We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place To Stay”
Review of Falesia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Falesia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Just returned from the Falesia Hotel. This was our 5th visit and as always we could not fault this hotel. From the moment you check in to the moment you leave the service is exceptional. The rooms, although maybe needing a little renovation, are nevertheless very clean and comfortable. The food is fantastic and all the staff are very friendly and accommodating.

We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for couples who are looking for a relaxing break in the sun.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Littlejohn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,215 - 1,221 of 2,040 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

Having shortlisted a number of places to stay -we chose Falesia based on an overall view within tripadviser. We weren't disappointed. (we stayed 16th June to 23rd). It's a relaxing break with plenty of sunloungers around the pool and the gardens -so no stupid 7am rush with a towel !!
We stayed in a junior suite - so we would have a bit more room as our children came with us. 21 yrs old so not kids and they werent bored- as there's things to do and places to visit.
We went on Victor's Local tour - We all enjoyed it -seeing and learning about parts of the algrave which would be missed without his knowledge. He's areal added tresaure.

Special mention has to be for the food - Being a trained chef we had preplanned to go out on a number of nights as this was only my 2nd hol with food included. We didn't go anywhere else and looked forward to the food which was best described as amazing. The chioice and quality outstanding. Fabio on the griddle really looked after us and my daughter loved his kabebs. My son and i like the fresh cooked steaks.
One thing to note -Men have to wear long trousers for the restaurant in the evening. Not a problem but both my son and I would have been stuck if I hadn't seen it on Tripadviser a few days before going. This need to be stated as part of the booking.
Breakfast was also great choice and you could squeeze your own fresh oranges for juice.
My wife and I have never been ones for the evening entertainment ,sometimes at many places giving it 10minutes and then thinking "no not for us" - But at the Falesia we stayed and enjoyed the entertainment. Different each night ,and although we didn't stay in every night we liked the comedian Danny and the teams own 60's themed show. The muisc and "what was the year quiz we also enjoyed. But please ditch the music bingo -not good.
Above all the Falesia gives real customer service -something not easy to find these days.
We will certainly be booking to visit again - so can only say - Thanks for a lovely enjoyable hassle free Hoilday.

Room Tip: Thompson's book say most rooms are doubles -but you do need to request or like us you end up wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

the best Thomson gold hotel we have stayed in so far, the team were excellent , hotel friendly, clean, the food is good to ,it was my husbands birthday the second day we were there, which they picked up on , so when we got back from our day out a bottle of champagne was in our room with a birthday greeting, they serve this at breakfast to, nice to have bucks fizz in the morning, if we hadn't booked our holiday for September we would definitely return, will do next year.only gripe you can't upgrade to all inclusive, the bar is a bit expensive as is the lunch menu to and limited choices. but all in all a very relaxing week. lady's if you book a massage , i had a full body as a treat and oil she used had no fragrance, so it wasn't long before i was smelling like a chip pan in the sun, shame as the massage was excellant

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane23redwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Hotel Falesia gave us a wonderful and relaxing holiday.
The stuff is really friendly and helpful. Food is great. Big choice.
Lovely garden with nice pool and bar.
The hotel is close to Falesia beach. U can reach the beach by free shuttle bus or just by walking.
The hotel offers as well trips to Albufeira and Vilamoura for low coasts.
Perfect for couples who want to relax without children or for honeymoon.
Many thanks to Marisa.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enila07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel - the hotel is lovely and is in lovely grounds, its small but it makes no difference.

The rooms, while i can only comment on the one we stayed in, i dont see the need to upgrade, the rooms are large and unless you desperately want a separate seating area (although you do get a table and chairs in the standard room) the normal rooms will be fine. We did consider upgrading when booking the holiday but it would have been an extra £380 so we just paid for the safe and fridge which was 70 euros.

The rooms come off of 3 hallways on each floor and because the reception is 'open air' you can hear the entertainment if you are one of the first few rooms as it echo's; but we just turned the air con on every night and the sound of the entertainment soon dissapeared.

The Food - the food is the best we have ever had in a hotel (for breakfast and dinner) and although its a buffet, its of a high quality and the cuts of meat you get are amazing. The lunch menu is a bit small and too expensive but we found some nice restaurants just outside the hotel and the food in them all was really nice (Pinhal next to the supermarket on the left). We also went to the supermarket opposite the hotel and got some bread, cheese and ham etc and popped up to our room for a sandwich at lunch as you dont really fancy that much at lunch (a lot of people were doing this with food and drink).

Onto the drinks! Perfectly made (although light on the alcohol!) but again too expensive. another supermarket job! A lot of people also went to the cafe at the bottom of the stairs infront of the hotel for lunch/drinks.

Dont get me wrong, we still purchased drinks at the bar but when it comes to things like water, we could get 10 bottles in the supermarket for the same price you'd pay for 1 at the hotel.

Also just a tip, when your change is brought back to you on the tray, check under the receipt as thats where the notes will be. The change is on top (hoping you just take the change i assume) but anything left on the tray, they come back and take after a few minutes as a tip.

Staff - the staff here are great. They are really friendly and can never do enough for you. Theres only 65 staff in this hotel and yet its run to perfection. It was even good to see the manager most nights walking around to make sure everythings ok.

Thomson staff - the entertainment team try their very best with what they have been given. I prefered the theatre type shows they did (very good) rather than the nights where they performed individually but then i do like the theatre.

Reps - friendly and helpful.

Falasia beach - a free shuttle takes you there everyday and its beautiful. There is nothing there (apart from a small cafe by the drop off point and the Sheraton Hotel restaurant further down the beach) so take some lunch with you. We got the bus down and turned right down the beach until we got to the first restaurant and then walked up the wooden stairs and through the sheraton hotel back to ours. Its a really nice walk.

The spa - i had a lovely pamper treat that lasted 1hr30 and it was very relaxing. The spa never seems that busy which is a shame. I had a 20% off voucher which another guest kindly gave me and if it wasnt for this, i wouldnt have used the spa. I have some 15% off vouchers; if anyone would like one message me and ill post it.

Excursions - we went on the simply relaxing/lovely cruise and
It was not relaxing. The boat was crammed full and some people had to stand. It cost £54 each person and you got taken to some caves, a beach for lunch and then back home. Also drinks were not included (apart from at lunch).

The aquashow was a good waterpark but they try and force you to have your pic taken with all these animals that they walk about with (snake, owl, tortoise etc) then charge £10 euros for each pic.

I feel like ive given some really positive things but unfortunately there is a negative - the other guests!

They are all (90%) elderly/retired. whilst i have nothing against older people (we did meet some really nice people), they seem to dislike you if you are younger than 35. There were so many awkward moments, it could have ruined our holiday but we tried to not let it. Every morning we would say hello in the lift (no response) whenever we walked past or came into the restaurant we were stared at like we shouldnt have been there. Its not the hotels fault that some of their guests are rude/obnoxious, but it seems that they cater for the older people (e.g. The entertainment/quiz's etc).

To sum up, this hotel would be perfect if drinks were a little cheaper and if there were mixed age groups (no children obviously!).

Please also note that this hotel is not really within walking distance of the Albufera strip (a younger couple came thinking that it was).

Finally, if someone could feed the fish in the gardens and give the cat that sits on the wall out the front some ham everyday, that would be great! :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurenoflondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Our check in at Birmingham Airport was horrendous, queuing up for over an hour, just to check in our luggage and show our passports. We only had ½ hour to eat breakfast and look around the shops as the flight was called. Very good at Faro airport – baggage collection and passport check in very quick. Good transfers from airport to the hotel by taxi – about ½ hour.
We stayed at the Falesia Hotel between 2nd and 16th June. We arrived at the Falesia at about 10.30, check in was quick and we were quite surprised that we had the same room as the last time, room 207. The room was exactly the same as before. The cost for the fridge was 34€ per fortnight. As we had upgraded to a Junior Suite there was no charge for the safe. We were also given a bottle of wine and several slices of fruit (the last time we stayed it was whole fruit). On a daily basis the coffee and tea sachets together with the water was replenished.
The evening meals were good, plenty to choose from. The head chef Angelo recognized us straightaway. The breakfasts were excellent, proper English sausages. This time the orange as better, as on the last three occasions the orange was watered down considerably.
When we had our evening meal we usually do not drink all the wine with the meal and usually take the glasses and the rest of wine upstairs and finish it off there. On the second night we were stopped and told we could not take the glasses out of the restaurant. We spoke to the head waiter and he said we could not take them into the upstairs bar, but he would let us on this occasion as long as we returned the glasses. On the last three visits to this hotel they never stopped us from doing this. So after this night we just took the bottle out and went to our room to finish the wine.
We cannot comment on the entertainment as we never listened to it due to the above situation. The only English channels on the TV are BBC1 and Sky News.
On the last two nights of our stay they opened the outside bar; it was lovely sitting there listening to the frogs. There is new seating by this bar and it is very comfortable and relaxing. The barman was very friendly and it was pleasure talking to him.
In the first week we had no problems getting a sun bed. On the second week the sun beds were being booked with towels starting at 6.00 a.m. Most of the sun beds by the pool were occupied but many of them were left deserted for hours. As this was the first time we have visited in June we were quite surprised at this (last three visits it has been October and there was never a problem).
The gardens are beautiful, very well kept and maintained. The rooms could do with updating. The fridges are very small.
The indoor and outdoor pools were kept clean, we used the indoor pool and Jacuzzi every day before breakfast, and usually we swam 32 lengths of the pool.
We went to Albufeira (twice) and Vilamoura (once) on the shuttle bus. It is very good value for money - £5 for Albufeira and €10 for Vilamoura.
The Chinese restaurant by the stairs is very good value for money. Tanias is also very good.
All in all a good holiday. Thank you Falesia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annaliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Our second visit to the Falesia, and it was just as good as last time. Super friendly staff, excellent food, no kids, what more could you want for a relaxing break. Thomson reps also excellent and efficient, I've no doubt we shall return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnSpires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,153 reviews
0.5 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,378 reviews
0.7 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
244 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falesia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falesia Hotel

Address: Pinhal do Concelho | Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#18 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £44 - £877 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Falesia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falesia Hotel is located close to Falesia Beach (800mts) and the town of Albufeira and in the center of the Algarve. Falesia Hotel in Acoteias surprise you with tranquil gardens and ample spaces, where one can soak the sun, tranquility, fresh air and smell of the beautifull umbrella shaped pine trees.For you well being and complete relaxation, there is a large outdoor pool as well as indoor one with Jacuzzi, Turkish Bath and Spa. Falesia Hotel is offering 169 rooms - all of the with the balcony and the views either of the pool, gardens, mountains - or even the driving range of the next door Golf Course. All the rooms also come with LCD satellite television, air condition (cold / hot) and very important free access to Wi-Fi connection. Our elegant "O Lago" restaurant is overlooking the Falesia Hotel beautiful gardens with some small fountains and where our delicious Buffett meals are served. "Show Bar" is the place to be in the evenings where the entertainment is provided for all those that are ready to party (occasional entertainment during the winter only). "Palm Bar" is serving those fantastic cocktails and the rest of the refreshing drinks during the high summer months.All the Golfers don't need to go far. There is a Golf Course next to Falesia Hotel and Vilamoura - with its best Golf Courses in Europe - is only up to 15 minutes drive from the Falesia Hotel.And if you want to have much bigger selection of shops, restaurants, bars, discos and any other entertainment, it is only between 5 and 8.5 Km to get to the capital of Portuguese tourism - Albufeira.If you are after complete relaxation you do not need to look any further. It is all waiting for you in the Falesia Hotel... "Simply relaxing... Holidays with no children" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Falesia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falesia Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Hotel Falesia Algarve
Falesia Hotel Portugal
Falesia Hotel Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing