We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give my head peace.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
Ranked #140 of 152 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

As the old saying goes "If I knew then what I know now" this sums up our feelings on our stay. We ( two adults, two kids) booked what we though was a 10 night family stay at Cheerfulway Vila Alba, Montechero. Having stayed there 7 years ago we thought we were returning to a known quantity. The intervening years have not been kind to Vila Alba as we were greeted to a very tired apartment that looked overdue it's makeover. Fixtures and fittings were not secured properly throughout the kitchen, bathroom and living room. The free wifi has to be availed of in or close to reception which in today's world is a bit archaic. Since our last visit it seems that the Management Company have an agreement with an 18-30 club. This arrangement brings with it the daily competition of who has the biggest Boom Box poolside. Night time is also a battle for sleep as 4am is marked by dips in the pool as the groups return from the Strip. This nightly event is made worst as the apartment does not have AC and you have to leave all windows open to allow the cool air in with the noise. Management seem either unwilling or unable to control the young visitors who seem to have no regard for others. All in all a hugely disappointing stay at Vila Alba.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

I visited this place last week....
We tried to check in at 13,30, but they said they were finishing cleaning the apartment. At 14,30 we tried again, and they said they were waiting for the bed linen-apart from that, all was ready. (checkin time advertised was 14,00). We said it was ok for us, and we may go to the room, as my grandma was with us and she was tired of the trip. We entered in the apartment and it was absolutely dirty- The maids came around 15,00 to clean, and they were trying to explain in portuguese that they didn´t have all the linens yet...
The apartment is not bad at all, however, everything is old fashion and bit dirty.
All around us was occupied by young people (we thought we may be in Magaluf!!!) and they were extremely noisy during the night!!!!!
The pool area was nice, however, all these people with music all the time!
As well, they have a lovely gardener who is working every single "siesta" time and in the morning around 10.00!!!!
I won´t come again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This is my second visit to these appartments...very basic...bathroom full of mould...shower head didnt work and handle on door broken but fixed in minutes once reported...Ant colony in the kitchen was killed after we got some ant killer and dusted it about....beds not that comfortable but not the worst ive slept on

Great view of the pool and pool area pretty nice and snack bar makes great breakfast and omeletes at resonable prices...for 4 lads on a golfing trip was ok but wouldnt bring my family here. A few groups of lads and lasses over the weekend and quite a lot of swearing...Wi fi available only in the very small reception area...no signal around the pool...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have stayed here 4 times over the last few years and it has been getting slowly worse. There are many good points to this complex such as the lovely clean pool area and snack bar. The staff in the pool bar, are brilliant. So friendly and helpfull. The drinks and snacks are reasonably priced and its a really nice place to realax by the pool. The apartments are ok, a little run down now with leaking taps, we had a fridge door that doesnt close properly and the matresses are so worn and flat. Better to sleep on the sofas as they are so much more comfortable. The maid comes round every day to empty the bins and mop the floor but don't expect any clean towles. We sayed for a week this time and never got any clean ones. The only wifi avalible is in the tiny reception with only 4 chairs. It is also a poor connection, if there are a few people already using it it can be difficult to connect. The really poor service comes from reception, there is a gate in to the pool area which requires a code to get through. Having stayed here before we knew it so wasnt a problem for us but when people were checking in there was no mention of the code and everyone seemed to be going back to ask. The reception staff seemed particuly unhelpfull this time, it was almost as if they were trying to be dificult and unhelpful. Some people were asking a simple question like 'is there a small supermarker nearby'? the man on reception told them the nearest was 3km away and the would have to get a taxi. There is infact a supermarket about 5 mins walk away. Its not huge but more than adequite to stock up if your self catering. Just down from Erins Isle bar if you are looking for it. I also noticed when they are directing people to there rooms the directions they give are rediculous and over complicated. No wonder people strugle to find there apartment.

I would stay here again but only beause we booked it so cheeply. You do get what you pay for and we paid absolutly peanuts to stay here therefore we dont expect luxury. A few niggles are not a huge problem but if this was a family holiday or first time visit to Albufeira i would not recommend it. There are some really lovely hotels in Albufeira, if you can afford to pay a little bit more i would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Missglobetrotter860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The actual apartment was spacious & clean but the reception staff were possibly the most unhelpful people I have ever met! We arrived about 9pm & had to wander around in the dark to find our accommodation - with a 3 year & me 6 months pregnant! When we tried to find out about grabbing a quick bite to eat we were met with a shrug & "everything's closed" - this in a lively resort. One of the reasons I booked here was that it was away from the strip, so quiet at night but they did a complimentary bus to the town & beach. FYI this doesn't run anymore & when I asked the guy how to get to the beach I was met with a blank stare, same when I asked about getting to Zoomarine! Honestly we had a great holiday, the locals are lovely & it's a beautiful place but would never stay at Villa Alba again!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aisling H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

In October with the magnificent Algarve sun, we took a good vacation here. The apartment has all the facilities and conditions. There is also a terrace overlooking the pool. Excellent cleaning service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Tirapicos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Apartment was ok size wise, but too far from old town, up a steep hill.

Only enough hot water for two showers per day.

Bathroom needed up grading.

Was ok for 1 week, but wouldn't stay in this resort or accomodation again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kopeklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#96 of 152 in Albufeira
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#92 of 152 in Albufeira
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Choromar Apartments
Choromar Apartments
#66 of 152 in Albufeira
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim
Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim
#141 of 152 in Albufeira
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#43 of 152 in Albufeira
160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#87 of 152 in Albufeira
3,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheerfulway Vila Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheerfulway Vila Alba

Address: Rua Adriano Correia de Oliveira 160 E | Montechoro, Albufeira 8200-084, Portugal (Formerly Vila Alba Beach & Sun Club)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 152 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: £40 - £1,334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheerfulway Vila Alba 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cheerfulway Vila Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Alba Beach & Sun Club Hotel Albufeira
Vila Alba Beach And Sun Club
Vila Alba Beach Sun Hotel
Vila Alba Apartments
Vila Alba Albufeira
Cheerfulway Vila Alba Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing