We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bits and some not so good but still a great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
Ranked #146 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good bits and some not so good but still a great holiday”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We have just got back from ten days at Villa Alba, had a great holiday, not a 4 star as advertised in a lot of places, more like a 3, but came away with a pretty balanced view of the place and having enjoyed our stay.
Good points :
- we paid for a 1 bedroom apartment and got a 2 bed one instead, massive for 2 people with lots of space.
- Nice clean swimming pool area, never any problems getting a sunbed and reasonably priced snack bar with a good variety of snacks.
- Kitchen quite well equipped with a washing machine, electric oven, microwave and kettle.
- Excellent location - nearest supermarket is a 5 minute walk away, then the start of the strip is probably about a 7 minute walk. Nearest beach is around 15 minutes walk away but the hotel offers a free shuttle service twice a day, check in reception for times and to book on. Taxis to the old town cost about 5 euros, plus 1 euro that reception will charge you for ringing one for you, but if you’re on holiday as a couple, there is a ‘train’ that goes from the strip to the old town, 4 euros for an all day jump on jump off ticket, so we saved a bit of money by doing that one day.
- Staff on the whole were friendly and helpful on reception.
Not so good points :
- the maid service, came in each day and made the beds, replaced toilet roll but not sure what else, pretty sure floors were not swept during our 10 day stay and no cleaning equipment provided so we could do this ourselves. Towels are meant to be changed twice a week, we’d been there 4/5 days and hadn’t been done so requested new ones from reception. Bedding is meant to be changed once a week but this was not done during our stay.
- Bathroom could do with an update and wasn‘t always enough hot water for us both to shower one after another, had to give it 20 minutes or so inbetween.
- Apartments have telephones but can’t be used as the hotel doesn’t have a line yet.
BUT none of these things were enough to have much of an impact on our holiday, still had a great time, just a few things to be aware of.
General info - the safe costs 15 euros for the week, plus a 15 euro refundable deposit, and contents are insured up to 1000 euros. The apartments do not have air conditioning which wasn’t a problem in September with temperatures outside around 27 degrees, the apartment stayed quite cool, but unsure whether I would risk staying here in the hottest months without air con. Personally I was glad we were on the 1st floor so if we stayed again, I think I would request this, especially if you want a pool view.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LovesHolidays78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    33
    39
    19
    41
See reviews for
58
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The only good thing that I can say about this property is that the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, particularly the receptionist.
Most of the listed reviews are pre2008 and I can only conclude that standards have slipped alarmingly.
The room was shabby, outdated and in need of drastic refurbishment/re-fit.
The bathroom was in a dreadful condition and fell well below an advertised basic 3 star listing.
There was a lot of damage to interior fittings and walls and ceilings are in need of urgent decoration.
The terrace was never swept (or even touched) during our ten day stay stay.
Air-con would have been appreciated but shutters provided some essential airflow.
Swimming pool area was dirty and rubbish was left over a period of several days.
There were several groups of stag parties and hen parties during our stay (mostly brits) and we endured a number of sleepless nights due to inconsiderate morons staying in adjacent or semi-adjacent rooms.
The location of the property was not bad. It was only a five or ten minute walk to the 'strip' and a further fifteen to twenty minutes to the beach.

Room Tip: If you are visiting old Albufeira, take a taxi as it's 4 or 5 euro and takes about five minutes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeordieYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

co durham uk
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2011

i have just returned from a 11 nite stay at these apts , in need of updating ,spacious apt, clean linen and towels were only good points, pool area was dirty in places. we had ground floor apt,terrace area was dirty,never swept during our stay. shower in bathroom ,terrible. overall the location was to far away from old town and beach. spent most of our days at friends hotel ,brisa sol,

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

When we got thee was very pleased with the room clean, very spacious and modern.The only ssuewe had was theshower blocked and the bath was full for about a hour or more ... I had to have a shower by te pool so i could wash my hair without haing to stand in my friends shower water.. I complained to receptin n the third day and a maintance man was there withi the hour. We were meeting friends as soon as we got there so went straight out. thinking the stripwas close!! dont listen to maps its bout a 25 min walk. we had t flag a taxi. but looked the way taxi driver went we walked it the next night. "the strp" is great full of bars not so many restaurants.everyone is very friendly and like most places has PR'S, drinks were expensive 5 euros a drink more depending.Recommend wilds and co for the live band they were brill!! and libertos who has a very cute guitarist who also sings, its very classy and clean lookig place. I also recommend the old town. which cost about 5 euros in a taxi. more family orientated lots of choice in restaurants and has some very nice bars there is a lovely restaurant near the tunnel. staff very friendly and some nice chilled out bars close by away from the hussel and bussell. thee is also a live strip in the old town but i prefer the new strip.
I WOULD RECOMMEND ALBERFERIA TO ANYONE INCLUDING STAG AND HENS PARTIES ALTHOUGH MAYBE NOT THIS HOTEL AS ITS A FAMILY BASED.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heavenholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We have just returned back from staying at the Vila Alba apartments. We could not not fault them at all. The cleaners were in every day to make the beds and take the rubbish and the towels were changed twice within the week. For self catering I was very impressed with this service. The apartments were very clean with all the amaneties needed. The balconies even had sunbeds on them. The pool was lovely with plenty of sunbeds and parasols that were still available even later on in the day. There is a nice snack bar that sell drinks, ice creams and burgers, the food is of good quality as well. The staff at reception are also very helpful and will go out of there way if there is anything you need, which is always nice.
The only negative I have about the Vila Alba is its location. On the map (not just on trip advisor but expedia and other travel websites) it states the apartments are situated half way up the strip. This is NOT the case they are located behind the Montechoro hotel right at the very top of the strip so the walk to the beach is at least a 15/20 Minute walk. This wasn't too much of a problem for us but with me having back trouble it did get a bit too much by the time we reached the top as the strip is situated on a hill. But for people who have walking difficulties etc, this would not be ideal if you think the hotel is situated further down.
Having now stayed here at the Vila Alba we would definately return and recommend these apartments to others but if we had known how far up they were before arriving we probably wouldn't have booked this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leanne87_894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viseu, Portugal
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Me, my wife and my baby daughter spent there 10 days. I reserved a T1 but they gave us a T2, so lot's of space.
Very calm, 1km away from the albufeira center, so having a car it's a good idea or renting a Vespa!
The villas have washing machine, toaster, boiler, and more... Great to travel with few cloths.
The villas have some fails like lamps that doesn't work, few electric points to the electric things and such (no big deal)
The AC it's probably needed on June, July and August.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helio69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Just got back from staying here and thought the apartment was great value for money. We had a one bedroom apartment which was huge and very well equipped. Great pool area with separate toddler swimming pool ... great for my little boy of 3.

The only thing I would say wrong with it is that it can be noisy at night.
There were groups of girls / boys who would be noisy coming in during the early hours and people partying on their balconies. Not great when you have small children. Have to admit that wouldn't want to go at the height of the season when really busy.

Due to the few nights of lack of sleep probably wouldn't go back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looby063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim
Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim
#141 of 154 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#61 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novochoro Apartamentos Turisticos
1.5 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#142 of 154 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.5 mi away
Turial Park
Turial Park
#111 of 154 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheerfulway Vila Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheerfulway Vila Alba

Property: Cheerfulway Vila Alba
Address: Rua Adriano Correia de Oliveira 160 E | Montechoro, Albufeira 8200-084, Portugal (Formerly Vila Alba Beach & Sun Club)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheerfulway Vila Alba 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cheerfulway Vila Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Alba Beach & Sun Club Hotel Albufeira
Vila Alba Beach And Sun Club
Vila Alba Beach Sun Hotel
Vila Alba Apartments
Vila Alba Albufeira
Cheerfulway Vila Alba Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing