We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic,unfriendly and dirty place”
Review of Mar a Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mar a Vista
Ranked #130 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed in Mar a Vista for one week in August.Knew it that is only 2 star so didn't expect too much but....Is no air con in rooms,no housekeeping at all(we had change towels once!!)Was quite annoying to run to reception for toilet rolls every second day .Breakfast is very poor.Bread,rolls ,ham and cheese plus butter and jam!thats it!Staff not bother to refill empty jugs or plates.I highly not recommend to stay there!Maximum 2 night otherwise can ruin your holiday

Room Tip: They have 2 rooms with patio in second floor with view on sea so that can somehow re compensate othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marbelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

No view, nano-sized TV and a pool in a completely awkward place where everything you see are room windows. This is the best description for this hotel that charges a lot for very little. Rooms are very ugly and I couldnt see the sea, which the hotel name suggests, in portuguese: Mar a Vista = Sea View. They also have an extra charge for rooms with balcony, which looks silly. The morning breakfast is decent, though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuilhermeAppolinario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My partner and i stayed here and i have to say that although the hotel itself is dated and the breakfast was pretty dire we actually had a fantastic holiday! The view from our balcony was stunning, the location was great (not so great if you have children or have difficulty walking as its a very steep uphill trek), nice walk to the beach and old town, lots of restaurants along the way. Our room was very spacious and clean and we found it a bonus to have a fridge. The pool area was very small but the hotel was not busy so this did not present a problem. Overall i would recommend this hotel if you have a budget holiday in mind.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Very basic hotel but nice and clean, the staff are lovely, breakfast was basic but also fresh and nice and the view is amazing. Pool was small but also clean and there are sunbeds and parasols as well. Keep in mind this may not be ideal for elderly couples as it is 7 minutes down a steep hill to the beach that you also have to go back up at the end of the day. Also the closest beach has a lot of broken shells, so may be painful to walk on if you have sensitive feet; bring slippers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inez S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel completely blew us away! It's run by lovely helpful people, the rooms are huge and we had an amazing balcony with a view of the beach. Theres no aircon but with the balcony and windows open there was a perfect crossbreeze. The pool area was private and perfect. It's an older hotel and not huge, which is right up our alley because we aren't into fancy commercial looking places. There isn't wifi in the rooms but we were several floors above the reception and still managed to connect. It's about a 10-15 min walk to the beach. Albufeira is touristic but around the hotel it was very chill. They even lent us a kettle, and there's several mini merkats near as well as bars. We spent a week there but wish it could have been a lifetime!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at Mar a Vista Albufeira for 2 weeks B&B with a young child
This is basic accommodation but it is very clean and the staff went above and beyond to ensure we had everything we needed. I was really impressed by how friendly and helpful and lovely all the staff at the hotel were, to me their customer service was 5 star!!
Our child was sick one night and they sorted clean sheets, clean towels, ice etc, we really appreciated their help as travelling with young children in a hot country can be stressful.
This is a 2 star accommodation so do not expect luxury
The rooms were made up every day and rubbish emptied and clean towels provided
Our room was lovely and they put in an extra bed for our child, our room had a balcony which was great
It can be a little noisy at night when people arrive home but a pair of ear plugs sorts that
The hotel doesn't serve food other than breakfast but the staff ordered in food from local take away restaurants and organised plates, cutlery etc. The hotel does have a little bar where you can relax and have a few drinks, there is wifi access and a TV
Breakfast is basic continental, juice, tea/coffee, bread, ham, cheese, fruit. It was basic but really we found it adequate.
The hotel has a pool but it is small, we did spend some days at the pool and enjoyed it, there are quite a few steps down to it
The hotel is in a good location, the beach is just about 5 minute walk but there are around 4 hills to climb on the way back. There is a lift from the beach up to the first level but still around 4 hills after that. We didn't mind this walk as it was good exercise but it is difficult in the heat, if you have mobility problems you would find it difficult.
Pavements are cobbled so wear flat shoes
The marina area is close by to the right with a good supermarket and a few restaurants
The Old Town is about 10 minute walk away and the New Town about 15 minute walk away
For a young family i thought it was a good location as the New Town is buzzing at the weekends, i loved the vibe and enjoyed eating there at the weekends but i was personally glad we did not stay there as it is noisy and party atmosphere
We got a taxi to Algarve Shopping centre which cost around €8 - it was really good, but expensive, the shops in the Old Town were also good
We got a bus to Zoo Marine which left just at the bottom of the first hill, really handy.
Algarve Shopping Centre and Zoo Marine are geographically close, so not a hassle to get there
The beach is a lovely beach and stretches for miles, there are lots of broken shells though so watch your feet, also the waves are incredibly rough at times, there are life guards
Overall I loved Albufeira and this hotel provided all our basic needs and it was value for money which allowed us to visit Albufeira

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lesleymindbodyspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Upon arriving the male receptionist was rude and unhelpful. The room itself was terrible, the beds were like sleeping on boards, there was no form of drinks available and no air con.

The bathroom was disgusting the bath was extremely dirty, cracked and rusting I refused to use it, the sink was barely clean. Every time you flushed the toilet the whole room stank.

The bin in our bathroom was not emptied for the whole of our stay neither was the towels changed.

There was wifi at this hotel but only in the reception area.

They did not serve food other than breakfast which was awful, there was only bread available on day one and it ran out and was not replaced there was no fruit or yogurts available and the staff were again unfriendly

Do not go!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyp323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Colina do Mar Hotel
Colina do Mar Hotel
#91 of 154 in Albufeira
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
#136 of 154 in Albufeira
175 reviews
2.1 mi away
Torre Velha Hotel
Torre Velha Hotel
#87 of 154 in Albufeira
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#64 of 154 in Albufeira
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
#46 of 154 in Albufeira
413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
#144 of 154 in Albufeira
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar a Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar a Vista

Address: Cerro da Piedade, Albufeira 8200-320, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: £15 - £1,061 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mar a Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mar a Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar a Vista Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing