We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Falesia Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$198
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$336
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$304
US$191
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Clube Albufeira Resort(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alfagar Aparthotel(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Falesia Mar by 3HB(Olhos de Agua)
US$116
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$218
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (2,117)
Filter reviews
2,117 results
Traveller rating
1,371
576
131
29
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,371
576
131
29
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfalesia hotelthomson goldthomson teamjunior suitegold hotelbrothers barentertainment teambread and butter puddingchef angeloevening entertainmentpine cliffs resortrelaxing holidayhotel busthe general managerboth breakfast and dinnerplenty of sunbedsindoor pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,096 - 1,101 of 2,117 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We booked this hotel for our celebration holiday and we were not disappointed!

The staff were always helpful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

We were upgraded to a suite and had wine and fresh fruit in our room on arrival which added a little touch to our stay. Having read some negative reviews I struggled to find anything negative about this hotel.

On arrival the foyer was impressive and the facilities such as the outdoor pool, indoor pool, spa area all fab!

The extras such as rentable IPADS at 3 euro per hour simply brilliant! We forgot to bring an adapter and we were given one free of charge from reception. Pool towels available at no charge or deposit required.

Entertainment was of a good standard and variety for all! Food in restaurant and bar excellent with plenty of choice. Rooms had everything required for a relaxing break with plenty of space.

There was daily activities such as Shuffle Board, a Quiz, adult Connect Four and always plenty of eager participants especially those who were competitive and up for the challenge...

The area of Falesia is quiet with not much going on and a limited selection of restaurants. We had a meal in a local restaurant called 'Brothers' which was good value.

The beach was quite a distance although there is a hotel bus which is free of charge and goes several times during the day. We made the mistake of walking to the beach and got lost but on the plus side we saw a little of the real Portugal and found the most delightful little bar where we had a long lunch!

We have stayed in many Four Star hotels but this was one of the best.

We have never stayed at an Adult hotel but we will definitely be back to the Falesia Hotel soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The food at the Falesia is excellent, buffet style plenty of choice, the chefs on hand to give advice or answer questions, you can even take a tour of the kitchens. All the staff where friendly, polite and helpful. Our room was clean a good size though the bed was hard, for us at least.
The Thompson staff gave a excellent service, the entertainment of was of a good quality, we enjoyed a few trips out with Victor the local interest specialist and really enjoyed the walks and the mystery excursion. No kids about, so a relaxing tension free atmosphere, great!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerard1958811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Booked this hotel for a break for our 20th wedding anniversary and wasn't disappointed . Lovely hotel , all staff were really friendly and took time to chat . Such a refreshing change to see staff smiling and look like they actually enjoy what they are doing, makes the whole atmosphere of the hotel so pleasant and relaxing. Whole hotel spotlessly clean . Nice pool area and plenty areas to sit away from pool as well. Lovely gardens with fish ponds. Food was excellent all week everything from steaks to smoked salmon to be honest I found it difficult to choose most night as it all looked so good.i thought breakfast was excellent , all the usual stuff on offer .eggs were available , poached ,fried,boiled,scrambled and omelettes made to order . Good to get a real sausage instead of the hot dog ones you sometimes get, also black pudding some mornings. Location ok not a lot of places on the doorstep but a fifteen minute walk takes you to olhos de agua which is a lovely small village with bars etc on the beachfront. Have to mention brothers bar and Hugo,s bar . Brothers is left out of hotel on opposite side of road ,good for sport and a friendly owner. Hugo,s is right out of hotel on the same side , pint of superbock here was €1.50 ,again show sport (no big screen unlike brothers which has two) . Had a steak,onion and mushroom baguette here one day and it was very good. Final word has to go to the entertainment team in the hotel who we thought were very very good and put on some good shows , heard some of the older guests commenting that they had been too a few Thomson gold hotels and this was the best entertainment team they had seen.

Room Tip: Pool view room on floor 3 gets the sun on the balcony in the afternoon .
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whatsappenin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I'm a bit confused by the fact that this hotel was rated #1 on Trip Advisor. First thing to be aware of is that it's about a 15 minute hike to the closest beach and then easily 100 steps down to the water.Withing walking distance to a few restaurants and shops. The nicest area to see is the main strip in Albufeira and that's about 10 to 15 minutes away by car. When we checked in we were given a room that overlooked the roof and the parking lot. We asked for another room and the front desk staff were very accommodating. Although the rooms are very clean, they're in desperate need of updating. The bathrooms are dated and the hair dryer looked to be about 100 years old. The only toiletries that are provided were two small bottles of shower soap and two tiny bars of soap. The pillows were awful. One was hard as rock and the other one should have been thrown out. If you want a bath robe, slippers,bar fridge or safe there's an extra charge. .The price of this hotel was very reasonable and included a breakfast buffet that was lovely. So my overall impression......an average hotel, but in my opinion a long ways to go to be #1 in Albufeira.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kath0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre A, General Manager at Falesia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments. We always welcome constructive criticism and it should only help us to even improve our services.

From your comments I am sorry to see that you have not done much of the research before booking your holiday as otherwise you would have been aware of the location and the fact that Falesia Hotel is Adult only hotel with very peaceful and tranquil location which surely offers complete relaxation. To compliment the concept there is also a nice spa, indoor pool with jacuzzi and Turkish bath. Next door you can also find a golf course. We have gone even that far that we exclude any customers that are not at least 16 years old in order to avoid any noise.

All our promotional material as well as the brochure descriptions of all our partners are very clear about the above as well as the distance to the beach - either on foot via next door hotel or hotel Shuttle Bus to the Falesia beach (in Portuguese - Cliff with the drop down to the beach) which is one of the nicest beaches in the Algarve and very typical for the area but - for the reasons of location - the only way to get to the beach is by steps (or like in Sheraton by the help of the lift and steps). Well worth it at the end of the day.

From the above you can see that Falesia guests would not want to be anywhere close the main strip in Albufeira and probably not the best choice for you if you were looking for lots of bars, discos, restaurants and noisy crowds (the capital of Portuguese tourism together with Vilamoura and only about 10 kms away from the hotel and a taxi ride of 10 minutes for around €10 - depending on the time of the day - or rather night). As far as the local fish restaurants go - you would be in the best area.

From your comments there are a couple of things that you did like about the hotel. The reception was happy to change the room, nice breakfast in the morning and very reasonable price. And here is probably the reply to your main question: how we can be No1 in Albufeira out of 165 Hotels. Value for money! Apart from helpful and pleasant staff that is available to our customers at all times, ready to make our guests stay as much enjoyable as possible - there is - of course - our concept together with our excellent food. For a lot of people it is important that they can relax complitely during their holiday, read the book in lovely gardens or soaking their feet in the pool - knowing they are not going to get splashed and get wet! We all live our lives under constant stress and pressure and here the holiday where you can relax completely. And your relationship will last longer and get better if more time will be spent together - just the two of you. Little romance will certainly not do any damage!

We understand that different people have got different requirements and require different levels of service. Our job is to meet them. And yes, we are not a new modern hotel and some areas could do with some refurbishment (which is planed and in particular bathrooms but there is no need to exaggerate about the age of the hair-dryer as 100 years ago there was none) and this is definitely not the reason that we would be No.1.

But for the reasons above (excluding the furniture and maybe 20 years old hair-dryer) - we deserve and are very proud to be the number one. It is difficult to judge anything if you have not experienced everything but everybody has got the right to have their own opinion. We are sorry that we do not agree with yours but there are certainly points that we will happily take on board and do something about them.

Kind Regards,
André Aparício

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

food is good quality & plentiful ,staff are excellent ,the thomson reps work very hard day & night ,the hotel is very clean ,rooms rea kept very clean ,but bathrooms could be updated getting over bath for showers is a bit old hat most modern hotels have walk in showers ,no tea or coffee making facilties in standard rooms ,basic 2star hotels have kettle etc,indoor pool area has no lockers to put dry cloths in, or changing rooms,the lilos seem low to the floors ,some older people get a pool chair to sit on,requested a room over looking pool as this was our 2nd time,but did not get it,but the hotel is in quiet area ,to relax ,and yes i would go again

Room Tip: pool or junior suite
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetills26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre A, General Manager at Falesia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your feed back of your holidays in the Falesia Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed most aspects of the hotel and at the same time, you have also got some suggestions how to improve our services. We are always keen to learn something new and very pleased if any good suggestions come forward.

We agree with you that we need to think of some sort of refurbishments in the near future (at the moment planned for the winter 2014/15) and more then likely we will be introducing walk in showers only.
We will look into possibility of placing the tea and coffee facilities also in the standard rooms as at the moment we want to keep it as extra for the junior suites only . This is not confirmed as yet as this facility is usually found in the city hotels and proper self catering apartments (not hotels ) in the resorts. But thank you for the suggestion and we will definitely have some discussion about your suggestion.

Sorry you could not find the changing rooms at the indoor pool as they are only behind the jacuzzi - one for ladies and one for gentlemen. As far as the deckchairs go - these are standard measures but I can appreciate your issues and will try and see if we can find any sunbeds that would not be that low to the floor.

We are always trying very hard to meet as many special requests as possible. One of our main problems in the past, were the requests for pool view rooms and to resolve the problem Thomson introduced the supplement for the pool view rooms (and with way also guarantees one) and my suggestion would be to book it well in advance as we can use only those that remain unsold by Thomson - which is very rarely.

I do hope the above explanations are of some help and can help you with the future bookings. We are very much looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
André Aparício

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews