We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“k&k good&poor”
Review of Falesia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Falesia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2012

hotel was clean and inviting. service at reception was good except for money exchange was over the top on charges .the rooms were of good size and kept very clean .
we requested and paid for a suite but the one allocated was cold with view over the maintenance depot car park . we changed rooms which was ok but no sun after 3 pm SO ask for a room overlooking pool area or south facing
this hotel is rather isolated with locally a couple of good supermarkets and bars in small village we feel area good for walkers but a long way to nearest town on foot
food at the start was ok but as the week progressed it became mundane, boring and repetitive with the meat dishes tasteless at times ,there was a selection of cold food ( but who wants to eat salads and cold fish/meats all the time )
what we paid for the holiday was fair value but NOT the Gold standard we would return but only on special; offers ( not full price ) ie while we are mobile and able to walk
what we saw of the entertainment it was amateurish therefor we did no bother watching.
bus service hourly to albufeira ,poor at weekends ( hotel bus expensive )
beach beautiful and clean once you arrive via steps and next door hotel lift . long walk to villamura on beach

Room Tip: book a high floor room either overlooking pool area or south side you pay for fridge worth the cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkkk1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,449 - 1,455 of 2,040 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel, the last one being in june 2010. This visit was between 12th and 19th May 20102. The hotel is still impressive on arrival, and our checking in was smooth, and the staff very helpful. Prior to going we did know that their was a charge for the safe , and the fridge (both of which are already installed in the room). I think that the use of the safe should be complimentary in a four star hotel but we didnt really mind paying for the fridge. We had previously e mailed the hotel re a room request which dealt with to our full satisfaction. Our bags were also taken immediatley to our room on completion of check in. The rooms are still a good standard clean and everything worked. The only criticism of the accomodation was that the bathrooms are very tired and are in desperate need of refurbishment, but again everything was kept clean and it all worked. The staff were generally fiendly and helpfull and the service in the restaurant was good. The standard of the food was good and there was lots of it , but it did lack a little imagination. I would haver no problem in recommending this hotel to people like us that like a quiet friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank watchboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Just spent a week at this hotel. Couldn't fault the hotel's own staff or cleanliness of hotel but the entertainment was I regret to say appauling. The daytime entertainment consists of the daily quiz, beanbag boule and giant connect four amongst other such games! There was little quiet time at the hotel which is something we had looked forward to but didnt achieve. The evening entertainment is provided by the resident duo and four person events team. It definatly leaves a lot to be desired as it is so loud and really not very good, I'm sorry to say the comedian was also terrible. Truly it does let the place down. The hotel is advertised for couples but we found this mainly consisted of the over 60's therefore we understand the place reflected this. The walk to the beach is about 20minutes via the Shereton hotel and thankfully the saving grace was the lovely Victor who will take you on a little walk to find your way through. Otherwise you need to get the complimentary shuttle bus which runs a couple of times a day. Food generally ok but caters for the masses, however the head Chef Angelo is very charming and friendly. Would I go again? I'm afraid not! the place is stuck in the past and needs to move with the times.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are noisey from the events teams microphone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre A, General Manager at Falesia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your comments. I am very pleased to see that you were happy with our staff and cleanliness. Nice to see that you found our Chef very charming and friendly but disappointed to see that the food was just OK. It is a pity that opportunity was not used and any potential suggestions or improvements discussed with our Chef as he would be very keen to take them on board and at the same time we would be able to meet your individual requests.
The entertainment and the walk with lovely Victor to introduce you to the area – including how to get to the beach on foot - are all part of the Thomson Gold program and we are sorry to hear you were not impressed with the entertainment. I have to say that the entertainment issue is always difficult to resolve. For that reason, a lot of research is always done by the Thomson team (through Thomson and hotel reports) and finally the Thomson Entertainment is introduced to all Thomson Gold hotels around the resorts which should please majority of the customers. Of course, the individual tastes will always be there and we are all working hard to get even better results with the entertainment..
Hotel Falesia is not new modern hotel but more traditional and service oriented hotel where all the comfort is still there and where one can find friendly and efficient staff that is making sure to have happy guests.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we are sorry we could not live up to your expectations regarding the entertainment.

Your sincerely
André Aparício

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

have stayed at this hotel several time have always found it to be of a good standard the staff are always very helpful only had one problem on one occasion the indoor pool didn't seem to get cleaned very often did complain and was resolved
The food has always been very good
The rooms are clean and spacious I like the rooms that over look the garden as they are quieter
The gardens are very well kept with two large ponds

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daffiedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I chose this hotel as it was a thompson gold hotel and i have been to others before. The main reason was for the evening entertainment, which didnt exist if you want to call it entertainent, we had only two uk act both where meant to be comedians both should have retired in the 80s. the rest of the time the entertainment was done by the resident reps who tried very hard but luck of singing talent held them back, most evening after a half an hour of hearing them singing off key was to much for most the guest, and when they where not singing it was a quizz every night.
The hotel was remote with very few nice walks and in the two weeks we where there we never found the beach, their is s free bus but it didnt go at the times we wanted to go. The food was ok the first week but is seamed when more english guest started to arrive the food went down hill the second week. Not a place i would want to return to.

Room Tip: only the room that face the pool get the mid day sun side rooms are quite but dont get the sun room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmfoss45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre A, General Manager at Falesia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to learn that you have not had a very enjoyable time and that you did not enjoy the entertainment provided by the Thomson team and their guests. Have to admit that it is rather difficult to provide the entertainment that would be everybody´s cup of tea and we are very disappointed that you have not enjoyed any. This is the issue that it is monitored at all times and customers are listened to through their opinion and adjustments are done. However the entertainment will always depend on the individual taste. Let me assure you that Thomson – together with Falesia Hotel - is monitoring and taking adequate action in all the issues – including the entertainment.

We are very surprised that you have not managed to find one of the main Algarve attractions – the beach! It is well known that Algarve has got wonderful beaches and Falesia Beach is one of the best ones. Part of the Thomson entertainment is also to do the walk around the area with the local interest guide in order he can point out the most popular and important places to see and visit – including the Falesia Beach. At the same time it is also shown how to get to the most beautiful beach on foot. Of course – we have got shuttle bus to get you there quickly and – as anywhere else – with fixed departure times at least four times a week. Sorry to see that none of them were suitable to you.

We would always suggest to do a bit of the research about the hotel and the area before booking holiday in order to avoid any disappointment. Checking up on our hotel and the area one would see that the area is a bit more quiet in comparison with the main resort of Albufeira, where all the busy restaurants and shops are with all its nightlife. If one wants to join all the fun in the center of Albufeira – it is only ten minutes taxi ride away, while the rest of the time you can spend in tranquil, peaceful place around the hotel and its grounds. To avoid the noise – we are not letting even the children noise anywhere near – as we are hotel that caters for adults only. Our concept of “Simply relaxing - holidays without children” is gaining popularity on all worldwide markets.

We are getting a lot compliments about our Chef and his food. He is also prepared to help you out with any of your special request at all times as he is with the guests in the restaurant daily and nearly every meal time.
Wishing you all the very best with your future holidays and we would be happy to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Yours sincerely

André Aparício

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Went for a 4 day break at the end of March. Weather lovely in the UK but the first morning we were awoken by a thunder storm.
We have been here before when it was classified as "Thomson Gold" but they were not there yet. We found the quality of the hotel as good as when Gold, but the clientel had changed, mainly French and some Canadian. As we tend to keep to ourselves this was not an issue.
The hotel was not full and we had a lovely room on the top floor overlooking the pool.
As it was not full there was a reduced selection of food particularly for the evening meal but the quality was as high as ever.
The other change was the quality of the evening entertainment, they only had an act on Saturday and Sunday.
Hugo's bar was again our source of lunch, nice to see Jose and family,what a lovely hard working couple, we hope the birth of their new daughter has gone ok.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pet7500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just a last minute trip to Portugal. The hotel is in a quiet location with a bit of a trek to the beach but the hotel has a free bus which travels daily. Plenty of sun beds, nice pool and gardens.
The food was quite amazing with a large cheerful chief who would greet you each evening with a firm hand shake! the salad buffet and deserts were as good as we have had anywhere on holiday.
The main hot meals were mostly very good but lacked variation. The area is good for walking with Villamora within easy walking distance along the beach or along a cliff top footpath once you find it.
Also other villages close by, Albufeira is also within walking distance but a bit more effort needed.
The area around the hotel is quiet with a few restaurants dotted around a lot off apartments in
the area .Overall quite a pleasant break.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool area for the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,150 reviews
0.5 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,377 reviews
0.7 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
243 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falesia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falesia Hotel

Address: Pinhal do Concelho | Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#18 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £45 - £877 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Falesia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falesia Hotel is located close to Falesia Beach (800mts) and the town of Albufeira and in the center of the Algarve. Falesia Hotel in Acoteias surprise you with tranquil gardens and ample spaces, where one can soak the sun, tranquility, fresh air and smell of the beautifull umbrella shaped pine trees.For you well being and complete relaxation, there is a large outdoor pool as well as indoor one with Jacuzzi, Turkish Bath and Spa. Falesia Hotel is offering 169 rooms - all of the with the balcony and the views either of the pool, gardens, mountains - or even the driving range of the next door Golf Course. All the rooms also come with LCD satellite television, air condition (cold / hot) and very important free access to Wi-Fi connection. Our elegant "O Lago" restaurant is overlooking the Falesia Hotel beautiful gardens with some small fountains and where our delicious Buffett meals are served. "Show Bar" is the place to be in the evenings where the entertainment is provided for all those that are ready to party (occasional entertainment during the winter only). "Palm Bar" is serving those fantastic cocktails and the rest of the refreshing drinks during the high summer months.All the Golfers don't need to go far. There is a Golf Course next to Falesia Hotel and Vilamoura - with its best Golf Courses in Europe - is only up to 15 minutes drive from the Falesia Hotel.And if you want to have much bigger selection of shops, restaurants, bars, discos and any other entertainment, it is only between 5 and 8.5 Km to get to the capital of Portuguese tourism - Albufeira.If you are after complete relaxation you do not need to look any further. It is all waiting for you in the Falesia Hotel... "Simply relaxing... Holidays with no children" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Falesia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falesia Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Hotel Falesia Algarve
Falesia Hotel Portugal
Falesia Hotel Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing