We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location Perfect Sea View -”
Review of Hotel Almar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Almar
Ranked #72 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Location Perfect Sea View -”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Couple in our early 30's stayed for 4 nights. Our first time in portugal!!! So impressed with the old town were booking up again! Hotel was great freindly staff and large 1 bed apt. We normally stay at 4 star hotels but were really happy with this 3 star. Only complaint was there was no air con but we hired two large fans for €24 which was fine in the end!! As everyone says the beds were a bit hard so we ended up sleeping on the seatees which were compfy so no need for us to have the 1 bed apt really!! Could have saved some ££. Just be careful if u do sleep on the beds of the white tiled shelf my boyfriend didnt see it and smacked his head on it and ended up with a lump on his head!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raych100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    115
    38
    9
    14
See reviews for
63
127
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Have just left the almar after a 4 night stay with 2 of my girl friends. I have next to nothing negative to say! the views are amazing, the room extremely large and the very friendly cleaner did an amazing job every day! The pool is lovely and never a struggle to get a sunbed, it is the perfect hotel for a relaxing holiday. The only downside, if you are a teenage group you will be asked to pay a 50 euro deposit each, to control noise and abuse to the room, we got our deopist back however know of some 'lads' that didnt! If you are young, a family, a couple, i cant see why this lovely hotel wouldnt suit your stay in albuferia. Fernando, as previously stated: is a babe.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elliechis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here for a week in July, very spacious apartments, everything in it we needed, perfect location and the staff were the best ever, lovely pool and garden area. Rooms cleaned every day. Lovely reception area. Would definitely stay here again. Just minutes walk from beach, and a food store just around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annasligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a fantastic 5 day trip away with my girls at the Almar we had apartment 410 with a side sea view which was amazing! (Best thing about the apartment was the balcony and view. we loved it) The apartments are so spacious and clean with everything you need except air con. Yes a little outdated but I prefer old fashioned holiday apartments as it gives it a better feel and more homely! The beds are very firm but very very comfy I had some great sleeps. It was too hot to sleep the first night but we asked for a fan which was a god send! The staff are brilliant and are always happy to help! Everyone had fantastic English and very friendly and smiley. Fernando is a legend he really makes the place, so funny and such a little gem his sangria is amazing!!! The pool was lovely so peaceful and we always got our favourite spot. The location is the best part it's only a little 5-10 min walk down to the old town and the beach then 10 min walk to the big supermarket which is great and had everyone we needed. But the little shop literally 1 min away round the corner was just as good. The new town (the strip) is only a 5 min taxi away and was just under 5 euro so everything is local and very accessible. I would defiantly stay here again it was perfect for us and we had the best relaxing girly holiday. The only down point was that they made us pay a 50 euro deposit coz we where in a group just in case we were loud or broke anything this was not stated anywhere and we were not prepared for it so it was taken out of our spends which was highly disappointing!! But other than that I really rate the place and everyone there!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Jennah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at the Almar and we will definitely be back next year.
We arrived at approx. 10.30am and were told the room wasn’t ready, which we expected as check-in wasn’t until 2.00pm. We were able to do the check-in paperwork though and store our cases in the locked luggage room until we were able to get in the room and the staff were really friendly and helpful! We got back at 2.00pm and got into the apartment straightaway. We had room 305 which was perfect, fantastic full sea view and over the pool, couldn’t have asked for more.
The apartment was huge, and yes they need some TLC but they’re spotlessly clean and comfortable. Like others we thought the beds were a little hard, but we slept very well on them and didn’t have a bad night’s sleep the whole time we were there. There’s a kitchen with ample equipment/utensils, a utility room off this, where you could hang towels/clothes to dry, etc. If you open the door to the utility and the sliding doors to the balcony, it creates a fantastic breeze through the apartment! Dining table and lounge area (comfortable seating) then a bedroom with loads of storage and a good sized bathroom. The only drawback to the bedroom was that the window opened on to the corridor outside the apartment, so we weren’t able to have it open, although we got a fan from reception, which was very effective and kept us cool.
The best thing about this hotel was the location. Just a 5-10 min walk downhill to the escalators and onto the beach/old town/square. We were looking at other hotels that were up on the main road and were pleased we didn’t go there as the Almar was closer and had much better views!
The staff at the Almar and really great and made our stay so much better. Nothing was too much trouble and always with a smile! Fernando on the bar was fab and so funny, great character.
The pool was a lovely area, with a grassed area as well. There aren’t loads of sunbeds, but we always got some when we needed them, even later in the afternoon. Despite them being available, people were still up at the crack of dawn reserving them with towels, and then coming down to them hours later…get a life!
All in all a wonderful holiday and a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RubyMoosday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

PLEASE READ UNTIL THE VERY END. Many of the reviews I read said that the hotel required quite a bit of TLC as it was very dated - this is entirely true. The interiors could do with a bit of work as the hotel is very very dated. I also read some reviews which said that the beds were quite uncomfortable - also true. HOWEVER, the hotel is spectacularly clean and the rooms are insanely large. The staff are all so incredibly lovely (shout out to Fernando - the guy's a legend) and are always there to help. The swimming pool is delightful, and the hotel boasts lovely views from all around. If you are concerned with modern interiors a memory foam mattresses whilst on holiday - then perhaps you should stay away. But, if you are visiting Albufeira for a delightful holiday with fantastic people in an unbeatable location, the Almar is certainly the hotel for you.

PS. Upon arrival, the receptionist told us that a miscommunication had occurred between our booking provider and the hotel staff. Rather than cancelling our stay (which they easily could have) the Almar upgraded us from a studio apartment to a 1-bed apartment, free of charge. This proves what great people the staff are there. Furthermore, I, somehow, accidentally threw away some Euros. When emptying our bin, the maid found them and returned them to us. The staff really are a credit to this establishment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amgoode95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just back from an 11 night stay in the Almar Apartments. The location of the Almar is superb. About 4 to 5 mins walk from the Escalators into Old Town and if you want to pay a few Euro extra you can have a fabulous sea view from your terrace. The apartments are situated in a quiet area so no traffic to spoil your sleep. Beds are firm but not back breakingly hard as some reviewers were saying. Apartments are huge and are cleaned on a daily basis with towels and sheets changed twice a week. Fridge, cooker/microwave toaster etc. Safe available at a charge but no Air Conditioning. Good wifi in lobby, and never came across more helpful staff. Nice freshwater pool and Fernando tries to clean up as best he can after the seagulls every day. Very convenient for shopping as lidl and aldi are about 10 mins walk away, follow the road signs for Portimao and the Continente (a big shopping chain in Portugal) is 5 mins walk away, across from Mc Donalds and KFC. A lot cheaper than the smaller shops. Downside is that the place is dated and really could do with a bit of cosmetic work, (painting, replacing cracked or missing tiles etc) Wouldn't take too much and should be reinvested. Definitely would recommend to stay due to the location as Albuferia is quiet hilly and a lot of people were complaining of needing taxis home every night due to the hills. If I am going again I will stay there. If you want somewhere cheap with beautiful food to eat go to A Fragata across the road. Try the steak or Tuna Steak, or the tourist menu for €11. Fab and won't be beaten for value

Room Tip: Sea view for a fab view of the ocean in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank martymc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
1,262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#42 of 154 in Albufeira
368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#12 of 154 in Albufeira
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Almar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almar

Property: Hotel Almar
Address: R. Bartolomeu Dias | Cerro da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-077, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Almar 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Almar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamento Almar Hotel Albufeira
Apartamento Almar Albufeira
Almar Apartments
Hotel Almar Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing