We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location”
Review of Hotel Sol e Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sol e Mar
Ranked #37 of 153 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 4 April 2013

stayed here one week left 4th april 2013 we are a young at heart outgoing couple in our early 60s we never complain about hotels because normally its just a base from which to go out exploring however because of the really bad weather we did not get out as much as we wanted anyway first impressions were great location walk out of the front door your in the square (old town) out of the back door you are on the beach the hotel is 5 stories high the 5th floor being taken up by reception the bar area and restaurant the first floor is the indoor pool and 2 outside cafes floors 2 3 and 4 are accommodation it does not matter which room you get as they all have a great sea view we had 302 3rd floor it was excellent the hotel provides free wi fi as does anywhere in the square a bonus thats the good bits the bad bits we paid for half board we had breakfast there everyday it was edible but not much choice only had bacon twice in a week the evening meal in our opinion was gross after 3 days of cold chips we decided to eat out the rest of the week the staff were all helpful and friendly the night time entertainment was the same guy on keyboards every night he played mostly 60s and 70s stuff i thought it was quite relaxing however there were never many people in there listening this is not an hotel for young people nor those with walking difficulties as there is no wheelchair access to sum it up it is a basic hotel in a great location but bed and breakfast is all you should should contemplate

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank malManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

865 - 871 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

just returned from this hotel and had a fabulous time. At the end of the day it is clean, great location directly on the beach and 2 minutes walk to the old town square. we only go b&b, because there are too many nice restaurants near by.It reminds me of a james bond film from the seventys, but eh in its day it was one of the top hotels. Yes could do with updating but if that were to happen it would not be cheap and nobody could afford to stay there.Will definately be back.would recommend all the time!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are good and with seaviews, we prefer the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wackers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed here in May and what a beautful setting, right on the beach. All rooms have a sea view. Pity about the rooms, the hotel itself is so outdated, we thought we had gone back to the 60s. The breakfast was very much more continental and all I ever had was a boiled egg each morning. I really missed having a terrace or somewhere to chill out during the day. Where are we supposed to relax, just on our balcony! The beach sun beds cost 15 euros a day each, in front of the hotel, this adds quite a lot on to your holiday. The setting of the hotel was superb and right in the old town but please update your hotel and give customers a cheaper version to relax.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kassieben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Who in this day and age books a hotel without looking on tripadviser first? Mixed reviews? Make your own mind up!
We stayed here 8th - 15th March and had a very enjoyable holiday. We read the reviews and knew what to expect (and not)!
But how anyone can say at this time of the year that the hotel is not 5* value for money is beyond me. This is what you get:
Large room....great sea and beach view....heating.....hot water....bath SHEETS.
Great location....close to shops, restaurants, cafe/bars and bus stop.
Breakfast....good choice of continental. Hot breakfast...scrambled/fried eggs.....no runny yolks, but nicely cooked....beans...mushrooms....hot dog sausage(can't stand these, but hey, it didn't spoil my holiday!)...bacon twice during the week.
Evening meals...only had two of these....yes we did go back for another after the first! Only for convenience though! Special offer 10 euros each. Not a lot of choice but filled up with what we did like.
Large comfy bar and lounge area....keyboard not my cup of tea but only listened to it once. You won't get a Robbie Williams and Lady Gaga tribute at these prices!
Pleasant and helpful staff.
Don't forget in the winter months there are OAPs there escaping the British winters.

So lets summarise....if you stayed in March (and probably January and February) you got a bargain!
And yes, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sueanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

After returning to the Sol e Mar several times it never fails to feel like meeting an old friend ! Arrived 28th Mar for 4 nights after spending 5 nights in Alvor at the lovely Pestana Dom Joa II a very comfortable modern hotel. I expected to feel disappointed this time after such a nice hotel but no as soon as I walked through the seventies lounge and into my spacious and airy room with the obligatory sea view and accompanying roar of the waves it felt instantly just right. Along with the range of bars and restaurants nearby what a great way to spend easter and at half the price of the previous hotel. Look past the anonymous flat screen boutique brigade and appreciate a bit of originality !
Its a bargain.

Room Tip: bedrooms are below the 5th floor lounge and dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Just back from Hotel Sol e Mar - This hotel needs a complete refurbishment - we sat in the Bar one evening listening to the 70's keyboard player ducking the water that was coming in through the roof! The rooms are a fair size but again need updated our bath/shower was peeling, tiles were cracked - again refurbishment needed. The food was passable if you like plain medium warm uninteresting and repeated choices. On a plus side the location is amazing - right on the beach - however to enjoy sitting on balcony these too need refurbed!!
Staff were friendly and helpful enough when you could find any - I feel cheated as to me this is most DEFINITELY NOT 4 STAR accommodation. Get your act together Sol e Mar - or you will loose guests!!! Indoor pool was abysmal and probably needs to be stripped and rebuilt to pass Health and Safety requirements. Whoever took the photos for brochure used good angles to help this hotel look good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

although definitely not 4 star we had no problem with this hotel,nice staff,large rooms with fridge and the best sea view around from your room and balcony.
we went half board as we were on a budget but the evening meals were atrocious,they even advertised their HORSE BURGERS,it was virtually the same food almost each night,all the meat (if you can call it that)was overcooked and of a diabolical standard,chips and veg were always cold and not replenished,the ice cream was left out to melt,the fish although with a different name always taste the same as did the chicken wings and other off cuts,we ended up going out for an expensive evening meal so as to get some quality food down us.
would i stay here again ? yes without a doubt but i certainly would not eat there again.

Room Tip: any room will do,they all have a great sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#44 of 153 in Albufeira
420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#25 of 153 in Albufeira
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#13 of 153 in Albufeira
1,861 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#26 of 153 in Albufeira
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#72 of 153 in Albufeira
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol e Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol e Mar

Address: Rua Jose Bernardino de Sousa 12, Albufeira 8200-146, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#26 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#29 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £58 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sol e Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach in the centre of Albufeira, the 4-star Sol e Mar Resort features 2 restaurants, 2 bars and a heated indoor pool. The Sol e Mar rooms benefit from private balconies with sea views, as well as a TV with satellite channels. Every room has a refrigerator and an en suite bathroom with a hairdryer. Sunrise Restaurant serves lavish buffet meals accompanies by sea views; Sunset Restaurant offers a la carte regional and international cuisine. There is also a cocktail bar, an ice cream parlour and live evening entertainment. Hotel Sol e Mar is just 3 minutes' walk from Albufeira's Archaeological Museum. Bicycles can be rented from the hotel - perfect for exploring the old town and picturesque clifftops. Free Wi-Fi is available in its public areas. Faro International Airport is 30 minutes' drive from Hotel Sol e Mar. On-site car hire is available. Free public parking is available within 400 metres from the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sol e Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol e Mar Hotel
Hotel Sol e Mar Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing