We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible apartment”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Do not go near this place unless you are guaranteed one of the newer modernised apartments. I was moved because of the noise from the entertainment at the bar,after seeing another two dumps settled on the third apartment offered,all really bad,especially the kitchen and bathroom areas. Really grubby, broken tiles in bathroom,kitchen area disgusting, musty smell from all cupboards and wardrobe in bedrooms, all clothing including clothing not worn washed when I got home,it was really awful. The newer apartments are lovely, whole holiday ruined by staying in dirty disgusting rooms. I did offer to pay for an upgrade said they where full, I booked through Thomas Cook are travel agents given the horrid rooms. The complex and grounds are lovely, staff really nice,food okay,entertainment also bad, had better at Parkdean caravan parks. I would never recommend or go back to this place.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    257
    70
    14
    10
See reviews for
389
141
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here for a week with my family 5 adults 3 children. Was amazed at how many pools children's play areas there were! Rooms were simPly everything you needed! Really was taken back a lot better than we were expecting! Stayed half board and food was out this world so much to choose from!
Staff were the most friendliest and kindest I've ever meet on holiday Expecially Miguel and ruben they simply made out holiday!
Already looking to rebook!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimiamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirreimuir
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We spent a week at the Alfagar apartmants 10th Sept 2013. Room was ready on arrival mid afternoon bus took us to our room which in was a short walk away a nice touch,found our room to be very pleasant and large enough for the three adults. We found the staff to very helpful throughout the complex. We ate in the alacarte rest the first night and found the food to be very good staff very helpful.Deigo made the night. Moving further a field a 10min walk up the road brings you to Martins excellant food and good service.10 out of 10 for the glass of port at the end of the meal. A futher 10 to 15mins walk finds a nice Chinese rest just short of the rounabout. All in all we got what we wanted a nice relaxing holiday would go back anytime.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyKirreimuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We pretty much booked this place as it was the cheapest we could find with a decent looking pool. As the transfer bus was dropping people at other hotels we were starting to worry that going for the cheapest was a big mistake but when we arrived we were absolutely delighted! We checked in and went out of the main building and saw the main pool - fantastic, we couldn't wait to get in! We loved how it was set out like a little village with more pools, bar & shop dotted around between the apartment blocks. Our apartment was about 5 mins from main reception, just round the corner from the handy little shop & bar & 5 min walk to the beach (although the walk to the beach is what seems like a never ending staircase!). The apartment looked much better than the photos in the brochure (obviously been modernised since) the only downside was that we would have preferred a double sofa bed instead of 2 single but that's not a major issue. Really handy for albufeira & the reception staff rang a taxi whenever we needed. The shuttle bus to/from the old town was also very handy. We didn't use the restaurant in the main building but had lunch in the bar a few times which was always nice & has a play park next to it to keep the kids amused. The main pool with the slides etc did get really busy so we tended to use the smaller pool by our apartment & often had it to ourselves :-)
All in all we had a fantastic stay & wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Brilliant & excellent value for money!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sliddle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We spent 1 week at the Alfagar apartments from 16th September 2013. Myself, daughter (aged 3) and mam stayed in a sea view 2 bedroom apartment.

We arrived at the hotel at 12.30pm, the reception staff were very helpful but advised that our room was not ready. We were able to store our cases in the luggage room and were told to check back in 1 hour. We headed out for some lunch and checked back at 1.30pm and our room was ready. We hopped in the mini bus and were given a lift to our room.

The apartment was very spacious and clean. We were very comfortable here for the week.

Like other reviews state the beds are rock hard! I did get used to them by the end of the week but it is like sleeping on concrete.

We paid extra for a sea view but due to the trees it was a very limited view.

Across the road from our apartment was the resoirt shop. I felt this was so handy and mostly not overpriced. If you are sensible and buy local produce the prices are reasonable. If you want imported goods, e.g 'Skippy' peanut butter then expect to pay 5 euros a tub. We loved the fresh break rolls at a bargain 20 cents each and the tasty pastries were lovely!

We ate in the buffet restaurant once but didnt find it good value for money. At 17.50 euros per person I didnt think it offered a great deal of choice. The childrens selection was ok and my daughter managed to find plenty to eat.

The real treat was eating at the restaurant in the Alfagar village. After reading reviews I was expecting to pay a fortune but it was very reasonable. I paid 12 euros for my salmon main course which I was more than happy with. The waiting staff were great and really made a fuss of my 3 year old daughter, Diego was particularly helpful and friendly.

We had morning coffees at the snack bar in the Alfagar village nearly everyday. This is nicely placed next to one of the childrens play areas and also provides free wifi.

The walk down to the beach was not a problem for us but not suitable for buggies. There is quite a big step at the bottom which maybe a challenge for the less mobile.

We loved the pools on site in particular the pool with waterslides. I did think that the pool was starting to look a bit shabby and could do with some attention. Some of the paint was peeling off the floor of the pool and there was black marks around the water level. Maybe this was just because it was the end of the seaon and it was so well used.

We had no problems with getting sunloungers at any point of our hoiliday.

I would return to the Alfagar if it was in a better location. We found it was quite a walk to the strip and when we got there it wasn't really our type of resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank expectthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here for a week in September 2013 with family (grown up children). We were very much welcomed upon arrival by the reception staff and given adequate information for our stay. We were then 'shuttled' to our apartment, saving carrying cases and trying to find the apartment (the site is rather large); which all added to the lovely service we received.
The site itself is lovely, although large it isn't overcrowded by buildings or people and there is lots of space with nice, well maintained, gardens and plenty of swimming pools! The pools (about 6/7 in total, 3 of which are massive) are all very clean and pleasant to go in and lie by (plenty of sunbeds, no trouble at all finding one to use). There is a nice waterslide pool for children to have fun in, with sunbeds around for parents and doesn't disturb other users of the other pool close by. A children's playground is near here too. Also by this pool area there is a reasonably priced snack bar, which we found to serve lovely food. There is a onsite shop, selling most, if not all, of what is needed during your stay and there are two bars to relax in of an evening. We preferred the one by reception as it was quieter and free of karaoke etc. There was some entertainment at this bar on selected nights. I think the other bar is where most of the 'entertainment' happens. As the Alfagar is on cliff tops the views from here are stunning. I can see why people would pay more for a sea view room!
The inside of our apartment was clean, well-kept and spacious for the four of us (all adults). We booked a two bedroom self catering apartment, in which we had a double room, twin room, bathroom, open plan kitchen/dining/lounge area...all quite modern and kitchen well supplied. We also had two balconies, one with a table, chairs and clothes airer The beds could do with new matrasses as quite worn but I managed to sleep well on it every night.
The location of the Alfagar we found to be good as its in a quiet location and about a 20/30 minute walk to the strip where you'll find restaurants and bars. There is a lovely restaurant to the right of the roundabout called Carpe Diem, we ate here about 4 times during the week. A little further to the left of the roundabout there is a busier part of town (we found a little too much to be 'neon city') but there are more restaurants, bars and clubs to choose from. The walk could prove tiring for younger/ older generations but can't imagine it'll be a lot in a taxi. We did walk to the Old Town one evening...this took us about 90 minutes (we didn't walk back!) so I would definitely get a taxi here, which cost us about 7euros on the way home. The Old Town is nice and has loads of restaurants, bars, shops, market stalls etc and seemed very popular.
There is a lovely sandy beach about 120 steps down from the Apartments and has sun loungers and a snack bar on. The beach can be difficult to access if the tide is in as it comes right up to the rocks/ cliff.
All in all we had a wonderful stay at the Alfagar and would definitely return here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We were due to stay at Santa Eulalia hotel but were told it was overbooked when we arrived at the Airport, we were sent to the Parasio hotel but hated it so were moved to Alfagar Village.

There is a hotel and a village complex, big place with 3 pools, 3 childrens pools - 1 with water features. mini market, 3 bars - 1 in the hotel, 1 by block one and 1 by the main pool, 2 resturants - 1 eat as much as you want in the hotel at a cost of 17.5 Euros unless you are half board and the other a proper resturant with prices to match. There is also a small indoor pool and what looks like a fitness room in the making, not yet ready. Great for families.

Our first room - yes we had to change rooms - was a basement apartment which was nicer than the Paraiso. Unfortunately, it was just up from the bar where there was entertainment every night till 12 or 1am!!

We complained about the noise so was moved the next day to the other side of the complex, much better, lovely apartment, only problem was the screaming child in the block, at least she stopped around 9 - 10 pm.

Very well kept grounds, gardens were lovely and well maintained.

I recommend this place if you like lively resorts and have children.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms starting with 3 or 4. Sea view rooms are a premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ou241kitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
904 reviews
1.4 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,206 reviews
2.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.9 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico

Property: Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico
Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado, 866, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfagar Resort is exceptionally located on a stunning cliff-top perch overlooking the sea. Together with the Alfagar II Aparthotel, set in a beautiful 11 ha property of gardens and cliff formations (a protected area of natural beauty), with spectacular views along the coastline. Situated in the center of the Algarve, in Balaia area just between the villages of Albufeira and Olhos de Água. Composed of 216 low-rise apartments, built in the typical Algarvean Moorish style, ideal for families with children and all those seeking a quality holiday in a quiet setting, while remaining within easy reach of shops and lively night entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Village - Alfagar Aldeamanto Turistico Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar Apartments Albufeira
Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing