We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Falesia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Falesia Hotel
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We went back to the Falesia Hotel after being there in 2009 and the same as last year the staff, the food, the room and area were excellent. The only downside was the entertainment. Last year the entertainment was superb this year the entertainment I feel was for the younger people i.e. children as one evening we were asked if we wished to make animals out of balloons which we felt was not for us. There was a singer Daniel who sang a song that his friend liked and it was all in Welsh which nobody understood so overall the entertainment we felt was poor in comparison to last year. There was a group Strawberry Blonde that sang in the evenings and sometimes outside and they were pretty poor in fact their songs were quite miserable in fact afterward they sang you were not sure whether to cry or just get depressed. We will go back but will check the entertainment if we can first.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubleCanveyIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,008)
There are newer reviews for Falesia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,564 - 1,570 of 2,009 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2010

Just returned from a scorching week with temps in the 30s every day. A great stay at the Felesia Hotel. The food was plentiful and lots of choice. Once we had eaten a good breakfast (even though not a healthy one!) off to the sunbeds and pool we went.

No sooner had we sat down the daily entertainment was starting. A great way to meet the team and fellow holidaymakers. We enjoyed all the ones we entered, it was fun to do.

Posh Jen and Welsh Daniel both had great voices and Jo is so funny and competitive (do see her caberet) and Brazillian Philippe is a great alrounder.

There are plenty of shops, bars, cafe a short distance away down the steps from hotel, either way. The Hotel has a free bus serivce to the beach but the walk is only 25 minutes away through Pine Cliffs, but we preferred walking about same distance through Acoteias stopping at the Pizza bar for a San Miguel and a plate of chips! Good Chinese here as well on corner. Then getting hotel bus back later.

A mini bus can be booked from Pride of Place to Villamoura for 5 euro return. We used the local buses to go to Albufeira, the fare is 2.8 Euros single. It gives you more fexability when returning than the Hotel bus. We also took the bus to Alburfeira Strip for an evenings entertainment. It is good to see many families out together at night time, We spent a great evening in Wild & Co watching a Rock Band playing live music such as Bon Jovi, Free and Quo.

Only downsides were the extra charge for private use of the fridge in an already surcharged Junior Suite, and the air-conditioning that we would have liked cooler (up to 33 degrees outside on our stay)

We were surprised when some people said this hotel was in the middle of nowhere. Perhaps they are unable to walk very far!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barbara-irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

my wife and i have just come back from a two week stay. Good points the staff,loverly people and nothing was to much trouble.The hotel was
spotles as was the very cold swimming pool.Now prices, everything is over priced they dont miss a trick we asked for aquiet room they changed our room, cost 15euro, 2coffes after dinner 4.80euros in thevillage only 2.40euros drinks,water all overpriced.
The entertainment was average and loud in the evevings this could be heard all around the hotel and as there was only the showbar a night i found it annoying there was no where to sit and have a chat .
Finally the beach, if you are a little unsteady on your feet or have only a slight problem walking forget the beach, the walk through the sheareton is agood 20 mins and catching the hotel shuttle bus still leaves you with a walk down a steep hill and then steps on to the beach.
I would say that this rearly a 3star hotel not 4 star

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

This was our first venture into Portugal, so based on previous reviews we decided to try out the Falesia. The thomson gold rating for the hotel is well deserved apart from the little niggle we had with the evening meal.
The room we had was on the top floor overlooking the pool and the neighbouring golf course, which we later found was the short cut to the beach. The room was spotlessly clean and modernly furnished allthough the fridge had to be paid for separately (usualy free in a 4* star hotel).
The pool area and gardens were immaculate with plenty of sun loungers if you wished to have a lazy day round the hotel. The walk to the beach took about half an hour but was worth it when you came upon the view from the top of the cliffs, lovely white sand for as far as you could see. Further along the beech there are some steps and a lift up to the top of the cliffs which is the short cut back to the hotel.
The entertainment was ok but we prefer to be out and about enjoying a drink in the local bars.
The dining room was in a realy nice setting looking out onto gardens. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice , however the evening meal was a different story.The salad bar was first class,but the soups were only mediocre. The main courses were the let down, not once did we see a carvery ,or steaks on the grill,but only offered tiny pieces of chicken or pork or duck in various sauces accompanied with tasteless vegetables.The waiting staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.The wine seemed to be a bit over priced at 16 euro,the same bottle could be bought in supermarket for 3 euro! Apart from this little niggle,we would recomend the Falesia for its high standards in all areas,and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestyorksSilverfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

One of the best four -star hotels we have stayed in. The hotel is set in its own grounds next to pine trees and the golf course of the plush Sheraton complex, which gives an up-market feel to the area. We had asked for a quiet room, and were allocated a top-floor studio near the end of a corridor - full marks to the staff for taking note of our request.. The large room was clean, impeccably maintained and comfortable.
Note that that this is a Thompson Gold hotel, so no children are allowed. Again, this leads to a peaceful atmosphere as the clientelle (virtually all British) tend to be older couples.
We were on half board. The food was very good and the restaurant had a relaxed air. We have found that in many 4-star hotels the food is very good but the restaurants are bustling, with stressed wine waiters rushing to keep up with the crowds. Not so here: you felt you could relax and take things at your own pace.
You do need a car if intending to travel around the Algarve, although many people seemed happy to relax in the lovely grounds.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunnio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Have just returned from 10 nights at the Falesia. Loved the area, beautiful weather and the locals couldn't have been friendlier!
Agree with what many of the other reviewers have said, very clean, excellent staff, beautiful gardens and pool area, lots of sunbeds. We were disappointed with our balcony (on ground floor looking onto an air conditioning unit) as many rooms had pool and garden views. Having said that, we could have asked to move (a lot of people did with no problems).
Staff and the Thompson reps work so hard to make everyone's holiday special. We are quite a bit younger than the majority of the guests in the hotel so the entertainment wasn't always our thing. Although Barry from Eastenders (Shaun Williams) was really good.
The food was a disappointment and not 4 star. Breakfast was fine and the English style breakfasts went down well. There is also a buffet style dinner in the evening but I’m afraid to say some of the dishes that were on offer were quite bland and lukewarm, pasta was over-cooked, pizza was made using shop-brought pizza base, fruit salad a few nights was out of a tin! Portuguese night was good though, so perhaps the chef thinks this is akin what we have at home.
Although the drink prices seem reasonable (compared to London) you only need to go to the bars on the street outside the hotel to pick up a pint of beer for 1.50 euros!!
Overall, I think all the guests were made to feel well looked after at this hotel – but the food just isn’t on a par with the standards of the rest of the hotel

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuAndJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Having just returned from this hotel I would like to add a few comments which might assist others in deciding to stay there.
Firstly we paid a considerable supplement to upgrade to what Thomsons website describes a suite. If a free half bottle of wine, free use of the safe, kettle (provided free in UK Budget hotels) and 1.5 litres of water constitutes a suite it is. All it actually is is a larger room with a sitting area with a sofa and table, you are then expected to pay 3.50 euros a day to use the fridge (which should surely be included). The room itself was tired and in need of refurbishment. We have stayed in several 4/5 star hotels over the years and this was not what we would call a suite.
The food at breakfast was passable, but only two choices of cereal. The surrounding countryside is full of orange groves but there was no fresh orange juice at breakfast.
Dinner, now this was a real test as the food was truly awful. A different soup every night but no difference intaste, it did not have any. If you had been served the main courses in a UK budget chain pub restaurant you would have sent it back. The food was invariably cold or barely warm and the vegetables were mainly frozen and a lot of the salad tasteless. The wine list is over priced go to the main street shops and get decent wine for less than a third of the price. Water at 3 euros for 0.5 litres is very pricey. If you do go do not upgrade and eat out!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DavidWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,118 reviews
0.5 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,341 reviews
0.7 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
231 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
7.7 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falesia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falesia Hotel

Address: Pinhal do Concelho | Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#18 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £44 - £877 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Falesia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falesia Hotel is located close to Falesia Beach (800mts) and the town of Albufeira and in the center of the Algarve. Falesia Hotel in Acoteias surprise you with tranquil gardens and ample spaces, where one can soak the sun, tranquility, fresh air and smell of the beautifull umbrella shaped pine trees.For you well being and complete relaxation, there is a large outdoor pool as well as indoor one with Jacuzzi, Turkish Bath and Spa. Falesia Hotel is offering 169 rooms - all of the with the balcony and the views either of the pool, gardens, mountains - or even the driving range of the next door Golf Course. All the rooms also come with LCD satellite television, air condition (cold / hot) and very important free access to Wi-Fi connection. Our elegant "O Lago" restaurant is overlooking the Falesia Hotel beautiful gardens with some small fountains and where our delicious Buffett meals are served. "Show Bar" is the place to be in the evenings where the entertainment is provided for all those that are ready to party (occasional entertainment during the winter only). "Palm Bar" is serving those fantastic cocktails and the rest of the refreshing drinks during the high summer months.All the Golfers don't need to go far. There is a Golf Course next to Falesia Hotel and Vilamoura - with its best Golf Courses in Europe - is only up to 15 minutes drive from the Falesia Hotel.And if you want to have much bigger selection of shops, restaurants, bars, discos and any other entertainment, it is only between 5 and 8.5 Km to get to the capital of Portuguese tourism - Albufeira.If you are after complete relaxation you do not need to look any further. It is all waiting for you in the Falesia Hotel... "Simply relaxing... Holidays with no children" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Falesia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falesia Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Hotel Falesia Algarve
Falesia Hotel Portugal
Falesia Hotel Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing