We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sol e Mar
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Topazio(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Falesia Mar by 3HB(Olhos de Agua)
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Vila Gale Atlantico(Gale)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PortoBay Falesia(Albufeira)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$291
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alfagar Aparthotel(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,395)
Filter reviews
1,395 results
Traveller rating
408
638
226
75
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
638
226
75
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewcircular barrooms face the searound barold townbeach levelsound of the wavesfantastic locationhalf boardindoor pooltravel kettlebit datedbed and breakfastgala dinnerfifth floorthe cliffyour doorstep
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
790 - 795 of 1,395 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Myself and my wife stayed in this hotel in October . We payed £31 a night with a buffet breakfast and a sea view. We thought this hotel was tremendous value despite some of the critism some people have given this hotel. Do these people never watch a hotel programme called "Three in a bed " about British hoteliers, please note next time you cricise hotels of this value, take note on how expensive it is to stay over in the UK. If they were paying £80 a night then i'm sure some complaints may be justified , but i'm sure most people are not. Sure the hotel is little bit faded but still retains a grandeur and the bacon could be cooked instead of boiled, but there is plenty of choice at breakfast.

The breakfast is more than adequate with a full enlish and continental catered for.The lift also gives you direct access to the beach.It is also in a great location for the centre of town but there are some steep steps adjacent to the tunnel to get to hotel reception.

Great value hotel and we have booked again .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank daveandlynntaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Just got back after a 4 day break 24-28 nov 2013, the Sol e mar fabulous, hotel quite dated, but very clean, food excellent, room very clean, location, right on the beach, weather hot , top marks jet 2. Hotel Sol E Mar , will be returning next year.Ann from York.

Stayed: November 2013
7  Thank pixietrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Hotel Sol e Mar, Albufeira – 21-24 November 2013
Stayed at the Sol e Mar for 3 nights with my mother in November. I picked the Sol e Mar as mum has difficulty walking up and down steps and it seemed the most accessible for both the beach and old town. Warned mum before we went that the hotel had some negative reviews so we went with an open mind. I must say we were both very pleasantly surprised by the hotel and I can’t really understand some of the negative reviews.

We arrived at the hotel at 12 mid-day and our room was available straight away. We had requested a quiet room and we were allocated room 108 on the first floor. The room was large and spacious with twin beds, plenty of wardrobe space and a lovely sea view from the balcony. There was a fridge and air con / heating (we needed the heating rather than the air con in November) which worked very well. There was a small TV which mum switched on a couple of times to catch up on the news, it was more than adequate IMHO but then I don’t go on holiday to watch TV. The bathroom had a bath with shower over and a bidet, there were plenty of clean towels and the shower curtain was fine. One of the previous reviews mentioned the lack of a kettle in the room and this was something that mum remarked on too. The weather wasn’t brilliant during our stay and it would have been nice to come back and make a cup of coffee in the room so if I went again I’d take a travel kettle and some tea/coffee.

We booked bed and breakfast so can’t comment on the evening meals but found the breakfast more than adequate for our needs. There was a choice of cereal, fruit, plain yogurt, cold meats, cheese, several different breads, jam, honey etc plus a selection of cooked items – bacon or frankfurter sausages with eggs, mushrooms, beans and tomatoes. On an evening we walked into the old town and ate at O Valero and O Catraio which both offered tourist menus at very reasonable prices and the food was excellent.

We were disappointed that the indoor pool was closed for renovations during our stay. I was advised of this by Jet2 about a week before we travelled and they did make arrangements for us to use a pool at a hotel 10 minutes’ walk away. However walking along the beach for 10 minutes in the rain with swimming stuff can’t be compared to using a pool in your own hotel! The second day of our stay it rained for most of the day and it would have been nice to have the option of having a swim without leaving the building. Apart from this I couldn’t really fault the hotel. We didn’t really use the lounge area but it was spacious with a pool table, several board games and plenty of comfortable seats with lovely views over the sea. If we’d stayed longer we would have made more use of the lounge as it was a nice spot to sit and read a book in comfort.

If I ever return to Albufeira I would certainly return to the Sol e mar as I really liked the position of the hotel. The old town is lovely with plenty of character and old buildings. We visited the strip using the little tourist train (4 euros for a full day ticket) and were really glad we’d chosen the old town for our holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Gemma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

stayed from 14th to 21st nov. this was our third time staying at the sol e mar. wouldnt go to any other hotel. ok it is a bit old but has a great atmosphere. nuno playes the organ and sings every night. the older couples like to dance and us middle agers like to watch them,,food is good and the rooms are spotless.the staff are great and the view in the morning takes your breath away.anyone thinking of going to albufeira must stay at the sol e mar ..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank margaretmotherwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Sol e Mar, for the first time..We arrived on the 9/11/2013, for a week and were greeted by blue skies with out a cloud in sight temp's of 28 to 30 deg's every day, We were welcomed by the friendly receptionist, and when booking in she noticed I had requested assistance to carry our luggage to the room, this was done straight away. We were shown to our room, (via a rather old and rickety lift) it was large, 2 single beds ( fairly comfortable) lovely balcony, directly over the beach with fantastic views over the coast, a,well equipped bathroom,( usual free toiletries), large wardrobe with safe (for hire), plenty of draw space, dressing table, very clean except stains on under sheet One important factor, it didn't have a kettle or tea making facilities which is a MUST!!! Could do with update and decoration.Dumped cases and went exploring the rest of the hotel.Foyer had about 7 steps to lounge (little difficulty, as I have mobility problem,) but soon got used to them. Lounge and bar quite impressive circular bar, surrounded with bar stools. rest of lounge had very comfortable lounge chairs, and glass tables this lead to gaming area, pool, table, card games,Chess e t c Which in turn lead on to dining room, with panoramic views over beach We had booked in on a bed & Breakfast basis, which suits our needs. The buffet breakfast was more than adequate, well cooked and plenty to eat.Towards the end of the week the choice became a little similar.
All in all we really enjoyed our stay,in this ideally central positioned Hotel the staff friendly and helpful, needs some T & C, change threadbare carpets to corridors. but we will definatly come back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: All rooms are located over the beach, with great sea views
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank cjm182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews