We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sol e Mar
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$291
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Luna Clube Oceano(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Velamar Boutique Hotel(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baia Grande(Sesmarias)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Alpinus Hotel(Albufeira)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$294
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alfagar Aparthotel(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,395)
Filter reviews
1,395 results
Traveller rating
408
638
226
75
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
638
226
75
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewcircular barrooms face the searound barold townbeach levelsound of the wavesfantastic locationhalf boardindoor pooltravel kettlebit datedbed and breakfastgala dinnerfifth floorthe cliffyour doorstep
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
673 - 678 of 1,395 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Second time back to this hotel with the girls, the rooms are quite basic but very clean, the views from the room are stunning, the staff are very helpful and polite. The location of this hotel is superb.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
5  Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel will take you back in time to maybe the 1970s with a touch of retro class. The whole place has a relaxing feel, the staff are polite and friendly and helpful if you ask questions. The food is more than adequate with various choices and goes with a view of the sea. The location is superb right on the beach , almost in the old town and situated over the tunnel. This hotel is more suitable for couples and families, if you are in groups and looking for a wild time this hotel is not for you. A couple of minor issues, I think its time to upgrade the TVs to flat screens and offer more UK channels.

Room Tip: all rooms face the sea, maybe a high floor for the views
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank compostcorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is our third trip to stay in the Sol e Mar and once again we had a wonderful time. Of course, the location helps as the hotel is right in front of the beach and all the amenities in town are just a few minutes’ walk away. But you cannot deny that attentive and professional staff make a holiday and once again they did not fail in their duty in this regard. We were also given a refurbished room - this had been done simply but effectively and went towards making our stay here great; as always the room, bedding and towels were attended to daily by the very efficient housekeeping staff. We stayed half board this time which is a first and this did not disappoint; during our 2 week stay there was not an evening where we could not find something pleasant and enjoyable to eat for the evening meal - we were happy to have our evening meals at the hotel throughout our stay. the daily breakfast was more than adequate and definitely set you up for the day - we seldom felt the need to take lunch and if we did it was a light lunch. You could tell that the catering staff took pride in their work and they always ensured that dishes were topped up and looked appealing. Once again, I have no heistation in recommending this hotel and location to anyone looking for a base for their trip to the Algarve.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
13  Thank E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just got back from spending 11 nights here. Lovely hotel in a perfect location, with sea views from every room.
Free wifi and fridge in room, free aircon.
We went half board and thought the food was lovely. They really do try there best to cater for everyone.
Old town on ur door step and new town a 10 min walk or a little tourist train which costs €4 a return. Even the marina is only a 5-10 min walk so no need for taxis.
Bar outside lovely, the staff speak very good English.
Staff very friendly and even sorted our return transfer out for us.
Only negs are the beds a little hard and having to pay for the sun beds. We brought a €5 umbrella from a shop and laid on the sand.
I DONT UNDERSTAND the negative reviews if you want a hotel on the beach with everything in walking distance then you will get noise, a cab to the marina is just plain lazy and it does clearly state on booking websites that it only has an indoor pool which is very clean and a decent size.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
12  Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Hotel a little out dated but for staff, food, position then look no further. I'm booked to return. Right on the beach. All rooms face sea with no road in front. Five mins walk to old town. Good restaurants bars, shops. Very happy with holiday.

Room Tip: 3rd floor. Only five. All face direct sea and beach
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DAVID B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews