We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mature Honeymoon”
Review of Falesia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Falesia Hotel
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We picked this hotel firstly on the basis of other Trip Advisor reviews and because it was our honeymoon the adult only aspect appealed to us. The hotel was perfect for our experience, from the staff to the hotel facilities we were impressed from before we arrived, during and our memories since. We upgraded our room some three months before due to it being our honeymoon and the staff were extremely helpful and again when I ordered some flowers for my wife on arrival, this was done at late notice without any problem. What was not expected was a bottle of sparkling wine and the room decorated on our arrival from the hotel. The service we received from the restaurant was second to none and the food was excellent and to a wide variety of tastes. The entertainment on the nights in the showbar was provided by the Thompson group and was of a high quality and the bar staff and waiters were also excellent. Facilities of outside pool and indoor pool with spa were also of an excellent standard. The only downside is probably the location but again the hotel provided a shuttle service down to the local beach free of charge and buses to and from the busier towns at a nominal fee. Overall this hotel is of an excellent standard with staff that would go the extra mile, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Try and get rooms that face the pool or the east side that face the gardens, we upgraded to a junior...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,012)
There are newer reviews for Falesia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,031 of 2,013 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel was excellent. The rooms were first class the food was wonderfull with lots of variety and the entertainment was top notch. The facilities were brilliant with both an outdoor and indoor pool, jacuzzie and steam room. Also Spa (at extra cost). The cleanliness was good and there was an excellent free shuttle bus service to the local beach and at a small charge to nearby resorts.

Room Tip: Any would be as good as the one we had.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel generally surpassed our expectations, being very spacious, with friendly, attentive staff and very good food.
The room we were allocated, was a good size, but could have done with a bit of updating, the decor was definitely 'tired'! Having said that, it wasn't too bad.
The pool area was lovely, and having an indoor pool also was very nice, as we were there in late October. there is also a Spa area, but we didn't use this.
The drinks in the bar, were a bit on the pricey side, compared to the bars round about, but i would advise on avoiding the cocktails. They usually tasted ok, but we bought a couple of champagne cocktails to celebrate the end of the holiday, and there was no fizz to be seen. my husband took them back, and we were assured they were fine! They did make them again, but they were just the same. They tasted like cheap sweet, flat wine.
The area local to the hotel is very quiet, with a few bars and restaurants within walking distance, but much quieter than we tend to like.
We found a lovely typical portuguese restaurant which we would definitely recommend called 'Restaurante Adeate ti costa' ( or something like that), and it is really good quality food, and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rojer63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We booked this hotel for our celebration holiday and we were not disappointed!

The staff were always helpful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

We were upgraded to a suite and had wine and fresh fruit in our room on arrival which added a little touch to our stay. Having read some negative reviews I struggled to find anything negative about this hotel.

On arrival the foyer was impressive and the facilities such as the outdoor pool, indoor pool, spa area all fab!

The extras such as rentable IPADS at 3 euro per hour simply brilliant! We forgot to bring an adapter and we were given one free of charge from reception. Pool towels available at no charge or deposit required.

Entertainment was of a good standard and variety for all! Food in restaurant and bar excellent with plenty of choice. Rooms had everything required for a relaxing break with plenty of space.

There was daily activities such as Shuffle Board, a Quiz, adult Connect Four and always plenty of eager participants especially those who were competitive and up for the challenge...

The area of Falesia is quiet with not much going on and a limited selection of restaurants. We had a meal in a local restaurant called 'Brothers' which was good value.

The beach was quite a distance although there is a hotel bus which is free of charge and goes several times during the day. We made the mistake of walking to the beach and got lost but on the plus side we saw a little of the real Portugal and found the most delightful little bar where we had a long lunch!

We have stayed in many Four Star hotels but this was one of the best.

We have never stayed at an Adult hotel but we will definitely be back to the Falesia Hotel soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The food at the Falesia is excellent, buffet style plenty of choice, the chefs on hand to give advice or answer questions, you can even take a tour of the kitchens. All the staff where friendly, polite and helpful. Our room was clean a good size though the bed was hard, for us at least.
The Thompson staff gave a excellent service, the entertainment of was of a good quality, we enjoyed a few trips out with Victor the local interest specialist and really enjoyed the walks and the mystery excursion. No kids about, so a relaxing tension free atmosphere, great!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerard1958811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Booked this hotel for a break for our 20th wedding anniversary and wasn't disappointed . Lovely hotel , all staff were really friendly and took time to chat . Such a refreshing change to see staff smiling and look like they actually enjoy what they are doing, makes the whole atmosphere of the hotel so pleasant and relaxing. Whole hotel spotlessly clean . Nice pool area and plenty areas to sit away from pool as well. Lovely gardens with fish ponds. Food was excellent all week everything from steaks to smoked salmon to be honest I found it difficult to choose most night as it all looked so good.i thought breakfast was excellent , all the usual stuff on offer .eggs were available , poached ,fried,boiled,scrambled and omelettes made to order . Good to get a real sausage instead of the hot dog ones you sometimes get, also black pudding some mornings. Location ok not a lot of places on the doorstep but a fifteen minute walk takes you to olhos de agua which is a lovely small village with bars etc on the beachfront. Have to mention brothers bar and Hugo,s bar . Brothers is left out of hotel on opposite side of road ,good for sport and a friendly owner. Hugo,s is right out of hotel on the same side , pint of superbock here was €1.50 ,again show sport (no big screen unlike brothers which has two) . Had a steak,onion and mushroom baguette here one day and it was very good. Final word has to go to the entertainment team in the hotel who we thought were very very good and put on some good shows , heard some of the older guests commenting that they had been too a few Thomson gold hotels and this was the best entertainment team they had seen.

Room Tip: Pool view room on floor 3 gets the sun on the balcony in the afternoon .
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whatsappenin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I'm a bit confused by the fact that this hotel was rated #1 on Trip Advisor. First thing to be aware of is that it's about a 15 minute hike to the closest beach and then easily 100 steps down to the water.Withing walking distance to a few restaurants and shops. The nicest area to see is the main strip in Albufeira and that's about 10 to 15 minutes away by car. When we checked in we were given a room that overlooked the roof and the parking lot. We asked for another room and the front desk staff were very accommodating. Although the rooms are very clean, they're in desperate need of updating. The bathrooms are dated and the hair dryer looked to be about 100 years old. The only toiletries that are provided were two small bottles of shower soap and two tiny bars of soap. The pillows were awful. One was hard as rock and the other one should have been thrown out. If you want a bath robe, slippers,bar fridge or safe there's an extra charge. .The price of this hotel was very reasonable and included a breakfast buffet that was lovely. So my overall impression......an average hotel, but in my opinion a long ways to go to be #1 in Albufeira.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kath0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre A, General Manager at Falesia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments. We always welcome constructive criticism and it should only help us to even improve our services.

From your comments I am sorry to see that you have not done much of the research before booking your holiday as otherwise you would have been aware of the location and the fact that Falesia Hotel is Adult only hotel with very peaceful and tranquil location which surely offers complete relaxation. To compliment the concept there is also a nice spa, indoor pool with jacuzzi and Turkish bath. Next door you can also find a golf course. We have gone even that far that we exclude any customers that are not at least 16 years old in order to avoid any noise.

All our promotional material as well as the brochure descriptions of all our partners are very clear about the above as well as the distance to the beach - either on foot via next door hotel or hotel Shuttle Bus to the Falesia beach (in Portuguese - Cliff with the drop down to the beach) which is one of the nicest beaches in the Algarve and very typical for the area but - for the reasons of location - the only way to get to the beach is by steps (or like in Sheraton by the help of the lift and steps). Well worth it at the end of the day.

From the above you can see that Falesia guests would not want to be anywhere close the main strip in Albufeira and probably not the best choice for you if you were looking for lots of bars, discos, restaurants and noisy crowds (the capital of Portuguese tourism together with Vilamoura and only about 10 kms away from the hotel and a taxi ride of 10 minutes for around €10 - depending on the time of the day - or rather night). As far as the local fish restaurants go - you would be in the best area.

From your comments there are a couple of things that you did like about the hotel. The reception was happy to change the room, nice breakfast in the morning and very reasonable price. And here is probably the reply to your main question: how we can be No1 in Albufeira out of 165 Hotels. Value for money! Apart from helpful and pleasant staff that is available to our customers at all times, ready to make our guests stay as much enjoyable as possible - there is - of course - our concept together with our excellent food. For a lot of people it is important that they can relax complitely during their holiday, read the book in lovely gardens or soaking their feet in the pool - knowing they are not going to get splashed and get wet! We all live our lives under constant stress and pressure and here the holiday where you can relax completely. And your relationship will last longer and get better if more time will be spent together - just the two of you. Little romance will certainly not do any damage!

We understand that different people have got different requirements and require different levels of service. Our job is to meet them. And yes, we are not a new modern hotel and some areas could do with some refurbishment (which is planed and in particular bathrooms but there is no need to exaggerate about the age of the hair-dryer as 100 years ago there was none) and this is definitely not the reason that we would be No.1.

But for the reasons above (excluding the furniture and maybe 20 years old hair-dryer) - we deserve and are very proud to be the number one. It is difficult to judge anything if you have not experienced everything but everybody has got the right to have their own opinion. We are sorry that we do not agree with yours but there are certainly points that we will happily take on board and do something about them.

Kind Regards,
André Aparício

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,119 reviews
0.5 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,347 reviews
0.7 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
233 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falesia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falesia Hotel

Address: Pinhal do Concelho | Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#11 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#18 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £43 - £875 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Falesia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falesia Hotel is located close to Falesia Beach (800mts) and the town of Albufeira and in the center of the Algarve. Falesia Hotel in Acoteias surprise you with tranquil gardens and ample spaces, where one can soak the sun, tranquility, fresh air and smell of the beautifull umbrella shaped pine trees.For you well being and complete relaxation, there is a large outdoor pool as well as indoor one with Jacuzzi, Turkish Bath and Spa. Falesia Hotel is offering 169 rooms - all of the with the balcony and the views either of the pool, gardens, mountains - or even the driving range of the next door Golf Course. All the rooms also come with LCD satellite television, air condition (cold / hot) and very important free access to Wi-Fi connection. Our elegant "O Lago" restaurant is overlooking the Falesia Hotel beautiful gardens with some small fountains and where our delicious Buffett meals are served. "Show Bar" is the place to be in the evenings where the entertainment is provided for all those that are ready to party (occasional entertainment during the winter only). "Palm Bar" is serving those fantastic cocktails and the rest of the refreshing drinks during the high summer months.All the Golfers don't need to go far. There is a Golf Course next to Falesia Hotel and Vilamoura - with its best Golf Courses in Europe - is only up to 15 minutes drive from the Falesia Hotel.And if you want to have much bigger selection of shops, restaurants, bars, discos and any other entertainment, it is only between 5 and 8.5 Km to get to the capital of Portuguese tourism - Albufeira.If you are after complete relaxation you do not need to look any further. It is all waiting for you in the Falesia Hotel... "Simply relaxing... Holidays with no children" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Falesia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falesia Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Hotel Falesia Algarve
Falesia Hotel Portugal
Falesia Hotel Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing