We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and holiday but not perfect”
Review of Falesia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Falesia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and holiday but not perfect”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Very clean, attractive hotel with lovely pool area with surrounding garden area with ponds with fish and waterfalls. Very picturesque. Staff were very friendly, polite and helpful - the best of any hotel we have visited in the past. Food was varied with a lovely choice of desserts. The vegetables and meat were often cold which spoilt what promised to be an otherwise enjoyable meal. Seems to be some problem with keeping the food on the bay marines hot. The bed was kingsize and extremely comfortable produced a very peaceful night's sleep every night. We had a top floor room on the eastern side of the hotel and had a distant sea view as as Vilamoura to one side and the mountains to the other. Evening entertainment was mainly from the Thomson team who were excellent with 3 visiting artists .Most guests preferred to go bed by 11am so ended a little early. We are a couple in our 50s but we seem to be a little young for this hotel.
Would consider returning and hopefully food temperature problem would be resolved especially if we want to take advantage of the early nights and comfortable bed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    529
    122
    28
    9
See reviews for
137
1,442
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Our first time to Thomson Gold. What a lovely hotel,very clean and the staff are all great. The best Thomson reps on any holiday we have been on. The Falesia is a family hotel and very unique. Its set in a very quiet location with everything you need close by. A supermarket about 5 mins walk away and a local bar, Brothers Bar. We went to the beach twice and this is accessed through the pine cliffs resort driveway which takes you up to the Sheraton Hotel, if you walk straight through reception and out onto the grass area you come across the glass lift which takes you down to the beach. Approx walking time from Falesia to beach 20-25 mins. Two loungers and umbrella 15 euros per day. The entertainment in the hotel starts around 11 am every day the reps let you know whats going on each day and provide you with a daily information sheet that details the whole days entertainment. We stayed in the hotel most nights and met some really lovely people. We wish we had stayed longer as we met 4 lovely people from Brecon 2 days before we came home , it was such a laugh. Our room was great up on the 4th floor overlooking the pool. I did email the hotel before our holiday asking if possible we could have a room overlooking the pool although they said there were no guarantees they gave us a superb room. The food is great, the Chef is out in the restaurant every night,there is so much choice you will not go hungry for sure.You can order a bottle of wine and they write your room no.on it so you can have it the next night if you've not finished it. The waiters are so friendly in fact all the staff are. The indoor pool and jacuzzi are not used by many people but its definately worth a visit. Transfer time to the airport is about 40 mins. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday with no kids and entertainment you can join in with if you want to then this is the holiday for you.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the pool get the sun in the afternoon which is great cause you can make the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildaboutcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My first trip to Portugal and excellent service prior to arrival from the able Concierge. Very smooth pick up at the Airport. The rooms were clean and well apointed although the AC was noisy and ineffective. The hotel had good facilities with a nice pool and garden area. I think it is better suited to an older client who enjoys the Thomoson Poolside entertainment, however it was ideally located within walking distance of the Sheraton where I was attending a Wedding, numerous little restaurants and the beach. The Front Desk Staff were not very effective and had to call a Supervisor for every request, however housekeeping were very efficient and unobtrusive.
Overrall a nice, clean hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatiePVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Once again had a fantastic time at the falesia, our 7th time,2nd this year. The staff are friendly the food is very good. The entertainment team Abby, david, nicola and harrison were fantastic not only great entertainers but interacted with holidaymakers and made them feel welcome as did all of the staff. Obssession the duo are the best we have ever seen at thomson gold holidays, they would play any request asked for. The hotel is quite and relaxing a little out of the way but it does state that in the brochure. We met a lot of lovely holiday makers, some we had met before and we will be returning next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This is the 2nd time we have visited this hotel; the staff are all friendly, the rooms are spacious and the food is good.The pool area and the gardens are a delight, and everywhere is kept spotlessly clean. The entertainment team work very hard with just the right number of events staged during the day. We didn't stay in every evening to watch the entertainment, what we did see was good. The only downside to this hotel is its location, there is nowhere to walk to in an evening. There are a handful of reasonable bars nearby, but if you want more this hotel isn't for you. The newly re-furbished Palm Bar by the pool is lovely in an evening ,(though Hugos on the main road is much cheaper!)
Overall, if you want rest & relaxation then this is the place to be.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is our 5th visit to the Falesia Hotel. We are in our late 40's and have looked at a lot of the reviews and feel that if you want a shopping experience this is not the place to go, but if you love a chilled & local enviroment with exceptionally good food then you will love this place.The restaurants are very good value and local fish is excellent. We have not had a bad meal anywhere.We would thouroughly recommend Pinhals and Antonios owned by the Brothers Bar. Bit of a tip for Pinhals, gets very hot inside so sit at the back they have air conditioning there, very reasonbly priced excellent food used a lot by the locals, and tip for Antonios have the Prawn and Steak or Chicken Kebabs. OMG!!! We can also recommend a lovely little Italian Restaurant which does deliciuous pasta called Sole I Mio.

The beach is absolutely stunning, a bit of a walk but the hotel put on a good bus service and is well worth the visit.

Yes the rooms do need a bit of updating but they are spotless and the cleanliness is 5 star.

Was lovely to have seen new loungers around the pool this year, plus new cocktail Bar around pool area opened in the evening.

The entertainment is good if not your cup of tea local restaurants are Fab and Brothers Bar very relaxing

We have recommended to friends of ours and they have thoughly enjoyed and have been back again to get engaged.

This is for people who want peace and quite and want to CHILL OUT!!!

PS NO KIDSSSSSS, HAPPY DAYS.

Room Tip: choose the third or fourth floor fab views. If you can get good deal on upgrade to superior room do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We had a very relaxing time at the Falesia hotel and i would anyone looking for a quiet peaceful holiday will enjoy they stay here.I found the food very good and i am a VERY fussy eatingThe dinner room was very well thought out with correct lighting and seating making you feel that you were in a resturant and not a staff canteen that some hotels make you feel.I found the staff all very helpful and always smiling,The hotel is a long way away but the hotel do put on a bus on but when you get there you still have a walk plus lots of steps,you also have to pay for the sun beds etc.We did go to the beach on one day but found it to much hassel so sat round the pool which is very nice.We did travel on the hotel buses to the other resorts which was worth going to and found the bus always on time and comfortable.We found the rooms large with a big comfotable bed.People have said they need up grading but ours looked has it had just been painted and could find no fault.The entertainment was not the sort of thing we like and only stayed to watch for one evening,but i am sure other people would like it and the enterainment team do work very hard. We had to pay for a fridge and this is the first time in all the years we have been traveling which i was not to happy about. I would stay at this hotel again because we did really enjoy ourselves and the only reason for a 4 star rating is because the beach is far away and paying for a fridge.

Room Tip: if you want a quiet room ask for one away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank little2minnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,202 reviews
0.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,005 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,174 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
856 reviews
7.7 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falesia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falesia Hotel

Property: Falesia Hotel
Address: Pinhal do Concelho | Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Falesia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falesia Hotel is located close to Falesia Beach (800mts) and the town of Albufeira and in the center of the Algarve. Falesia Hotel in Acoteias surprise you with tranquil gardens and ample spaces, where one can soak the sun, tranquility, fresh air and smell of the beautifull umbrella shaped pine trees.For you well being and complete relaxation, there is a large outdoor pool as well as indoor one with Jacuzzi, Turkish Bath and Spa. Falesia Hotel is offering 169 rooms - all of the with the balcony and the views either of the pool, gardens, mountains - or even the driving range of the next door Golf Course. All the rooms also come with LCD satellite television, air condition (cold / hot) and very important free access to Wi-Fi connection. Our elegant "O Lago" restaurant is overlooking the Falesia Hotel beautiful gardens with some small fountains and where our delicious Buffett meals are served. "Show Bar" is the place to be in the evenings where the entertainment is provided for all those that are ready to party (occasional entertainment during the winter only). "Palm Bar" is serving those fantastic cocktails and the rest of the refreshing drinks during the high summer months.All the Golfers don't need to go far. There is a Golf Course next to Falesia Hotel and Vilamoura - with its best Golf Courses in Europe - is only up to 15 minutes drive from the Falesia Hotel.And if you want to have much bigger selection of shops, restaurants, bars, discos and any other entertainment, it is only between 5 and 8.5 Km to get to the capital of Portuguese tourism - Albufeira.If you are after complete relaxation you do not need to look any further. It is all waiting for you in the Falesia Hotel... "Simply relaxing... Holidays with no children" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Falesia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falesia Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Hotel Falesia Algarve
Falesia Hotel Portugal
Falesia Hotel Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing