We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falesia Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Falesia Hotel
Ranked #3 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
wrexham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We love the Thomson Gold brand and after staying at many Gold hotels we have to say that this hotel is outstanding. Ok it's not sea front and the drinks are not cheap but this hotel has everything for a relaxing stay. We always feel safe here.
We had requested our favourite room but understood that this was now part of an upgrade system and on arrival we were pleasantly surprised to be given the room next door.
The staff here are wonderful, they go out of their way to make you feel welcome and the hotel is bright and clean. The quality and selection of food is certainly one of best in the Gold chain.
The pool area has lots of sunbeds which also extends to the large garden area, no fighting for sunbeds or people claiming their sunbeds at 8am.
The Gold entertainment team were very good as was the evening entertainment.
Thank you for yet another great time, we are already planning our trip next year.

Room Tip: The pool view rooms are now available as an upgrade. Room numbers 101 to 104, then other floors roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pet7500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,112
    516
    118
    28
    9
See reviews for
132
1,371
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
falkirk
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

just back from two weeks at the falesia nice to return after a long break. we had a lovely relaxing holiday. the staff from reception onwards are lovely and very professional. we were hoping that after not having been for a while that the hotel would have had a bit of an upgrade but alas no. it is such a pity because the hotel really does deserve it. it is in such a lovely spot. the furnishings in the public areas and bedrooms are very shabby , chairs in the dining room stained or very sagged. we hope that at some point there will be a refurbishment so we can go back. the Thompson gold team as good as we have seen anywhere well done to dan, lucy, Hannah and mark. Julie and hugh sneddon.

Room Tip: if you like plenty space upgrade to junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hugh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed at Falesia Hotel last 2 weeks of September. Stayed in Thomson Gold Hotels previously but this was one of the best. Tremendous Food, Wonderful Staff and as golfers we found it as a good base to go and play locally.
Already thinking about returning next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Right In the middle between Albufeira and Quarteira, Falesia Hotel stands tall for my business travels in Algarve. Large room, space clean, quiet and serene at night. A very nice first experience. The facilitie are not charming, but it's quite useful for business purposes. What I liked most: Peace. What I liked least: malfunction of the hairdryer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicardoNRGomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leics england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

we have been to this hotel several times now, and the great thing about it is, as soon as we walk into the reception area on arrival, we feel relaxed, ok i read that people say that the hotel needs a refurb [ which i was told is on the agenda soon] but even so the atmosphere and willingness of the staff and management to make our stay there as comfortable and easy as possible, makes up for minor oversights. the food is good , and there is usually something that makes the mouth water. yes there are other nationalities [guests]in the hotel who talk loudly at mealtimes, talk loudly when the entertainment is on, which can offend , but they are on holiday too, and are probably just doing what they normally do at home. Speaking of the entertainment, I think you would have to go a long way to find such talented, hard working, dedicated foursome, who really give their everything, not forgetting Jango the regular duo who also give good value, not sure about the shadows solo's though, all in all once again a lovely holiday, many thanks Falesia

Room Tip: high floors with a pool view also get a small sea view, and get the sun at least a good part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greynomad1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

If the Falesia were on or next to the beach it would by a 5* hotel. The hotel was everything you could wish for, accommodation good, service excellent and the food out of this world. To top it all off, the weather was superb for the middle of October. One special mention, Carlos the head chef was brilliant, my wife has a coleac problem and he was there every dinner time to tell her what she could and couldn't eat, which was very important to her. All of the staff were efficient and very polite and I thank them for their effort. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Get a high floor with pool view, well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had stayed at the Falesia at the same time of year 2 years ago, so knew what to expect of the hotel and the surrounding area. We were a little disappointed that we were once again given a room overlooking the car park. Guess I should have contacted the hotel in advance to request something different. We had no sun at any time of the day! More concerning was the dirtiness of the room on our arrival. All surfaces in the bedroom were dusty and had sticky marks on them. Nobody wants to see evidence of previous occupants. The problem was swiftly resolved and the room was maintained to a reasonable standard throughout the week. On the floor was small gold coloured "40" sign, obviously belonging to somebody who had previously celebrated a birthday in the room. This remained on the floor all week. Others have said that the rooms are in need of refurbishing and this is certainly the case, particularly the bathroom. It was clean, but had black marks on the ceiling tiles. These days it is unusual to find a hotel bathroom with shower curtains. Generally it was all looking very tired. Public areas, including toilets, are fine and the lobby area is very impressive.

Food was good, particularly the freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast. I guess it could become repetitive after a while but for a week it was very good. We enjoyed the wines, which were all Portuguese, and had good advice from Ana who explained them to us. We did comment to her that the wine list would benefit from some more detailed information as the wines were unfamiliar to us and it was difficult to choose based on just name. We particularly enjoyed the Chamine and the Cabeça da Toiro.

The gardens are lovely, with sun beds for those who like a quieter area. Plenty of sun beds around the pool. Towels are provided and can be changed every 2 days. There is a lot of organised entertainment, but you are not hassled to take part. What we saw of the evening entertainment was ok and the Thomson team were talented. What was not so good was the UK entertainment brought in. The first comedian was very rude to people in the audience and kept saying we were all stupid to be there - not very funny! The second one was Irish and we walked out as we were not able to understand anything he said, we were not the only ones.

Staff throughout the hotel were friendly and helpful. Getting to the beach is not that easy, but hHe walk through the grounds of the Sheraton is pleasant, look out for the birds. Alternatively get e hotel's free bus. There is still a bit of steep road to walk down and quite a lot of steps, but it is fine if you take it quietly.

Brothers bar is the best place to go for a drink. Hugo's is not as nice. Tania's had nice Tapas. We also had a nice lunch at the Olimpica, turn right at the bottom of the steps and keep walking past the supermarket.

We caught a bus to Faro from the top of the road, bus stop is on the left just down towards Olhos from the roundabout. We enjoyed it and walked around inside the old city walls. Not a huge place bit with some nice shops, including Mango and Zara, and restaurants/bars. We also caught a bus to Albufeira but were sorry we had bothered. Busy and commercialised, not a place we will be returning to in a hurry. If you go, make sure you get off on the strip, near Macdonalds. The bus driver was unhelpful and took us with lots of other lost souls, right up to the bus station, way out of the centre. Coming back another unhelpful driver didn't stop for us even after ringing the bell twice. Use the hotel bus!

Room Tip: Pool view rooms cost more but I think a garden room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eag387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre A, General Manager at Falesia Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking trouble and writing about your experience in the Falesia Hotel this time around. Thank you for coming back to visit us again. Very much appreciated.

I am very sorry about the cleanliness of your upon the arrival. As previously explained already and in order to have the rooms ready as early as possible upon the arrival (we can appreciate the early start from your home and early arrival to the hotel) the rooms sometimes are not 100% as they should be. But the fact that the rooms are ready to move in at 10.00 a.m. rather then 4 p.m. is appreciated for the majority of the arrivals as long as small things that were missed on the arrival day are rectified the next day! I am sure that the gold "40" signed would not be appreciated after two days - even if it was your own one. Sincere apologies for that.
I must say that we are very careful with the general cleanliness of the hotel and making sure that out guests health and safety is never in question. According to our and Thomson survey (yes them again) are standards are very high and we can be proud of the results. The average results for the season up to know - were always well above 90.

After certain period the hotels always need to think about the refurbishment of the establishments. General maintenance is always also important and then better it is the longer hotel will last. Again, our market research is telling us that our customers are still quite happy with the bedrooms but there are already some comments (like yours) that refurbishment is needed. We are planning this for a while and I think the time has come that some action will be needed. At the moment there is a plan that refurbishment will probably take in the winter 2014/15. The timing and the size of the refurbishments are also important. We are looking forward that in the very near future we will be able to welcome our faithful customers in very different environment with some old touches - in particular our old excellent service.

I am sorry to hear that you were not very keen on the comedians that visited hotel while you were there. Unfortunately entertainment is one of the points where some people will like it and some not. Very difficult to please everybody, although we try hard to do so.

I am very happy that you have had a good time in the Falesia Hotel and we will be very happy to welcome you back in very near future.

Kind Regards,
André Aparício
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
0.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
16.7 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#5 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falesia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falesia Hotel

Property: Falesia Hotel
Address: Pinhal do Concelho, Praia da Falesia, Apartado 785, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Falesia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falesia Hotel is located close to Falesia Beach (800mts) and the town of Albufeira and in the center of the Algarve. Falesia Hotel in Acoteias surprise you with tranquil gardens and ample spaces, where one can soak the sun, tranquility, fresh air and smell of the beautifull umbrella shaped pine trees.For you well being and complete relaxation, there is a large outdoor pool as well as indoor one with Jacuzzi, Turkish Bath and Spa. Falesia Hotel is offering 169 rooms - all of the with the balcony and the views either of the pool, gardens, mountains - or even the driving range of the next door Golf Course. All the rooms also come with LCD satellite television, air condition (cold / hot) and very important free access to Wi-Fi connection. Our elegant "O Lago" restaurant is overlooking the Falesia Hotel beautiful gardens with some small fountains and where our delicious Buffett meals are served. "Show Bar" is the place to be in the evenings where the entertainment is provided for all those that are ready to party (occasional entertainment during the winter only). "Palm Bar" is serving those fantastic cocktails and the rest of the refreshing drinks during the high summer months.All the Golfers don't need to go far. There is a Golf Course next to Falesia Hotel and Vilamoura - with its best Golf Courses in Europe - is only up to 15 minutes drive from the Falesia Hotel.And if you want to have much bigger selection of shops, restaurants, bars, discos and any other entertainment, it is only between 5 and 8.5 Km to get to the capital of Portuguese tourism - Albufeira.If you are after complete relaxation you do not need to look any further. It is all waiting for you in the Falesia Hotel... "Simply relaxing... Holidays with no children" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Falesia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falesia Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Hotel Falesia Algarve
Falesia Hotel Portugal
Falesia Hotel Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing