We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is fantastic :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 10nights ,our flight was delayed so got to the village quite late but the reception was very helpful explaining we're everything is and gave us a map - which you do use as the place is huge . There are lots of pools to choose from and there was never a shortage of sun loungers although a lot of them need replacing . The bar staff were awesome interacting with you at all times . I don't have children but this place would be great if I did. I didn't eat here as was self catering so went out to eat but then returned for drinks. The steps to the beach are not as bad as people make out I went up and down quite a few times really busy on Sunday as the locals use it , a lovely beach that has water sports if that's what your looking for . I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment the rooms were huge , had 2 balconies one at the back of the property and one to the front so you could always sit in the sun. The kitchen facilities are the best I've ever seen oven,microwave , toaster , kettle and all the pots and pans . The beds in the room Weren't the comfiest they were quite hard. We only saw the maids twice they should of really come to check if we needed more supplies we ran out of toilet roll asked for more but with the language barrier they never arrived so we went and bought some. The supermarket on site had everything you need and isn't overpriced . The new and old town was to far to walk to but it was 7€ in a taxi we walked one day and from hotel to old town took 1hr 30mins :( Overall I had a fantastic 10nights here and would definitely recommend to family and friends and I would return.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carolanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We spent a week at Alfagar self catering, and cannot fault the place. We checked in fairly late, and were taken by shuttle bus to our apartment. We booked a sea view, and the apartment was spotlessly clean with everything required. During the week, the apartment was cleaned and towels changed three times. It was lovely and quiet at night, being approximately 15 minutes walk to the strip, so far enough away from the night life but close enough if you want to visit the bars or restaurants. We were 5 minutes from the beach, the path down is reasonably steep, our children are 12 and 10 so this wasn't a problem, but other people with small children and buggies seemed to manage. The staff were helpful and friendly. There are several pools all extremely clean, and a gym, the site is very child friendly. The shop is well stocked, and there is a bigger cheaper supermarket about a 15 minute walk away. We hired a car from the on site car rental which was reasonable. The lovely weather helped, but we would definitely recommend alfagar to anyone and would book again if returning to the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Absolute bargain, very pretty resort, well kept. Nice sized villa, great pools and facilities. Would love to go back. Right on perfect beach, so beautiful and even in half term it
wasn't busy. Had great time with my mum, daughter and friend with her daughter. Both girls 5 years old loved it. We did a few day trips. Renting a car for this was good, we booked online with goldcar before we left, picked car up at faro so no transfer, it was perfect. Nice buffet at restaurant. Some typical old style music in bar in evening. Staff quite friendly, professional.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ELAINE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We returned from Alfagar yesterday and cannot praise it highly enough.
We stayed in Alfagar 1 overlooking the small pool, in a really big one bed apartment with an equally big living area and balcony, bath and shower and well-equipped kitchen.
The resort is beautifully cared for, with five pools dotted around the complex, as well as tennis courts and football pitch. The view from the 'top' pool over the sea is stunning as you see all the way down the coast.
The shop is well stocked (delicious fresh bread and rolls), but there are supermarkets up the road towards Albufeira.
We ate several times at the Bouganvilia bar, where Miguel and his team looked after us very well, taking the time to talk to us and the children, and the food was delicious.
There was a nice mixture of nationalities/families/couples and the staff were always happy to help us with any queries.
We had planned to go sightseeing but the resort was so great we only went out once on a boat trip, with a speedboat into the caves, which was good fun and good value.
We have been on lots of family holidays and this was by far the best. If we hadn't already booked our summer holiday for August, we would be straight back here.

Room Tip: apartments overlooking one of the pools so you can enjoy the view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitkat635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My husband, 14 month old daughter and I stayed here for our first proper family holiday in May. It was absolutely fantastic. Our only negative Is that 7 nights was too short.
The beach is just a short walk away, which we did every day as well as going to a number of the complexes pools. There is a shallow pool that was perfect for our daughter as she could walk around in it and it only came up to her waist.
The cleaning service was great, with out apartment being cleaned twice in the week we were there. We were located close to the shop which serves fresh bread and crossaints every morning.
We were also close to the restaurant that had wifi access meaning we could also get it in our room. The entertainment on every evening resulted in us being serenaded to sleep every night but I could see how this location could be too close for some people.
We are already looking at booking for next year. See you soon!

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank corrinaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

we ended up at alfagar holiday village when our place was double booked at oura view beach hotel and THANK GOD we were double booked as alfagar was 10 times better than oura view! we are so glad we ended up here. t

The vilage is huge with a shop, gym, 5 different swimming pools to choose from, tennis courts restaraunts, everything u could possibly need! the reception staff were so friendly and helpful, the place was beautifully clean and kept very well. w

We did bed and breakfast in a self catering apartment, which were very nice, only bad point is mattresses a little uncomfortable so we slept on sofa bed. but the apartment was spacious and had everything u needed if u did want to cook. our breakfast was beautiful and set us up for the day. lovely sitting out on the big balcony looking over the main pool.

the hotel is in a good position out the way of hussle and bussle but only 20minutes to the strip (or u can get a bus), a 2minute walk down some steps to the beach, and only a 5-10min taxi ride costing 7euros to old town which is beautiful.

the strip i wouldnt reccomend as its all very english dishes, people trying to drag u in for drinks, however on the corner if u past the strip is a restaraunt owned by a lovely gay guy george and the food is beautiful, and u are made to feel so welcome! that place is called donaldos, must go there lovely traditional portuguese food :)

LOVE THIS HOTEL/ VILLAGE WOULD DEFINATELY COME BACK AGAIN!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank misschambs87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here with friends in April in an apartment, we booked early and got an amazing deal, we each pay less than a hostel would cost per night, €10, for a gorgeous modern apartment with a sea view. Everything about the apartment itself was great but the complex is even better. Main outdoor pool and kids pool with toys/slides, indoor pool and spa, smaller pools every five minutes for each apartment block, plus private access to the beach! You could spend a month here and not get bored as you have so many places to chose from. We werent with kids but there seemed to be a lot to choose from if you do. Only 15 mins walk from town center, all spotlessly clean, I cant recommend this place enough. Only downside was no wifi in apartments but made quite a nice change, plus free wifi in the bar if youre stuck!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CC9261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#11 of 154 in Albufeira
1,003 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#33 of 154 in Albufeira
834 reviews
1.4 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,426 reviews
1.9 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico

Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado, 866, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: £24 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfagar Resort is exceptionally located on a stunning cliff-top perch overlooking the sea. Together with the Alfagar II Aparthotel, set in a beautiful 11 ha property of gardens and cliff formations (a protected area of natural beauty), with spectacular views along the coastline. Situated in the center of the Algarve, in Balaia area just between the villages of Albufeira and Olhos de Água. Composed of 216 low-rise apartments, built in the typical Algarvean Moorish style, ideal for families with children and all those seeking a quality holiday in a quiet setting, while remaining within easy reach of shops and lively night entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Village - Alfagar Aldeamanto Turistico Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar Apartments Albufeira
Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing