We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“enjoyable holiday”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just returned from a stay at the Alfagar village and overall it was a lovely experience.
Firstly, this is a large resort, and comprises apartments and an hotel. The apartments, where we stayed are known as Alfagar 1 or the village. The hotel, which is newer, is Alfagar 2. Amenities, wherever placed at the complex are available to all guests.
The location is superb, with stunning views and direct access to a beautiful beach. The apartments are set among very pretty, well maintained gardens. We had a garden view along with views of the local area and were pleased with this. Sea view apartments are available and may well be worth the extra cost as the views we saw just around the corner from us were lovely.
The resort has seven pools in all. The ten year old with us adores the water and was very happy with the main pool near the hotel, and the mini aqua park with its slides and squirters. I am a self conscious bather and so was delighted to find the more secluded ocean view pool. As well as enjoying the view, I did not feel uncomfortable swimming here.
Along with the pools, the resort has two good playgrounds, a tennis court and football pitch, a minimarket, a restaurant and bars serving food drinks and ice creams. A mini bus is available from reception, which takes guests to the old town of Albufeira. This cost us only one euro per person return. Would imagine that this service gets very busy during high season. Luckily buses stop just outside of the hotel and are regular.Excursions are also offered via the hotel and we visited a gypsy market and the harbour at Vilamoura. It was a nice half day out.
We found that all public facilities, toilets etc. were very clean. Maintenance and cleaning of the resort started very early and continued until late. The same cleanliness applied to our apartment, which was also spacious and well equipped.
Having described the positive, the following negative issues should be taken into consideration. The route from the resort to the beach via steps and paths could not be considered by people with mobility problems. I have arthritis and only ventured there once. The food, drink and grocery prices at the resort are expensive as you are paying extra for convenience. The night time entertainment is limited and not very good, and finally, we found the beds in our apartment to be uncomfortable.
Even with the negative points taken into consideration, we still had a smashing holiday and are planning to return when we can. The positives far outweigh the negatives.
One final comment regards the staff at the resort who we found, without exception, to be marvellous. A special mention goes to Miguel, who went out of his way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: A sea view apartment may be worth paying a bit extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jason w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    257
    70
    14
    10
See reviews for
389
141
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay in a 2 bed apartment which had a sea view. Rooms were a little dated but had all the cooking utensils etc you needed. Cable TV with some UK channels. Beach towels not provided and bath towels changed twice during our stay. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. At this time of year the rooms were cool on an evening and most definately wrap up when you go out at night. brrrrr. The beds are very hard, but otherwise bedding pillows etc are fine.

Pools are fantastic but very cold, with the exception of the heated small indoor pool (a wetsuit for my 4 year old came in very handy). Small poolside bar, but very expensive as are all the bars on site. Entertainment in the small bar 'cheesy' but the Portuguese Dancers were fantastic. Martin's Restaurant down the road serves very nice local dishes and the Chinese by the roundabout also had really nice food. 7 Euro's plus to Albuferia Old Town. Most restaurants there were tauting trying to pursuade you to eat at their place, so a little annoying after a while.

Two beaches very close, the one down the 100 plus steps, which is worth the visit and also a short walk towards Club Med lies another lovely beach with soft sand, however both have shelving as you go into the water and have quite strong waves, but very good fun once you pass where the waves break.

The Supermarket on site has all you need, but other larger stores are just across and up the road. Zoo Marine worth a trip, but expensive for what is there, the dolphins were fantastic, but the place needs a lick of paint and genaral overhaul. (hopefully it will now in the closed season).

Overall a very enjoyable stay in a nice and very clean hotel, with lovely staff and pools (apart from their temparature!)

Room Tip: Sea view worth the extra. 1st floor apartments overlooking the 'Ocean View Pool' had the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Do not go near this place unless you are guaranteed one of the newer modernised apartments. I was moved because of the noise from the entertainment at the bar,after seeing another two dumps settled on the third apartment offered,all really bad,especially the kitchen and bathroom areas. Really grubby, broken tiles in bathroom,kitchen area disgusting, musty smell from all cupboards and wardrobe in bedrooms, all clothing including clothing not worn washed when I got home,it was really awful. The newer apartments are lovely, whole holiday ruined by staying in dirty disgusting rooms. I did offer to pay for an upgrade said they where full, I booked through Thomas Cook are travel agents given the horrid rooms. The complex and grounds are lovely, staff really nice,food okay,entertainment also bad, had better at Parkdean caravan parks. I would never recommend or go back to this place.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here for a week with my family 5 adults 3 children. Was amazed at how many pools children's play areas there were! Rooms were simPly everything you needed! Really was taken back a lot better than we were expecting! Stayed half board and food was out this world so much to choose from!
Staff were the most friendliest and kindest I've ever meet on holiday Expecially Miguel and ruben they simply made out holiday!
Already looking to rebook!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimiamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirreimuir
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We spent a week at the Alfagar apartmants 10th Sept 2013. Room was ready on arrival mid afternoon bus took us to our room which in was a short walk away a nice touch,found our room to be very pleasant and large enough for the three adults. We found the staff to very helpful throughout the complex. We ate in the alacarte rest the first night and found the food to be very good staff very helpful.Deigo made the night. Moving further a field a 10min walk up the road brings you to Martins excellant food and good service.10 out of 10 for the glass of port at the end of the meal. A futher 10 to 15mins walk finds a nice Chinese rest just short of the rounabout. All in all we got what we wanted a nice relaxing holiday would go back anytime.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyKirreimuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We pretty much booked this place as it was the cheapest we could find with a decent looking pool. As the transfer bus was dropping people at other hotels we were starting to worry that going for the cheapest was a big mistake but when we arrived we were absolutely delighted! We checked in and went out of the main building and saw the main pool - fantastic, we couldn't wait to get in! We loved how it was set out like a little village with more pools, bar & shop dotted around between the apartment blocks. Our apartment was about 5 mins from main reception, just round the corner from the handy little shop & bar & 5 min walk to the beach (although the walk to the beach is what seems like a never ending staircase!). The apartment looked much better than the photos in the brochure (obviously been modernised since) the only downside was that we would have preferred a double sofa bed instead of 2 single but that's not a major issue. Really handy for albufeira & the reception staff rang a taxi whenever we needed. The shuttle bus to/from the old town was also very handy. We didn't use the restaurant in the main building but had lunch in the bar a few times which was always nice & has a play park next to it to keep the kids amused. The main pool with the slides etc did get really busy so we tended to use the smaller pool by our apartment & often had it to ourselves :-)
All in all we had a fantastic stay & wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Brilliant & excellent value for money!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sliddle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We spent 1 week at the Alfagar apartments from 16th September 2013. Myself, daughter (aged 3) and mam stayed in a sea view 2 bedroom apartment.

We arrived at the hotel at 12.30pm, the reception staff were very helpful but advised that our room was not ready. We were able to store our cases in the luggage room and were told to check back in 1 hour. We headed out for some lunch and checked back at 1.30pm and our room was ready. We hopped in the mini bus and were given a lift to our room.

The apartment was very spacious and clean. We were very comfortable here for the week.

Like other reviews state the beds are rock hard! I did get used to them by the end of the week but it is like sleeping on concrete.

We paid extra for a sea view but due to the trees it was a very limited view.

Across the road from our apartment was the resoirt shop. I felt this was so handy and mostly not overpriced. If you are sensible and buy local produce the prices are reasonable. If you want imported goods, e.g 'Skippy' peanut butter then expect to pay 5 euros a tub. We loved the fresh break rolls at a bargain 20 cents each and the tasty pastries were lovely!

We ate in the buffet restaurant once but didnt find it good value for money. At 17.50 euros per person I didnt think it offered a great deal of choice. The childrens selection was ok and my daughter managed to find plenty to eat.

The real treat was eating at the restaurant in the Alfagar village. After reading reviews I was expecting to pay a fortune but it was very reasonable. I paid 12 euros for my salmon main course which I was more than happy with. The waiting staff were great and really made a fuss of my 3 year old daughter, Diego was particularly helpful and friendly.

We had morning coffees at the snack bar in the Alfagar village nearly everyday. This is nicely placed next to one of the childrens play areas and also provides free wifi.

The walk down to the beach was not a problem for us but not suitable for buggies. There is quite a big step at the bottom which maybe a challenge for the less mobile.

We loved the pools on site in particular the pool with waterslides. I did think that the pool was starting to look a bit shabby and could do with some attention. Some of the paint was peeling off the floor of the pool and there was black marks around the water level. Maybe this was just because it was the end of the seaon and it was so well used.

We had no problems with getting sunloungers at any point of our hoiliday.

I would return to the Alfagar if it was in a better location. We found it was quite a walk to the strip and when we got there it wasn't really our type of resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank expectthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
904 reviews
1.4 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,206 reviews
2.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.9 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico

Property: Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico
Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado, 866, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfagar Resort is exceptionally located on a stunning cliff-top perch overlooking the sea. Together with the Alfagar II Aparthotel, set in a beautiful 11 ha property of gardens and cliff formations (a protected area of natural beauty), with spectacular views along the coastline. Situated in the center of the Algarve, in Balaia area just between the villages of Albufeira and Olhos de Água. Composed of 216 low-rise apartments, built in the typical Algarvean Moorish style, ideal for families with children and all those seeking a quality holiday in a quiet setting, while remaining within easy reach of shops and lively night entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Village - Alfagar Aldeamanto Turistico Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar Apartments Albufeira
Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing