We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alisios
Ranked #25 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Myself and my wife Claire stayed at the Alisios for 2 weeks from mid June onwards and, on the whole, had an enjoyable and thoroughly relaxing time. We booked as part of a Thomson package holiday and the whole experience from booking to organisation of flights, transfers and excursions was seamless as usual from the well oiled Thomson machine. The holiday advisor (rep to me and you) Liana was very helpful and friendly.
I had researched the hotel and was aware of the steps down to the beach and the quietness of the local area. What I hadn't taken account of was the lack of any shops within at least half a mile. We couldn't even just nip out for a paper or a bottle of water without having to endure the angina inducing hills either up to the strip or down, up and back down to the old town.
On arrival the hotel looked just like the photos I had seen and was very pleasant and spotlessly clean. The reception area is beautifully furnished and very attractive. Check-in was simple and quick thanks to the staff who were all very friendly and welcoming with a good command of a variety of languages. Please be aware that the predominant nationality of your fellow guests will be German and on many occasions we had to remind the various staff memebers that we were English as they attempted to converse with us in German. A quick 'nicht verstehen' in my pigeon German put them right though. We had to leave our passports at reception which is pretty standard procedure. We were allocated room 218 which was just down a short ramp to the left of reception. First impressions of the room were that it was beautiful, well presented and furnished. The bathroom was enormous as was the shower within. It was well presented and included a lovely big sink and a full size wall-mounted pedestal with excellent space all around. There was also a hairdrier present. Toilet paper was of fairly poor quality but was in good supply. The towels were changed regularly and were of good quality. There is a soap dispenser by the sink and a shower gel and shampoo dispenser in the shower. These were all good quality Dove products. The water was hot and the pressure very constant at all times of the day or night. In the bedroom there is a large double bed which is actually 2 singles pushed together. There is a small bedside cabinet at each side with a very shallow drawer which could just about accomodate my 10 inch tablet PC and phone. The main dresser also contained a really shallow drawer which could just accomodate my massive billowing underpants. This would appear to be it for storage until you notice the other door by the side of the balcony doors which is where you will find the wardrobe and safety deposit box. There is plenty of room in here with ample hangers and drawer and shelf space for your needs. Don't do what I did and spend ages looking for the light switch for this room, it comes on as you open the door and goes off when you close it. A word about the safety deposit box, it is small and really only suitable for storing passports and cash etc. My tablet and cameras would not fit so these were left out. I never felt that they were in danger of being stolen or damaged though. The balcony is quite large with enough space for 2 comfortable chairs and a small table. We did note that at no time of the day did our balcony receive any direct sunlight. This actually meant that it was a little uncomfortable to sit out while the wind was blowing during the first few days of our holiday. Also it could be overlooked from the sun terrace. The view was beautiful overlooking, as it does, the excellent beach and the rather calm but cold Atlantic Ocean. To the right we could see the Old Town and the equally stunning Fisherman's Beach. The view to the left was simply of more beach and the large floating inflatable play area for kids. We didn't see anyone using this equipment as it seemed a rather long way out at sea for young kids to swim to and, as I said, the sea was really cold. So that was the room summed up other than to say that the aircon was on all the time and, in my view, only just cooled the room enough to ensure a good nights sleep. There was a complimentary bottle of water and a few oranges in the room when we arrived, the water was replenished once and the oranges not at all. There are no brew facilities and the fridge is in fact a mini-bar which remains locked unless you buy something to put into it. It is then unlocked for the duration of the holiday and it was a real godsend. We just ordered 2 beers for 6 euros and then had the use of a fridge for the entire 2 weeks, a good enough system I suppose. I forgot to mention the safety deposit box cost, there was a 10 euro deposit for the key and a daily charge of 4 euros I think. The door has a combination of a key and a security code to open it and a simple key turn to shut it again. That really does sum up the room so on to other facilities at the hotel. There is an indoor pool for which it is mandatory to wear a bathing cap. These are available at reception for 4 euros 50 cents if you do not own your own. The pool is on the lowest floor along with the breakfast room. More on breakfast later. Floor 3 contains the restaurant, bar and sun terrace. The sun terrace is apparently a fairly recent addition and is an absolute must for those not wishing to endure the steps down to and up from the beach. There are approximately 40 sunbeds and during the whole 2 weeks we never struggled to find one. It is good that the bar is also up here as cold drinks are a must throughout the day. The bar staff will bring drinks and snacks to your sunbeds too. The steps down to the beach can be accessed from the left hand front corner of the terrace and there is a swipe card access to prevent non-guests from using the steps. We didn't count the steps but we also didn't use them that much either. We walked down them twice and not up them at all, preferring to walk along the beach to the old town and walk back along the roads. This walk took around 15 - 20 minutes and involved plenty of hilly stretches. The final part of the walk up to the hotel entrance became known as angina hill for it's steepness. Then just as your legs were starting to ache there are the 10 steps up to the hotel. It's not that bad really and it's only my pitiful levels of fitness and additional weight that makes me mention it now. The beach looked beautiful and we are dedicated beach lovers but the staggering price of 12 euros per sunbed put us off and we spent virtually the whole 2 weeks on the terrace. Surprisingly it was most enjoyable mainly due to the peace and quiet, the quality of the sunbeds and the proximity to the bar/restaurant. The bar staff all seemd OK if a little slow on the uptake but this seemed to improve during the fortnight. It's worth mentioning the bar now, it was quiet, very quiet. If it hadn't been for the fact that it screened all the World Cup matches, I suspect it may well have been empty. There was absolutely no atmosphere and no permanent barman present. If one of the staff, who were more concerned with diners and stock-taking, happened to notice you lurking near the bar they would trudge over and serve you. Some with a smile and some not but in the main they were OK. Drinks were reasonably priced I suppose although soft drinks seemed over-priced, almost 5 euros for two small glasses of fizzy orange. I think a large beer, which seemed to vary between 40 and 50cl, was around 3 euros whichever size you ended up with. With a glass of house wine coming in somewhere around 5 euros, the prices were, as I said, OK. The only other occupants of the bar seemed to be small groups of very insular Germans wearing checked shirts. They seemed to have their own little clique going on and had very strange and annoying senses fo humour. One guy who really got up my nose was constantly laughing during football matches. It was obviously worse when England were playing and he laughed so hard he nearly fell off his chair when a poor Uruguayan player got kicked in the head, very weird. Other than being spoken toin German many times we had nothing to do with them. It sems that they expect all their fellow guests to be German and in the main they were. I started to wear my England t shirts more often to annoy them and also remind the staff that we were English. That about sums up the bar. The restaurant which basically shares the same space was very good and a lot of guests had booked half-board. We were on B 'n' B only but did take advantage of an offer of 3 evening meals for 2 complete with a bottle of wine for 150 euros. Not the cheapest but it saved us from negotiating angina hill for 3 nights. The food we enjoyed was superb with me being the most adventurous as usual. Claired ordered piri-piri chicken each night while I enjoyed pork fillet, lamb and the very impressive Nile Perch. Soup of the day was ordered each night and a variety of superb sweets were enjoyed too. Claire opting for the special of the day each night while I chose from the impressive sweet selection on the menu. 50 euros seemed a little steep at the time we paid it but the quality and service was worth every penny (cent). It would appear that the staff enjoy serving food more than they do beer. Oops nearly forgot, you get bread, olives and pate to start with. The house wine was really quite good too with my favourite being the white.
We booked a couple of excursions with Liana and they were both superb. One was to the staggeringly beautiful Cape St Vincent (the end of the world) which included stops at Silves, Lagos and the Monchique Mountains. There was also an optional lunch break in Monchique which provided us with a fairly low quality 3 courses for 13 euros with the main being the obligatory piri-piri chicken. It was all edible and filled a hole until dinner. The restaurant was called O Castelo and we were served by Ugly Betty or someone who looked remarkably like her. No offence intended. Our other tour was a landrover trip up the Monchique Mountains but this time to watch the sunset while drinking cheap spumante wine billed as Champagne and Sunset. In fairness the trip as a whole was fantastic with a bit of off-roading thrown in. The driver was brilliant and also very knowledgable and proud of his country and it's heritage. We travelled roads and visited places inaccessible to a coach and it was great fun. Luckily both me and Claire were in forward-facing seats as the back 4 seats were side-facing and looked a tad uncomfortable. The only downside was the weather which had been fantastic all day until we reached the top of the mountain to find ourselves enveloped in thick cold cloud. No sunset for us then but we still stood there drinking the fizz while wrapped in blankets which were provided.
I could go on but it's time for a quick round up:-
The hotel is beautiful but very quiet and fairly remote. We had our most relaxing holiday ever. The surrounding area is very hilly but also pretty and spotlessly clean. Yes there is some graffiti but there is no litter. The old town is great for your shopping and eating out requirements with a large range of restaurants to choose from. The strip is for the young boozers and clubbers only. Give it a miss. There is a little tourist train that helps to avoid some of the hills although it does not stop near the hotel. The escalators up and down from the old town are an absolute godsend when they are all working. The transfer from the airport is less than an hour. The beaches are fantastic. The sea is ice cold. The weather in June is changeable, we had cold winds and some rain but also 30+ degree days. We enjoyed it very much but were dissapointed by the sunbed charge which determined our prolonged use of the hotel sun terrace. A lot of people will try to encourage you into their restaurants. They are easily discouraged with a polite 'no thank-you'.
That's about it really, enjoy.....

Room Tip: Avoid 120 or 220 ish as your beautiful sea view will be obscured by one of the Algarves mysterious l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Arriving at the hotel reception, the first impression is one of cleanliness and smartness. Check-in was efficient, and the owner at the welcome meeting was friendly and charming. During the week, we found that that a few of the staff could be surly and abrupt, but in the main, they were polite and friendly. Many of the hotel rooms don’t have much of a view (some overlook the Restaurant used for breakfast, for example), and although ours overlooked the nearby busy road, traffic noise wasn’t much of an issue. The room was small for a 4 Star hotel and, like much of the rest of the hotel, lacked any atmosphere through it’s lack of features (a few pictures wouldn’t have gone amiss!). The walk-in wardrobe was good, but otherwise storage wasn’t great. The bed was comfortable, though the plastic mattress cover made the bed hot, and the large bathroom with a powerful, walk-in shower, did match up to the hotel rating. The hotel had a sun-deck with artificial grass and loungers which were OK as a seat but very uncomfortable prone – we preferred to go on the beach, even at 12 Euros a day for 2 beds and a parasol! The beach was a mix of sand and finely ground shells and, though there were Lifeguards on duty through the day, the steep shelf and freezing Atlantic ocean didn’t tempt us in far. The main hotel restaurant was next to the sun-deck, but we only ate there once, on the first night. The over-cooked tuna and tasteless vegetables put us off for the rest of the week. A 10 minute walk into Albufeira old town offered a vast choice of restaurants, though be prepared to fight off the staff all trying to entice you in – very tiresome after a short time. Of the restaurants, the Bank in the square (try the hot stone steaks), Cabana Fresca and Louisiana on Fisherman’s Beach were our favourites, although we did manage to locate the Iguana Cafe (Tripadvisor recommended) high up on the cliffs – fantastic view, excellent staff and good quality, inexpensive snacks. Overall, we found, like so many other resorts nowadays, Albufeira over-commercialised and ordinary, and wouldn’t rush back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was our third stay at this hotel, and normally we have a rule that says always go somewhere different. We make an exception here. . For us the location is great. A short walk up to the sun terrace and then down the private steps to the beach. Hotel very clean, fantastic sun terrace where you could enjoy lunch, drink or a evening meal my only suggestion is maybe some light music in the day on the terrace. Only a 5-10min walk into the Albufeira old town which has something for all ages but mostly I would like to thank Regina and her team for again a wonderful holiday (we will be back)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed for a week in May 2014 with Thomson. Room with (restricted) sea view - avoid 122 if you get the chance). They were very welcoming, we were taken to our room which was good with small balcony, large comfortable bed (as is typical, two singles pushed together), decent sized wardrobe - actually a room, and a good sized shower room with walk in shower and plenty of hot water. The down side was a lack of usable drawer space; such as there were in the room were no more than 2 inches deep. Three in the wardrobe were of a good depth, but insufficient for a summer holiday when you have shorts and t shirts, underclothes and swimming things.
A bottle of water and 4 oranges were in our room (not replenished). Safe for valuables in the room (small fee), some with key but being upgraded to electronic. Minibar with lock. NO coffee or tea making facilities. TV with a few satellite channels.

Breakfast was served in the breakfast room whcih was inside the hotel but opening out to a courtyard. Primarily continental with a good choice, and excellent fresh baked rolls and bread. Cooked choices were available for self serve (not tried). Great cut fresh fruit in bowls for your 5 a day.

Dinner was served in the dining room overlooking the sea and sun terraces. Unfortunately it was very windy while we were there so the outside tables were moved in every night.

Some people were upset that the rooms could not cater for all of the hotel guests, and we did see breakfast queues most days. Considering the abundance of restaurants in town and the likelihood of all guests arriving for breakfast at once, the smallish rooms are understandable. In the hotel's shoes, why waste space on something that gets used very rarely? However, we found the staff to be unflappable and friendly, going so far as to take room numbers of guests who arrived for dinner to find the dining room full, and then phoning through to their room when a table became vacant.

Swimming pool inside; about 16 metres so usable. Sun terrace with loungers (no where near enough for all the guests and taken fairly quickly by sun worshippers). Coffee and drinks available there and in the bar inside the adjacent restaurant.

For us the location was great. A short walk up to the sun terrace and then down the private steps to the beach where sun loungers were available. The hotel had a supply of sun umbrellas for free loan by the exit gate if you did not want to pay for a lounger. They had a shower just outside the gate to wash the sand and salt off before returning inside. A giro bus stop also used by the Tourist Trem and the City Sightseeing bus was a couple of hundred metres from the hotel. About a kilometer to the town square - either along the top and down the escalator, or along the beach.

Room Tip: Avoid 122 if you want a direct view of the sea; it has a hill outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fellwalker2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed in the Alisios for 14 days bed & breakfast. The hotel is in a perfect position lovely walks along the beach within easy reach of the Old Town of Albufeira (as long as you can manage steps). There is an indoor pool which we used each day and within the pool area was a Jacuzzi everywhere was kept immaculately clean. Breakfast was excellent, don't expect a full English!! We had a few Evening meals here which were good value and very tasty. All hotel staff very friendly and we would stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, but there is a supplement to pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel, and normally we have a rule that says always go somewhere different. We make an exception here. The location is perfect. Directly on the beach and a short walk to the old down, either along the beach or up the hill and down the escalators. The escalators? Yes, Albufeira has installed them to get down the steep hill into town, and they work most of the time too. The hotel is also just a 15 minute walk in the opposite direction to the livelier strip. The hotel itself is a just great, nice rooms and clean as a whistle. We stayed just for breakfast which is very nice if a little Continental The facilities are also nice, indoor pool and lovely sun deck with views across the beach. Any criticisms? The bar is a little lacking in atmosphere, but it is more for the genteel than the ravers, and the lunchtime snacks are poor when compared with the hundreds of bars and restaurants in the area. This is a hotel for adults, and it is very comfortable in that niche, and it does it very well.

Room Tip: Sea views are expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is my third fantastic visit to this lovely hotel which enjoys a simply wonderful position right over a gorgeous sandy beach and within easy walking distance of Albufeira's old town. The hotel has recently refurbished the bedrooms, and they had just finished building a spectacular roof terrace that provides a lovely spot to sunbathe or eat.

I have always found the staff at Alisios to be extremely helpful and friendly and it was no problem organising my own trip (the hotel arranged an excellent private transfer from the airport). It was sunny weather so we made good use of the hotel's direct access (down a few flights of stairs) onto what felt like a private beach, and if you enjoy a leisurely stroll at the waters edge, then this is the place for you.

We also stayed on the new terrace which is a brilliant addition to the hotel. There were plenty of very comfortable sun loungers surrounded by plants, cool artificial grass and decking, with a number of friendly waiters quick to bring you a drink from the bar. the large indoor bar/restaurant/ seating area is open to the terrace in hot weather, and we enjoyed a tasty lunch with what is probably the best view in Albufiera. I imagine it would be a great place to sit when the weather got a bit cloudy, or cooler at night as it is open till midnight, and there are sometimes special buffets and music laid on here.

Our room had recently been refurbished and was quiet and incredibly clean. There was a separate walk in closet, and a very nicely decorated and spacious bathroom. As is common in Portugal, our bed was made of two large attached single beds, but was firm and comfortable with spare pillows and blankets in the closet. It was tidied and thoroughly cleaned daily, and the minibar fridge was empty and available for you to put your own drinks in addition to the bottle of water that was provided every day.

I cannot imagine a hotel with a better location, so handy for the beach and the restaurants of old town Albufiera, and most importantly, I have always found the service at the Alisios of the highest standard and I cannot wait to go again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.7 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#26 of 154 in Albufeira
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#39 of 154 in Albufeira
1,331 reviews
3.2 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alisios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alisios

Address: Avenida Infante Dom Henrique 83, Albufeira 8200-261, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#23 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £59 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alisios 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located on the beach with direct access through steps. Indoor swimmingpool is heated with seawater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Alisios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alisios Hotel Albufeira
Hotel Alisios Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing