We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Falesia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Falesia Hotel
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Canvey Island
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 9 October 2009

This was our first visit and we had the best holiday for quite sometime. The food was excellent could not fault any choices at all it fact spoilt for choice. The entertainment was excellent especially Adam as Mario around the pool area doing sunbed aerobics. We felt Adam, Jon, Lauren and Rachel did a very professional job that we did not go out on any evening. We would recommend this hotel to our friends and we are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BubleCanveyIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,235
    539
    125
    28
    9
See reviews for
140
1,490
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Our second visit to the Falesia this year. If a relaxing break is what you need this is the place. We enjoyed our 2 weeks in June so much we just had to go back and although it was only a 5 day break - it was first class.

The room (210, a superior) was spacious with a sunny balcony overlooking the well kept gardens. The beds are so comfortable I almost treated myself to a "lay-in".

The food was great and varied (to the people who complain about the food - I would love to know what they eat at home). There was always ample seating what ever time we visited the restaurant.

The entertainment was delivered by a first class talented group of proffessionals. The content of one or two of the sketches was a bit weak, ie Howdown Showdown and Parisian Nights (but not the fault of the performers - blame the writers). The Sixties Night was excellent and the Music of the Night cabaret was fantastic (We have seen most West End musicals and these two performers -Lauren and Adam- would not be out of place on those halowed stages). Unfortunately, the show bar appeared not to be very well patronised - no doubt because of the following paragraph.

The bar/drinks prices (to echo most other guests views) were overpriced with the result that the majority of guests either stayed away or drank very little. I understand that it has been said to the bar management the if the prices were more reasonable more people would patronise their bar and drink more. However it is obvious that they do no understand the terms "turnover and profit". (50% profit on 100 euros is 50 euros - 200% profit on zero euros is.....need I say more.)

Change your money before you go - or you will need to use the bank just down the road unless going into Albufeira.

Great hotel, great staff, great food, great entertainers and all the relaxation you can handle. (and of course - no children)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayaddict15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We stayed at the Falesia a couple of years ago and decided to return this year. Sadly the Hotel has slipped in quality, and certainly does not live up to 4 stars. We will not be returning again. Read why;-
1) The bathrooms are in need of refurbishment. Cracked tiles, mould around corners etc.
2) Pool side. The sunbeds are worn and extremely uncomfortable. Cleaners do not clean up previous days glasses, ash trays etc every day.
3) The pool. Broken tiles on pool floor. Pool appeared green in certain areas, not cleaned regularly - only noticed in being done once during our 14 night stay. Rubbish at bottom of pool and dirty layer of film on surface.
4) Restaurant. On our previous visit we found the restaurant excellent. This time they seem to have replaced a good choice of meats with pies and pastries. Not so good.
5) Evening entertainment very poor, but for some strange reason many of the guests seemed to love it!
The hotel needs to address the above issues.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peterjbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Just came back from staying 7 nights at the Falesia Hotel. Reception check in very fast, and reception staff very helpful. We stayed in a superior room which was very good except for the strange smell coming from the air conditioning system. The room had a seperate area with a sofa but the only thing they need to do is maybe have the tv in front of the sofa and not the bed. The channels had bbc1 and itv1 so you could watch your programmes as usual if you wish. Tea and coffee making facilities provided. slippers ,dressing gowns , water and wine and fruit also provided. If you wanted to use the fridge you had to pay 25 euros which is very steep. We were told at reception that the superior rooms do not face the pool so be aware of that ,I f you want a pool view then you will get a standard room. Our room was above the entertainment so we did not get to sleep till after 12.00 at night when HANY PANKY the resident duo finished their little singing act. The view from the room was of the road that leads onto the Sheraton next door and there was a lot of noise but if you closed the balcony door then it was quite.
The guests were mainly over 60 years or more but they were really nice and friendly, we nicknamed the hotel thomson old instead of gold.
The meals were ok breakfast was good. The waiting staff were ok except for the odd one who kept asking us to move from a table for four to a table for two even though i could see dozens of people doing the same but nothing was said.
The bar staff were quick and efficient , we were surprised they could hear us as the entertainment system was too loud.
The entertainment was good and we were lucky to have had been there when they had two comedians who were both very funny.
There is an indoor pool which was no good for me as it was quite deep and i cant swim very well. There is a very small jaccuzi also.
The beach can be reached by shuttle bus but please be aware that there is a slope and stairs so no good if you have mobiliy problems.
Do not book excursions with Thomson as they are a rip off, There is a little agency down some steps and to the right and there is an english lady there who will do the same trips for much less.
Also if you want to go into the old or new town then get a taxi its about 10 euros.
Supermarkets near the hotel are quite good and there are cash machines also.
Plenty of sunbeds but beware of the flys in the garden area.
All in all an enjoyable break but we will not be returning to this hotel in future.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigerfeetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Food: Excellent. Wide choice and good quality.

Staff: Excellent. Dining room, maid service and entertainment teams especially so.

Location: Isolated. If you just want to laze around the hotel and pool then the Falesia is a good choice. However, the isolated location - 30min walk to beach and only a few shops nearby - is a major downside. There are no promenades anywhere near the Falesia so, walks after dinner, for instance, are a no go.

Rooms: Average. Well below what we were expecting for a Thomson Gold. Grouting in our bathroom and floor areas was especially in need of attention. Hygiene issues here.
No overhead light on the balcony.

Charges: Excessive.
Once again, considering this is a Thomson Gold, we weren't expecting to be asked for £25 for a tiny fridge and £16 for a safe for one week. We declined the fridge.
Another example of Thomson's avarice is the hotel bus (26 seater) to Albufeira (worth a visit BTW). If full, at E5 per person one way this generates E130 for Thomson. For a 10 min journey!! Get a taxi - if there's 2 or more it's cheaper and is available as and when.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripper076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Great hotel. 4 stars does not do this hotel justice. Staff very friendly, food GREAT, setting fantastic. A short walk to the beach ( 10-15 mins via lift) through the fantastic Sheraton Algarve. This hotel has a fantastic decor only down side, stairs at the back of the hotel (really fire exits) and two small lifts. ....So what!!!!!! Went for a week wish we had stayed two.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaguar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Very nice hotel indeed. Lovely and relaxing, good food, well mannered and attentive staff,in fact it is very difficult to find fault with this hotel.
Suited to people who are looking to relax by a nice pool or in delightful gardens without crowds, loud music or (no offence) kids!
It was nice to wander out by the pool at anytime and find a sunbed, or to go to breakfast or dinner without queues and enjoy well prepared and varied food.
The reps and entertainment staff were excellent, special mention to Jon ( super singer) and the brilliant Marco!
OK the drinks are expensive, but you can always wander over to the Brothers Bar across the road and enjoy a lovely jug of Sangria for 9 euroes and mix with the friendly locals.
The only slight downside is that there are few amenities nearby, but the ambience of the hotel more than makes up for that. I would certainly go back and I know a lot of my fellow guests do. Final point, my fellow guests all seemed a real nice bunch of people.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paddyharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,248 reviews
0.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,039 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,368 reviews
2.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
193 reviews
7.7 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falesia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falesia Hotel

Property: Falesia Hotel
Address: Pinhal do Concelho | Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Falesia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falesia Hotel is located close to Falesia Beach (800mts) and the town of Albufeira and in the center of the Algarve. Falesia Hotel in Acoteias surprise you with tranquil gardens and ample spaces, where one can soak the sun, tranquility, fresh air and smell of the beautifull umbrella shaped pine trees.For you well being and complete relaxation, there is a large outdoor pool as well as indoor one with Jacuzzi, Turkish Bath and Spa. Falesia Hotel is offering 169 rooms - all of the with the balcony and the views either of the pool, gardens, mountains - or even the driving range of the next door Golf Course. All the rooms also come with LCD satellite television, air condition (cold / hot) and very important free access to Wi-Fi connection. Our elegant "O Lago" restaurant is overlooking the Falesia Hotel beautiful gardens with some small fountains and where our delicious Buffett meals are served. "Show Bar" is the place to be in the evenings where the entertainment is provided for all those that are ready to party (occasional entertainment during the winter only). "Palm Bar" is serving those fantastic cocktails and the rest of the refreshing drinks during the high summer months.All the Golfers don't need to go far. There is a Golf Course next to Falesia Hotel and Vilamoura - with its best Golf Courses in Europe - is only up to 15 minutes drive from the Falesia Hotel.And if you want to have much bigger selection of shops, restaurants, bars, discos and any other entertainment, it is only between 5 and 8.5 Km to get to the capital of Portuguese tourism - Albufeira.If you are after complete relaxation you do not need to look any further. It is all waiting for you in the Falesia Hotel... "Simply relaxing... Holidays with no children" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Falesia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falesia Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Hotel Falesia Algarve
Falesia Hotel Portugal
Falesia Hotel Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing