We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real 'gem' of a find in Albufeira”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mar a Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mar a Vista
Ranked #133 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A real 'gem' of a find in Albufeira”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

If you are looking for a smaller hotel, in a peaceful location, and with stunning hillside views over the old town, beach and sea - the the Mar a Vista is the place to go. We had a top floor room (5th floor) with spacious balcony drenched in sun from daybreak to dusk, with views to die for. The rooms each have a fridge, which is handy for storing beer, wine, snack foods, chocolate.
Breakfast was simple but adequate (cereals, fresh rolls, ham, cheese, marmalade and jams, tea, coffee) but you could supplement this with your own fresh fruit, tomoatoes,yoghurt etc.
The hotel staff could not be more friendly and helpful - personal service is at the heart of this hotel.
Although the hotel might feel a bit 'out of the way' on arrival, it is just a 10 minute walk down to the beach and a taxi back up the hill is less than 5 euros if you are not keen on the climb.
At night, you are guaranteed a good sleep - no night clubs or noisy bars, just the sound of the waves crashing onto the beach. Delightful. A real gem of a find in Albufeira.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucaswestyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    48
    53
    21
    29
See reviews for
15
104
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
middlesbrough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

just returned from this hotel, we spent 3 nights celebrating a friends birthday and to be honest found the hotel fine..rooms were cleaned daily, everything in the room was ok,except tv which only had 4 channels..we paid £46 per couple for 3 nights, which equates to about £7.60 pppn. the hotel is ten mins from the best part of albuferia...old town with the rock cafe...highly recommend mon,wed and thurs nights..the hotel is on a steep hill with a certain part christened cardiac hill, i am nooooo marathon man but managed it twice a day except one night i was very very drunk and struggled but still made it.....the walk does offer some great views and the hotel reception has a great viewing window with a sofa where you can sit and admire the sunset.....

nige.hill@ntlworld.com

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laughinggas_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

Again we stayed at the Mar a Vista and found it to be just as good as before, The Staff are great, the rooms are great and they are cleaned daily, breakfast is basic, but ok
The Manager (Alex) is brilliant if he can help you he will
It is a walk to the beach, but we didn’t go for the beach we went for some peace and quite and this is the place for that. Will use again without problem
Just a few things against the Hotel:
No Internet (come on guys it’s 2009 for god’s sake) and very little TV channels
Ohh and the strange women that sit’s in reception, not sure if she is a vagrant that they have taken pity on, but she sit’s there day in day out watching everyone that enters or leaves .. Scary…
Apart from that.. Was yet another great stay made even better by the staff, well done guys
Would have gave it 4 stars if it had the above, but without it lands at 2 star

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polish(London)
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

I was staying in Mar a Vista hotel on September 2009. I wasn't expected a lot as I paid £95 per 4 nights stay for 2 people, but I was very positive when I got there. The room was big,quiet and with nice, new bathroom. The room was with a little balcony with a nice view of the beach. Hotel Staff was always very nice to me and my Mum and helpful is we needed to ask about something regarding directions etc. The room was being clean every day and the towels were changed.We didn't have breakfast incl, but we went to the top floor restaurant once for 5 euro each. It was nice and fresh, but nothing special (roll, cheese, ham, jam..no fruits no veggie). There are plenty of coffe shops around where you can get better breakfast for the same price.
The beach and centrum of Albufeira was a short walking distance (10 min down, 15 min up). I have to say our stay was lovely and we enjoyed Albufeira's beach as much as our Stay in Mar a Vista.I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanna123Cydejko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

My girlfriend and I returned yesterday from a weeks stay at the Mar a Vista. We were allocated room 301 which was a twin bedded room with bathroom and balcony. The room itself was clean and of an adequate size. the bathroom had a light smell of sewage throughout our stay and on our last night had an infestation of ants. A call to reception and a spray of ant killer sorted them out!!

The view from the balcony is excellent, catching the morning sun but beware the streets below are noisey, either buses going past or dog barking. The hotel is located about a 10 min walk to the old town, it is located on the street behind the Estalgen do Cerro. The staff at the hotel are very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. If you want a drink you have to ask at reception and they will service you anytime, but they did run out of bottled lager. A can of coke in the hotel is 1.20 euro and a 33cl bottle of Sagres is 1.50 euro. there is a local bar in the street below called Victoria Bar and a bottle of Sagres is 1.20 euro.

Plenty of places to eat in Albfeira, my word of advice is to avoid the overpriced food in the square. We ate a O Veleiro on rua 5 Outubro on 2 occasions, first time we had Salmon which came with salad, boilded potatoes and veg for 8 euro each, with drink it cost under 23 euroes for two. The second time we ate my girlfriend had Salmon with salad and I had the Steak Portugeuse Style cooked medium which was tasty and excelent this was 9 euroes., again spoending less than 23 euroes. Get there early to get a table ro get to know Carlos and he'll look after you.

We had breakfast at the Cabana Fresca on Cais Herculano every morning. English breakfast cost 2.0 euros and was filling with tea and coffee it came to under 10 euros for brekkie!! Some of the restaurants were offering a 10% discount ticket on evening meals but we didn't have an evening meal at any of these restaurants.

We also at at the Mi Sombrero mexican restaurant which was the most expensive at 38 euroes for 3 beers each, starters and mains. The service on this occasion was non existent and for this reasion alone I would not reccomend it.The Regimental Sergant Major who owns Wild Bill Hiccups has sold up abd will be moving so goodbye and thank to him. Rock Cafe in the old town had some good bands, well worth a visit.

We caught the local bus to Vilamoura from the Modelo and this cost us 3.55 euros each one way but DO NOT rely on any of the timetables!!! We also caught the direct bus to Faro from Albufeira bus terminal which cost 4.20 euros each one way, be aware at the weekend there is not a diretc bus back to Albufeira so it took 1 hour 40 mins to get back!!
On our last full day we went on a cave and rock boat tour from Albufeira pier costing 10 euro each, this was real valur as you will see from the pictures.

Although the street work have been comleted we noticed a general smell of sewage around some of the streets of Albufeira. On average a small lager (0.20l) costs between 1 - 2.50 euros and a large beer (0.40l) is 2 euro, a Bacardi and Coke is anyhing betwwen 4 - 6.50 euros but be aware some measure are so small you can't taste the alcohol. We wouldn;t return to albufeira for a weeks holiday but would come back for a mid week break.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nazza1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

Me and my husband spent last week of June in that 2 star hotel. It is a very nice hotel, located close to the Old City and a beach. First impression is amazing, white building with blue strips.
It has free of charge parking places so you can come by a rented car. Rooms from the third floor have an amazing view to the whole Albufeira.
However not all rooms have balcony-be prepared. Some rooms, located on a ground floor have directly access to the swimming pool which is tiny but very comfortable especially when you go there straight from your room:)
Rooms are big with old furniture but who cares. Bathrooms looks also nice. Everything is tidy and good looking. Towels are changed every day. Breakfast is in continental style (cereals, milk, ham, cheese and rolls) but you can bring with you whatever you want – I recommend local cottage cheese, really tasty. Dining room is located at the top floor so when you eat breakfast, you have a wonderful view.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. Just ask if you want to know something. Also they speak English so there is no problem with communication.

From hotel to the beach is about 5 minutes walk however it is when you are going down. Hotel is located at the top of the hill so when you are coming back (tired) from the beach it will take you about 10 minutes (when you are young and fit).

Also it is 5 minutes walk to the Old Town (with come back the same story as above). Here you find many shops, restaurants and discos. This place is alive from 22:00pm.

Albufeira is quite a big town. This hotel is located near the Old Town which is very far from the Strip (second main part of Albufeira).

Algarve offers many local excursions however most of them are for old people like: Loule market on Saturdays. Also nothing special offers trip to Sagres or Cabo de Sao Vicente. Generally you can book one day for a site seeing and it will be enough for the whole cost.

It is very nice place for holidays however you should be prepared that water is cold. It was almost beginning of July and we could not walk into water because it was so cold. You are melting on the beach but still water is impossible to swim.

This hotel is totally recommended for somebody who is looking for a cheap and comfortable holidays. Location is excellent. Restaurants offer cheap and delicious food (we recommend O’Veleiro). You can walk for hours and admire Portuguese architecture. Definitely worth to go.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Agusia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

Having read reviews before travelling, was having nightmares about the hill - its not as bad as its made out although it may be a bit of a struggle for older people. There are different routes you can take and one of them is quite steep, but it works off the extra pounds. Only booked two days before travel. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean, maids in every day with a towel change. We stayed B&B. The breakfast could have been a little more imaginative (two types of cereal, bread rolls, jams, ham and cheese). The coffee from the machine is a bit to be desired but there was always juice. Pool very small with only a few sun beds but we had a top floor room with a massive balcony overlooking the town. It was perfect for us and anyway the beach is only a 5 minute walk downhill. Reception staff were lovely. Overall I would recommend this hotel. It is not 5 star luxury, but we didn't pay 5 star money. Had a lovely time and would not hesitate to go back again. Beware of transfer times. It is probably only about 30 mins to the airport, but unfortunately it took us two hours (almost as much time as it did to fly to Portugal!) as we had quite a few different drop offs and we were the last. Nothing to do with the hotel, just a gentle warning for fellow travellers. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WatfordFloozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.1 mi away
Torre Velha Hotel
Torre Velha Hotel
#74 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Branca
Vila Branca
#77 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
2.3 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#65 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
#136 of 163 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.9 mi away
Jardins Vale de Parra
Jardins Vale de Parra
#79 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Turial Park
Turial Park
#125 of 163 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar a Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar a Vista

Property: Mar a Vista
Address: Cerro da Piedade, Albufeira 8200-320, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mar a Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mar a Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar a Vista Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing