We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Falesia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Falesia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Had a fantastic time here. Adult only, which made for a much more relaxed holiday. Spotlessly clean hotel. The staff couldn't do more for you. The food is exceptional with lots of variety.
Located in a quiet part of Albufeira but still easy to reach the nightlife and shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LondonSimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

918 - 924 of 2,040 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very clean and the food is very good, but for starters it is for over 65 people. The entertainment is all for old people. 90 % of the guests are over 65. Hotel bars close at 12. Also you pay extra for Internet, fridge and safe, none of these you would expect from a four star hotel. The beach is at least a 25 min walk so dont expect to stroll over too easy. There is also very little in the area, a few pub/restaurants. I am 38, holidaying with my pregnant wife. But we are not dead yet. Not recommended for anyone under 70.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank frank f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos F, Gerente geral at Falesia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guests,

It is very disappointing to see that you have not had the best holiday.
Pleased to see that you have enjoyed the food and found the hotel clean.

There must some misunderstanding regarding the extra payments. We would always suggest to do a little research before going to the hotel for the first time. On our website (and all our partners websites in shorter versions) you can find all the small details and there should be no surprises when getting to the hotel.
We are definitely not hiding any information from our guest and at the check in - all the guests - receive the details information about the hotel facilities. On the second day of the stay all our guests receive welcome letter from myself asking all our valued guests to let us know immediately if - by any chance - we are not meeting any of their expectation as we are sure we can put the right.
Hence rather surprising claim that the internet is charged (only a week ago we have changed our system and now you can upgrade to premium service if you require larger downloads - €2 a day or €10 a week) as the standard WiFi is accessible free of charge and all through the hotel, mini fridge or fridge is the option and if you decide for mini bar - one pays for only what one consumes, but if you prefer to use the same mini bar as the fridge - there is a charge of €2,50 per room per day.
Safety deposit boxes are the individual ones and rented in the rooms - hence a charge of €2.50. All the above has been mentioned on the Tripadvisor in the past already as well.

Most of the hotel bars (including the very busy resorts) are open until midnight. Of course - there are a lot of busy resorts with very busy night life. As we are offering "Simply relaxing holidays" - we are not in the centre of the busy resort but in very close vicinity and reachable in about ten minutes drive by car/taxi.
Falesia beach is one of the most beautiful beaches in Europe with typical Algarvian red cliffs and there are always some steps involved somewhere. Hotel next door has also got a lift to help to get to the beach and it would take around 20 minutes to get there.

We must say we are very disappointed at your view of our guests and your comments regarding the age of hotel Falesia guests. Yes - our concept is Adult only hotel - we have got only one age limit - minimum 16 year of age. All the other ages are very welcome and our aim is to make sure our guests have got very enjoyable holidays.

Wishing you all the best and hoping that your future holiday will be meeting more of your expectations.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just returned from our first trip to Portugal and our first Thomson gold hotel .The hotel is absolutely stunning and immaculate .The grounds are superb .It makes a change not to have to go down early to reserve a sun lounger as there are plenty. The food is lovely with lots of choice both at breakfast and evening meal .make sure you try they're crepes .lunch by the pool was always of a good standard with plenty of choice too and very reasonably priced. The staff are an absolute credit to this hotel and nothing was too much trouble for them .Our days were spent mostly chilling by the pool taking part in the pool side quiz and guess the 3 celebrity voices you know what im talking about if you've been there..
Evening's were a slightly different issue for us .The min age of the guests were around 60 plus which I have no problem with but we did find the entertainment was catered for that generation. Elvis tribute night ,brass band etc so this was a little boring for us and you could see many of the guests leaving and going elsewhere for the evening which is a shame .Evenings are quite cool in Portugal so What the hotel manager should consider is getting a few patio heaters for the evening and putting them around the outside pool bar as im quite sure this would keep guests spending around the hotel and catering for people who don't like the indoor entertainment .
Rooms were always spotlessly clean little outdated but nothing to complain about .only 2 plugs in the room which was a pain especially when drying or straightening hair as the plugs weren't anywhere near the mirrors .
I would recommend this hotel and would return .I would recommend paying the extra for the pool view room as this room has the sun from midday right the way to the evening .

Thanks Felesia for a great holiday

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are much better and try to get the 3rd floor as no noise from entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

What a fab holiday firstly adults only is fantastic the place shows food everything is brilliant .
Have to say we don't want to come home .
Will deffo return
Thank you Thompson gold for a truly fab holiday

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debsjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just returned from a 10 night stay at the Falesia Hotel. The Falesia is an 'adult only' hotel which is what attracted us to it. The staff were extremely pleasant, the hotel was very clean and the choice and amount of food on offer was comparable to that on a cruise liner......something to suit all tastes. Initially we were accommodated on the second floor but we found that the noise from the Show Bar was affecting our sleep. Following a discussion with the Thomson reps Gemma and Hayley and Carlos the Manager of the hotel, another room was found for us on the 3rd floor overlooking the gardens, which suited us much better. The majority of people were aged 50+ but younger people were arriving just before we left. We are not much into entertainment but there was plenty on offer both during the day with games around the pool and in the evening in the Show Bar. All in all we had a super holiday in a lovely hotel and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you prefer early nights then avoid the 2nd floor. Would recommend 3rd or 4th floors and upgrade t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ratters09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our second visit and we were not disappointed. It was all we expected and more. There was no aspect of our stay that we could really fault. From the first welcome to the final departure, everything was superbly organised and professionally carried out by the hotel and Thomson's teams. We were well looked after and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The hotel room was spacious and very clean and the rest of the hotel was spotless and well maintained. The food was superb and we always seemed to eat too much. During our stay at the end of June the hotel was full but we still felt that it was not crowded and the famous 'towels on sunbeds' religiously carried out by some was not necessary. The entertainment was first class and the bar staff were very friendly and helpful. We will hopefully be back next year. Well done to Carlos and his team.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but pool views get the sun all day so are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garbla900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have just returned from another relaxing holiday at this splendid hotel. The staff are, without exception, polite, friendly and always helpful making for a good holiday. The hotel and the vast gardens are beautifully maintained. There are plenty of sun loungers around the large pool and dotted around the gardens if you want a secluded area. The food too is excellent and beautifully presented with lots of fruit and vegetable carvings (you can see these demonstrated one morning). Victor the local interest rep is a fount of knowledge and takes interesting walks in the locality as well as two different half day mystery tours, which are a must! The Thomson staff work hard to make your stay enjoyable with daytime activities, and do their best in the evenings, but we were disappointed that there is no longer a Thomson gold production team as we have always enjoyed their shows at this and other gold hotels. The comedians flown in by Thomson were very mediocre at best and not really our 'cup of tea'.Talking of tea, do take your own travel kettle if you want to make tea in your room. Only the superior rooms have them provided. The other change from previous years is the television, as BBC and ITV are not, at present, available in hotels in Spain and Portugal. The only English programmes are Sky News and CNN news.
We will probably return in a year or two and hope Thomson will re introduce a production team.

Room Tip: It is well worth paying the little extra for a pool view as you then have all the afternoon sun and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos F, Gerente geral at Falesia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for being such a faithful guests and - all of us in the Falesia Hotel - will always try and do our very best to make sure your stays are most enjoyable ones.
It is great to see that you have had another great holiday and we are sorry if not all of your expectations were met.

Entertainment depends so much on ones personal taste and it is very difficult to please everybody, but I can assure you that together with Thomson, we are trying to provide the entertainment that majority will find at least something that they would really enjoy. Some guests enjoy the comedian shows and the others prefer song and dance routines. Lets hope that we can have something that you will enjoy better at your next visit.

On the other hand I am very pleased to say that the issue of the TV has nearly been resolved and there will be even more channels then in the past. Hope this is a good news for your next visit.

Once again, thank you for your opinion and for writing the review. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,155 reviews
0.5 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,391 reviews
0.7 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
246 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falesia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falesia Hotel

Address: Pinhal do Concelho | Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#18 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £32 - £879 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Falesia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falesia Hotel is located close to Falesia Beach (800mts) and the town of Albufeira and in the center of the Algarve. Falesia Hotel in Acoteias surprise you with tranquil gardens and ample spaces, where one can soak the sun, tranquility, fresh air and smell of the beautifull umbrella shaped pine trees.For you well being and complete relaxation, there is a large outdoor pool as well as indoor one with Jacuzzi, Turkish Bath and Spa. Falesia Hotel is offering 169 rooms - all of the with the balcony and the views either of the pool, gardens, mountains - or even the driving range of the next door Golf Course. All the rooms also come with LCD satellite television, air condition (cold / hot) and very important free access to Wi-Fi connection. Our elegant "O Lago" restaurant is overlooking the Falesia Hotel beautiful gardens with some small fountains and where our delicious Buffett meals are served. "Show Bar" is the place to be in the evenings where the entertainment is provided for all those that are ready to party (occasional entertainment during the winter only). "Palm Bar" is serving those fantastic cocktails and the rest of the refreshing drinks during the high summer months.All the Golfers don't need to go far. There is a Golf Course next to Falesia Hotel and Vilamoura - with its best Golf Courses in Europe - is only up to 15 minutes drive from the Falesia Hotel.And if you want to have much bigger selection of shops, restaurants, bars, discos and any other entertainment, it is only between 5 and 8.5 Km to get to the capital of Portuguese tourism - Albufeira.If you are after complete relaxation you do not need to look any further. It is all waiting for you in the Falesia Hotel... "Simply relaxing... Holidays with no children" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falesia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falesia Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Hotel Falesia Algarve
Falesia Hotel Portugal
Falesia Hotel Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing