We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“complaint”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Falesia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Falesia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“complaint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Never complained at a hotel before as we just get on with things.However I draw the line at finding creepy crawlies in the bathroom and bedroom.The last straw was finding ants in the bed!!!Told the maid and hotel reception several times.They said they would deal with it.If they did it wasnt very effective as they kept returning.Fortunately we will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yorky516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umbelino, General Manager at Falesia Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review and we are very sorry to see that you were disappointed with your stay in the Falesia Hotel..

It is difficult to reply to anonimous comments as we can not be sure if we were made aware of particular case. We did have one report about ants in the room at the time - we think - when you were staying in the hotel and upon the investigation we could not find any ants or any other "creepy crawlies" anywhere in the room. The head of the housekeeping investigated that particular case. Have to say that if there is any food anywhere in the room - it can be a great atraction to the ants.

Once again we are very sorry we have not met your expectation and we can assure you that cleanliness is always on top of our agenda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,137
    523
    118
    28
    9
See reviews for
133
1,397
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Falesia with my husband for a week in July 2011. We were in need of a relaxing break in the sun and this lovely hotel certainly delivered. We are not usually package holiday people and put a lot of research into selecting the Falesia; thanks to the good reviews from other Tripadvisor contributors we made the right choice.

I am vegetarian and was concerned about staying half-board and struggling for something nice to eat each night. Thankfully I had seen a review on Tripadvisor from another veggie complementing the food at the Falesia which sealed the deal for me, and I was not disappointed. Quite often when you have special dietary requirements it can feel like you have a choice of one thing on the menu, but this was definitely not the case with the Falesia's kitchen and I hope that this will encourage others of a similar persuasion to stay here. Head Chef Angelo is on patrol in the restaurant most evenings and identified me straight away as a veggie; he told me on the first night that if there was anything in particular I wanted, I should just ask. This wasn't necessary as there was always one veggie soup, at least two hot options and mountains of salad available, as well as endless cakes, ice cream, cheeses and fresh fruit. My husband isn't vegetarian and was spoilt rotten with the options available to him. We both came home fat as pigs.

The hotel is in immaculate condition both inside and out. All the public areas are clean and the grounds are lovely. I had seen a review on Tripadvisor saying that there were always plenty of beds round the pool; I didn't find this to be entirely accurate, but actually we found the gardens more relaxing to sunbathe in. The outdoor pool is large and clean and bloomin' freezing even in July! There is also an indoor pool and jacuzzi and a lovely spa area. I would definitely recommend a treatment as it was to die for and only served to enhance the relaxing qualities of the holiday. I found our standard room to be plenty big enough and our balcony overlooked the garden so it was very peaceful.

The staff were all lovely and couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. It is a full-blown Thomson Gold holiday complete with round the pool entertainment, games, quizzes, shows, you name it. All of the entertainment staff worked ridiculously hard and even though it wasn't our cup of tea it was easy enough to steer clear of and there were a lot of people who really seemed to enjoy it.

Other plus points for the Falesia are the free shuttle bus that runs to the beach, as well as the buses running a couple of times a week to Villamoura and Albufeira. We only ventured out a couple of times and would recommend Villamoura for an evening out. There is a also a cocktail of the day for €5 and a book swap table.

I genuinely can't think of any down sides to this wonderful hotel. We didn't have to think about a thing for a week which is exactly what were looking for and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this great hotel to anyone looking for a properly relaxing break.

Room Tip: We had a standard room which we felt was big enough. The only advantage I can think a superior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meg1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

great entertainment and staff really proffessonal and friendly,excellent tasty food which was well presented. pool area clean and always plenty of sunbeds. Good location.

Room Tip: clean and spacious with nice balconies, the hairdryers and towells need to be updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliecu71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

There is no way whatsoever that this hotel should be considered 4 star.
Where do I start?
The service, particularly at breakfast was abysmal. Plates and waste food were just left on tables which gave the dining room an awful and unhygienic appearance, especially if you were sat near the pig swill bowl which was right next to the replacement cutlery!
.
We were told at dinner there was a staff shortage. This is no excuse. The management should have procedures in place to cope with this. All visitors pay for a full quota of staff. Evidence of cost cutting was everywhere. We didn't even bother with the coffee machine, every other 4 star hotel I have been to provides filter coffee at your table.
The orange "juice" looked truly awful I had a sip and it tasted like a no frills Orange Squash. Why can they not provide something vaguely drinkable?

Next the pool area. Not once did I see this area hosed down. This should be done daily. There was fag ash, paper tissue and dirt all around this area. It should be spotless! The sun loungers were ancient and had black specks which I assume was mould. This is inexcusable.

I would comment on the entertainment but I expected it to be rubbish anyway. It's the only thing this hotel has in common with other 4 star hotels I have visited. Unfortunately our room was above the "Show Bar" and as such you couldn't even escape the entertainment from your own room.

I see on other posts that the manager says most people like this form of entertainment. Maybe they do but what about guests that don't? Where is their alternative?


In short do not go here if you want decent standards of service and hygiene.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WiltshireHornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umbelino, General Manager at Falesia Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear Customers,

Thank you for your review and we are sorry you have not enjoyed your stay in the Falesia Hotel. We were rather surprised to see that you were not happy with the the cleanleness and the service provided by the staff in the hotel - the two points that we are most praised about.

We are very proud of our cleanliness and service scores. We monitor them carefully and at ll times, through our own questionaires as well as the Thomson ones. Both scores are very high (our scores are around 90%! - and good brings only 67% - so a lot of excellents needed) and for that reason it is particualry disappointing to receive complaint. We surely agree that we are not perfect and that there are always points where we can still improve, but calling our service abysmul - it is just very disappointing.
I think that the title of your review explains well your disappointment - "Not what I was expecting." And expectations can be very different.
Regarding the coffee - overseas package hotels do not serve Coffee as standard (unless you are in the all inclusive hotel) and why should the guests that do not drink Coffee also pay for it! For that reason this is extra with the choice of what type of coffee one drinks.
Your comment regarding the entertainment is not very fair. We always say that entertainment is very much up to individual taste and that it is very difficult to please everybody. We never claimed that everybody likes it but it is surely better than in majority of the local hotels.
Once again, we are very sorry we have not met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Immingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed in the Falesia in August during a very hot spell and loved it. We have stayed in better Gold hotels but that doesn't mean this is bad just that the standard is so high. Plus points, no problems with sun beds, the room was great (hotel entrance side rooms are cooler if you want that and we did) the food is excellent, the staff are friendly and very helpful, the reps are great, and the entertainment team worked hard to give us a good time, but watch out for Jo Slow she is full on all day lol. We had to return a day early due to a family crisis at home and everyone was great and looked after us so thanks again guys. Now the bad points, while the entertainment team were great they suffered from an entertainment format which is very dated and aimed at an older crowd than us, we are in our mid fifties so you can work it out, Saturday night's star bill was Sid Little. The hotel is in a small town which is a bus or taxi ride away from the busy areas and while it suited us it might not suit others. The drinks are priced on par with hotels in this country, lager is three euros and I bought a large lemonade pool side and it was three euros fifty. Try the Brothers Bar on the main road drinks are cheaper there. The hotel is designed like three spokes of a bike wheel around a central hub with four floors plus a basement restaurant and pool and apart from stairs between the ground floor (for some reason it was called first floor) and the basement there are no stairs in the hotel and only two lifts placed in the central hub. We were on the second floor and the majority of our lift journeys to the first floor took five minutes instead of 20 seconds because the lift was going up rather than down, also at 11pm when everyone was going to bed you had to queue for the lifts. Why can't we use the staff stairs it would solve this problem. Be prepared for the charges for the room fridge and safe it’s dear but worth it. To sum up we enjoyed the stay and would recommend it to others. Go on the Western Wonders trip it great and the guide is very interesting and do pay for the lunch with the firewater just for the experience but be prepared for the steep climb to the medieval town. Thanks Thomson another winner

Room Tip: If you want a cool room chose the entrance side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 102David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Lovely, friendly Hotel. The staff on reception were absolutely first class, so friendly & go out of their way to help in any way, especially Luis. Restaurant is lovely & clean & the staff very helpful whilst working hard, the Chef Angelo, is just how you would imagine a head chef to be, he is interested in your comments & takes them on board. He is on hand most evenings to greet & offer help & advice. The rooms are very clean & spacious, we had a lovely room overlooking the pool. The Entertainment team work very hard & are great fun. They put on entertainment every hour during the day & you can join in the fun or just watch with no pressure. The evening entertainment is also very good & suits all ages, the bar staff are all lovely & work with a cheerful smile.
My husband & I had a wonderful 2 week holiday at the Falesia & would definitely recommend it, we will most definitely go back.
I did a poem about the Ents Team & thought it would be good to share it....
The Ents Team at Thomson Gold, Falesia are the best,
the 4 of them are crazy & far out-do the rest.
First of all there is our Zee, A sexy Brazilian chap,
he says,"Hmmm" quite a lot & often takes the rap.
Then there's Jill the Aussie, her singing is quite fantastic
& when she tells her stories, her humour is so tragic (only kidding).
Jo Quiff, well, what can I say, he's such a lovely guy,
he looks great as a woman & is 'slightly' oh so shy.
Jo Slow, well now there's a lass she's endless with her chatter,
she loves her job & gives us grief but is so lovely it doesn't matter.
So there you have them, what a Team, we really hate to go,
but carry on just as you are because we love you so.
The Hotel has beautiful gardens with well-stocked ponds, it is peaceful & you are treated well by all the staff. The Manager is often seen around the Hotel & grounds observing & ensuring things are spot on.
Sue & Steve Bailey

Room Tip: Ask for what you would like, we did & got a fantastic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks and have just returned. Our room was ready on arrival – about 11.30am so we were pleased. We did not like the Thomson rep interfering with our check in. He came to the check in queue and was taking down names of guests and telling us all to sit down and he’ll call us when it was less busy. Alas that did not happen as we were farther down the queue when he finally called us back! Not happy.

Our room was nice, clean and spacious and we had a bottle of water waiting in our room. We were on the 2nd floor with pool view. We booked the standard room and were quite happy with it except for having to pay for the safe and the fridge! For a 4* hotel, the safe should automatically be included in the room price. Not cool. We got the safe but did not bother with the fridge. The bathroom could do with updating. The cleaners cleaned the rooms daily but did forget to replenish the toiletries on two occasions and also left our glasses dirty once. I would recommend guests bring their own shampoo/shower gels - the ones provided by the hotel are not great. We did get a voucher for sparkling wine to celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary! Thanks Falesia Hotel.

We are both active and adventurous on holiday so we decided to hire a car for part of our holiday to explore. There is nothing to see in Acoteias except for few restaurants, hotels, shops, bank and pharmacy. Albufeira is about 20 mins away and Vilamoura about 30 mins away. Both resorts are very busy although Vilamoura is nicer and more upmarket. We found Albufeira too busy and slightly unclean and packed with British tourists and restaurants.

The Falesia Beach is about a 20 minute walk through the Sheraton Hotel although the hotel provides a shuttle service to the beach 4 times a day (be sure to plan your day to fit with the shuttle service times). We used this twice as the walk can be quite tiring on a very hot day! The beach is massive and lovely. Most spacious beach we experienced throughout the trip. Sun beds were available for 12€ a day but we only used that once. The rest of the time we just put our towels on the sand and relaxed – glorious! We especially enjoyed being hit by the waves!

Now for the food – we were very happy the first few days but after this I did not look forward to meal times as much and did not mind skipping dinner. There was a wide variety of foods (rice, potatoes, vegetables, salad bar,desserts, soup & meats) but seemed to be the same food most evenings with one or two major changes each evening. Food was mostly bland (neither spice nor real seasoning). The mash potato was from a packet and disgusting. A few of the evening foods especially salads were made up from leftover breakfast sausages, ham, fruit and eggs! We enjoyed the mussels and sushi and when there was local food available. Breakfast was nice – plenty to choose from but the oats was too thin and left open so not hot enough. Also the juices were not juices but squash! For a 4* hotel we expected apple JUICE and orange JUICE. Restaurant was very clean but lacked sufficient staff. They were overworked and finding a cleared/ready table at breakfast was difficult at times.

Entertainment – we found that this was mostly aimed at the 50+ guests! But then again the hotel seemed to have majority older guests and few younger ones. Music is mostly from the 60s, 70s and 80s era! Thomson team (Zee, Jo, Joe & Jill) were all very friendly and we did sit down to few of their evening performances. There is no other bar except for the Show Bar so if you want a drink in the evenings, you’d have to endure the entertainment. The style of entertainment would not suit everyone! Our favourite night was Local Night – a local Portuguese group performed for one hour. We loved it. We had the chance to join in one of the dances.

We would have liked this hotel better if it was not so British – too much Thomson involvement. We did not spend very much time at the hotel (mostly evenings) – we used the pool on 3 occasions and it was nice. Water a bit cold but once you are in, it is lovely! Thomson has some daytime activities and you won’t be forced to join in. Also the sangria we had at the Show Bar was of the weakest quality we had during the holiday. It was even worse on the offer nights - 10€ instead of 14€ but just more watery!

For things to see: We saw a lot of the Algarve – East, West and Central and took a trip to Seville (Spain). Thomson have a lot of excursions but we only did one – Loule Market – and did not think it was good value for money. It was 17€ and we got on a coach at the hotel and had some commentary about the local area and were then dropped in the town and left to wander around and shop for about 3 hours. The markets we saw were ok and we visited the castle in town too. The town did not have that much to offer – we saw much better places (Tavira, Silves & Monchique). Once we hired a car we were able to see so much more. We drove to Lisbon (about 2 hrs 40 mins drive & 20€ in tolls each way) and it was such a good day. The city is beautiful. We also drove to Lagos, Sagres & Cabo Sao Vincente – all very nice to see. If you have time, do a half day boat trip to see the caves. We enjoyed this and it cost us 24€ each with Belize Catamaran from Albufeira.

We doubt we will stay at the Falesia Hotel again mostly because we often visit new places each year. It is in a remote location with no proper links to the busier towns. The hotel does not have varied entertainment in the evenings so one is forced to sit and endure it or fork out for taxis to the nearby towns. It would suit people that are not very active on holiday and enjoy lying by the pool and enjoying the hotel entertainment and activities each night. One plus is being a 16+ hotel - makes it so peaceful. Staff very hard working and helpful!

Room Tip: Email the hotel in advance with any requirements or information needed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Veronika78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#7 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
0.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
7.7 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#3 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falesia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falesia Hotel

Property: Falesia Hotel
Address: Pinhal do Concelho | Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Falesia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falesia Hotel is located close to Falesia Beach (800mts) and the town of Albufeira and in the center of the Algarve. Falesia Hotel in Acoteias surprise you with tranquil gardens and ample spaces, where one can soak the sun, tranquility, fresh air and smell of the beautifull umbrella shaped pine trees.For you well being and complete relaxation, there is a large outdoor pool as well as indoor one with Jacuzzi, Turkish Bath and Spa. Falesia Hotel is offering 169 rooms - all of the with the balcony and the views either of the pool, gardens, mountains - or even the driving range of the next door Golf Course. All the rooms also come with LCD satellite television, air condition (cold / hot) and very important free access to Wi-Fi connection. Our elegant "O Lago" restaurant is overlooking the Falesia Hotel beautiful gardens with some small fountains and where our delicious Buffett meals are served. "Show Bar" is the place to be in the evenings where the entertainment is provided for all those that are ready to party (occasional entertainment during the winter only). "Palm Bar" is serving those fantastic cocktails and the rest of the refreshing drinks during the high summer months.All the Golfers don't need to go far. There is a Golf Course next to Falesia Hotel and Vilamoura - with its best Golf Courses in Europe - is only up to 15 minutes drive from the Falesia Hotel.And if you want to have much bigger selection of shops, restaurants, bars, discos and any other entertainment, it is only between 5 and 8.5 Km to get to the capital of Portuguese tourism - Albufeira.If you are after complete relaxation you do not need to look any further. It is all waiting for you in the Falesia Hotel... "Simply relaxing... Holidays with no children" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falesia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falesia Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Hotel Falesia Algarve
Falesia Hotel Portugal
Falesia Hotel Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing