on. The views are spectacular from the pool and the temperature of the water is perfect for cooling off. ( the weather was red hot when we were there ). Pity the poor people whose rooms look onto the pool as they have even less privacy than we had. The staff at the pool bar which was only open for around 2 hrs were very accomdating and if you waved and caught their eye were more than happy to bring your drinks out to you. Be prepared to almost sit on top of the person who is on the next bed to you as space is a premium on the pool deck.
The location of this hotel could not be better.... it's just far enough away from the noise of the bars restaurants but is close enough for a lovely walk there and back and even if you don't want to walk far the very nearby bars are not rowdy at all ( not in May anyway ). You are right next to the lift to take you onto the beach which is huge and clean.
The food at this hotel is so dissapointing . The dinin room is very pretty and looks onto the beach and walkway outside. It's really lovely in the morning as you can sit outside if you want. There is always a choice of meat or fish at dinner ( tough or dry take your pick). Vegetables that are always swimming in hot water presumably to keep them warm as they were not in any kind of bain marie or hot under counter. The chef kept coming out to look at his food not sure why that was but looking at it surely doesn't make it taste better you've got to cook it right first.The desserts were bowls of green slop or brown slop. We aren't picky and will eat anything but not one member of our group dared try this concoction. There was the odd cake that looked fab but had no taste whatsoever. Poor George ( the maitre d ) and his team worked so well and looked after us with anything we wanted but we felt really sorry for them having to put up with the complaints of the food. We didn't go hungry and there was always something to eat mainly from the salad section but i and a couple of others ate out 3 times out of 7 as just the thought of having to eat what was supplied put us right off. Go to the Clay Oven in the new town. 5 euro in a taxi and Indian food to die for.
Although this all sounds like doom and gloom we had a great time and made the best of a bad situation.Our Thomson rep was the best ever. So helpful ( sorry we never made it to your " too early " welcome meeting ) and he had a job against the world re the food again. We met some great people. Hello to Sue and Bill thanks for your great company.
Pleeeeaaaaase just chop that tree down , sack your chef and serve some delicious food and you have got a total winner.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatesheadgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We visited the Rocamar for the second time & as we knew what to expect, we weren't disappointed. The main reason for choosing this hotel was it's location, the views are fantastic, if you get a sea view room.

We went on a bed & breakfast basis and it could sometimes be a bit hectic at breakfast time. We feel that the dining room is not big enough for the amount of guests, although you can also sit outside on the prom. There wasn't a great selection of food for breakfast, but enough for us. They would have eggs (fried, scrambled or hard boiled) beans, tomatoes, sausages on one day & then bacon on the next - never both at the same time! There were also cheeses & hams & bits of salad things! The toaster also took forever & the bread had to go through at least 2 or 3 times before it even begun to look brown!

The staff we dealt with were always very helpful & some of them had a smile for us! The pool isn't over large & if you don't get there early enough, all the beds will usually be taken. We found that we didn't need to stay round the pool because as the beach is only a few yards away, and now they have a lift to get you up & down, it was better to go there for the day. We went on the sunbeds a few days which cost 12 Euros a day for 2 beds & an umbrella.

As the hotel is out on a limb a bit from the town, it was quite quiet at night. They do put entertainment on, but it is an ageing portugese guy playing the guitar & trying to sing! It is about a 5 minute walk into the old town where there are numerous bars & restaurants. There are many touts outside the restaurants trying to get you into theirs, which can be very annoying, but they start to give up about 10pm ish.

Our room was quite spacious, as was the bathroom, but this could have done with a bit of rearranging, as you nearly hit your head on the sink when you sat on the loo! The room was cleaned every day & fresh towels were supplied when we requested them.

While we were there we visited the Fiesa which is a sand sculpture display. It is definitely worth a visit as it is amazing. We went on an organised trip through our rep which was at night & included a meal. We would have liked to have seen it during the day & only found out later that there was a bus that could take you there for 7 Euros & entry is 8 Euros. If you check with the tour operators in the town, they might be able to help.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at the Rocamar & would definitely recommend it, for the view alone. It we do return again to Albufeira, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaltaGirl2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We have stayed in the Rocamar in 2008 and loved it so much returning this year in September.
We visited Albufeira last year at a different hotel but found we were always revisting the Rocamar each day for drinks both at lunch and night time and to sit and admire the lovely views of the sea.
The service, particularly in the bar, is very friendly and helpful and the staff make you feel very welcome.
The pool is small but lovely - again with the views over the sea. Being beach lovers this hotel is ideal by the sea.
Last time we stayed bed and breakfast and there was always plenty of choice for breakfast - particularly liked the fresh bread.
The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable and the ones at front of hotel have great views over the sea.
The hotel overall is modern, clean and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnieviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#36 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#41 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#63 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#10 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#68 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa

Property: Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Address: Largo Jacinto D'Ayet no. 7, Albufeira 8200-071, Portugal (Formerly Rocamar Hotels & Resorts)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocamar Hotel Albufeira
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing