We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falesia Hotel - a nice place but could be so much nicer.”
Review of Falesia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falesia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 152 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

A lovely hotel but with some qualifications. Firstly, yes it's billed as an adults only venue, which is fine because that's what we wanted. However, it felt like it should be sponsored by Viagra because the average age seemed to be 65+ (and we're not there yet...). Accordingly the 'entertainment' was scheduled to suit such an age group - and it was truly awful.

The outdoor pool was lovely, albeit unheated and obviously too cold for most of the residents which gave me a huge pool to myself on a number of occasions. The indoor pool was small, too hot and the atmosphere stuffy with no natural daylight. The Spa (a small cluster of rooms connected to the indoor pool area) was spartan and rather bland. I did avail of a back massage and reflexology session which were 'okay'. Perhaps I had expected too much but I didn't feel especially relaxed afterward.

The food was okay - probably as good as a 'free for all' buffet can be. Not great, not bad, but adequate. At times it felt like I was in a geriatric scrum though.

We were very pleased to be given a free upgrade to a junior suite (the largest the hotel has to offer) although the rooms are a little spartan too. The room was comfortable but do be aware that everything is an extra. If you want the fridge to work, it will cost you €2.50 per day. The safe will cost you the same.

The gardens are lovely, and every evening you are welcomed by an amusing chorus of 'singing' frogs - I kid you not.

The bar staff were great, always attentive, enthusiastic and friendly. The same can't be said of the reception staff (some anyway) who often seemed too 'troubled' to or bothered to answer questions or provide essential information.

One particular irritation was the gift shop located in the hotel foyer. We had waited until our last day to purchase a few gifts for friends, and therefore left the beach early to get back before it closed at 5:00pm. We arrived at 3:25pm only to discover that the shop had closed early (without explanation), and the reception staff member seemed totally disinterested in helping us. We were reasonably annoyed about this.

These are a few honest niggles in what was a lovely week in Portugal. Overall, it's a lovely hotel, perhaps a little tired, and we would be happy to return at some time in the future. A good hotel, not a great hotel but easily could be.

A visit to the L'aranjas restaurant which is approx a 3/4 mile walk is a must. Amazing value and lovely people! It also opposite an orange grove and the smell of orange blossom was beautiful.

To visit the magnificent Falesia beach, don't bother with the shuttle bus, just walk through the grounds of the Sheraton Pine Cliff resort to the beautiful boardwalk (there's a lift for the less energetic too).

Room Tip: We were given a free upgrade to one of only ten large and spacious junior suites. You can but ask. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plethora333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos F, Gerente geral at Falesia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments and I am sorry we have not managed to meet some more of your expectations. We are pleased to see that you were happy with quite a few points and it is rather disappointing we have not had the opportunity to meet few more.

We try very hard - at all times - to have happy guests in the Falesia Hotel. To make sure we are meeting our guests expectations, all our guests are getting a welcome letter from me on their second day of their stay asking them to tell us immediately if by any chance we are not meeting any their expectations as we are sure we can agree the solutions and the guests can enjoy their stay in full.

I am sure one can appreciate that we can not have any control over the age of our customers and everybody is very welcome to our hotel, regardless of the age - as long as they are over 16 year old as we are Adult Only Hotel. We do try and accommodate everybody´s wishes but the entertainment and food are always the two issues depending heavy on the individual tastes and it is very difficult to please everybody. But even there are the solutions. If you can really not find anything that is up to your taste on the buffet - one just needs to speak to the chef (who is always in the restaurant) and he will prepare something that you would enjoy.
According to our own survey and the surveys of our Tour Operators - our food is always scoring very highly and most of the reports from the social sites are telling as the same - hence disappointing to hear from you that it was only an average buffet.
The entertainment is a bit more difficult but generally speaking, it is rather low profile in the winter months. This - of course - changes in the summer (like everything else) - and in particular with us as we become one of the Gold Hotels with Thomson and there is something going on all the time. Of course - even then - it is difficult to please everybody.

We would always suggest to do a little research before travelling as now-a days the hotels websites can provide you with all the information required - and specially any of those points you are particularity interested in. This is where one can find out that our outdoor swimming pool is not heated - however there is the indoor pool that is heated as per local regulations of the indoor pools.
There is also the explanation of the mini bar / fridge where one can opt for the minibar and pay whatever is consumed - or use it as mini fridge at the charge. Hotels usually operate with the mini bar and apartments with the fridge. We are giving our guests the option.

Sorry I can not comment on your particular incident regarding the hotel shop as from your letter I can not see when it acyually happen - however I have already generally discussed the issue with them and the service should improve. They are under separate management.

The most disappointing comments were about our reception service. Again - according to all the surveys - they are always scoring very highly and I am really sorry if they have not given you the service that you expected from them.

As per your conclusion - you have had a lovely week in Portugal apart from few niggles. I do hope that in the future I would have the opportunity to discuss any potential niggles with you in person and make sure to resolve them on the spot and with it - have even better stay in the Falesia Hotel and Portugal. Thank you for your visit.

Kind regards

Carlos Franco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,046 - 1,052 of 2,071 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in (if not the best). From the moment you walk up to reception they look after you very well. We are vegetarian & I was very impressed with the food, it was just gorgeous, the buffet appeared to be the best I have seen for choice. Coffee was from a machine & nice & strong.
The rooms are very comfortable (we had Room 450) bed so big you can't reach your partner, wonderful balcony view. There are 2 lifts to all floors. Free wifi through hotel- a router on all floors, but could be a little slow in some areas of your room. I think all rooms will have a good view, but if you want sun on your balcony late, the pool view would mainly sort that
The indoor pool, jacuzzi & sauna were wonderful, very clean & modern. (We were there beginning April, so too cold for outside pool) There is a spa there too, but we didn't use- prices seemed fair. This is an Adult only hotel with the emphasis on relaxing, so no loud music, with entertainment very middle of the road, with keyboard players & singers, just light muzak played in gardens. Clientele were 40yrs +. Mainly French, with the rest a mix of English/German.
The gardens are beautiful, the setting is very secluded, but there are (low key) bars and restaurants about 100yds away. Bar prices are usual Hotel prices for area- Large glass wine or pint lager $3 euros approx, bottle of wine $15 euros.
If you want a really relaxing break with lovely Staff (all of them) this is the place for you. Will DEFINITELY be back. The Falesia prides itself on being a family run hotel and they are very very good at it

Room Tip: I would email the hotel if you want sun on your balcony late in the day, as not all pool view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arramattic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My sister and I spent 5 days at this hotel from 31st March 2014. The food was plenty. It was an excellent variety of traditional Portugese dishes, salad and fruit everyday (we were half board). It rained all day for the first 3 days there and I thank God that we chose to stay at the Falesia Hotel because it had an indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and we had our own balcony overlooking the hotels garden (we stayed in room 209) so we were occupied even during the rain. The hotel had a shuttle to the beautiful beach but during our stay it was too cloudy and wet to spend time lounging in the beach but we discovered that if you keep walking down the beach you eventually come to Villamoura, a marina village where there were numerous tourists, more hotels and lots of great restaurants or cafés! We were on a budget and couldn't really afford excursions although we did manage to go on the city sight seeing red bus tour which only cost 13 Euros and took us around Albufeira. You could hop on and off this bus which came every hour. The ticket lasted two full days so it was a grt way to get around. If you are looking to get some rest, eat until your heart is content and meet lovely people then Falesia is the hotel for you. The Reception staff were really helpful. The restaurant staff were friendly, cheerful and approachable. We checked out at 12pm and they allowed us to store our bags there and to continue to use their facilities until our transfers arrived in the evening. I would return to the hotel again but I think I'll plan ahead to book excursions as I do like to b active. Thank you Falesia!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WelshWonder777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Altogether an excellent hotel with only some very minor flaws. We were also lucky with the weather in early March. Our junior suite was pretty spacious, with two balconies, a comfy double bed and adequate bathroom. The net curtains were a little yellow, I guess from the action of the sun, and one set didn't close properly. I liked the idea of using the fridge for what we wanted and putting a small daily charge for the privilege. Housekeeping was generally excellent though we had one inexplicably poor day when the kettle and teapot disappeared and when we asked for it back the teapot came back still with used teabags and cold tea inside. Food was very good, chef, house manager and others really pleasant. Chef helpful when we told him my wife needed gluten free. The indoor pool is excellent, we didn't think much of the massage in the spa however. Sorry. The hotel is very close to shops which include a small supermarket and an excellent restaurant called Miraparque which we used for a couple of lightish lunches. The hotel bus service to Albufeira is useful but you have to be prepared to spend five hours there to get the return trip which is too long - there is only a late morning and mid-afternoon go and return and not every day. However, the overall experience was very good, nice people, good location a 15 minute walk from the lovely beach, a great place for a break. And lots of terribly jolly Quebeckers having a good time. A nice international mix of people.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WestDeneWombat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Falesia, Mar '14 and I can categorically say it is an excellent hotel, from the cleaners, bar, receptionists to the restaurant staff, who couldn't do enough for you. They made our holiday very memorable.

The hotel is immaculately clean, outside and inside. The hotel grounds are a credit to the hotel. The room we stayed in even had a lounge area, where we could just sit and chill, inbetween all our excursions.

The restaurant had a vast array of food both breakfast and dinner, making it very difficult deciding what to have. On one occasion, Angelo, head chef, made a fish soup, I have never tasted anything as delicious as that soup. I even tried Cataplana, a typical Portuguese dish, both were a credit to him and his team.

I would point out thou, the hotel is a short distance from Albufeira, so it could be quiet for some people, but there are a few bars and cafes within a short distance.

I would also recommend 'Follow Me Tours', they give you a brief insight into tours like visits to Cape St Vincent, Sagres, Taro and Lagos. They have a base within 5 minutes from hotel.

Overall, it was an excellent holiday and one place I would go back to within any hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Helli7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

lovely 5 night break, our first visit to Portugal. We selected this hotel as facilities looked good and it is adults only. Got a free upgrade to a suite. Beautiful natural gardens, fantastic outdoor pool (just very cold but it is early season), loads of sunbeds and shaded areas if required. Breakfast was included and was very good. It was very quiet which suited us. There is also a lovely indoor pool. Five minutes walk to a selection of local restaurants, especially good if you like fresh fish but not much at all for vegetarians! About 30 mins slow stroll to small fishing village with few small shops, cafés, restaurants and fabulous beach.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cherylbEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I just had to write this after reading a particularly bad review on this site. We have been going Thomson Gold for quite a few years now and although the hotel is a little worn it is the best one we have visited. Andre and his staff cannot do enough for you. Any little niggles and they are sorted in record time. Angelo the chef and his staff (and food) are second to none. We visited first August 2012 for two weeks, last year we went back but due to an earlier holiday being extended only for 10 days. What a mistake we should have had a week for the first holiday and two at the Falesia. This year we have booked again (for two weeks!) and I can assure anyone who is reading this that we would not be going back again if this wasn't a first class hotel. We have been to some beautiful modern hotels which we would return to but none as friendly as the Falesia. Can't wait till August 21st. We will be back Armen!. Angi and Pete

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank angiTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 152 in Albufeira
2,471 reviews
0.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 152 in Albufeira
1,180 reviews
2.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 152 in Albufeira
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
TUI BLUE Falesia
TUI BLUE Falesia
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,778 reviews
7.7 mi away
Vila Gale Collection Praia
Vila Gale Collection Praia
#3 of 152 in Albufeira
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falesia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falesia Hotel

Address: Pinhal do Concelho | Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#18 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £41 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Falesia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falesia Hotel is located close to Falesia Beach (800mts) and the town of Albufeira and in the center of the Algarve. Falesia Hotel in Acoteias surprise you with tranquil gardens and ample spaces, where one can soak the sun, tranquility, fresh air and smell of the beautifull umbrella shaped pine trees.For you well being and complete relaxation, there is a large outdoor pool as well as indoor one with Jacuzzi, Turkish Bath and Spa. Falesia Hotel is offering 169 rooms - all of the with the balcony and the views either of the pool, gardens, mountains - or even the driving range of the next door Golf Course. All the rooms also come with LCD satellite television, air condition (cold / hot) and very important free access to Wi-Fi connection. Our elegant "O Lago" restaurant is overlooking the Falesia Hotel beautiful gardens with some small fountains and where our delicious Buffett meals are served. "Show Bar" is the place to be in the evenings where the entertainment is provided for all those that are ready to party (occasional entertainment during the winter only). "Palm Bar" is serving those fantastic cocktails and the rest of the refreshing drinks during the high summer months.All the Golfers don't need to go far. There is a Golf Course next to Falesia Hotel and Vilamoura - with its best Golf Courses in Europe - is only up to 15 minutes drive from the Falesia Hotel.And if you want to have much bigger selection of shops, restaurants, bars, discos and any other entertainment, it is only between 5 and 8.5 Km to get to the capital of Portuguese tourism - Albufeira.If you are after complete relaxation you do not need to look any further. It is all waiting for you in the Falesia Hotel... "Simply relaxing... Holidays with no children" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HotelsClick, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Falesia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falesia Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Hotel Falesia Algarve
Falesia Hotel Portugal
Falesia Hotel Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing