We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT LITTLE HOTEL - WOULD STAY AGAIN”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sol e Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Sol e Mar
Ranked #34 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“GREAT LITTLE HOTEL - WOULD STAY AGAIN”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed here for 4 days on b/b basis. The best thing about this hotel is the location. Lovely view from room as well as bar and restaurant. Everywhere is kept spotless, with daily change of towels. Rooms are basic, but have all you need with plenty of storage space. We had room 307, next to lift, so occasional noise, as people came and went to their rooms on that floor. The staff we came into contact with were all very helpful. We only had breakfast there and this was fine with hot and cold choices, complaints about the fried eggs being hard is because the warming tray is probably set too hot - just wait as we did till they brought out some freshly cooked ones! We would definately come back to this hotel again as it's so handy for the beach, the shops, bars, and restaurants in Albufeira.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holifanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    554
    192
    68
    34
See reviews for
154
748
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We love it, we take our fiends. Some love it, some hate it. E love the special retro experience, the staff from reception to bar and cleaners. If propel com end stay here missing the Family experience of the staff, it is their loss. We took 13 friends for their first visit this Feb 11 loved it 2 did not ... You can please some of the people, some of the time ... But you cannot please all of the people all of the time!
Thank you to every member of staff on reception, the lady who took care of our room. To Nuno for his 'Special Appearance' and all of the people in the kitchen. We hope to be back for New Year xxx

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidsidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for 5 days in November. The hotel as first impression was very basic, but as the wekk went on we felt it had everthing you needed. The location is the best for exploring the old town and has its own access to the beach, you cant beat the loaction. we only had breakfast, but this was a pleasant surprise and was very nice.
The rooms are clean, beds a little hard, and plenty of storage space.
The price we paid made this an absolute bargain, we would visit this hotel again, Thanks

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Just back from a 7 night break, First impression at reception, 5 star, gentleman looked professional and friendly and he was both.

Lift to room, spacious, well kitted out, freshly decorated, very clean, everything you need and more, fridge in wardrobe and the view, to die for.

Service, immaculate.

Food, breakfast lots of choice, not the English choice you get in Blackpool but its Portugal, clue there.

Dinner, excellent with lots of choice.

Staff, excellent.

Suggestions, just keep it up.

Negative reviews, well some people just like complaining.

Room Tip: 107 was mine and 107 was first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 55MINUTESMILE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We really like this hotel, set into the cliff overlooking the beach. Every room has balcony with uninterrupted sea views. Rooms simply furnished and perhaps a bit dated but spotlessly clean and serviced everyday. Meals good, staff friendly, bar area particularly attractive, feels like an ocean liner!

Yes, bath was old and bit stained, and the beds a bit hard, but for the money we paid it was excellent.

There is renovation and building work going on but it has to be done, and we could hardly hear the noise over the sound of the waves crashing on the beach.

Indoor pool newly renovated and was an unexpected bonus.

We hope to return!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank AnnaMcAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We booked this break to celebrate our anniversary. Every room had a sea view; we were on the 4th floor which was actually the floor below the dining room and lounge. There was some noise at meal times from chairs etc, but as we were going for our meals at those times it didn't bother us. The room was traditional and quaint. Some reviews marked it down but we found it to be clean and all we needed. We didn't watch any TV so although it was small that wasn't a problem for us. The balcony was lovely and we could enjoy the sun all day. The food in the restaurant was good. The breakfast was a bit greasy for me but the fruit and the breads were lovely. The evening meals were enjoyable and a good selection of salads and main courses. The cocktail bar was really nice and I would recommend their Sol e Mar tropical cocktail. We would definitely go back again. Close to the old town and within walking distance of the new town too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We spent a week in the hotel at the end of January and honestly couldn't fault it. The rooms were spacious and as many have pointed out the view from the balcony is simply stunning.The maids cleaned the rooms daily and the place was spotlessly clean. The staff were very friendly and were hardworking. We had a fabulous holiday and can't wait to return. We used yellowfish for our transfers and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillianandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#41 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#68 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#59 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#33 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol e Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol e Mar

Property: Hotel Sol e Mar
Address: Rua Jose Bernardino de Sousa 12, Albufeira 8200-146, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#26 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#27 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sol e Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach in the centre of Albufeira, the 4-star Sol e Mar Resort features 2 restaurants, 2 bars and a heated indoor pool. The Sol e Mar rooms benefit from private balconies with sea views, as well as a TV with satellite channels. Every room has a refrigerator and an en suite bathroom with a hairdryer. Sunrise Restaurant serves lavish buffet meals accompanies by sea views; Sunset Restaurant offers a la carte regional and international cuisine. There is also a cocktail bar, an ice cream parlour and live evening entertainment. Hotel Sol e Mar is just 3 minutes' walk from Albufeira's Archaeological Museum. Bicycles can be rented from the hotel - perfect for exploring the old town and picturesque clifftops. Free Wi-Fi is available in its public areas. Faro International Airport is 30 minutes' drive from Hotel Sol e Mar. On-site car hire is available. Free public parking is available within 400 metres from the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Onthebeach, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sol e Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol e Mar Hotel
Hotel Sol e Mar Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing