We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“return holiday to portugal”
Review of Hotel Sol e Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sol e Mar
Ranked #37 of 152 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 4 July 2014

we have just come back from 2weeks at the sol e mar hotel we have now stayed there twice and have loved it and will definatly be going back again we found the staff very friendly and will do anything to help you we went bed and breakfast as we enjoy trying different resturants and there are plenty of them around albufeira the location of this hotel is fabulous everything you need is on your doorstep just love everything about it.

Room Tip: both times we have stayed on the 4th floor this time we had 407 and if you are a light sleeper you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carole m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I spent a week at this Hotel in June 2014. Amazing location in the Old Town, on the beach front and not too close to the main square so that you are kept up all night but only a 3 minute walk from all the bars/restaurants. Would give the hotel a 5 star but the only thing letting it down is the entertainment at night, not very good. That being said, the location means that you do not have to endure it and you only have a short walk to some decent entertainment in the main square

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor and this was perfect. I wouldn't stay in floor 4 because the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeanK86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just returned from Sol e Mar after a week holiday and although we were there before a few years ago we were not disappointed with the hotel. The breakfast was completely adequate with a good mix of hot and cold items and cereals etc.

The room we were in had been freshly painted probably in the last couple of years and although the curtains and colours were the same the room was fresh, plenty of storage facilities and as usual the fridge was extremely welcome.

The staff are extremely helpful and nice especially the barman in the cocktail lounge in the evenings. We always had a drink in the bar every night before going up to our room and sitting out on our balcony and having a last drink there.

We were in room 404 and I would say the only complaint I would have is the Maid was not very efficient. She only made the bed, changed the towels and emptied the bin. She never at any point over the holiday swept the floor or either the room or the balcony. She did not wipe over the plastic table on the balcony, I took to doing that myself every evening. The Housekeeper should look under the bed by the way (in room 404) the dust and sand is well established. That aside we still enjoyed the hotel and will return again in a couple of years but next time we will mention to Reception if the room is not being properly looked after.

We really enjoyed our holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the sea but request a high floor because the beach bar can be busy and if you lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ellen2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Just stayed for a week and it was great. 5 minutes from the old town square with lots of bars and restaurants.

Rooms were ok. Baloney facing the beach with air con in the rooms.
We had bed an breakfast but we only had it once and didn't like it. No bacon and the rest of the cooked breakfast didn't taste good so just had toast.
Cafe downstairs was good. Did nice toasties and beer wasn't that dear. Then your on the beach which was handy.
There was golf posters up in the reception saying book golf here then when I asked they said you couldn't. So had to sort it myself.


Enjoyed my stay mainly for the location and would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darren118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just returned after spending a week at the hotel. The checking in process was very friendly and efficient. All the reception staff were very helpful when handling any queries.
The hotel is somewhat dated and the electric sockets are of concern in that they are not securely fixed in the wall. Having said that, the room is adequate with fridge, air conditioning and TV all free of charge. There is ample wardrobe and drawer space. One of the wardrobe contains a safe which costs 15 euro a week. The bathroom is basic but contains both a bath and overhead shower. The room was very clean, beds and towels changed daily. Good size balcony overlooking beach and sea.
The food provided gives a good choice both at breakfast and dinner. Dinner provides a choice to suit all tastes, with both fish, meat and vegetarian options. The salad bar is excellent. No-one should go hungry! The waiters were very friendly and would reserve a table overlooking the sea if asked.
The lounge bar does appear to have been refurbished and is very comfortable.
The hotel lift takes you right down to the beach and cafe bars. You have to pay 15 euro for the hour of 2 sun loungers and parasol.
The hotel is ideally situated on the edge of the Old Town where you can soak up the atmosphere, and also for walking along to the Marina.
Would definitely stay again and recommend it to others.
Had a great holiday.

Room Tip: Al rooms have sea view but would advise floors 4 and 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

lovely position to be in . Centre of old town and right on the front....no side sea views ....lovely to sit and watch the fisherman dangling their rods on the waters edge. Great to watch the early morning swimmers and joggers and take in the evening sunshine. Rooms are dated basic but very clean,The corridors are extremely warm. The breakfast has choice and the staff all over the hotel are extremely polite and helpful. The position of the hotel sells it for me every time

Room Tip: Not a problem anywhere depends on your height preference fourth floor is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

After a poor start we were lucky and this hotel found us a room for 2 nights. The staff on reception were fantastic especially a man who helped us find other accommodation for the other two nights.

Great location and lovely place.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the 6th Floor - fabulous balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jo3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#44 of 152 in Albufeira
420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#26 of 152 in Albufeira
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#28 of 152 in Albufeira
345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#13 of 152 in Albufeira
1,861 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#72 of 152 in Albufeira
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol e Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol e Mar

Address: Rua Jose Bernardino de Sousa 12, Albufeira 8200-146, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#26 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#29 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £59 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sol e Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach in the centre of Albufeira, the 4-star Sol e Mar Resort features 2 restaurants, 2 bars and a heated indoor pool. The Sol e Mar rooms benefit from private balconies with sea views, as well as a TV with satellite channels. Every room has a refrigerator and an en suite bathroom with a hairdryer. Sunrise Restaurant serves lavish buffet meals accompanies by sea views; Sunset Restaurant offers a la carte regional and international cuisine. There is also a cocktail bar, an ice cream parlour and live evening entertainment. Hotel Sol e Mar is just 3 minutes' walk from Albufeira's Archaeological Museum. Bicycles can be rented from the hotel - perfect for exploring the old town and picturesque clifftops. Free Wi-Fi is available in its public areas. Faro International Airport is 30 minutes' drive from Hotel Sol e Mar. On-site car hire is available. Free public parking is available within 400 metres from the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sol e Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol e Mar Hotel
Hotel Sol e Mar Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing