We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little piece of paradise”
Review of Vila Joya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Joya
Ranked #15 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is for sure one of the most special places in Portugal. Not only is still a different piece of Algarve, it has one of the best restaurants. We usually go for dinner on 29th August for my wedding anniversary and the endless number of courses in a delight for senses. The place with its priviledged location in the top of a cliff, is romantric, exclusive , peaceful. The service is extraordinary although we miss the previous butler which would greet us with: Welcome to paradise! The beach is wonderful and quite enough. This is a place forgotten from the rest of the tipycal busy Algarve.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MafaldaPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Vila Joya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

Many pluses here, a few minuses.... Let's get the minuses out of the way quickly:

This is a very romantic place, though while we were on our honeymoon, I will admit that we felt 'underage' ... and we are not even the "go out and drink" type of young couple... we are much more low-key. So in some ways, this was the perfect setting (quiet, no clubs around, just great food and wine and the sound of crashing waves), even though during dinners we felt inexplicable out of place due solely to the other clientele staying there at the time (quite a bit older (and wealthier!) than we were). For this reason, I feel as though this may not be the best place to bring your kids. If you feel like having a romantic one-on-one getaway at a unique place with a KILLER restaurant, then this is the perfect place.

The rooms were FINE, though nothing particularly special (aside from their view). Our queen size bed was two smaller beds pushed together. Size was quite small, and not too many bells and whistles when it comes to amenities and luxuries.

But enough of the negatives... here are the positives...

Their restaurant is to die for. In fact, it was one of our best meals (if not THE best) of our 30 day, around-the-world honeymoon which included Fiji, New Zealand, Sydney, Hong Kong, London, Cairo, Madrid, and Lisbon.

ALSO, the location to the water and the access to the beach, etc are wonderful.

And MOST IMPORTANTLY, the entire staff is courteous, go out of their way to be helpful, and really make your stay pleasant and wonderful. A waiter recommended a glass of wine with dinner... and after I had returned to the USA, I still remembered that wine. I called the property months later and asked to see if they could locate that wine, and they did. Amazing, especially considering I had checked out months before.

THESE AFOREMENTIONED POSITIVES more than make up for the 4 stars, and definitely do not make me hesitate to rate this FIVE STARS....

Strictly from a property and amenities standpoint, I'm not sure about the value here... and even the food and drink on the property are fairly overpriced. They seem to price themselves closer to Paris or London standards (who knows, many of their clientele may come from there) and not so much Portugal standards. This place was one of the most expensive places we stayed during our entire honeymoon (including more than the Mandarin Oriental in Hong Kong or the Four Seasons in Sydney), so it's not for those looking to stay on budget.

If you can afford it, go for a bigger room. Ours was pretty small (one of the cheaper rooms). This property is rather a spare-no-expense type of price range, so if you CAN spare-no-expense, then this is a great and memorable option.

If you are counting your pennies, and are on a trip where you'd prefer to pick and choose your battles regarding when-to-splurge and when to save, I'd say this: stay somewhere else, but SPLURGE IN THE RESTAURANT.

The restaurant really was awesome. Two Michelin Stars.

Staff was superb.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, do not get their cheapest rooms, as they are quite small and have a small balc...
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLM2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We have just spent some fantastic days at the Vila Joya, excelent room, excelent restaurant and excelent staff. This has been the best days of our life.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed at Villa Joya at the end of our trip in the Algarve. What a treat!! Excellent location, service and scenery.
Highly recommend it

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

They say 'welcome to paradise' and they are not wrong. The only 2 star Michelin Restaurant in Portugal in this really incredible and unique boutique hotel perched on a cliff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Their Spa is also outstanding and the staff ratio is unbelievable. I am going back for their Gourmet Festival in January where they host over 20 Michelin Star Chefs every night for 10 days!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LordShowbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I've had the privilege of staying at a few beachside resorts in my time, and Vila Joya has the double distinction of being the best and the first located in Europe. The service is impeccable, bearing a crazy ratio of staff to guests, and the food is dazzling -- it's not for nothing that the place earned the only two Michelin stars in the country of Portugal. If you have the dosh, go to Algarve and stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillScurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Vila jóia is An experience.
We Stayed there for the 3rd time . We were given a brand new suite that was astonishing.
Most beautiful furniture and decoration, open bathroom in the bed room, balcony overdose the sea.
Service is perfect as usual só is the food. We missed the always present butler wellcoming you To paradise but he retired. He was relaxes by a peculiar spanish caracheter .
Vila jóia is An. Experience of a lifetime.

Room Tip: The regular rooms don't meet expectations The new suites are smashing
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
8.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,116 reviews
3.9 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,334 reviews
8.0 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.9 mi away
Vidamar Resort Algarve
Vidamar Resort Algarve
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Joya

Address: Praia da Gale, Albufeira 8201-902, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £304 - £1,432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vila Joya 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Joya resembles a small oriental palazzo and is nestled in a breathtaking garden setting on a cliff with stunning views facing the sea. Winner of the 2016 Europe's Leading Boutique Hotel Awards, this Albufeira beach resort also boasts a two Michelin star Restaurant and features luxurious spa resort accommodations, exclusive golf packages, and rejuvenating body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Vila Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Joya Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Vila Joya Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing